Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/20/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umezawa (CN 105299290) in view of Nomura (JP2009090482) and Arai et al. (US PG Pub 2015/0302963).
As to independent claim 1,Umezawa teaches an electromagnetic coil, comprising an annular body, wherein an inner peripheral wall of the annular body comprises a plurality of claw poles (51C-54C) spaced apart in a circumferential direction, the electromagnetic coil further comprises an encapsulation layer (10) and a frame (55), and the encapsulation layer (60) encapsulates an upper annular wall (see annotated figure 2), a lower annular wall (see annotated figure 2), and an outer peripheral wall (see annotated figure 2) of the annular body, the encapsulation layer (60) is not disposed between the claw poles (51C-54C); the encapsulation layer (60) is formed of a resin material by injection molding, as shown in figure 2
However Umezawa teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the mold comprises an upper mold and a lower mold, wherein the mold defines a mold cavity, the upper mold comprises a first abutting part and a first groove part, and the lower mold comprises a second abutting part and a second groove part; the mold further comprises an injection port, and the injection port communicates with the mold cavity; during the injection molding, the second abutting part is axially abutted against the lower annular wall of the annular body, and the first abutting part is axially abutted against the upper annular wall of the annular body; and a space between the first groove part and the upper annular wall of the annular body is configured to accommodate the resin material that encapsulates the upper annular wall, and a space between the second groove part and the lower annular wall of the annular body is configured to accommodate the resin material that encapsulates the lower annular wall, and the upper annular wall, the lower annular wall and the outer periphery wall of the annular body are provided therein with the encapsulation layer.
Nomura teaches mold (10) comprises an upper mold (12) and a lower mold (14), wherein the mold defines a mold cavity (30) , the upper mold (12) comprises a first abutting part (see annotated figure 2) and a first groove part (see annotated figure 2), and the lower mold (14) comprises a second abutting part (see annotated figure 2) and a second groove part (see annotated figure 2); the mold further comprises an injection port (34), and the injection port (34) communicates with the mold cavity (30); during the injection molding, the second abutting part is axially abutted against the lower annular wall of the annular body, and the first abutting part is axially abutted against the upper annular wall (102) of the annular body (100) ; and a space (44) between the first groove part (see annotated figure 2) and the upper annular wall (102) of the annular body (100) is configured to accommodate the resin material (200, see figure 4) that encapsulates the upper annular wall (102), and a space between the second groove part (see annotated figure 2) and the lower annular wall (104) of the annular body is configured to accommodate the resin material (200, see figure 4) that encapsulates the lower annular wall (104), and the upper annular wall (102), the lower annular wall (104) as shown in figure 2 and 4, for the advantageous benefit of providing a resin molding method and a resin molding of a solenoid capable of securing the property.
Arai et al. teaches the outer periphery wall (110) of the annular body (100) are provided therein with the encapsulation layer (20) as shown in figures 1 and 4, for the advantageous benefit of providing an electromagnetic drive coil unit with waterproof properties and strength secured.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Umezawa by using the mold comprises an upper mold and a lower mold, wherein the mold defines a mold cavity, the upper mold comprises a first abutting part and a first groove part, and the lower mold comprises a second abutting part and a second groove part; the mold further comprises an injection port, and the injection port communicates with the mold cavity; during the injection molding, the second abutting part is axially abutted against the lower annular wall of the annular body, and the first abutting part is axially abutted against the upper annular wall of the annular body; and a space between the first groove part and the upper annular wall of the annular body is configured to accommodate the resin material that encapsulates the upper annular wall, and a space between the second groove part and the lower annular wall of the annular body is configured to accommodate the resin material that encapsulates the lower annular wall, and the upper annular wall, the lower annular wall and the outer periphery wall of the annular body are provided therein with the encapsulation layer, as taught by Nomura and Arai et al., to provide a resin molding method and a resin molding of a solenoid capable of securing the property and provide an electromagnetic drive coil unit with waterproof properties and strength secured.
As to claim 2/1, Umezawa in view of Nomura and Arai et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the lower mold comprises a second protrusion part, the second protrusion part protrudes along an axial direction of the second abutting part, a radial size of the second protrusion part is smaller than a radial size of the second abutting part.
However Nomura teaches the lower mold (14) comprises a second protrusion part (see annotated figure 2), the second protrusion part (see annotated figure 2) protrudes along an axial direction of the second abutting part (see annotated figure 2), a radial size of the second protrusion part (see annotated figure 2) is smaller than a radial size of the second abutting part (see annotated figure 2) as shown in figure 2, for the advantageous benefit of providing a resin molding method and a resin molding of a solenoid capable of securing the property.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Umezawa in view of Nomura and Arai et al. by using the lower mold comprises a second protrusion part, the second protrusion part protrudes along an axial direction of the second abutting part, a radial size of the second protrusion part is smaller than a radial size of the second abutting part, as taught by Nomura, to provide a resin molding method and a resin molding of a solenoid capable of securing the property.
As to claim 4/2, Umezawa in view of Nomura and Arai et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the upper mold comprises a first recess part, the first recess part is recessed axially along the first abutting part, a radial size of the first recess part is smaller than a radial size of the first abutting part.
However Nomura teaches the upper mold (12) comprises a first recess part (see annotated figure 2), the first recess part (see annotated figure 2) is recessed axially along the first abutting part (see annotated figure 2), a radial size of the first recess part (see annotated figure 2)is smaller than a radial size of the first abutting part (see annotated figure 2) as shown in figure 2, for the advantageous benefit of providing a resin molding method and a resin molding of a solenoid capable of securing the property.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Umezawa in view of Nomura and Arai et al. by using the upper mold comprises a first recess part, the first recess part is recessed axially along the first abutting part, a radial size of the first recess part is smaller than a radial size of the first abutting part, as taught by Nomura, to provide a resin molding method and a resin molding of a solenoid capable of securing the property.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umezawa (CN 105299290), Nomura (JP2009090482) and Arai et al. (US PG Pub 2015/0302963) as applied in claim 2 above, and further in view of Keiji (JP 3999909)
As to claim 3/2, Umezawa in view of Nomura and Arai et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the upper mold comprises a first protrusion part, the first protrusion part protrudes along an axial direction of the first abutting part, a radial size of the first protrusion part is smaller than a radial size of the first abutting part.
However Keiji teaches the upper mold (1) comprises a first protrusion part (see annotated figure 1) , the first protrusion part (see annotated figure 1) protrudes along an axial direction of the first abutting part (see annotated figure 1), a radial size of the first protrusion part is smaller than a radial size of the first abutting part (see annotated figure 1) as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of providing a resin sealing device and a sealing method capable of resin sealing with a simplified mechanism.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Umezawa in view of Nomura and Arai et al. by using the upper mold comprises a first recess part, the first recess part is recessed axially along the first abutting part, a radial size of the first recess part is smaller than a radial size of the first abutting part, as taught by Keiji, to provide a resin sealing device and a sealing method capable of resin sealing with a simplified mechanism.
Conclusion
/JOSE A GONZALEZ QUINONES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 July 10, 2026