Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
2. The Amendment filed on 08/07/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 13-14, 17, and 19 have been amended. Claim 16 has been canceled. Claims 23-24 have been added. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-15, 17-20 and 22-24, remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-15, 17-20, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the at least part of the first light-blocking part” and “the at least part of the first metal part”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation. For the purpose of the examination, the limitation “the at least part” is interpreted as “at least part”. Claims 3-5, 7-15, 17-20, and 22-23 are rejected as being dependent upon rejected base claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1, 10-15, 17-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cho (US 20210249635 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cho (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 11) discloses a display panel, comprising:
a substrate (substrate 100) having a first surface (top surface) and a second surface (bottom surface) opposing the first surface;
an array layer (TFT layer) disposed on the first surface (top surface) of the substrate (substrate 100);
a display layer (OLED layer) disposed on a side (top side) of the array layer (TFT layer) facing away from the substrate (substrate 100), wherein the display layer comprises light-emitting elements (OLEDs);
a color filter layer (layer 600’) disposed on a side (top side) of the display layer (OLED layer) facing away from the array layer (TFT layer), wherein the color filter layer (layer 600’) comprises a light-blocking layer (light-blocking layer 610; [0177]) and color filters (color filters 620; [0177]), wherein the light-blocking layer comprises a first light-blocking part (light-blocking part 610), and at least one light-transmitting aperture is disposed in the first light-blocking part (light-blocking part 610 forms an imaging aperture corresponding to a light transmission area TA); and
first metal part (metal part BML, [0077]), wherein the first metal part (metal part BML) overlaps the first light-blocking part (light-blocking part 610) of the light-blocking layer;
wherein the at least one light-transmitting aperture (light transmission area TA) does not overlap the light-emitting elements (OLEDs), or wherein the at least one light-transmitting aperture (light transmission area TA) corresponds to a spacing region between two adjacent light-emitting elements (OLEDs);
wherein the at least part of the first light-blocking part has a slope surface (e.g., Fig. 11; light-blocking part 610 has a slope surface), and in a direction perpendicular to the substrate, a projection of the slope surface overlaps a projection of the at least part of the first metal part (e.g., Fig. 11; in a direction perpendicular to the substrate 100, a projection of the slope surface of the light-blocking part 610 overlaps a projection of the metal part BML).
Regarding claim 10, Cho (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 11) discloses the display panel of claim 1, wherein every three light-emitting elements adjacent to each other among the light-emitting elements are arranged in a triangular shape, and one light-transmitting aperture is located in a middle of the triangular shape formed by said three light-emitting elements (e.g., Figs. 5 and 6; each light-emitting element corresponding to a display pixel P2, which are arranged in a triangular shape, a light-transmitting aperture TA is located in a middle of the triangular shape).
Regarding claim 11, Cho (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 11) discloses the display panel of claim 1, wherein at least part of the first metal part is a closed pattern (e.g., Figs. 9A-9E; metal part BML is a closed pattern) surrounding a respective one light-transmitting aperture (e.g., Figs. 9A-9E; light-transmitting aperture TA).
Regarding claim 12, Cho (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 11) discloses the display panel of claim 1, wherein in a direction parallel to the substrate, a side wall of one light-transmitting aperture (light-transmitting aperture TA) disposed in the first light-blocking part (light-blocking part 610) overlaps at least part of the first metal part (metal part BML).
Regarding claim 13, Cho (e.g., Figs. 2 and 11) discloses the display panel of claim 1, further comprising an optical sensor layer (optical sensor 20; [0068] and [0077]) disposed on a side of the color filter layer (layer 600’) facing away from a display side of the display panel, wherein in a direction perpendicular to the substrate (substrate 100), a side wall of one light-transmitting aperture (light-transmitting aperture TA) disposed in the first light-blocking part (light-blocking part 610) overlaps the optical sensor layer (optical sensor 20).
Regarding claim 14, Cho (e.g., Figs. 2 and 11) discloses the display panel of claim 1, further comprising an optical sensor layer (optical sensor 20; [0068] and [0077]) disposed on a side of the color filter layer (layer 600’) facing away from a display side of the display panel, wherein in a direction perpendicular to the substrate (substrate 100), at least part of the first metal part (metal part BML) overlaps the optical sensor layer (optical sensor 20).
Regarding claim 15, Cho (e.g., Figs. 2 and 11) discloses the display panel of claim 1, wherein at least part of the first metal part (metal part BML) overlaps the at least part of the first light-blocking part (light-blocking layer 610) in a direction parallel to a plane where the substrate (substrate 100) is located.
Regarding claim 17, Cho (e.g., Figs. 2 and 11) discloses the display panel of claim 1, wherein in a direction parallel to the substrate, a projection of the slope surface overlaps a projection of the at least associated part of the first metal part (e.g., Fig. 11; in a direction perpendicular to the substrate 100, a projection of the slope surface of the light-blocking part 610 overlaps a projection of the metal part BML).
Regarding claim 18, Cho (e.g., Figs. 2 and 11) discloses the display panel of claim 1, wherein in a direction parallel to the substrate (substrate 100), at least part of the first metal part (metal part BML) and an adjacent light-transmitting aperture (light-transmitting aperture TA) are separated by the at least part of the first light-blocking part (light-blocking layer 610).
Regarding claim 19, Cho (e.g., Figs. 2 and 11) discloses the display panel of claim 1, the light-blocking layer further comprises a second light-blocking part (light-blocking layer 610 comprising a first light-blocking part 610-1 corresponding to a slope portion and a second light-blocking part 610-2 corresponding to a flat portion), and the first light-blocking part (light-blocking part 610-1) is located between the second light-blocking part (light-blocking part 610-2) and the at least one light-transmitting aperture (light-transmitting aperture TA); and wherein a thickness of the second light-blocking part (Fig. 11; light-blocking part 610-2) is greater than a thickness of the first light-blocking part (Fig. 11; light-blocking part 610-1) , and at least part of the first metal part (light-blocking part 610-1) overlaps the second light-blocking part (light-blocking part 610-2) .
Regarding claim 20, Cho (e.g., Figs. 2 and 11) discloses the display panel of claim 1, wherein a top surface of the first metal part (metal part BMLB) and an end surface of the first metal part (metal part BML) are covered by the light-blocking layer (light-blocking layer 610).
Regarding claim 22, Cho (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 11) discloses a display device (display device 10), comprising: the display panel of claim 1.
6. Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chung (US 20210066648 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Chung (e.g., Fig. 15) discloses a display panel, comprising:
a substrate (substrate 110) having a first surface (top surface) and a second surface (bottom surface) opposing the first surface;
an array layer (TFT layer comprising transistors TR) disposed on the first surface (TFT layer) of the substrate (substrate 110);
a display layer (display layer comprising light emitting elements LE) disposed on a side of the array layer (TFT layer) facing away from the substrate (substrate 110), wherein the display layer comprises light-emitting elements (display layer comprising light emitting elements LE);
a color filter layer (color filter layer comprising black-matrix layer 320 and color filters 310) disposed on a side of the display layer (display layer comprising light emitting elements LE) facing away from the array layer (TFT layer), wherein the color filter layer comprises a light-blocking layer and color filters (color filter layer comprising black-matrix layer 320 and color filters 310), wherein the light-blocking layer comprises a first light-blocking part (black-matrix pattern 320), and at least one light-transmitting aperture (light-transmitting aperture TA) is disposed in the first light-blocking part (black-matrix pattern 320); and
first metal part (shielding pattern 600 is formed of metal; [0141]), wherein the first metal part (Fig. 15; metal shielding pattern 600) overlaps the first light-blocking part (Fig. 15; black-matrix pattern 320) of the light-blocking layer;
wherein the at least one light-transmitting aperture (light-transmitting aperture TA) does not overlap the light-emitting elements (light-emitting elements LE), or wherein the at least one light-transmitting aperture (light-transmitting aperture TA) corresponds to a spacing region between two adjacent light-emitting elements (light-emitting elements LE);
wherein the at least part of the first light-blocking part (Fig. 15; black-matrix pattern 320) is in contact with and overlaps the at least part of the first metal part (Fig. 15; metal shielding pattern 600); and
wherein an edge of the at least part of the first light-blocking part (Fig. 15; black-matrix pattern 320) where an adjacent light-transmitting aperture (Fig. 15; light-transmitting aperture TA) is located is terminated at the at least part of the first metal part (Fig. 15; metal shielding pattern 600).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1, 3-5, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Cho (US 20210249635 A1) in view of Lee (US 20200119113 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cho (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 11) discloses a display panel, comprising:
a substrate (substrate 100) having a first surface (top surface) and a second surface (bottom surface) opposing the first surface;
an array layer (TFT layer) disposed on the first surface (top surface) of the substrate (substrate 100);
a display layer (OLED layer) disposed on a side (top side) of the array layer (TFT layer) facing away from the substrate (substrate 100), wherein the display layer comprises light-emitting elements (OLEDs);
a color filter layer (layer 600’) disposed on a side (top side) of the display layer (OLED layer) facing away from the array layer (TFT layer), wherein the color filter layer (layer 600’) comprises a light-blocking layer (light-blocking layer 610; [0177]) and color filters (color filters 620; [0177]), wherein the light-blocking layer comprises a first light-blocking part (light-blocking part 610), and at least one light-transmitting aperture is disposed in the first light-blocking part (light-blocking part 610 forms an imaging aperture corresponding to a light transmission area TA); and
first metal part (metal part MTL2, [0149]), wherein the first metal part (metal part MTL2) overlaps the first light-blocking part (light-blocking part 610) of the light-blocking layer;
wherein the at least one light-transmitting aperture (light transmission area TA) does not overlap the light-emitting elements (OLEDs), or wherein the at least one light-transmitting aperture (light transmission area TA) corresponds to a spacing region between two adjacent light-emitting elements (OLEDs).
Cho discloses wherein the at least part of the first light-blocking part has a slope surface (e.g., Fig. 11; light-blocking part 610 has a slope surface), but does not disclose in a direction perpendicular to the substrate, a projection of the slope surface overlaps a projection of the at least part of the first metal part. However, Lee discloses a display panel, comprising a light-blocking layer (Figs. 6-7; light-blocking layer BM; [0136]) and a first metal part (Figs. 6-7; metal pattern IE2, [0111] and [0131]), wherein the light-blocking layer comprises a first light-blocking part (light-blocking pattern BM), and the first metal part (metal part IE2) overlaps the first light-blocking part (light-blocking pattern BM) of the light-blocking layer; wherein the at least part of the first light-blocking part has a slope surface (e.g., Figs.6-7; light-blocking part BM has a slope surface), and in a direction perpendicular to the substrate, a projection of the slope surface overlaps a projection of the at least part of the first metal part (e.g., Figs. 6-7; in a direction perpendicular to the substrate 101, a projection of the slope surface of the light-blocking part BM overlaps a projection of the metal part IE2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from Lee to the display panel of Cho. The combination/motivation would be to provide a shielding layer to cover the metal electrodes of the display device.
Regarding claim 3, Cho in view of Lee discloses the display panel of claim 1, Cho (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 11) discloses the display panel further comprising a touch functional layer (touch sensing layer 400; [0080]) located between the display layer (OLED layer) and the light-blocking layer (light-blocking layer 610); wherein the first metal part (metal part MTL2) is disposed in a same layer as the touch functional layer (touch sensing layer 400). Lee (Figs.6-7) discloses similar features as claimed.
Regarding claim 4, Cho in view of Lee discloses the display panel of claim 3, Cho (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 11) discloses wherein the touch functional layer (touch sensing layer 400) comprises at least one touch electrode layer (touch electrode layer MTL1/MTL2), but does not disclose the structure of the touch electrodes as claimed. However, Lee (e.g., Figs. 4-7) discloses a display panel similar to that disclosed by Cho, wherein the touch functional layer comprises at least one touch electrode layer (e.g., Figs. 4 and 5; touch sensing layer); in a case where the touch functional layer comprises one touch electrode layer, the one touch electrode layer comprises a touch electrode formed by a metal mesh, and at least part of the touch electrode is multiplexed as the first metal part; and in a case where the touch functional layer comprises touch electrode layers, at least one of the touch electrode layers comprises a touch electrode formed by a metal mesh, and at least part of the at least one of the touch electrodes is multiplexed as the first metal part (e.g., Figs. 4 and 5; touch electrode formed by a metal mesh IE1/IE2, touch electrode is multiplexed as the first metal part). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from Lee to the display panel of Cho or incorporate the teaching from Cho to the display panel of Lee. The combination/motivation would be to provide a display panel integrated with a touch sensor and an optical sensor.
Regarding claim 5, Cho in view of Lee discloses the display panel of claim 4, wherein mesh lines of the metal mesh are disposed in a region covered by the light-blocking layer (e.g., Cho’s Fig. 11, MTL2 is covered by light-blocking layer 610; Lee’s Fig. 6, IE2 is covered by light-blocking layer BM).
Regarding claim 7, Cho in view of Lee discloses the display panel of claim 1, Cho (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 11) discloses wherein at least part of the first light-blocking part (light-blocking layer 610) is in contact with and overlaps the at least part of the first metal part (metal part MTL2).
Regarding claim 8, Cho in view of Lee discloses the display panel of claim 7, Lee (Figs.6-7) discloses wherein an edge of the at least part of the first light-blocking part (edge of light-blocking layer BM) where an adjacent light-transmitting aperture (light-transmitting aperture TA) is located is terminated at the at least part of the first metal part (edge of metal pattern IE2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from Lee to the display panel of Cho for the same reason above.
9. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Cho (US 20210249635 A1) in view of Kinoshita (US 20080122804 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Cho (e.g., Figs. 2 and 11) discloses the display panel of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein at least one of the color filters overlaps one of the at least one imaging aperture. However, Kinoshita (e.g., Figs. 2, 8, 14, 16, and 19) discloses a display panel, wherein at least one of the color filters (color filter 23) overlaps one of the at least one imaging aperture (imaging aperture of optical sensor 61). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from Kinoshita to the display panel of Cho. The combination/motivation would be to reduce undesired light signal and obtain a full color image.
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant has amended claim 1 and deleted several limitations, which has changed the scope of the claim. In view of amendments, the reference of Cho (US 20210249635 A1), Lee (US 20200119113 A1), and Chung (US 20210066648 A1) have been used for new ground rejection. New claim 24 is rejected for the same reason above.
As an example, Cho (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 11) discloses a display panel, comprising a first light-blocking part 610 ([0177]) and a first metal part BML ([0077]), wherein the first metal part BML overlaps the first light-blocking part 610; the light-blocking part 610 has a slope surface (e.g., Fig. 11), and in a direction perpendicular to the substrate 100, a projection of the slope surface of the light-blocking part 610 overlaps a projection of the metal part BML (e.g., Fig. 11). Therefore, Cho (Fig. 11) teaches the limitations of the amended claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623