Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1, 3, 7, 10, 12-15, 17-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cho (US 20210249635 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cho (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 11; Fig. 11 is reproduced for reference) discloses a display panel, comprising:
a substrate (substrate 100) having a first surface (top surface) and a second surface (bottom surface) opposing the first surface;
an array layer (TFT layer) disposed on the first surface (top surface) of the substrate (substrate 100);
a display layer (OLED layer) disposed on a side (top side) of the array layer (TFT layer) facing away from the substrate (substrate 100), wherein the display layer comprises light-emitting elements (OLEDs);
a color filter layer (layer 600’) disposed on a side (top side) of the display layer (OLED layer) facing away from the array layer (TFT layer), wherein the color filter layer (layer 600’) comprises a light-blocking layer (light-blocking layer 610; [0177]) and color filters (color filters 620; [0177]), wherein the light-blocking layer (light-blocking layer 610) comprises a first light-blocking part (light-blocking part 610-1) and a second light-blocking part (light-blocking part 610-2), and at least one light-transmitting aperture is disposed in the first light-blocking part (light-blocking part 600-1 forms an imaging aperture corresponding to a light transmission area TA), the first light-blocking part (light-blocking part 610-1) is located between the second light-blocking part (light-blocking part 610-2) and the at least one light-transmitting aperture (light-transmitting aperture TA); and wherein a thickness of the second light-blocking part (light-blocking part 610-2) is greater than a thickness of the first light-blocking part (light-blocking part 610-1); and
first metal part (metal part MTL2, [0149]), wherein the first metal part (metal part MTL2) overlaps the first light-blocking part (light-blocking part 610-1) of the light-blocking layer (light-blocking layer 610), and an edge of at least part of the first metal part (metal part MTL2) is embedded in at least part of the first light-blocking part (light-blocking part 610-1);
wherein the at least one light-transmitting aperture (light transmission area TA) does not overlap the light-emitting elements (OLEDs); or wherein the at least one light-transmitting aperture (light transmission area TA) corresponds to a spacing region between two adjacent light-emitting elements (OLEDs).
Regarding claim 3, Cho (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 11) discloses the display panel of claim 1, further comprising a touch functional layer (touch sensing layer 400; [0080]) located between the display layer (OLED layer) and the light-blocking layer (light-blocking layer 610); wherein the first metal part (metal part MTL2) is disposed in a same layer as the touch functional layer (touch sensing layer 400).
Regarding claim 7, Cho (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 11) discloses the display panel of claim 1, wherein at least part of the first light-blocking part (light-blocking layer 610) is in contact with and overlaps the at least part of the first metal part (metal part MTL2).
Regarding claim 10, Cho (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 11) discloses the display panel of claim 1, wherein every three light-emitting elements adjacent to each other among the light-emitting elements are arranged in a triangular shape, and one light-transmitting aperture is located in a middle of the triangular shape formed by said three light-emitting elements (e.g., Figs. 1A-1B and 3A-3B; each light-emitting element corresponding to a display pixel P2, which are arranged in a triangular shape, a light-transmitting aperture TA is located in a middle of the triangular shape).
Regarding claim 12, Cho (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 11) discloses the display panel of claim 1, wherein in a direction parallel to the substrate, a side wall of one light-transmitting aperture (light-transmitting aperture TA) disposed in the first light-blocking part (light-blocking part 610-1) overlaps at least part of the first metal part (metal part MTL2).
Regarding claim 13, Cho (e.g., Figs. 2 and 11) discloses the display panel of claim 1, further comprising an optical sensor layer (optical sensor 20; [0068] and [0077]) disposed on a side of the color filter layer (layer 600’) facing away from a display side of the display panel, wherein in a direction perpendicular to the substrate (substrate 100), a side wall of one light-transmitting aperture (light-transmitting aperture TA) disposed in the first light-blocking part (light-blocking part 610-1) overlaps the optical sensor layer (optical sensor 20).
Regarding claim 14, Cho (e.g., Figs. 2 and 11) discloses the display panel of claim 1, further comprising an optical sensor layer (optical sensor 20; [0068] and [0077]) disposed on a side of the color filter layer (layer 600’) facing away from a display side of the display panel, wherein in a direction perpendicular to the substrate (substrate 100), at least part of the first metal part (metal part MTL2) overlaps the optical sensor layer (optical sensor 20).
Regarding claim 15, Cho (e.g., Figs. 2 and 11) discloses the display panel of claim 1, wherein at least part of the first metal part (metal part MTL2) overlaps the at least part of the first light-blocking part (light-blocking layer 610) in a direction parallel to a plane where the substrate (substrate 100) is located.
Regarding claim 17, Cho (e.g., Figs. 2 and 11) discloses the display panel of claim 1, wherein at least part of the first light-blocking part has a slope surface (light-blocking layer 610 has a slope surface), and in a direction parallel to the substrate, a projection of the slope surface overlaps a projection of the at least associated part of the first metal part (metal part MTL2).
Regarding claim 18, Cho (e.g., Figs. 2 and 11) discloses the display panel of claim 1, wherein in a direction parallel to the substrate (substrate 100), at least part of the first metal part (metal part MTL2) and an adjacent light-transmitting aperture (light-transmitting aperture TA) are separated by the at least part of the first light-blocking part (light-blocking layer 610).
Regarding claim 19, Cho (e.g., Figs. 2 and 11) discloses the display panel of claim 1, wherein at least part of the first metal part (metal part MTL2) overlaps the second light-blocking part (light-blocking part 610-2).
Regarding claim 20, Cho (e.g., Figs. 2 and 11) discloses the display panel of claim 1, wherein a top surface of the first metal part (metal part MTL2) and an end surface of the first metal part (metal part MTL2) are covered by the light-blocking layer (light-blocking layer 610).
Regarding claim 22, Cho (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 11) discloses a display device (display device 10), comprising: the display panel of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Cho (US 20210249635 A1) in view of Jeon (US 20210104583 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Cho (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 11) discloses the display panel of claim 3, wherein the touch functional layer (touch sensing layer 400) comprises at least one touch electrode layer (touch electrode layer MTL1/MTL2), but does not disclose the structure of the touch electrodes as claimed. However, Jeon (e.g., Figs. 8 and 10-12) discloses a display panel similar to that disclosed by Cho, wherein the touch functional layer comprises at least one touch electrode layer (e.g., Figs. 8 and 10; touch sensing layer); in a case where the touch functional layer comprises one touch electrode layer, the one touch electrode layer comprises a touch electrode formed by a metal mesh, and at least part of the touch electrode is multiplexed as the first metal part; and in a case where the touch functional layer comprises touch electrode layers, at least one of the touch electrode layers comprises a touch electrode formed by a metal mesh, and at least part of the at least one of the touch electrodes is multiplexed as the first metal part (e.g., Figs. 8 and 10; touch electrode formed by a metal mesh, touch electrode is multiplexed as the first metal part). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from Jeon to the display panel of Cho or incorporate the teaching from Cho to the display panel of Jeon. The combination/motivation would be to provide a display panel integrated with a touch sensor and an optical sensor.
Regarding claim 5, Cho in view of Jeon discloses the display panel of claim 4, wherein mesh lines of the metal mesh are disposed in a region covered by the light-blocking layer (e.g., Cho’s Fig. 11; MTL2 is covered by light-blocking layer 610).
7. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Cho (US 20210249635 A1) in view of Kinoshita (US 20080122804 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Cho (e.g., Figs. 2 and 11) discloses the display panel of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein at least one of the color filters overlaps one of the at least one imaging aperture. However, Kinoshita (e.g., Figs. 2, 8, 14, 16, and 19) discloses a display panel, wherein at least one of the color filters (color filter 23) overlaps one of the at least one imaging aperture (imaging aperture of optical sensor 61). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from Kinoshita to the display panel of Cho. The combination/motivation would be to reduced undesired light signal and obtain a full color image.
8. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Cho (US 20210249635 A1) in view of Kim (US 20220229516 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Cho (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 11) discloses the display panel of claim 1, wherein at least part of the first metal part (metal part MTL2) surrounding a respective one light-transmitting aperture (light-transmitting aperture TA), but does not disclose the at least part of the first metal part is a closed pattern. However, Kim discloses wherein at least part of the first metal part is a closed pattern surrounding a respective one light-transmitting aperture (Figs. 4 and 8-9; touch electrodes surrounding camera opening). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from Kim to the display panel of Cho. The combination/motivation would be to provide a display panel integrated with a touch sensor and an optical sensor.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 8 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The present invention is directed to a display device including an optical sensor. The closet prior arts, Cho (US 20210249635 A1), Chung (US 20210066648 A1), Jeon (US 20210104583 A1), Kinoshita (US 20080122804 A1), and Kim (US 20220229516 A1), individually or in combination, discloses a display panel, comprising: a substrate having a first surface and a second surface opposing the first surface; an array layer disposed on the first surface of the substrate; a display layer disposed on a side of the array layer facing away from the substrate, wherein the display layer comprises light-emitting elements; a color filter layer disposed on a side of the display layer facing away from the array layer, wherein the color filter layer comprises a light-blocking layer and color filters, wherein the light-blocking layer comprises a first light-blocking part and a second light-blocking part, at least one light-transmitting aperture is disposed in the first light-blocking part, the first light- blocking part is located between the second light-blocking part and the at least one light- transmitting aperture, and a thickness of the second light-blocking part is greater than a thickness of the first light-blocking part; and first metal part, wherein the first metal part overlaps the first light-blocking part of the light- blocking layer, and an edge of at least part of the first metal part is embedded in at least associated part of the first light-blocking part; wherein the at least one light-transmitting aperture does not overlap the light-emitting elements; or wherein the at least one light-transmitting aperture corresponds to a spacing region between two adjacent light-emitting elements, but fails to teach wherein an edge of the at least part of the first light-blocking part where an adjacent light-transmitting aperture is located is terminated at the at least associated part of the first metal part and wherein the at least part of the first light-blocking part has a slope surface, and in a direction perpendicular to the substrate, a projection of the slope surface overlaps a projection of at least part of the first metal part.
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has amended claim 1. Applicant further argues that the cited references do not disclose the new limitations of amended claim 1.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments. Cho (e.g., Fig. 11 is reproduced for reference) discloses a display panel, wherein a light-blocking layer 610 comprises a first light-blocking part 610-1 and a second light-blocking part 610-2, and the first light-blocking part 600-1 forms an imaging aperture corresponding to a light transmission area TA, the first light-blocking part 610-1 is located between the second light-blocking part 610-2 and the at least one light-transmitting aperture TA; and wherein a thickness of the second light-blocking part 610-2 is greater than a thickness of the first light-blocking part 610-1. Cho (Fig. 11) further discloses a metal part MTL2 including its edge is embedded in the first light-blocking part 610-1.
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623