DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
Claim(s) 1 –20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being unpatentable by Brooks et al. (US 4922901 A)
Regarding claim 1, An inhalation device comprising:
a controller 14 configured to control operation of a heater 18 (Column 4, lines 19 – 23 / Column 5, lines 49 - 54);
wherein the controller is configured to turn off the heater 18 when a measured duration of airflow through the inhalation device 10 for each puff reaches or exceeds a limit value (Claim 70).
Regarding claim 2, Brooks discloses the inhalation device as claimed in claim 1.
Brooks discloses further comprising a timer 112 configured to measure the duration of airflow through the inhalation device 10 for each puff (Column 13, lines 50 – 62).
Regarding claim 4, Brooks discloses the inhalation device as claimed in claim 2.
Brooks discloses wherein the timer 112 is integrated with the controller 14 (Column 8, lines 15 – 29).
Regarding claim 5, Brooks discloses the inhalation device as claimed in claim 1.
Brooks discloses further comprising a sensor configured to detect one or more of an airflow, a pressure change. (Column 7, lines 1 – 14)
Regarding claim 6, Brooks discloses the inhalation device as claimed in claim 5.
Brooks discloses wherein the sensor is at least one of a pressure sensor 28. (Column 7, lines 1 – 14 / Column 11, lines 24 - 40)
Regarding claim 7, Brooks discloses the inhalation device as claimed in claim 2.
Brooks discloses further comprising a sensor 28 configured to detect one or more of an airflow, a pressure change (Column 7, lines 1 – 14 / Column 11, lines 24 - 40), wherein the timer 112 is configured to be activated by the sensor 28. (Column 11, lines 24 – 53)
Regarding claim 8, Brooks discloses the inhalation device as claimed in claim 2.
Brooks discloses further comprising a sensor 28 configured to detect one or more of an airflow, a pressure change, wherein the timer 112 measures a puff duration while the sensor is activated. (Column 7, lines 1 – 14 / Column 11, lines 24 - 40),
Regarding claim 9, Brooks discloses the inhalation device as claimed in claim 1.
Brooks discloses wherein the limit value is set as a total time allowed for airflow through the inhalation device 10 within a given period of use. (Column 13, lines 50 – 62 / Claim 70 / Note: the examiner considers this to be the pulse train including a predetermined duty cycle discloses in claim 70)
Regarding claim 10, Brooks discloses the inhalation device as claimed in claim 1.
Brooks discloses further comprising a cartridge 12 that contains a substance (Column 3, lines 25 – 31) configured to be released by the heater 18. (Column 8, last paragraph – Column 9, first paragraph)
Regarding claim 11, Brooks discloses the inhalation device as claimed in claim 1.
Brooks discloses further comprising a cartridge 12 including a heater 18 and a substance configured to be released by the heater 18. (Column 8, last paragraph – Column 9, first paragraph / Column 3, lines 25 – 31)
Regarding claim 12, Brooks discloses the inhalation device as claimed in claim 1.
Brooks discloses wherein the controller is configured to prevent turning on the heater during a shut off time following the measured duration of airflow reaching or exceeding the limit value. (Column 14, lines 47 – 60 discloses the capacitor which is a part of the controller indirectly turning the heater element on and off by stopping the flow)
Regarding claim 13, An inhalation device comprising:
a controller 14 configured to control operation of a heater 18 (Column 4, lines 19 – 23 / Column 5, lines 49 - 54);
wherein the controller 14 is configured to turn off the heater 18 when a timed airflow through the inhalation device that passes through an inlet hole 54 (Column 7, lines 33 – 47) and an outlet hole (Claim 21) of the device reaches or exceeds a limit value. (Column 11, lines 41 – 53 / Column 14, lines 47 – 60 discloses the capacitor which is a part of the controller indirectly turning the heater element on and off by stopping the flow)
Regarding claim 15, Brooks discloses the inhalation device as claimed in claim 13.
Brooks discloses further comprising a timer 112 configured to time the airflow through the inhalation device 10 that passes through an inlet hole (Column 7, lines 33 – 47) and an outlet hole (Claim 21) of the device (Column 13, lines 50 – 62), wherein the timer 112 is integrated with the controller 14. (Column 8, lines 15 – 29).
Regarding claim 16, Brooks discloses the inhalation device as claimed in claim 13.
Brooks discloses further comprising a sensor configured to detect one or more of an airflow, a pressure change. (Column 7, lines 1 – 14)
Regarding claim 17, Brooks discloses the inhalation device as claimed in claim 13.
Brooks discloses further comprising a sensor 28 configured to detect one or more of an airflow, a pressure change (Column 7, lines 1 – 14 / Column 11, lines 24 - 40) and further comprising a timer 112 configured to time the airflow through the inhalation device 10 that passes through an inlet hole (Column 7, lines 33 – 47) and an outlet hole (Claim 21) of the device (Column 13, lines 50 – 62), wherein the timer 112 is configured to be activated by the sensor 28. (Column 11, lines 24 – 53)
Regarding claim 18, Brooks discloses the inhalation device as claimed in claim 13.
Brooks discloses further comprising a cartridge 12 that contains a substance (Column 3, lines 25 – 31) configured to be released by the heater 18. (Column 8, last paragraph – Column 9, first paragraph)
Regarding claim 19, Brooks discloses the inhalation device as claimed in claim 13.
Brooks discloses further comprising a cartridge 12 including a heater 18 and a substance configured to be released by the heater 18. (Column 8, last paragraph – Column 9, first paragraph / Column 3, lines 25 – 31)
Regarding claim 20, An inhalation device comprising:
a controller 14 configured to control operation of a heater 18 (Column 4, lines 19 – 23 / Column 5, lines 49 - 54);
wherein the controller 14 is configured to turn off the heater 18 when an amount of time the heater 18 is activated reaches or exceeds a limit value. (Claim 70)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 3 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Brooks et al. (US 4922901 A) as claimed in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Brooks discloses the inhalation device as claimed in claim 2.
Brooks does not disclose wherein the timer is separate from the controller.
Furthermore, since applicants have not disclosed that these modifications solve any stated problem or are for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs, these modifications are a matter of design choice. Absent a teaching as to criticality of the location of the timer woth regards to the controller, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975). MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 14 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Brooks et al. (US 4922901 A) as claimed in claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, Brooks discloses the inhalation device as claimed in claim 13.
Brooks discloses further comprising a timer 112 configured to time the airflow through the inhalation device 10 that passes through an inlet hole (Column 7, lines 33 – 47) and an outlet hole (Claim 21) of the device.
Brooks does not expressly disclose wherein the timer is separate from the controller.
Furthermore, since applicants have not disclosed that these modifications solve any stated problem or are for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs, these modifications are a matter of design choice. Absent a teaching as to criticality of the location of the timer with regards to the controller, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975). MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
/GRACIELA NATALIA LEBRON DE JESUS/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/KENDRA D CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785