DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 12/20/2024. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 5 is dependent upon claim 4 and it is not further limiting claim 4's autopilot constraints comprising speed and direction. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-10, 12-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Estabrook, US-20190204837-A1, in view of Inoue et al., US-20250263161-A1, hereinafter referred to as Estabrook, and Inoue.
As per claim 1
Estabrook discloses [a]n autopilot control system for a marine vessel, the autopilot control system comprising processing circuitry configured to (autopilot 204 to enter a standby mode or to temporarily pause sending control signals to ECU 208 when autopilot functionality is disengaged - Estabrook ¶42):
receive a manual autopilot cancel request in response to a rudder of the marine vessel deviating from a boundary value of an autopilot rudder angle value [that is a product of the helm angle], wherein the autopilot rudder angle value pertains to an autopilot mode of the marine vessel (Method 400 may begin when an autopilot system is engaged (block 402)…a rate of helm movement, an indication that movement of the helm exceeds a predetermined autopilot disengagement threshold, etc. (block 406)… determine whether the helm has been steered beyond a predetermined autopilot disengagement threshold helm angle (block 408). If so, method 400 may proceed to disengage the autopilot (block 410) - Estabrook Fig 4 (402-414) + ¶81-¶84);
in response to receiving the manual autopilot cancel request, set the autopilot mode to a paused state, the paused state allowing for manual maneuvering of the marine vessel (autopilot when movement of the helm exceeds a predetermined autopilot disengagement threshold (block 410). This may include, for example, the CCU stopping or pausing control signals being sent to the ECU (block 410 - Estabrook Fig 4 (402-414) + ¶85);
receive a manual autopilot re-engagement request in response to the rudder being positioned within a boundary value of the autopilot rudder angle value (Method 400 may include determining whether autopilot should resume (i.e., be re-engaged) (block 414). Method 400 may re-engage the autopilot when movement of the helm is less than a predetermined autopilot re-engagement threshold (block 414). - Estabrook ¶87);
in response to receiving the manual autopilot re-engagement request, set the autopilot mode to an active state, the active state causing automatic maneuvering of the marine vessel (autopilot 204 to resume control when movement data received from sensor units 218.1-218.3 indicates that the helm has returned to its original position or when a heading (determined based on geographic position data) indicates that the heading marine vessel has stabilized…CCU 206 may determine that the heading has stabilized when the current heading of the marine vessel is within a predetermined autopilot re-engagement threshold over a threshold time period…Once the CCU 206 causes autopilot 204 to resume control, autopilot 204 may maintain the current (stabilized) heading of the marine vessel or remain on a course (route) to a destination - Estabrook ¶43).
Estabrook does not specifically disclose [transitioning between automatic to manual boat control based on the] rudder angle value.
However, Inoue teaches [transitioning between automatic to manual boat control based on the] rudder angle value [but also the rotation angle of the boat’s helm] (when it is controlled whether or not to immediately shift the vessel steering mode from the automatic vessel steering mode to the manual vessel steering mode based on the rotation angle of the steering wheel 13, there is a possibility that the vessel steering mode is shifted to the manual vessel steering mode in a state where the marine vessel 1 is turning. Therefore, in the present example embodiment, whether or not to immediately shift the vessel steering mode from the automatic vessel steering mode to the manual vessel steering mode is controlled based on the rudder angle position instead of the rotation angle of the steering wheel 13 - Inoue ¶68).
Estabrook discloses a system that determines when to temporarily disengage a marine autopilot system in response to detected helm movement. Inoue teaches automatically navigable vessel steering systems, methods for controlling the vessel steering systems, and marine vessels.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Estabrook, a system that determines when to temporarily disengage a marine autopilot system in response to detected helm movement, with automatically navigable vessel steering systems, methods for controlling the vessel steering systems, and marine vessels, as taught by Inoue, with a reasonable expectation of success for improvement from the viewpoint of maintaining the operation of the marine vessel, and to maintain operation of marine vessels even when continuation of automatic operation of the marine vessels becomes difficult, see Inoue ¶5 & ¶6 for details.
As per claim 2
Estabrook does not specifically disclose wherein the autopilot rudder angle value corresponds to a neutral position of the rudder being aligned with the longitudinal axis of the marine vessel.
However, Inoue teaches wherein the autopilot rudder angle value corresponds to a neutral position of the rudder being aligned with the longitudinal axis of the marine vessel (BCU 16 checks the direction (rudder angle position) of each outboard motor 3… the straight advancing rudder angle position (step S 81 ) - Inoue ¶63 – Examiner reasons that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the neutral position of the rudder is along the longitudinal axis of the marine vessel, pointing straight ahead).
Estabrook discloses a system that determines when to temporarily disengage a marine autopilot system in response to detected helm movement. Inoue teaches automatically navigable vessel steering systems, methods for controlling the vessel steering systems, and marine vessels.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Estabrook, a system that determines when to temporarily disengage a marine autopilot system in response to detected helm movement, with automatically navigable vessel steering systems, methods for controlling the vessel steering systems, and marine vessels, as taught by Inoue, with a reasonable expectation of success for improvement from the viewpoint of maintaining the operation of the marine vessel, and to maintain operation of marine vessels even when continuation of automatic operation of the marine vessels becomes difficult, see Inoue ¶5 & ¶6 for details.
As per claim 6
Estabrook further discloses wherein the positioning of the rudder within the boundary value of the autopilot rudder angle value is caused by a manual user maneuvering of an input device comprising a steering member connected to the rudder (CCU 206 may determine that the heading has stabilized when the current heading of the marine vessel is within a predetermined autopilot re-engagement threshold over a threshold time period, Method 400 may re-engage the autopilot when movement of the helm is less than a predetermined autopilot re-engagement threshold - Estabrook ¶43 & ¶87 - Examiner reasons that the helm movement will require human intervention).
As per claim 7
Estabrook further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: recognize the rudder as being positioned within the boundary value of the autopilot rudder angle value based on sensor data obtained from one or more rudder angle transducers arranged on the rudder (rudder 114 may be independently controlled by helm 102 coupled to helm pump 108 (helm control) or by autopilot pump motor 106 coupled to autopilot pump 110 (autopilot control)., Autopilot 204 may additionally receive rudder position feedback received from rudder transducer 214 indicative of the current position of rudder 216 - Estabrook ¶20 & ¶40).
As per claim 8
Estabrook further discloses wherein a boundary value of the autopilot rudder angle value is a tolerance range in relation to the autopilot rudder angle value within which the rudder is to be positioned for setting the autopilot mode to the active state (CCU 206 may determine that the heading has stabilized when the current heading of the marine vessel is within a predetermined autopilot re-engagement threshold over a threshold time period, Method 400 may re-engage the autopilot when movement of the helm is less than a predetermined autopilot re-engagement threshold - Estabrook ¶43 & ¶87 - Examiner reasons that the threshold for engagement/disengagement is actually based the helm, the helm is controlling the ship’s rudder angle, even though Inoue teaches autopilot disengagement based on the rudder angle).
Estabrook does not specifically disclose [transitioning between automatic to manual boat control based on the] rudder angle value.
However, Inoue teaches [transitioning between automatic to manual boat control based on the] rudder angle value [but also the rotation angle of the boat’s helm] (when it is controlled whether or not to immediately shift the vessel steering mode from the automatic vessel steering mode to the manual vessel steering mode based on the rotation angle of the steering wheel 13, there is a possibility that the vessel steering mode is shifted to the manual vessel steering mode in a state where the marine vessel 1 is turning. Therefore, in the present example embodiment, whether or not to immediately shift the vessel steering mode from the automatic vessel steering mode to the manual vessel steering mode is controlled based on the rudder angle position instead of the rotation angle of the steering wheel 13 - Inoue ¶68).
Estabrook discloses a system that determines when to temporarily disengage a marine autopilot system in response to detected helm movement. Inoue teaches automatically navigable vessel steering systems, methods for controlling the vessel steering systems, and marine vessels.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Estabrook, a system that determines when to temporarily disengage a marine autopilot system in response to detected helm movement, with automatically navigable vessel steering systems, methods for controlling the vessel steering systems, and marine vessels, as taught by Inoue, with a reasonable expectation of success for improvement from the viewpoint of maintaining the operation of the marine vessel, and to maintain operation of marine vessels even when continuation of automatic operation of the marine vessels becomes difficult, see Inoue ¶5 & ¶6 for details.
As per claim 9
Estabrook further discloses wherein the tolerance range is based on one or more of vessel characteristics and environmental factors (CCU 206 may determine that the heading has stabilized when the current heading of the marine vessel is within a predetermined autopilot re-engagement threshold over a threshold time period, Method 400 may re-engage the autopilot when movement of the helm is less than a predetermined autopilot re-engagement threshold - Estabrook ¶43 & ¶87).
As per claim 10
Estabrook further discloses wherein the vessel characteristics include one or more of a design of the marine vessel, a travelling speed of the marine vessel, a load of the marine vessel, a load distribution of the marine vessel, and a maneuvering mode of the marine vessel (the predetermined autopilot disengagement threshold may be an amount of rotation (e.g., accelerometer data… rate of rotation rate of rotational acceleration, CCU 206 may determine that the heading has stabilized when the current heading of the marine vessel is within a predetermined autopilot re-engagement threshold over a threshold time period, Method 400 may re-engage the autopilot when movement of the helm is less than a predetermined autopilot re-engagement threshold - Estabrook ¶42 & ¶43 & ¶87).
As per claim 12
Estabrook further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive sensor-retrieved surroundings data from one or more sensor units, and based on the sensor-retrieved surroundings data, dynamically adjust the autopilot rudder angle value and/or set the autopilot mode to the active state (geographic position information received from a position-determining component (e.g., a GPS receiver)…the processor may use the sensory information (integrated within the autopilot or received from an external source) to determine the direction the marine vessel is pointing and its direction of travel. The processor may provide commands to an actuator that causes the marine vessel to maintain the current heading, computer processors that receive autopilot data, geographic position data, routing data, and/or rudder positional data and utilize any combination of this data to facilitate autonomous control of rudder 216 - Estabrook ¶16 & ¶38).
As per claim 13
Estabrook further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive route data a from route planning system, and based on the route data, dynamically adjust the autopilot rudder angle value and/or set the autopilot mode to the active state (chart plotter 202 may determine a route, Autopilot 204…determine whether rudder 216 needs to be steered to a new position by analyzing the current position of the rudder and the current heading and/or route of the marine vessel. Thus, CCU 206 determines an amount to rotate rudder 216 to maintain current heading or route (in accordance with routing data received from the chart plotter 202) of the marine vessel. - Estabrook ¶36 & ¶38).
As per claim 15
Estabrook further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: determine an autopilot re-engagement delay timer, and set the autopilot mode to the active state in response to the rudder being positioned within the boundary value of the autopilot rudder angle value for a time period determined by the autopilot re-engagement delay timer (CCU 206 may determine that the heading has stabilized when the current heading of the marine vessel is within a predetermined autopilot re-engagement threshold over a threshold time period. For instance, the predetermined autopilot re-engagement threshold may be a heading deviating within 3-5 degrees/second and the threshold time period may be 30 seconds at a first velocity of the marine vessel. - Estabrook ¶43).
As per claim 16
Estabrook does not specifically disclose wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause generation of sensory feedback to an operator of the marine vessel in response to the rudder being positioned within the boundary value of the autopilot rudder angle value.
Estabrook discloses an automatic boat steering system that transitions from automatic to manual and back again based on a helm angle threshold region. However, Inoue teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause generation of sensory feedback to an operator of the marine vessel in response to the rudder being positioned within the boundary value of the autopilot rudder angle value (when it is controlled whether or not to immediately shift the vessel steering mode from the automatic vessel steering mode to the manual vessel steering mode based on the rotation angle of the steering wheel 13, there is a possibility that the vessel steering mode is shifted to the manual vessel steering mode in a state where the marine vessel 1 is turning. Therefore, in the present example embodiment, whether or not to immediately shift the vessel steering mode from the automatic vessel steering mode to the manual vessel steering mode is controlled based on the rudder angle position instead of the rotation angle of the steering wheel 13 - Inoue ¶68 -- Examiner reasons that the sensory feedback is the position of the steering wheel 13 or the joystick 10 in Estabrook).
Estabrook discloses a system that determines when to temporarily disengage a marine autopilot system in response to detected helm movement. Inoue teaches automatically navigable vessel steering systems, methods for controlling the vessel steering systems, and marine vessels.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Estabrook, a system that determines when to temporarily disengage a marine autopilot system in response to detected helm movement, with automatically navigable vessel steering systems, methods for controlling the vessel steering systems, and marine vessels, as taught by Inoue, with a reasonable expectation of success for improvement from the viewpoint of maintaining the operation of the marine vessel, and to maintain operation of marine vessels even when continuation of automatic operation of the marine vessels becomes difficult, see Inoue ¶5 & ¶6 for details.
As per claim 17
Estabrook further discloses [a] marine vessel comprising the autopilot control system (helm movement and marine vessel movement…autopilot 204 to enter a standby mode or to temporarily pause sending control signals to ECU 208 when autopilot functionality is disengaged - Estabrook ¶42).
As per claim 18
Estabrook discloses [a] computer-implemented method for autopilot control of a marine vessel, the method comprising (autopilot 204 to enter a standby mode or to temporarily pause sending control signals to ECU 208 when autopilot functionality is disengaged - Estabrook ¶42):
receiving, by processing circuitry of an autopilot control system, a manual autopilot cancel request in response to a rudder of the marine vessel deviating from a boundary value of an autopilot rudder angle value [that is a product of the helm angle], wherein the autopilot rudder angle value pertains to an autopilot mode of the marine vessel (Method 400 may begin when an autopilot system is engaged (block 402)…a rate of helm movement, an indication that movement of the helm exceeds a predetermined autopilot disengagement threshold, etc. (block 406)… determine whether the helm has been steered beyond a predetermined autopilot disengagement threshold helm angle (block 408). If so, method 400 may proceed to disengage the autopilot (block 410) - Estabrook Fig 4 (402-414) + ¶81-¶84);
in response to receiving the manual autopilot cancel request, setting, by the processing circuitry, the autopilot mode to a paused state, the paused state allowing for manual maneuvering of the marine vessel (autopilot when movement of the helm exceeds a predetermined autopilot disengagement threshold (block 410). This may include, for example, the CCU stopping or pausing control signals being sent to the ECU (block 410 - Estabrook Fig 4 (402-414) + ¶85);
receiving, by the processing circuitry, a manual autopilot re-engagement request in response to the rudder being positioned within a boundary value of the autopilot rudder angle value (Method 400 may include determining whether autopilot should resume (i.e., be re-engaged) (block 414). Method 400 may re-engage the autopilot when movement of the helm is less than a predetermined autopilot re-engagement threshold (block 414). - Estabrook ¶87);
in response to receiving the manual autopilot re-engagement request, setting, by the processing circuitry, the autopilot mode to an active state, the active state causing automatic maneuvering of the marine vessel (autopilot 204 to resume control when movement data received from sensor units 218.1-218.3 indicates that the helm has returned to its original position or when a heading (determined based on geographic position data) indicates that the heading marine vessel has stabilized…CCU 206 may determine that the heading has stabilized when the current heading of the marine vessel is within a predetermined autopilot re-engagement threshold over a threshold time period…Once the CCU 206 causes autopilot 204 to resume control, autopilot 204 may maintain the current (stabilized) heading of the marine vessel or remain on a course (route) to a destination - Estabrook ¶43).
Estabrook does not specifically disclose [transitioning between automatic to manual boat control based on the] rudder angle value.
However, Inoue teaches [transitioning between automatic to manual boat control based on the] rudder angle value [but also the rotation angle of the boat’s helm] (when it is controlled whether or not to immediately shift the vessel steering mode from the automatic vessel steering mode to the manual vessel steering mode based on the rotation angle of the steering wheel 13, there is a possibility that the vessel steering mode is shifted to the manual vessel steering mode in a state where the marine vessel 1 is turning. Therefore, in the present example embodiment, whether or not to immediately shift the vessel steering mode from the automatic vessel steering mode to the manual vessel steering mode is controlled based on the rudder angle position instead of the rotation angle of the steering wheel 13 - Inoue ¶68).
Estabrook discloses a system that determines when to temporarily disengage a marine autopilot system in response to detected helm movement. Inoue teaches automatically navigable vessel steering systems, methods for controlling the vessel steering systems, and marine vessels.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Estabrook, a system that determines when to temporarily disengage a marine autopilot system in response to detected helm movement, with automatically navigable vessel steering systems, methods for controlling the vessel steering systems, and marine vessels, as taught by Inoue, with a reasonable expectation of success for improvement from the viewpoint of maintaining the operation of the marine vessel, and to maintain operation of marine vessels even when continuation of automatic operation of the marine vessels becomes difficult, see Inoue ¶5 & ¶6 for details.
As per claim 19
Estabrook further discloses [a] computer program product comprising program code for performing, when executed by the processing circuitry (CCU 206 may be implemented, for example, as any suitable number and/or type of computer processors that receive autopilot data, geographic position data, routing data, and/or rudder positional data and utilize any combination of this data to facilitate autonomous control of rudder 216, other components of the autopilot steering system described herein…implemented with any suitable combination of hardware and/or software to facilitate such functionality - Estabrook ¶38 & ¶72).
As per claim 20
Estabrook further discloses [a] non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions, which when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to perform (CCU 206 may be implemented, for example, as any suitable number and/or type of computer processors that receive autopilot data, geographic position data, routing data, and/or rudder positional data and utilize any combination of this data to facilitate autonomous control of rudder 216, other components of the autopilot steering system described herein…implemented with any suitable combination of hardware and/or software to facilitate such functionality - Estabrook ¶38 & ¶72).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Estabrook, and Inoue, as per claim 1, and further in view of Shimo et al., US-20070162207-A1, hereinafter referred to as Shimo.
As per claim 3
Estabrook does not specifically disclose wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: register a last known position of the rudder prior to receiving the manual autopilot cancel request, and set the autopilot rudder angle value to said last known position of the rudder.
Estabrook discloses an automatic boat steering system that transitions from automatic to manual and back again. However, Shimo teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: register a last known position of the rudder prior to receiving the manual autopilot cancel request, and set the autopilot rudder angle value to said last known position of the rudder (autopilot…the input device can input a desired turning direction, the memory stores the turning direction input by the input device, and the rudder angle adjuster adjust a rudder angle so that the ship turns in the turning direction stored in the memory - Shimo ¶17 - Examiner reasons that since the steering angle is stored because of the boat’s forward movement and steering that the last known rudder position is stored for use once the autopilot reengages in the primary reference, Estabrook).
Estabrook discloses a system that determines when to temporarily disengage a marine autopilot system in response to detected helm movement. Shimo teaches an automatic steering control apparatus for ships which outputs a command rudder angle based on a deviation of a heading of the ship from a reference course.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Estabrook, a system that determines when to temporarily disengage a marine autopilot system in response to detected helm movement, with an automatic steering control apparatus for ships which outputs a command rudder angle based on a deviation of a heading of the ship from a reference course, as taught by Shimo, with a reasonable expectation of success for to provide an automatic steering control apparatus and an autopilot for turning around a desired turning center position without being affected by extraneous factors, such as tidal current and the like, see Shimo ¶12 for details.
Claims 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Estabrook, and Inoue, as per claims 1, and 4, respectively, and further in view of Hirose et al., WO-2014148168-A1, hereinafter referred to as Hirose (Translation by Espacenet).
As per claim 4
Estabrook further discloses receiving the manual autopilot cancel request, [control the boat] after receiving the manual autopilot re-engagement request (autopilot 204 to resume control when movement data received from sensor units 218.1-218.3 indicates that the helm has returned to its original position or when a heading (determined based on geographic position data) indicates that the heading marine vessel has stabilized…CCU 206 may determine that the heading has stabilized when the current heading of the marine vessel is within a predetermined autopilot re-engagement threshold over a threshold time period…Once the CCU 206 causes autopilot 204 to resume control, autopilot 204 may maintain the current (stabilized) heading of the marine vessel or remain on a course (route) to a destination - Estabrook ¶43).
Estabrook does not specifically disclose wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: register a last known autopilot profile of the marine vessel prior to [predetermined period which corresponds to the time before the conditions are met to disengage the autopilot in Estabrook], the autopilot profile comprising course-keeping or track-following operations comprising a speed and a direction of the marine vessel, and based on the last known autopilot profile, control the active state of the autopilot mode.
Estabrook discloses an automatic boat steering system that transitions from automatic to manual and back again. However, Hirose teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: register a last known autopilot profile of the marine vessel prior to [predetermined period which corresponds to the time before the conditions are met to disengage the autopilot in Estabrook], the autopilot profile comprising course-keeping or track-following operations comprising a speed and a direction of the marine vessel, and based on the last known autopilot profile, control the active state of the autopilot mode (marine vessel maneuvering system…records a maneuvering operation related to a change in the engine revolution speed and a rudder direction in a predetermined recording period, and reproduces the recorded marine vessel maneuvering operation to automatically navigate the ship, Electrical signals from these sensors 11, 12 are input to the controller 4 as data on the direction of the rudder - Hirose Page 1 Lines 16-20 & Page 4 Lines 49-51 - Examiner reasons that since the speed and direction data is stored during the period right up to the autopilot disconnect, that data is utilized by the autopilot when it reengages in the primary reference).
Estabrook discloses a system that determines when to temporarily disengage a marine autopilot system in response to detected helm movement. Hirose teaches a marine vessel maneuvering system that performs automatic control of ship navigation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Estabrook, a system that determines when to temporarily disengage a marine autopilot system in response to detected helm movement, with a marine vessel maneuvering system that performs automatic control of ship navigation, as taught by Hirose, with a reasonable expectation of success to automatically navigate the ship based on the marine vessel maneuvering operation, see Hirose Page 1 Lines 24-25 for details.
As per claim 5
Estabrook does not specifically disclose wherein the autopilot profile comprises course-keeping or track-following operations comprising a speed and a direction of the marine vessel.
Estabrook discloses an automatic boat steering system that transitions from automatic to manual and back again. However, Hirose teaches wherein the autopilot profile comprises course-keeping or track-following operations comprising a speed and a direction of the marine vessel (marine vessel maneuvering system…records a maneuvering operation related to a change in the engine revolution speed and a rudder direction in a predetermined recording period, and reproduces the recorded marine vessel maneuvering operation to automatically navigate the ship, Electrical signals from these sensors 11, 12 are input to the controller 4 as data on the direction of the rudder - Hirose Page 1 Lines 16-20 & Page 4 Lines 49-51).
Estabrook discloses a system that determines when to temporarily disengage a marine autopilot system in response to detected helm movement. Hirose teaches a marine vessel maneuvering system that performs automatic control of ship navigation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Estabrook, a system that determines when to temporarily disengage a marine autopilot system in response to detected helm movement, with a marine vessel maneuvering system that performs automatic control of ship navigation, as taught by Hirose, with a reasonable expectation of success to automatically navigate the ship based on the marine vessel maneuvering operation, see Hirose Page 1 Lines 24-25 for details.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Estabrook, and Inoue, as per claim 9, and further in view of Hashizume et al., US-20240111286-A1, hereinafter referred to as Hashizume.
As per claim 11
Estabrook does not specifically disclose wherein the environmental factors include one or more of wind speed, wind direction, wave height, wave direction, wave frequency, current speed, and current direction.
Estabrook discloses an automatic boat steering system that transitions from automatic to manual and back again. However, Hashizume teaches wherein the environmental factors include one or more of wind speed, wind direction, wave height, wave direction, wave frequency, current speed, and current direction (automatic berthing control, the vessel 20 can continuously receives the disturbance data related to the wind direction and wind speed - Hashizume ¶34).
Estabrook discloses a system that determines when to temporarily disengage a marine autopilot system in response to detected helm movement. Hashizume teaches an autonomous control system and method for a vessel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Estabrook, a system that determines when to temporarily disengage a marine autopilot system in response to detected helm movement, with an autonomous control system and method for a vessel, as taught by Hashizume, with a reasonable expectation of success to correct the vessel control, and thus the precision of the vessel control may be increased, see Hashizume ¶25 for details.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Estabrook, and Inoue, as per claim 13, and further in view of Kishimoto et al., US-20190344875-A1, hereinafter referred to as Kishimoto.
As per claim 14
Estabrook does not specifically disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: establish one or more waypoints based on the route data, and based on the one or more waypoints, control the automatic maneuvering of the marine vessel during the active state of the autopilot mode.
However, Kishimoto teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: establish one or more waypoints based on the route data, and based on the one or more waypoints, control the automatic maneuvering of the marine vessel during the active state of the autopilot mode (automatic steering device 101…route calculator 13 may calculate the route R12 of the ship 10 based on the positions of the plurality of target points P. The intermediate waypoint calculating module 22 may calculate the intermediate waypoint S ahead of the ship 10. The command steering angle calculating module 23 may calculate the command steering angle based on the positional relation between the route R12 calculated by the route calculator 13 and the intermediate waypoint S calculated by the intermediate waypoint calculating module 22 - Kishimoto ¶129).
Estabrook discloses a system that determines when to temporarily disengage a marine autopilot system in response to detected helm movement. Kishimoto teaches an automatic steering device, an automatic steering method, and an automatic steering program for a ship.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Estabrook, a system that determines when to temporarily disengage a marine autopilot system in response to detected helm movement, with an automatic steering device, an automatic steering method, and an automatic steering program for a ship, as taught by Kishimoto, with a reasonable expectation of success to travel along a traveling route connecting a plurality of preset target points, see Kishimoto ¶3 for details.
Conclusion
/F.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668