DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control arrangement” in claim 1 and “reducing mechanism” in claims 2 and 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 1, the phrase “coupled in a constant manner from above” is unclear. It is unclear how something is coupled in a constant manner. In addition, the phrase “from above” is unclear, as it is unclear what is from above and what it is above. Therefore, the claim is indefinite.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "reducing machine" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this is referring to the “reducing mechanism” of claim 2 or an additional reducing machine.
With respect to claim 7, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 7 recites the broad recitation less than 125mm, and the claim also recites less than 100mm which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claims 2-6 are rejected for being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “towards a point below located above” and “from where low in order to take the collector-trans-carrier”. The metes and bounds of these limitation are unclear. It is unclear how a point is below and located above. In addition, while the claim sets forth a “lower level, the limitation is indefinite as it is unclear what from where low means, and whether it is further modifying the point below, the lower level, or an additional low point.
Claims 9-30 are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fredricks (WO 2022/251206).
With respect to claim 1, Fredricks disclose a harvester head with a control arrangement (120) of an assembled collector-conveyor organ (110) in the harvester head for transporting harvested material poured into the collector-conveyor organ towards a gathering channel (see channel in figure 2 arranged below 122) arranged in a middle area of the harvester head through which the transported harvested material exits backwards (see figure 2); wherein said control arrangement of the collection-conveyor organ terminates in a drop box (122) that is coupled in a constant manner (via 138) from above to the collector/conveyor organ in the middle area of the harvester head (see figure 2).
With respect to claim 2, Fredricks disclose wherein the drop box contains a reducing mechanism (124, 126) and is located above the collector-conveyor organ (see figures 2 and 3).
With respect to claim 4, Fredricks disclose wherein the reducing mechanism has two reduction stages (124, 126).
With respect to claim 6, Fredricks disclose wherein the drop box terminates below in a semi-cylindrical portion about the axis of the collector-conveyor organ (see figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fredricks.
With respect to claim 5, Fredricks disclose a ratio of 1:1, 1:1.5, 1:20, 1:2.5 or more which can be adjust to accommodate speeding up or slowing down of harvesting operations (see paragraph 42). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fredricks by adjusting the ratio to the order of 5: 1 as Fredricks, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involved only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In the instant case, Fredricks disclose the ratio is a result-effective variable, in that as the ratio is adjusted the speeding up or slowing down of harvesting operations is accommodated.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8-30 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
With respect to claim 8, Fredricks does not disclose, not would it be obvious to include “a train of transmission stages extending from a power outlet in the rear part of the harvester head, at a lower level than the gathering channel, surrounding the gathering channel towards a point below located above the collector-conveyor organ”.
Conclusion
/Nicole Coy/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3672