Claim Objections
Claim 4 objected to because of the following informalities: it appears that “..retrained...” should be “…restrained….” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
(e) the invention was described in (1) an application for patent, published under section 122(b), by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent or (2) a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent, except that an international application filed under the treaty defined in section 351(a) shall have the effects for purposes of this subsection of an application filed in the United States only if the international application designated the United States and was published under Article 21(2) of such treaty in the English language.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 9, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Simpson (US 2,748,662). Simpson discloses a firearm utilizing an adjustable gas block comprising: a receiver (inherent); a barrel (12) connected to the receiver; a gas operating system; a nozzle (21) having a front end, back end, and internal void (30) with means to communicate with the barrel and gas operating system through a plurality of ports (34-36) which are spaced about the back end; a gas block housing (14) having a receiving channel with a portion of the barrel contained therein, a cylindrical bore which runs parallel to the axis of the barrel located above the receiving channel with a port in communication with the barrel, the cylindrical bore contains the back end of the nozzle therein, wherein the gas block housing is a ventless gas block housing that does not vent excess gas from the adjustable gas block into atmosphere around the gas block housing; a rotatable knob is utilized which both receives and rotates the nozzle within the cylindrical bore, said knob has a means to retain and rotate (45 and 47) the nozzle within the cylindrical bore.
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Moore (US 1,738,501). discloses a firearm utilizing an adjustable gas block comprising: a receiver (inherent); a barrel connected to the receiver; a gas operating system; a nozzle (6) having a front end, back end, and internal void with means to communicate with the barrel and gas operating system through a plurality of ports (Fig 2) which are spaced about the back end; a gas block housing having a receiving channel with a portion of the barrel contained therein, a cylindrical bore which runs parallel to the axis of the barrel located above the receiving channel with a port in communication with the barrel, the cylindrical bore contains the back end of the nozzle therein, wherein the gas block housing is a ventless gas block housing that does not vent excess gas from the adjustable gas block into atmosphere around the gas block housing; a rotatable knob (14) is utilized which both receives and rotates the nozzle within the cylindrical bore, said knob has a means to retain and rotate the nozzle within the cylindrical bore.
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 12 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e) as being anticipated by Noveske (US 7,856,917). Noveske (Fig 1) discloses a firearm utilizing an adjustable gas block comprising: a receiver (Fig 5); a barrel connected to the receiver; a gas operating system; a nozzle (2) having a front end, back end, and internal void with means to communicate with the barrel and gas operating system through a plurality of ports (20 and 21) which are spaced about the back end; a gas block housing (10) having a receiving channel with a portion of the barrel contained therein, a cylindrical bore which runs parallel to the axis of the barrel located above the receiving channel with a port in communication with the barrel, the cylindrical bore contains the back end of the nozzle therein, wherein the gas block housing is a ventless gas block housing that does not vent excess gas from the adjustable gas block into atmosphere around the gas block housing; a rotatable knob (3) is utilized which both receives and rotates the nozzle within the cylindrical bore, said knob has a means to retain and rotate the nozzle within the cylindrical bore.
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e) as being anticipated by Barrett (US 7,891,284).
Re claims 6-8, In an indirect gas operated firearm (Fig 4) having a receiver, a stock connected to an end of the receiver, a barrel connected to a front of the receiver, a handguard connected to the barrel and a gas operating system, wherein the improvement comprises: a gas block (24) with means to secure about the barrel, the gas block housing has a barrel receiving channel with a portion of the barrel therein, the housing also has a piston receiving channel with a portion of the piston contained therein; and said piston receiving channel has a void which houses an adjustment knob (for 80), the adjustment knobs is indexable into four positions (standard, oversized, undersized, and off; see c. 3, l. 59-63); and a piston (Fig 6, 80) is in operational communication with the barrel and the operating system, the piston communicates with the barrel by a series of ports located about its periphery, by rotating the adjustment knob the port of appropriate size is selected and put into communication with the indirect gas operating system and barrel, one port provides a standard flow of gas, one port provides a reduced flow of gas, one port provides a higher than standard flow of gas; a fourth position of adjustment is provided by the adjustment knob where no port is present on the piston thereby preventing the communication of the barrel with the indirect gas operating system (see c. 3, l. 59-63).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 4 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Moore (US 1,738,501) in view of Barrett (US 7,891,284). Moore discloses the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the rotatable knob provides four positions of adjustment. Barrett teaches an adjustable gas block wherein the rotatable knob provides four positions of adjustment so that an aperture appropriate for the circumstances may be selected (c. 3, l. 55+). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in that art to modify the system in Moore to have the limitations of this claim. The motivation (as taught by Barrett) would be so that an aperture appropriate for the circumstances may be selected. All claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to a skilled artisan at the time the invention was made.
Claim 10 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Simpson (US 2,748,662) in view of Barrett (US 7,891,284). Simpson discloses the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the nozzle includes a circumferential non-ported portion between the ports, and in a fourth indexed position of the rotatable knob the non-ported portion of the nozzle is aligned with the port of the cylindrical bore so that no gas flows from the barrel to the gas operating system.
Barrett teaches an adjustable gas block wherein the nozzle includes a circumferential non-ported portion between the ports, and in a fourth indexed position of the rotatable knob the non-ported portion of the nozzle is aligned with the port of the cylindrical bore so that no gas flows from the barrel to the gas operating system so that an aperture appropriate for the circumstances may be selected (c. 3, l. 55+). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in that art to modify the system in Simpson to have the limitations of this claim. The motivation (as taught by Barrett) would be so that an aperture appropriate for the circumstances may be selected. All claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to a skilled artisan at the time the invention was made.
Double Patenting
Claims 6-8 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 8,875,614. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the current application are broader in scope and therefore fully encompass the subject matter claimed in U.S. Patent No. 8,875,614.
Claims 6-8 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 9,170,061. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the current application are broader in scope and therefore fully encompass the subject matter claimed in U.S. Patent No. 9,170,061.
Claims 6-8 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,029,107. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the current application are broader in scope and therefore fully encompass the subject matter claimed in U.S. Patent No. 11,029,107.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5-11-26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the examiner’s reference to Barrett (US 7,891,284) does not disclose at least claim 6 because Barrett does not disclose an indirect gas operating system and that the adjustable knob has four positions; the examiner disagrees. Barrett clearly discloses an indirect gas operating system (see Fig 1 and c. 2, l. 55+ discussing operating rod and piston). Barret also clearly discloses that the adjustable knob has four positions (see c. 3, l. 55+).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REGINALD S TILLMAN, JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641