References
Knudsen et al., US 2024/0397446 A1, published November 28, 2024 (Knudsen).
WO 2022/081722 A1, published April 21, 2022 (Tone Reservation).
Li et al., WO 2024/168907 A1, published August 22, 2024 (SRS Deactivation).
Li et al., EP 3 689 077 A1, published August 5, 2020 (SR Repetitions).
ETSI TS 138 213 V18.4.0 (2024-10), §7.7.3 (Type 3 PH).
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 15 is objected to because the phrase “the a power headroom (PH)” contains an informal duplicate article. Correction is required. The rejection above uses the apparent intended reading, “a power headroom (PH).”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 1,2,8,9, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knudsen in view of Tone Reservation Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 15, and 16
Regarding Claim 1, the claim recites :“A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising a processor and memory, wherein the processor and memory are configured to:”
Knudsen’s UE performs the FIG. 4 sequence using the processor and memory of its wireless apparatus (FIGS. 1, 4; apparatus implementation discussion).
“receive configuration information for sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission, the configuration information comprising a power headroom (PH) threshold and an indication of a request resource;”
Knudsen provides an RRC configuration for SRS including resource blocks (FIG. 4, action 401; FIG. 5, action 501). Knudsen does not expressly include both a PH trigger threshold and a designated request resource in that configuration. Tone Reservation teaches a configurable PH threshold for a power-related request ([0086]) and a gNB-indicated SRS resource that conveys a request ([0088], [0174]–[0177]). The combined SRS configuration would include those two request controls.
“determine a PH for an SRS transmission;”
Knudsen computes PH = Pmax − Psrs for a prospective SRS and compares available headroom with insertion loss (FIG. 4, action 402 and its equation; FIG. 8, blocks 802–808). Tone Reservation likewise discusses determining available PH for a request ([0148]–[0151], [0164]–[0165]); Knudsen supplies the SRS-specific calculation.
“send a request message using the request resource based on determining that the PH for the SRS transmission is greater than or less than the PH threshold;”
Knudsen sends an SRS reconfiguration request when the SRS lacks sufficient PH to cover insertion loss (FIG. 4, action 403; FIG. 8, blocks 806–808). Tone Reservation triggers a power-related request when PH is no greater than a configurable value ([0086]) and associates request information with a configured SRS resource ([0088], [0175]–[0177]). Applying its less-than-threshold option and configured request resource to Knudsen’s SRS request supplies the claimed condition and resource. Knudsen’s original insertion-loss comparison is not itself an expressly configured PH threshold.
“receive a response to the request message, wherein the response comprises an indication that one or more transmission parameters associated with the SRS transmission are to be modified.”
Knudsen receives an RRC SRS reconfiguration in response to the request, with updated resource blocks or permission to modify the allocation (FIG. 4, action 404; FIG. 5, action 503; FIGS. 6–7). The modified resource blocks are SRS transmission parameters.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add Tone Reservation’s known network-configured PH trigger and request signaling resource to Knudsen’s SRS configuration because Knudsen already initiates a network response when prospective SRS headroom is inadequate. Configuring the trigger and resource in advance makes that initiation predictable while retaining Knudsen’s responsive SRS adaptation. Tone Reservation’s own request concerns tone reservation; its signaling mechanism, rather than its objective, is applied to Knudsen.
Regarding Claim 2, The claim recites “The WTRU of claim 1, wherein the processor and memory are further configured to:”
The WTRU and inherited claim 1 operations are addressed above.
“send the SRS transmission using the one or more transmission parameters, wherein the one or more transmission parameters are modified in accordance with the indication comprised in the response.”
Knudsen sends SRS on the updated resource blocks after receiving the second configuration (FIG. 4, actions 404–405; FIGS. 6–7, actions 8–9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to perform the SRS transmission under Knudsen’s responsive second configuration because its revised resource blocks permit sounding at available transmit power (FIG. 4, actions 404–405).
Regarding Claim 8, The claim recites:“A method to be performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising:”
Knudsen’s FIG. 4 actions 401–404 constitute a method performed by its UE; the method corresponds to the WTRU operation of claim 1.
“receiving configuration information for sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission, the configuration information comprising a power headroom (PH) threshold and an indication of a request resource;”
Knudsen provides an RRC configuration for SRS including resource blocks (FIG. 4, action 401; FIG. 5, action 501). Knudsen does not expressly include both a PH trigger threshold and a designated request resource in that configuration. Tone Reservation teaches a configurable PH threshold for a power-related request ([0086]) and a gNB-indicated SRS resource that conveys a request ([0088], [0174]–[0177]). The combined SRS configuration would include those two request controls.
“determining a PH for an SRS transmission;”
Knudsen computes PH = Pmax − Psrs for a prospective SRS and compares available headroom with insertion loss (FIG. 4, action 402 and its equation; FIG. 8, blocks 802–808). Tone Reservation likewise discusses determining available PH for a request ([0148]–[0151], [0164]–[0165]); Knudsen supplies the SRS-specific calculation.
“sending a request message using the request resource based on determining that the PH for the SRS transmission is greater than or less than the PH threshold;”
Knudsen sends an SRS reconfiguration request when the SRS lacks sufficient PH to cover insertion loss (FIG. 4, action 403; FIG. 8, blocks 806–808). Tone Reservation triggers a power-related request when PH is no greater than a configurable value ([0086]) and associates request information with a configured SRS resource ([0088], [0175]–[0177]). Applying its less-than-threshold option and configured request resource to Knudsen’s SRS request supplies the claimed condition and resource. Knudsen’s original insertion-loss comparison is not itself an expressly configured PH threshold.
“receiving a response to the request message, wherein the response comprises an indication that one or more transmission parameters associated with the SRS transmission are to be modified.”
Knudsen receives an RRC SRS reconfiguration in response to the request, with updated resource blocks or permission to modify the allocation (FIG. 4, action 404; FIG. 5, action 503; FIGS. 6–7). The modified resource blocks are SRS transmission parameters.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add Tone Reservation’s known network-configured PH trigger and request signaling resource to Knudsen’s SRS configuration because Knudsen already initiates a network response when prospective SRS headroom is inadequate. Configuring the trigger and resource in advance makes that initiation predictable while retaining Knudsen’s responsive SRS adaptation. Tone Reservation’s own request concerns tone reservation; its signaling mechanism, rather than its objective, is applied to Knudsen.
Regarding Claim 9, Claim 9 recites“The method of claim 8, further comprising:”
The inherited method of claim 8 is mapped above.
“sending the SRS transmission using the one or more transmission parameters, wherein the one or more transmission parameters are modified in accordance with the indication comprised in the response.”
Knudsen FIG. 4 actions 404–405 and FIGS. 6–7 actions 8–9 transmit SRS under the modified allocation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to transmit SRS on the reconfigured resource blocks as Knudsen teaches, so the responsive power-related adaptation has an operative sounding result (FIG. 4, actions 404–405).
Regarding Claim 15, Claim 15 recites “A network node comprising a processor and memory, wherein the processor and memory are configured to:”
Knudsen’s network node includes processing hardware and performs the FIG. 5 method (FIGS. 2, 5; network-node apparatus discussion).
“send, to a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), configuration information for sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission, the configuration information comprising a power headroom (PH) threshold and an indication of a request resource;”
Knudsen’s gNB sends RRC SRS configuration to the UE (FIG. 5, action 501; FIG. 4, action 401). The additional PH threshold and indicated request resource are supplied by Tone Reservation’s network-configured trigger and resource ([0086], [0088], [0175]–[0177]) as explained for claim 1.
“receive, from the WTRU, a request message using the request resource, wherein the request message indicates that the a power headroom (PH) for the SRS transmission is greater than or less than a PH threshold;”
Knudsen’s node receives the UE’s insufficient-headroom SRS request (FIG. 5, action 502; FIG. 4, action 403). With Tone Reservation’s PH threshold and configured resource ([0086], [0088], [0175]–[0177]), that request signals the less-than-threshold condition by its use of the designated resource. The original Knudsen request does not expressly signal the configured-threshold comparison.
“send a response to the request message, wherein the response comprises an indication that one or more transmission parameters associated with the SRS transmission are to be modified.”
Knudsen’s network sends an updated SRS resource-block configuration or permission to modify blocks in response (FIG. 5, action 503; FIG. 4, action 404; FIGS. 6–7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add Tone Reservation’s known network-configured PH trigger and request signaling resource to Knudsen’s SRS configuration because Knudsen already initiates a network response when prospective SRS headroom is inadequate. Configuring the trigger and resource in advance makes that initiation predictable while retaining Knudsen’s responsive SRS adaptation. Tone Reservation’s own request concerns tone reservation; its signaling mechanism, rather than its objective, is applied to Knudsen.
Regarding Claim 16, Claim 16 recites “The network node of claim 15, wherein the processor and memory are further configured to:”
“receive the SRS transmission using the one or more transmission parameters, wherein the one or more transmission parameters are modified in accordance with the indication comprised in the response.”
Knudsen’s gNB receives SRS transmitted under the revised configuration (FIG. 5, actions 503–504; FIG. 4, action 405).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to receive the revised SRS as Knudsen teaches so that the node obtains sounding with the changed resource-block allocation (FIG. 5, actions 503–504).
Claim(s) 3,10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knudsen and Tone Reservation in further view of SRS Deactivation .
Regarding claim 3, Claim 3 recites :“The WTRU of claim 1, wherein the processor and memory are further configured to:” The inherited claim 1 limitations are addressed in the first ground.
“cancel the SRS transmission, based on an indication in the one or more transmission parameters, wherein the one or more transmission parameters are modified in accordance with the indication comprised in the response.”
SRS Deactivation teaches a UE request for SRS deactivation and network indication directing activation or deactivation (FIG. 2, step S21; FIG. 13, step S1301; FIG. 14, step S1401). Knudsen’s response changes the SRS configuration (FIG. 4, action 404), but does not expressly choose cancellation. Configuring its response to designate deactivation is the proposed alternative SRS control parameter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include SRS Deactivation’s known deactivation indication as an alternative in Knudsen’s responsive SRS control because a power-limited SRS that cannot be usefully sounded need not consume uplink resources. The WTRU then cancels the SRS in response to that indication.
Regarding claim 10, The claim recites “canceling the SRS transmission, based on an indication in the one or more transmission parameters, wherein the one or more transmission parameters are modified in accordance with the indication comprised in the response.”
SRS Deactivation teaches a UE request for SRS deactivation and network indication directing activation or deactivation (FIG. 2, step S21; FIG. 13, step S1301; FIG. 14, step S1401). Knudsen’s response changes the SRS configuration (FIG. 4, action 404), but does not expressly choose cancellation. Configuring its response to designate deactivation is the proposed alternative SRS control parameter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include SRS Deactivation’s known deactivation indication as an alternative in Knudsen’s responsive SRS control because a power-limited SRS that cannot be usefully sounded need not consume uplink resources. The WTRU then cancels the SRS in response to that indication.
Regarding Claim 17, the claim recites “The network node of claim 15, wherein the processor and memory are further configured to:” The inherited claim 15 limitations are addressed in the first ground. “include, in the response to the request message, an indication that the WTRU is to cancel the SRS transmission.”
SRS Deactivation’s network indicates that UE SRS transmission is to be deactivated (FIG. 14, step S1401; FIG. 13, step S1301). Knudsen’s node already sends a responsive SRS reconfiguration (FIG. 5, action 503); adding the deactivation indication gives that response a cancellation option.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include SRS Deactivation’s known deactivation indication as an alternative in Knudsen’s responsive SRS control because a power-limited SRS that cannot be usefully sounded need not consume uplink resources. The WTRU then cancels the SRS in response to that indication.
Claim(s) 4,11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knudsen in view of Tone Reservation .
Regarding Claim 4, the claim recites:“The WTRU of claim 1, wherein the request message comprises a scheduling request.” Tone Reservation teaches request information carried with UCI on PUCCH and states that the UCI may include SR information ([0178]–[0179]); it also permits request information in UCI or RRC ([0074], [0178]). Knudsen’s SRS adaptation request (FIG. 4, action 403) does not expressly comprise an SR. In the PUCCH/SR alternative, the request message carries an SR component to obtain uplink scheduling for the adaptation exchange. The configured PUCCH resource is the claim 1 request resource in this alternative; the SRS signaling resource of [0175]–[0177] is an alternative embodiment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to place an SR component with Knudsen’s adaptation request on Tone Reservation’s known PUCCH/UCI route when uplink resources are needed, because the SR obtains scheduling for the ensuing adaptation signaling. Tone Reservation expressly teaches multiplexed SR information, although its own TR request is not itself expressly identified as an SR.
Regarding claim 11, The claim recites: “The method of claim 8, wherein the request message comprises a scheduling request.”Tone Reservation teaches request information carried with UCI on PUCCH and states that the UCI may include SR information ([0178]–[0179]); it also permits request information in UCI or RRC ([0074], [0178]). Knudsen’s SRS adaptation request (FIG. 4, action 403) does not expressly comprise an SR. In the PUCCH/SR alternative, the request message carries an SR component to obtain uplink scheduling for the adaptation exchange. The configured PUCCH resource is the claim 1 request resource in this alternative; the SRS signaling resource of [0175]–[0177] is an alternative embodiment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to place an SR component with Knudsen’s adaptation request on Tone Reservation’s known PUCCH/UCI route when uplink resources are needed, because the SR obtains scheduling for the ensuing adaptation signaling. Tone Reservation expressly teaches multiplexed SR information, although its own TR request is not itself expressly identified as an SR.
Regarding claim 18, Claim 18 recites: The limitations of claim 15 are addressed in the preceding grounds and incorporated here. “The network node of claim 15, wherein the request message comprises a scheduling request.”
Tone Reservation teaches request information carried with UCI on PUCCH and states that the UCI may include SR information ([0178]–[0179]); it also permits request information in UCI or RRC ([0074], [0178]). Knudsen’s received SRS adaptation request (FIG. 5, action 502) does not expressly comprise an SR. In the PUCCH/SR alternative, the request message carries an SR component to obtain uplink scheduling for the adaptation exchange. The configured PUCCH resource is the claim 1 request resource in this alternative; the SRS signaling resource of [0175]–[0177] is an alternative embodiment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to place an SR component with Knudsen’s adaptation request on Tone Reservation’s known PUCCH/UCI route when uplink resources are needed, because the SR obtains scheduling for the ensuing adaptation signaling. Tone Reservation expressly teaches multiplexed SR information, although its own TR request is not itself expressly identified as an SR.
Claim(s) 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knudsen and Tone Reservation in further view of TS 38 213 .
Regarding Claim 5, Claim recites :“The WTRU of claim 1, wherein the processor and memory are configured to:” The inherited WTRU limitations are addressed above.
“determine a type 1 PH or a type 3 PH for the SRS transmission.”
TS 38.213 §7.7.3, p. 58 computes Type 3 PH for actual or reference SRS occasions using SRS-Resource and SRS-ResourceSet under the stated no-PUSCH conditions. Knudsen calculates an SRS-specific PH but does not name a Type 3 report (FIG. 4, action 402; FIG. 8, blocks 802–808). In a configuration satisfying §7.7.3, selecting that known SRS-based PH calculation supplies the Type 3 alternative. Type 1 is not required for the disjunctive limitation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the standardized Type 3 SRS headroom computation in Knudsen’s SRS PH determination under the standard’s stated operating conditions, providing a known interoperable calculation for the very SRS whose power is evaluated.
Regarding Claim 12, Claim 12 recites:“The method of claim 8, further comprising:”
The inherited method limitations are addressed above. “determining a type 1 PH or a type 3 PH for the SRS transmission.” TS 38.213 §7.7.3, p. 58 computes Type 3 PH for actual or reference SRS occasions using SRS-Resource and SRS-ResourceSet under the stated no-PUSCH conditions. Knudsen calculates an SRS-specific PH but does not name a Type 3 report (FIG. 4, action 402; FIG. 8, blocks 802–808). In a configuration satisfying §7.7.3, selecting that known SRS-based PH calculation supplies the Type 3 alternative. Type 1 is not required for the disjunctive limitation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the standardized Type 3 SRS headroom computation in Knudsen’s SRS PH determination under the standard’s stated operating conditions, providing a known interoperable calculation for the very SRS whose power is evaluated.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knudsen and Tone Reservation in further view of SR Repetitions .
Regarding Claim 6, Claim 6 recites :“The WTRU of claim 1, wherein the processor and memory are further configured to:. “resend the request message, based on determining that no response has been received within a period of time after the request message is sent.”
SR Repetitions teaches an SR response window and retransmission if no uplink grant arrives during it ([0090]–[0091]); Knudsen has a request and responsive SRS reconfiguration (FIG. 4, actions 403–404). Applying the known response-window retry to the latter exchange causes the same adaptation request to be resent when the SRS-parameter response has not arrived by expiry. The uplink grant in SR Repetitions is an intermediate scheduling response in its own system, whereas the claimed response in this combination is Knudsen’s SRS reconfiguration. This transfer of the timing rule is a proposed modification.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use a finite response window for Knudsen’s adaptation exchange and retry its request if the SRS-modification response does not arrive, reducing delay from an undetected request or response. SR Repetitions supplies the known timeout-and-retry rule, not an express SRS-modification response.
Regarding Claim 13, The claim recites:“The method of claim 8, further comprising:”
The inherited claim 8 limitations are addressed above.
“resending the request message, based on determining that no response has been received within a period of time after the request message is sent.”
SR Repetitions teaches an SR response window and retransmission if no uplink grant arrives during it ([0090]–[0091]); Knudsen has a request and responsive SRS reconfiguration (FIG. 4, actions 403–404). Applying the known response-window retry to the latter exchange causes the same adaptation request to be resent when the SRS-parameter response has not arrived by expiry. The uplink grant in SR Repetitions is an intermediate scheduling response in its own system, whereas the claimed response in this combination is Knudsen’s SRS reconfiguration. This transfer of the timing rule is a proposed modification.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use a finite response window for Knudsen’s adaptation exchange and retry its request if the SRS-modification response does not arrive, reducing delay from an undetected request or response. SR Repetitions supplies the known timeout-and-retry rule, not an express SRS-modification response.
Regarding Claim 7, Claim recites :“The WTRU of claim 6, wherein the processor and memory are further configured to:” The inherited claim 6 timeout and claim 1 request are addressed above.
“send the request message using a first power level; and”
The first request of Knudsen FIG. 4 action 403 uses a transmission power; SR Repetitions provides selectable power settings for SR transmissions ([0097]–[0098]).
“resend the request message using a second power level, wherein the second power level is higher than the first power level.”
SR Repetitions teaches configured power settings and boosting selected SR repetitions to higher power to improve reliability ([0097]–[0098]); it also teaches timed SR retransmission after a response window ([0090]). Applying the higher configured power to a selected later repetition of the claim 6/13 request gives a second level greater than the first. The reference chooses boosts based on channel or latency conditions rather than expressly on failure; selecting the later unanswered-request retry for higher power is the proposed modification.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the later retry of Knudsen’s unanswered SR-form adaptation request at a greater power using the known repetition boost, improving the likelihood that the network detects the retry while preserving the claim 6/13 response-window condition.
Regarding Claim 14, Claim recites: The limitations of claim 13 are addressed in the preceding grounds and incorporated here.“The method of claim 13, further comprising:”
The inherited claim 13 timeout and claim 8 request are addressed above.
“sending the request message using a first power level; and”
Knudsen FIG. 4 action 403 sends the initial request; SR Repetitions teaches configurable SR power settings ([0097]–[0098]).
“resending the request message using a second power level, wherein the second power level is higher than the first power level.”
SR Repetitions teaches configured power settings and boosting selected SR repetitions to higher power to improve reliability ([0097]–[0098]); it also teaches timed SR retransmission after a response window ([0090]). Applying the higher configured power to a selected later repetition of the claim 6/13 request gives a second level greater than the first. The reference chooses boosts based on channel or latency conditions rather than expressly on failure; selecting the later unanswered-request retry for higher power is the proposed modification.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the later retry of Knudsen’s unanswered SR-form adaptation request at a greater power using the known repetition boost, improving the likelihood that the network detects the retry while preserving the claim 6/13 response-window condition.
Conclusion
/ANGEL T BROCKMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2412