Response to Arguments/Amendments
Regarding rejection of the claims under 35 USC 112(b), the amendments overcome the prior rejections. However, the amendments introduce new issues to claims 12-15 under 35 USC 112(b) and are rejected below.
Regarding rejection of the claims under 35 USC 103 over Logan in view of Payne and further in view of Klingenberg, Applicant submits that Klingenberg does not disclose “providing, to the item processing equipment by the one or more processors, a vetted preferences designation for indication on physical items (Fig. 2, 0096-0099); and marking, by the item processing equipment, the item with a validating indicia for the vetted preferences designation by the delivery service (Fig. 3, 0101-0104).” The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Paragraphs 0096-0099 of Klingenberg disclose notifying the consignee of a package pending delivery and requesting new or updated (i.e. “vetted” by the consignee) delivery preferences. Such preferences are then flagged for exception treatment where paragraphs 0101-0104 further disclose exception handling including “printing and attaching a new shipping label on the package” (i.e. “marking the item with a validating indicia for the vetted preferences designation”).
Furthermore, the Examiner notes that any differences between the delivery preferences and shipping label of Klingenberg and the claimed “vetted preferences designation” and “validating indicia” are only found in the non-functional descriptive material and are not functionally involved in the steps recited. The providing for indication and marking steps would be performed the same regardless of the descriptive material since none of the steps explicitly interact therewith. Limitations that are not functionally interrelated with the useful acts, structure, or properties of the claimed invention carry little or no patentable weight. Thus, this descriptive material will not distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art in terms of patentability. See In re Ngai 367 F.3d 1336, 1339, 70 USPQ2d 1862 (Fed. Cir. 2004); In re Lowry, 32 USPQ2d 1031 (Fed. Cir. 1994); MPEP § 2111.05; Cf. In re Gulack, 703 F.2d 1381, 1385, 217 USPQ 401, 404 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 and 12-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,379,782. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
For example, patented claim 1 recites: A method of processing items to be delivered, the method comprising:
storing, by a hardware processor in a database on a non-transitory computer readable medium, a first plurality of delivery addresses and customer preferences associated with each of the delivery addresses;
generating, by the hardware processor, first hash values for only each of the first plurality of delivery addresses stored in the database;
storing, by the hardware processor, the first hash values;
receiving, by processing equipment of a delivery service, a second plurality of delivery addresses for customers and one or more sender criteria;
generating, by the processing equipment of the delivery service, second hash values for each of the second plurality of delivery addresses;
searching, by the processing equipment of the delivery service, the database for first hash values corresponding to each of the second hash values;
storing, by the processing equipment of the delivery service, the second hash values;
accessing, in the database using the hardware processor, the customer preferences for each of the first hash values for which a corresponding second hash value is stored;
comparing, using the hardware processor, the one or more sender criteria to the customer preferences associated with the one or more of the plurality of delivery addresses for which a corresponding second hash value is identified;
generating, by the processing equipment of the delivery service, a third plurality of delivery addresses of the plurality of delivery addresses for which the customer preferences correspond to one or more of the received sender criteria;
providing, by the processing equipment of the delivery service via an electronic interface, a plurality of first or second hash values of delivery addresses on the generated third plurality of delivery addresses;
receiving, in processing equipment of a delivery service, an item having at least one of the plurality of first or second hash values thereon;
reading, in the processing equipment, the first or second hash value from the item;
determining, in the processing equipment, the delivery address for the item based on the read first or second hash value;
identifying, in the processing equipment, that the determined delivery address is based on the read first or second hash value;
prior to attempting delivery of the item, generating, in the processing equipment, an instruction to not return undeliverable mail in response to an undeliverable indication;
coding, in the processing equipment, the instruction in a barcode in response to the identifying; and
redirecting the item by the processing equipment based on the determined delivery address.
Patented claim 1 differs since it further recites additional claim limitations including: receiving, by processing equipment of a delivery service, a second plurality of delivery addresses for customers and one or more sender criteria; generating, by the processing equipment of the delivery service, second hash values for each of the second plurality of delivery addresses; searching, by the processing equipment of the delivery service, the database for first hash values corresponding to each of the second hash values; storing, by the processing equipment of the delivery service, the second hash values; accessing, in the database using the hardware processor, the customer preferences for each of the first hash values for which a corresponding second hash value is stored; comparing, using the hardware processor, the one or more sender criteria to the customer preferences associated with the one or more of the plurality of delivery addresses for which a corresponding second hash value is identified; generating, by the processing equipment of the delivery service, a third plurality of delivery addresses of the plurality of delivery addresses for which the customer preferences correspond to one or more of the received sender criteria; and providing, by the processing equipment of the delivery service via an electronic interface, a plurality of first or second hash values of delivery addresses on the generated third plurality of delivery addresses. However, it is well settled that the omission of an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. See In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA 1963). Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (Bd. App. 1969). Omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 includes limitations directed to item processing equipment (e.g. “reading, in item processing equipment...” and “marking, by the item processing equipment...”). However, claim 12 is explicitly directed to “A system for processing physical items to be delivered, the system comprising: a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising executable instructions that when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform the steps of...”. Therefore, as the item processing equipment is not a part of the system of claim 12, the scope of claim 12 is unclear (In re Zletz, 13 USPQ2d 1320 (Fed. Cir. 1989)).
Claims 13-15 are also rejected due to their dependence on at least claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 3-10, and 12-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Logan et al. (US 20050259658 Logan) in view of Payne et al. (USP 7204415 Payne) and further in view of Klingenberg et al. (US 20070005452 Klingenberg).
Regarding claims 1, 12, and 16, Logan discloses: A system and methods of processing physical items to be delivered, comprising: receiving, in one or more processors, a virtual address comprising data defined by a recipient that is other than a physical address or a mailing address of the recipient, the recipient having a delivery address (Fig. 0041-0047);
storing, in a memory, the first cryptographic hash (Fig. 1, 0041-0046);
associating, in the database, the first cryptographic hash with the delivery address (Fig. 1, 0043-0046, 0049);
receiving, in item processing equipment, an item having the encoded value thereon (0054-0059, 0072, 0081);
reading, by the item processing equipment, the encoded value on the item (0054-0059, 0072, 0081);
and determining, by the one or more processors, a delivery address for the item, wherein the delivery address for the item is the delivery address associated with the corresponding first cryptographic hash (Fig. 1, 0052, 0054-0059, 0072).
Logan further discloses (for claim 12): associating the first hash with delivery preference information; determining the delivery preference information for the item to be delivered, wherein the delivery preference information for the item to be delivered is the delivery preference information associated with the corresponding first hash; and providing, to the item processing equipment, delivery instructions for the item to be delivered based on the determined delivery preference information (0049, 0060-0064).
Logan further discloses (for claim 16): applying indicia of the delivery address to the item to be delivered (0057-0059).
Logan does not disclose: generating, by the one or more processors, a first cryptographic hash of at least the virtual address;
generating a second cryptographic hash based on the read encoded value; and
querying the memory using the second cryptographic hash to identify a corresponding first cryptographic hash.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Payne discloses: generating, by the one or more processors, a first cryptographic hash of at least the virtual address (Claim 1, Fig. 2, Col 2 line 4-11, Col 5 line 11-33);
generating a second cryptographic hash based on the read encoded value (Claim 7, Fig. 4, Col 6 line 46-57); and
querying the memory using the second cryptographic hash to identify a corresponding first cryptographic hash (Fig. 4, Col 6 line 58-Col 7 line 8).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claims 1, 12, and 16 disclosed by Logan by including generating a hash for each address, generating a second hash based on read data, and querying/searching using the second hash to identify a corresponding hash and address as disclosed by Payne. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification as a simple substitution of one known element (the data structure/table and virtual address of Logan) for another (the data structure/table and hash of Payne) to obtain predictable results (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Logan in view of Payne does not disclose: providing, to the item processing equipment by the one or more processors, a vetted preferences designation for indication on physical items; and
marking, by the item processing equipment, the item with a validating indicia for the vetted preferences designation by the delivery service.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Klingenberg discloses: providing, to the item processing equipment by the one or more processors, a vetted preferences designation for indication on physical items (Fig. 2, 0096-0099);
and marking, by the item processing equipment, the item with a validating indicia for the vetted preferences designation by the delivery service (Fig. 3, 0101-0104).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claim 11 disclosed by Logan in view of Payne by including providing and marking an item with indicia indicating preference designations as disclosed by Klingenberg. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow redirecting mail items based on personalized delivery preferences (Klingenberg 0104).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Logan in view of Payne and further in view of Klingenberg disclose all limitations of claim 1 and 16. Logan further discloses: wherein reading, by the item processing equipment, the encoded value on the item comprises imaging, by an optical reader, a surface of the item (0055-0057).
Regarding claim 4, Logan in view of Payne and further in view of Klingenberg disclose all limitations of claim 3. Logan further discloses: wherein reading, by the item processing equipment, the encoded value on the item comprises analyzing the image of the surface of the item using an optical character recognition device (0055-0057).
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Logan in view of Payne and further in view of Klingenberg disclose all limitations of claims 1 and 17. Logan further discloses: printing a mailing label to be applied to the item, wherein the mailing label has displayed thereon indicia of the delivery address associated with the item; and applying, by the item processing equipment, the printed mailing label to the item (0057-0058).
Regarding claim 6, Logan in view of Payne and further in view of Klingenberg disclose all limitations of claim 1. Logan further discloses: wherein the delivery address comprises one of a mailing address or a physical address (0054-0057).
Regarding claim 7, Logan in view of Payne and further in view of Klingenberg disclose all limitations of claim 1. Logan further discloses: wherein the virtual address comprises data other than a name of an intended recipient of the item and other than geographic indicia (0041, 0072-0074).
Regarding claim 8, Logan in view of Payne and further in view of Klingenberg disclose all limitations of claim 1. Logan further discloses: wherein the virtual address comprises character data previously received from the intended recipient of the item (0041, 0072-0074).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Logan in view of Payne and further in view of Klingenberg disclose all limitations of claims 1 and 16. Logan further discloses: wherein the database further stores data indicative of delivery preferences associated with at least one category and the first cryptographic hash (0049, 0060-0064).
Regarding claims 10, 13, and 19, Logan in view of Payne and further in view of Klingenberg disclose all limitations of claims 9, 12, and 17. Logan further discloses: determining, by the one or more processors, a category associated with the item to be delivered; accessing delivery preferences associated with the first cryptographic hash from the database; and providing delivery instructions for the item based on the delivery preferences and the determined category (0049, 0060-0064).
Regarding claims 14 and 20, Logan in view of Payne and further in view of Klingenberg disclose all limitations of claim 12 and 19. Logan further discloses: wherein the determined delivery preference information comprises geographically related delivery preference information (0062-0064).
Regarding claim 15, Logan in view of Payne and further in view of Klingenberg disclose all limitations of claim 12. Logan further discloses: applying indicia corresponding to the delivery instructions based on the determined delivery preference information to the item to be delivered (0057-0059).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of Logan discloses redirecting the item by the item processing equipment based on the determined delivery address (0054-0059); Ksiazek discloses: prior to attempting delivery of the item, generating, by the one or more processors, an instruction...and coding, by the item processing equipment, the instruction in a barcode (Fig. 2, Fig. 3a-3b, 0038-0039, 0043-0044); and Pintsov discloses: an instruction to not return undeliverable mail in response to an undeliverable indication (Fig. 2, 0057). However, while the prior art of Logan in view of Ksiazek and Pintsov discloses the limitations of claim 2 independently, the combination of Logan in view of Payne and further in view of Klingenberg, Ksiazek, and Pintsov does not disclose the combination of claims 1 and 2 in a reasonable number of references. Therefore, claim 2 recites allowable subject matter over the prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/T.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3697
/JOHN W HAYES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3697