The Application number 18/990,630 filed on 12/20/2024 has been considered. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on12/20/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 7-10, and 13-16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,142,338. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they basically claim the same claimed invention. The claims 1-4, 7-10, and 13-16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,142,338 contain every element of the claims of the instant application, and as such, anticipate the claims of the instant application.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 8-12, and 15-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,178,146. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they basically claim the same claimed invention. The claims 1-5, 8-12, and 15-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,178,146 contain every element of the claims of the instant application, and as such, anticipate the claims of the instant application.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 8-12, and 15-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,736,482. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they basically claim the same claimed invention. The claims 1-5, 8-12, and 15-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,736,482 contain every element of the claims of the instant application, and as such, anticipate the claims of the instant application.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 8-10, and 15-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,2186,940. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they basically claim the same claimed invention. The claims 1-3, 8-10, and 15-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,2186,940 contain every element of the claims of the instant application, and as such, anticipate the claims of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-9, 12-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noë (US 8,281,379).
Regarding claim 1, Noë discloses a computer-implemented method for online authentication of online attributes, the method comprising:
determining, at a server over an electronic network, whether a user account is associated with a user, the user account being associated with authentication data, wherein the authentication data includes a lifetime value and an assurance level associated with the authentication data, wherein the assurance level relates to a degree of confidence that the authentication data associated with the user account is accurate, wherein the lifetime value identifies a length of time the authentication data is valid (FIG. 1-2, col. 3, line 47-col. 4, line 52, col. 5, lines 10-45; i.e. the authentication service verifies the end-user using user credentials wherein the end-user being associated with an identification, authentication trust level, and expiration information associated with the trust level);
receiving, at the server over the electronic network, an authentication result for the user based on identity information and credential information associated with the user and the authentication data (FIG. 1-2, col. 3, line 47-col. 4, line 52, col. 5, lines 10-45; i.e. the authorization service receives the authentication ticket providing the authentication trust level based on the end-user and credentials);
generating, at the server over the electronic network, an updated lifetime value of the authentication data associated with the user account based on the authentication result (FIG. 1-2, col. 3, line 47-col. 4, line 52, col. 5, lines 10-45, col. 8, lines 1-33; i.e. generating a validity period at least for the subsequent trust level), and
storing, by the server over the electronic network, the updated lifetime value of the authentication data in an internal database (FIG. 1-2, col. 3, line 47-col. 4, line 52, col. 5, lines 10-45, col. 7, lines31-46, col. 8, lines 1-33; i.e. storing the trust levels including the subsequent trust levels associated with extending validation period in the storage including local, global and/or cache).
Regarding claim 2, Noë discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method further includes: authenticating, by the server, the identity information and the credential information of the user based on the authentication result (col. 5, lines 10-62).
Regarding claim 5, Noë discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method further includes: generating, by the server, updated authentication data associated with the user account using the identity information and the credential information based on the authentication result (col. 3, line 47-col. 4, line 52, col. 5, lines 10-45, col. 8, lines 1-33).
Regarding claim 6, Noë discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the method further includes: storing, by the server at the internal database, the updated authentication data associated with the user account (col. 5, lines 10-45, col. 7, lines31-46, col. 8, lines 1-33).
Regarding claim 7, Noë discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method further includes: encrypting, by the server, the authentication data associated with the user account (col. 6, lines 4-16).
Regarding claim 8, Noë discloses a system comprising:
a data storage device that stores instructions for online authentication of online attributes (FIG. 1-3); and
one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to perform a method including (FIG. 1-3):
determining whether a user account is associated with a user, the user account being associated with authentication data, wherein the authentication data includes a lifetime value and an assurance level associated with the authentication data, wherein the assurance level relates to a degree of confidence that the authentication data associated with the user account is accurate, wherein the lifetime value identifies a length of time the authentication data is valid (FIG. 1-2, col. 3, line 47-col. 4, line 52, col. 5, lines 10-45; i.e. the authentication service verifies the end-user using user credentials wherein the end-user being associated with an identification, authentication trust level, and expiration information associated with the trust level);
receiving an authentication result for the user based on identity information and credential information associated with the user and the authentication data (FIG. 1-2, col. 3, line 47-col. 4, line 52, col. 5, lines 10-45; i.e. the authorization service receives the authentication ticket providing the authentication trust level based on the end-user and credentials);
generating an updated lifetime value of the authentication data associated with the user account based on the authentication result (FIG. 1-2, col. 3, line 47-col. 4, line 52, col. 5, lines 10-45, col. 8, lines 1-33; i.e. generating a validity period at least for the subsequent trust level), and
storing the updated lifetime value of the authentication data stored in an internal database (FIG. 1-2, col. 3, line 47-col. 4, line 52, col. 5, lines 10-45, col. 7, lines31-46, col. 8, lines 1-33; i.e. storing the trust levels including the subsequent trust levels associated with extending validation period in the storage including local, global and/or cache).
Regarding claim 9, see claim 2 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 12, see claim 5 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 13, see claim 6 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 14, see claim 7 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 15, Noë discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to perform a method for online authentication of online attributes, the method including:
determining, at a server over an electronic network, whether a user account is associated with a user, the user account being associated with authentication data, wherein the authentication data includes a lifetime value and an assurance level associated with the authentication data, wherein the assurance level relates to a degree of confidence that the authentication data associated with the user account is accurate, wherein the lifetime value identifies a length of time the authentication data is valid (FIG. 1-2, col. 3, line 47-col. 4, line 52, col. 5, lines 10-45; i.e. the authentication service verifies the end-user using user credentials wherein the end-user being associated with an identification, authentication trust level, and expiration information associated with the trust level);
receiving, at the server over the electronic network, an authentication result for the user based on identity information and credential information associated with the user and the authentication data (FIG. 1-2, col. 3, line 47-col. 4, line 52, col. 5, lines 10-45; i.e. the authorization service receives the authentication ticket providing the authentication trust level based on the end-user and credentials);
generating, at the server over the electronic network, an updated lifetime value of the authentication data associated with the user account based on the authentication result (FIG. 1-2, col. 3, line 47-col. 4, line 52, col. 5, lines 10-45, col. 8, lines 1-33; i.e. generating a validity period at least for the subsequent trust level), and
storing, by the server over the electronic network, the updated lifetime value of the authentication data stored in an internal database (FIG. 1-2, col. 3, line 47-col. 4, line 52, col. 5, lines 10-45, col. 7, lines31-46, col. 8, lines 1-33; i.e. storing the trust levels including the subsequent trust levels associated with extending validation period in the storage including local, global and/or cache).
Regarding claim 16, see claim 2 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 19, see claim 5 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 20, see claim 6 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 10-11 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noë (US 8,281,379) in view of Tilton (US 2014/0215586).
Regarding claim 3, Noë discloses the method of claim 1.
Noë does not explicitly disclose wherein the authentication data further includes a status identifier, wherein the status identifier is set to active, revoked, or suspended.
However, Tilton discloses wherein the authentication data further includes a status identifier, wherein the status identifier is set to active, revoked, or suspended (¶ [0028], [0036]-[0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Noë and Tilton in order to reduce authentication transaction costs and risks (Tilton, ¶ [0062]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 4, Noë in view of Tilton discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the status identifier is set to suspended while a revocation request is undergoing an evaluation for authenticity, and set to either active or revoked based on whether the revocation request is determined to be authentic or not, based on the evaluation (Tilton, ¶ [0028], [0036]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 10, see claim 3 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 11, see claim 4 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 17, see claim 3 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 18, see claim 4 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Conclusion
/C.D.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2435
/AMIR MEHRMANESH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2435