DETAILED ACTION
2. This communication is a first office action, non-final rejection on the merits. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Priority
3. As required by M.P.E.P.201.14(c), acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on applications filed on Jan 11, 2023(PCT/US2023/010599) and US provisional-application 63/355459 filed on 2022/06/24.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/15/26, 9/24/25 and 12/20/24 has been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Form PTO-1449 is signed and attached hereto.
Double Patenting
5. Claims 1-20 of this application is patentably indistinct from claims 1-20 of Application No. 19/188862. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(e) or pre-AIA 37 CFR 1.78(b), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Van Wiemeersch (US 20190255893 A1) (hereinafter Van Wiemeersch) in view of KUCHLER (US 20110153264 A1) (hereinafter KUCHLER).
Regarding claim 1, Van Wiemeersch discloses a tire monitor (Fig. 1-2, para 26, TPMS sensors 112 enable communication of the vehicle 100 via Ultra-Wide Band (UWB) signals, Bluetooth® communication protocol, Bluetooth® Low Energy (BLE) protocol), configured for coupling to a tire of a vehicle in at least a first orientation or a second orientation (para 10, gyroscope to detect whether the tire is stationary or rotating, para 27, each of the gyroscopes 114 detects rotation of the corresponding one of the tires 110, TPMS sensors 112 includes other sensors (e.g., accelerometers) that are configured to monitor rotation of the tires 110),
the tire monitor comprising: an accelerometer configured to generate acceleration data (para 32, TPMS controller 124 collect measurements from gyroscopes 114 and/or other sensors (e.g., accelerometers) coupled to the tires 110 to determine whether tires 110 are stationary or rotating);
a computing system configured to perform operations (para 52, ECUs 206 monitor and control subsystems of vehicle 100, ECUs 206 communicate properties (e.g., status of ECUs 206, sensor readings, control state, error and diagnostic codes, etc.) to and/or receive requests from each other, para 51, sensors 204 include accelerometers, tachometers, pitch and yaw sensors (i.e., to detect orientation), wheel speed sensors, tire pressure sensors, or sensors of any other type sensors 204 include TPMS sensors 112 that collect tire pressure measurements of the tires 110) comprising:
determining, based at least in part on the acceleration data, that the tire monitor is mounted in an orientation comprising the first orientation or the second orientation (para27, TPMS sensors 112 includes other sensors (e.g., accelerometers) to monitor rotation of the tires 110, para 32, TPMS controller 124 is configured to collect measurements from the gyroscopes 114 and/or other sensors (e.g., accelerometers) coupled to the tires 110 to determine whether the tires 110 are rotating);
determining, based at least in part on the orientation and the sensor data, that the tire is coupled to a front axle of the vehicle or that the tire is coupled to a rear axle of the vehicle (para 51, The sensors 204 are arranged in and around the vehicle 100 to monitor properties of the vehicle 100, sensors 204 include accelerometers, pitch and yaw sensors (i.e., to detect orientation), wheel speed sensors, tire pressure sensors, para 32, TPMS controller 124 collect measurements from gyroscopes 114 and/or other sensors (e.g., accelerometers) coupled to tires 110 to determine whether tires 110 are rotating, gyroscopes 114 and/or other sensors detect rotation of the tires 110 to enable TPMS controller 124 to identify whether tires 110 are rotating); and
determining, based at least in part on the orientation and the sensor data, that the tire is coupled to a left side of the vehicle or that the tire is coupled to a right side of the vehicle (Fig. 1, para 25, vehicle 100 includes tire pressure management system (TPMS) sensors 112, gyroscopes 114, and communication module 116, each of the tires 110 includes one of the TPMS sensors 112 and one of the gyroscopes 114, para 35, TPMS controller 124 identifies which of TPMS sensors 112 located at front driver-side wheel well, a front passenger-side wheel well, a rear driver-side wheel well, and a rear passenger-side wheel well, para 27, each of the gyroscopes 114 detects rotation of corresponding one of the tires 110, each of the gyroscopes 114 detects whether corresponding one of the tires 110 is stationary or rotating).
Van Wiemeersch specifically fails to disclose a sensor configured to generate sensor data associated with an area of contact of the tire with a road surface.
In analogous art, KUCHLER discloses a sensor configured to generate sensor data associated with an area of contact of the tire with a road surface (Abstract, first sensor signal indicating a contact area length of the first tire in the multiple tire, and second sensor signal indicating a contact area length of second tire in the multiple tire, para 21, A "contact area length" can be understood to mean the length of a surface section of a tire which is in contact with road, para 22, electromechanical transducer in the form of a piezo element mounted on a tire that experiences a characteristic upon each contact area pass when tire is rotating, para 54, FIG. 1C, when tire is rotating and hence a portion of the tire 102 is respectively in contact with road, para 59, FIG. 2, on rear axle 222, twin tire 110, which is adjacent individual tires 102, 104, is positioned on the right in FIG. 2. another twin tire 206, formed from directly adjacent tires 202, 204, is positioned on rear axle 222. The individual tires 102, 104 in twin tire 110 are mounted together and rigidly on one another, as are the individual tires 202, 204 in the other twin tire 206. tires, which may be positioned along front axle 224).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of activating TPMS in a real-time mode, collect a current measurement from the TPMS sensor upon activation, and present the current measurement disclosed by Van Wiemeersch to use reception unit configured for receiving the first and second sensor signals and a contact area characteristic ascertainment unit ascertaining the contact area lengths characteristic of the first and second tires based on the first and second sensor signals as taught by KUCHLER to include apparatus for ascertaining a relative position for individual tires in a multiple tire, wherein the apparatus has a reception unit which is set up to receive a sensor signal from a electromechanical transducer (for example a piezo element) associated with a tire in the multiple tire, wherein the sensor signal is indicative of a contact area length for the tire [KUCHLER, para 011].
Regarding claim 2, Van Wiemeersch fails to discloses the tire monitor of claim 1, wherein the determining that the tire is coupled to the front axle or that the tire is coupled to the rear axle comprises: determining, from the acceleration data, an acceleration event associated with the vehicle traveling in a forward direction; determining, from the sensor data, a change in a contact patch size during the acceleration event; and determining that the tire is coupled to the front axle or that the tire is coupled to the rear axle based on the change in the contact patch size.
In analogous art, KUCHLER discloses the tire monitor of claim 1, wherein the determining that the tire is coupled to the front axle or that the tire is coupled to the rear axle comprises: determining, from the acceleration data, an acceleration event associated with the vehicle traveling in a forward direction; determining, from the sensor data, a change in a contact patch size during the acceleration event (para 07, The contact area of a tire denotes the tire footprint or a magnitude which is indicative of the tire footprint. Such a magnitude is particularly the length of the contact area, that is to say the length measured in the direction of travel, para 54, FIG. 1C, when the tire is rotating in a direction 136 and hence a portion of the tire 102 is respectively in contact with a bed 138, such as a road, para 59, automobile has a rear axle 222 and a front axle 224 and, in FIG. 2, is moving in a straight line and currently without acceleration in a direction 226); and determining that the tire is coupled to the front axle or that the tire is coupled to the rear axle based on the change in the contact patch size (Abstract, first sensor signal indicating a contact area length of the first tire in the multiple tire, and second sensor signal indicating a contact area length of second tire in the multiple tire, para 21, A "contact area length" can be understood to mean the length of a surface section of a tire which is in contact with road, para 54, FIG. 1C, when tire is rotating and hence a portion of the tire 102 is respectively in contact with road, para 59, FIG. 2, on rear axle 222, twin tire 110, which is adjacent individual tires 102, 104, is positioned on the right in FIG. 2. tires 202, 204 in the other twin tire 206. tires, which may be positioned along front axle 224).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of activating TPMS in a real-time mode, collect a current measurement from the TPMS sensor upon activation, and present the current measurement disclosed by Van Wiemeersch to use reception unit configured for receiving the first and second sensor signals and a contact area characteristic ascertainment unit ascertaining the contact area lengths characteristic of the first and second tires based on the first and second sensor signals as taught by KUCHLER to include a method for ascertaining a relative position for individual tires in the multiple tire wherein method involves a sensor signal from a electromechanical transducer associated with a tire in the multiple tire being received, wherein the sensor signal is indicative of a contact area length for the tires [KUCHLER, para 013].
Regarding claim 3, Van Wiemeersch fails to discloses the tire monitor of claim 2, wherein the acceleration event comprises an increase in acceleration and determining that the tire is coupled to the front axle or that the tire is coupled to the rear axle further comprises: determining that the tire is coupled to the rear axle in response to determining that the size of the contact patch increases during the acceleration event; and determining that the tire is coupled to front axle in response to determining that the size of the contact patch decreases during the acceleration event.
In analogous art, KUCHLER discloses the tire monitor of claim 2, wherein the acceleration event comprises an increase in acceleration and determining that the tire is coupled to the front axle or that the tire is coupled to the rear axle further comprises: determining that the tire is coupled to the rear axle in response to determining that the size of the contact patch increases during the acceleration event; and determining that the tire is coupled to front axle in response to determining that the size of the contact patch decreases during the acceleration event (para 34, he "front"/"rear" distinction made by alteration in the contact area length during acceleration. If vehicle accelerates positively on a straight section, contact area length for front tires becomes shorter and the contact area length for the rear tires becomes longer, para 49, During a dynamic driving state (that is when accelerating ), dynamic contact area lengths are measured and are related to contact area length).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of activating TPMS in a real-time mode, collect a current measurement from the TPMS sensor upon activation, and present the current measurement disclosed by Van Wiemeersch to use reception unit configured for receiving the first and second sensor signals and a contact area characteristic ascertainment unit ascertaining the contact area lengths characteristic of the first and second tires based on the first and second sensor signals as taught by KUCHLER to include apparatus for ascertaining a relative position for individual tires in a multiple tire, wherein contact area length characteristic to mean a characteristic relating to the tire footprint on road wherein, characteristic of a contact area can denote the surface area or else the geometry of the coverage of the contact area, for the description of a rectangular or essentially trapezoidal contact area configuration to indicate an absolute or a relative (ascertainable with a high level of accuracy) measure of a contact area length [KUCHLER, para 020].
Regarding claim 4, Van Wiemeersch fails to discloses the tire monitor of claim 2, wherein the acceleration event comprises a deceleration and determining that the tire is coupled to the front axle or that the tire is coupled to the rear axle further comprises: determining that the tire is coupled to the rear axle in response to determining that the size of the contact patch decreases during the acceleration event; and determining that the tire is coupled to the front axle in response to determining that the size of the contact patch increases during the acceleration event.
In analogous art, KUCHLER discloses the tire monitor of claim 2, wherein the acceleration event comprises a deceleration and determining that the tire is coupled to the front axle or that the tire is coupled to the rear axle further comprises: determining that the tire is coupled to the rear axle in response to determining that the size of the contact patch decreases during the acceleration event; and determining that the tire is coupled to the front axle in response to determining that the size of the contact patch increases during the acceleration event (para 34, the "front"/"rear" distinction made by alteration in the contact area length during braking behavior, contact area length for the front tires becomes shorter and contact area length for rear tires becomes longer, para 49, contact area length of each tire is ascertained for straight-ahead driving without acceleration/deceleration--that is to driving state--as it were the basic contact area length, During a dynamic driving state (that is to say during braking), dynamic contact area lengths are measured and are related to the basic contact area length).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of activating TPMS in a real-time mode, collect a current measurement from the TPMS sensor upon activation, and present the current measurement disclosed by Van Wiemeersch to use reception unit configured for receiving the first and second sensor signals and a contact area characteristic ascertainment unit ascertaining the contact area lengths characteristic of the first and second tires based on the first and second sensor signals as taught by KUCHLER to include information of contact area geometry and consequently a contact area length characteristic for tires are characteristically altered during cornering in comparison with straight-ahead driving can be used to ascertain a relative position between individual tires in the twin tire associated with said tires [KUCHLER, para 023].
Regarding claim 5, Van Wiemeersch fails to discloses the tire monitor of claim 4, wherein the determining that the tire is coupled to a left side of the vehicle or that the tire is coupled to a right side of the vehicle comprises: determining, from the acceleration data, a cornering event associated with the vehicle; determining, from the sensor data, a change in a contact patch size during the cornering event; and determining that the tire is coupled to a left side of the vehicle or that the tire is coupled to the right side of the vehicle based on the change in the contact patch size during the cornering event.
In analogous art, KUCHLER discloses the tire monitor of claim 4, wherein the determining that the tire is coupled to a left side of the vehicle or that the tire is coupled to a right side of the vehicle comprises: determining, from the acceleration data, a cornering event associated with the vehicle; determining, from the sensor data, a change in a contact patch size during the cornering event; and determining that the tire is coupled to a left side of the vehicle or that the tire is coupled to the right side of the vehicle based on the change in the contact patch size during the cornering event (Abstract, a position finding unit ascertaining the position of the first tire relative to the second tire by evaluating the contact length characteristics of the first and second tires during cornering, para 25, During cornering, tires deformed from contact area geometry from center of the curve, contact area deformations and contact area lengths, contact area length analysis allows respective tire in relation to center of a curve, contact area lengths during cornering change in comparison with contact area lengths on a tire).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of activating TPMS in a real-time mode, collect a current measurement from the TPMS sensor upon activation, and present the current measurement disclosed by Van Wiemeersch to use reception unit configured for receiving the first and second sensor signals and a contact area characteristic ascertainment unit ascertaining the contact area lengths characteristic of the first and second tires based on the first and second sensor signals as taught by KUCHLER to include position finding unit to ascertain the position by evaluating an--during cornering--at least essentially trapezoidal distortion in the contact area of the first tire together with an--during cornering--at least essentially trapezoidal distortion in the contact area of the second tire on the basis of the forces which act during cornering, particularly centrifugal or centripetal forces, cornering results in distortion of an otherwise rectangular geometry of a tire contact area. [KUCHLER, para 025].
Regarding claim 6, Van Wiemeersch fails to discloses the tire monitor of claim 5, wherein the cornering event comprises a right turn and the determining that the tire is coupled to a left side of the vehicle or that the tire is coupled to a right side of the vehicle comprises: determining that the tire is coupled to the left side of the vehicle in response to determining that the size of the contact patch increases during the cornering event; and determining that the tire is coupled to the right side of the vehicle in response to determining that the size of the contact patch decreases during the cornering event.
In analogous art, KUCHLER discloses the tire monitor of claim 5, wherein the cornering event comprises a right turn and the determining that the tire is coupled to a left side of the vehicle or that the tire is coupled to a right side of the vehicle comprises: determining that the tire is coupled to the left side of the vehicle in response to determining that the size of the contact patch increases during the cornering event; and determining that the tire is coupled to the right side of the vehicle in response to determining that the size of the contact patch decreases during the cornering event (para 30, position finding unit may also advantageously be set up such that it identifies the respective inner-curve tire as that tire in the multiple tire and in the other multiple tire whose contact area length is decreasing by evaluating the contact area length characteristic of the first and second tires together with the contact area length characteristic of the third and fourth tires when changing from straight-ahead driving to cornering, para 47, During cornering, the sensors in the two outer-curve twins now measure increased contact area lengths overall, and two sensors in inner-curve twins measure decreased contact area values, claim 26, tire in the multiple tire has contact area length decreasing when changing from straight-ahead driving to cornering).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of activating TPMS in a real-time mode, collect a current measurement from the TPMS sensor upon activation, and present the current measurement disclosed by Van Wiemeersch to use reception unit configured for receiving the first and second sensor signals and a contact area characteristic ascertainment unit ascertaining the contact area lengths characteristic of the first and second tires based on the first and second sensor signals as taught by KUCHLER to include apparatus for position finding unit set up to ascertain the relative position of the individual tires in the multiple tire by evaluating an alteration in the contact area length of tire together with an alteration in the contact area length of tire when changing between straight-ahead driving and cornering. [KUCHLER, para 027].
Regarding claim 7, Van Wiemeersch fails to discloses the tire monitor of claim 5, wherein the cornering event comprises a left turn and the determining that the tire is coupled to a left side of the vehicle or that the tire is coupled to a right side of the vehicle comprises: determining that the tire is coupled to the left side of the vehicle in response to determining that the size of the contact patch decreases during the cornering event; and determining that the tire is coupled to the right side of the vehicle in response to determining that the size of the contact patch increases during the cornering event.
In analogous art, KUCHLER discloses the tire monitor of claim 5, wherein the cornering event comprises a left turn and the determining that the tire is coupled to a left side of the vehicle or that the tire is coupled to a right side of the vehicle comprises: determining that the tire is coupled to the left side of the vehicle in response to determining that the size of the contact patch decreases during the cornering event; and determining that the tire is coupled to the right side of the vehicle in response to determining that the size of the contact patch increases during the cornering event (para 30, multiple tire whose contact area length is decreasing by evaluating the contact area length characteristic of the first and second tires together with the contact area length characteristic of the third and fourth tires when changing from straight-ahead driving to cornering, para 47, During cornering, sensors in the two outer-curve twins now measure increased contact area lengths overall, and two sensors in inner-curve twins measure decreased contact area values, claim 26, tire in the multiple tire has contact area length decreasing when changing from straight-ahead driving to cornering).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of activating TPMS in a real-time mode, collect a current measurement from the TPMS sensor upon activation, and present the current measurement disclosed by Van Wiemeersch to use reception unit configured for receiving the first and second sensor signals and a contact area characteristic ascertainment unit ascertaining the contact area lengths characteristic of the first and second tires based on the first and second sensor signals as taught by KUCHLER to include apparatus for position finding unit set up to ascertain the relative position of the individual tires in multiple tire by evaluating an alteration in the contact area length of the tire together with an alteration in the contact area length of the tire when changing between straight-ahead driving and cornering [KUCHLER, para 027].
Regarding claim 8, Van Wiemeersch discloses the tire monitor of claim 1, wherein the determining the orientation of the tire monitor comprises: determining, based at least in part on the acceleration data, a magnitude and a direction of a lateral force on the tire monitor over time; and determining the first orientation or the second orientation based on magnitude and the direction of the lateral force on the tire monitor over time (para 32, TPMS 124 collect measurements from gyroscopes 114 and/or sensors (e.g., accelerometers) coupled to the tires 110 to determine whether the tires 110 are rotating, TPMS sensors 112 collect tire pressure measurements at extended intervals over a period of time, para 09, TPMS enters an active mode drive mode responsive to tire rotating after being stationary for predetermined period of time).
Regarding claim 9, Van Wiemeersch discloses a method for auto locating a tire monitor on a vehicle (Fig. 1-2, para 26, TPMS sensors 112 enable communication of the vehicle 100 via Ultra-Wide Band (UWB) signals, Bluetooth® communication protocol, Bluetooth® Low Energy (BLE) protocol),
the tire monitor being associated with a tire on the vehicle (para 10, gyroscope to detect whether the tire is stationary or rotating, para 27, each of the gyroscopes 114 detects rotation of the corresponding one of the tires 110, TPMS sensors 112 includes other sensors (e.g., accelerometers) that are configured to monitor rotation of the tires 110),
the method comprising: receiving, from an accelerometer associated with the tire monitor, acceleration data (para 32, TPMS controller 124 collect measurements from gyroscopes 114 and/or other sensors (e.g., accelerometers) coupled to the tires 110 to determine whether tires 110 are stationary or rotating);
determining, based at least in part on the acceleration data and the sensor data, a location of the tire on the vehicle (para27, TPMS sensors 112 includes other sensors (e.g., accelerometers) to monitor rotation of the tires 110, para 32, TPMS controller 124 is configured to collect measurements from the gyroscopes 114 and/or other sensors (e.g., accelerometers) coupled to the tires 110 to determine whether the tires 110 are rotating, para 27, each of the gyroscopes 114 detects rotation of corresponding one of the tires 110, each of the gyroscopes 114 detects whether corresponding one of the tires 110 is stationary or rotating).
Van Wiemeersch specifically fails to disclose receiving, from a sensor associated with the tire monitor, sensor data associated with an area of contact of the tire with a road surface.
In analogous art, KUCHLER discloses receiving, from a sensor associated with the tire monitor, sensor data associated with an area of contact of the tire with a road surface (Abstract, first sensor signal indicating a contact area length of the first tire in the multiple tire, and second sensor signal indicating a contact area length of second tire in the multiple tire, para 21, A "contact area length" can be understood to mean the length of a surface section of a tire which is in contact with road, para 22, electromechanical transducer in the form of a piezo element mounted on a tire that experiences a characteristic upon each contact area pass when tire is rotating, para 54, FIG. 1C, when tire is rotating and hence a portion of the tire 102 is respectively in contact with road, para 59, FIG. 2, on rear axle 222, twin tire 110, which is adjacent individual tires 102, 104, is positioned on the right in FIG. 2. twin tire 206, formed from directly adjacent tires 202, 204, is positioned on rear axle 222. The individual tires 102, 104 in twin tire 110 are mounted together and rigidly are individual tires 202, 204 in the other twin tire 206. tires, which may be positioned along front axle 224).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of activating TPMS in a real-time mode, collect a current measurement from the TPMS sensor upon activation, and present the current measurement disclosed by Van Wiemeersch to use reception unit configured for receiving the first and second sensor signals and a contact area characteristic ascertainment unit ascertaining the contact area lengths characteristic of the first and second tires based on the first and second sensor signals as taught by KUCHLER to include apparatus for ascertaining a relative position for individual tires in a multiple tire, wherein the apparatus has a reception unit which is set up to receive a sensor signal from a electromechanical transducer (for example a piezo element) associated with a tire in the multiple tire, wherein the sensor signal is indicative of a contact area length for the tire [KUCHLER, para 011].
Regarding claim 10, Van Wiemeersch discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the determining the location of the tire on vehicle comprises: determining that the tire is associated with a front axle or a rear axle; and determining that the tire is associated with a right side of the vehicle or a left side of the vehicle (para 51, The sensors 204 are arranged in and around the vehicle 100 to monitor properties of the vehicle 100, sensors 204 include accelerometers, pitch and yaw sensors (i.e., to detect orientation), wheel speed sensors, tire pressure sensors, para 32, TPMS controller 124 collect measurements from gyroscopes 114 and/or other sensors (e.g., accelerometers) coupled to tires 110 to determine whether tires 110 are rotating, gyroscopes 114 and/or other sensors detect rotation of the tires 110 to enable TPMS controller 124 to identify whether tires 110 are rotating).
Regarding claim 11, Van Wiemeersch discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the determining that the tire is associated with the front axle or the rear axle comprises: determining, from the acceleration data, an acceleration event of the vehicle traveling in a forward direction; and determining, from the sensor data, a change in a dimension of a contact patch during the acceleration event (para27, TPMS sensors 112 includes other sensors (e.g., accelerometers) to monitor rotation of the tires 110, para 32, TPMS controller 124 is configured to collect measurements from the gyroscopes 114 and/or other sensors (e.g., accelerometers) coupled to the tires 110 to determine whether the tires 110 are rotating).
Regarding claim 12, Van Wiemeersch fails to discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising: determining that the acceleration event is an increase in acceleration; and determining that the tire is associated with the rear axle in response to an increase in the dimension of the contact patch during the acceleration event; or determining that the tire is associated with the front axle in response to a decrease in the dimension of the contact patch during the acceleration event.
In analogous art, KUCHLER discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising: determining that the acceleration event is an increase in acceleration; and determining that the tire is associated with the rear axle in response to an increase in the dimension of the contact patch during the acceleration event; or determining that the tire is associated with the front axle in response to a decrease in the dimension of the contact patch during the acceleration event (para 07, The contact area of a tire denotes the tire footprint or a magnitude which is indicative of the tire footprint. Such a magnitude is particularly the length of the contact area, that is to say the length measured in the direction of travel, para 54, FIG. 1C, when the tire is rotating in a direction 136 and hence a portion of the tire 102 is respectively in contact with a bed 138, such as a road, para 59, automobile has a rear axle 222 and a front axle 224 and, in FIG. 2, is moving in a straight line and currently without acceleration in a direction 226); and determining that the tire is coupled to the front axle or that the tire is coupled to the rear axle based on the change in the contact patch size (Abstract, first sensor signal indicating a contact area length of the first tire in the multiple tire, and second sensor signal indicating a contact area length of second tire in the multiple tire, para 21, A "contact area length" can be understood to mean the length of a surface section of a tire which is in contact with road, para 54, FIG. 1C, when tire is rotating and hence a portion of the tire 102 is respectively in contact with road, para 59, FIG. 2, on rear axle 222, twin tire 110, which is adjacent individual tires 102, 104, is positioned on right in FIG. 2. tires 202, 204 in other twin tire 206. tires, which positioned along front axle 224).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of activating TPMS in a real-time mode, collect a current measurement from the TPMS sensor upon activation, and present the current measurement disclosed by Van Wiemeersch to use reception unit configured for receiving the first and second sensor signals and a contact area characteristic ascertainment unit ascertaining the contact area lengths characteristic of the first and second tires based on the first and second sensor signals as taught by KUCHLER to include a method for ascertaining a relative position for individual tires in the multiple tire wherein method involves a sensor signal from a electromechanical transducer associated with a tire in the multiple tire being received, wherein the sensor signal is indicative of a contact area length for the tires [KUCHLER, para 013].
Regarding claim 13, Van Wiemeersch fails to discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising: determining that the acceleration event is a deceleration of the vehicle; and determining that the tire is associated with the front axle in response to an increase in the dimension of the contact patch during the acceleration event; or determining that the tire is associated with the rear axle in response to a decrease in the dimension of the contact patch during the acceleration event.
In analogous art, KUCHLER discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising: determining that the acceleration event is a deceleration of the vehicle; and determining that the tire is associated with the front axle in response to an increase in the dimension of the contact patch during the acceleration event; or determining that the tire is associated with the rear axle in response to a decrease in the dimension of the contact patch during the acceleration event (para 34, he "front"/"rear" distinction made by alteration in the contact area length during acceleration. If vehicle accelerates positively on a straight section, contact area length for front tires becomes shorter and the contact area length for the rear tires becomes longer, para 49, During a dynamic driving state (that is when accelerating ), dynamic contact area lengths are measured and are related to contact area length).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of activating TPMS in a real-time mode, collect a current measurement from the TPMS sensor upon activation, and present the current measurement disclosed by Van Wiemeersch to use reception unit configured for receiving the first and second sensor signals and a contact area characteristic ascertainment unit ascertaining the contact area lengths characteristic of the first and second tires based on the first and second sensor signals as taught by KUCHLER to include apparatus for ascertaining a relative position for individual tires in a multiple tire, wherein contact area length characteristic to mean a characteristic relating to the tire footprint on road wherein, characteristic of a contact area can denote the surface area or else the geometry of the coverage of the contact area, for the description of a rectangular or essentially trapezoidal contact area configuration to indicate an absolute or a relative (ascertainable with a high level of accuracy) measure of a contact area length [KUCHLER, para 020].
Regarding claim 14, Van Wiemeersch fails to discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the determining that the tire is associated with the right side of the vehicle or the left side of the vehicle comprises: determining, from the acceleration data, a cornering event; and determining, from the sensor data, a change in a dimension of a contact patch during the cornering event.
In analogous art, KUCHLER discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the determining that the tire is associated with the right side of the vehicle or the left side of the vehicle comprises: determining, from the acceleration data, a cornering event; and determining, from the sensor data, a change in a dimension of a contact patch during the cornering event (Abstract, a position finding unit ascertaining the position of the first tire relative to the second tire by evaluating the contact length characteristics of the first and second tires during cornering, para 25, During cornering, tires deformed from contact area geometry from center of curve, contact area deformations and contact area lengths, contact area length analysis allows tire in relation to center of a curve, contact area lengths during cornering change in comparison with contact area lengths on a tire).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of activating TPMS in a real-time mode, collect a current measurement from the TPMS sensor upon activation, and present the current measurement disclosed by Van Wiemeersch to use reception unit configured for receiving the first and second sensor signals and a contact area characteristic ascertainment unit ascertaining the contact area lengths characteristic of the first and second tires based on the first and second sensor signals as taught by KUCHLER to include information of contact area geometry and consequently a contact area length characteristic for tires are characteristically altered during cornering in comparison with straight-ahead driving can be used to ascertain a relative position between individual tires in the twin tire associated with said tires [KUCHLER, para 023].
Regarding claim 15, Van Wiemeersch fails to discloses the method of claim 14, further comprising: determining that the cornering event is a right turn of the vehicle; and determining that the tire is associated with the right side of the vehicle in response to a decrease in the dimension of the contact patch during the cornering event; or determining that the tire is associated with the left side of the vehicle in response to an increase in the dimension of the contact patch during the cornering event.
In analogous art, KUCHLER discloses the method of claim 14, further comprising: determining that the cornering event is a right turn of the vehicle; and determining that the tire is associated with the right side of the vehicle in response to a decrease in the dimension of the contact patch during the cornering event; or determining that the tire is associated with the left side of the vehicle in response to an increase in the dimension of the contact patch during the cornering event (para 30, multiple tire whose contact area length is decreasing by evaluating the contact area length characteristic of the first and second tires together with the contact area length characteristic of the third and fourth tires when changing from straight-ahead driving to cornering, para 47, During cornering, sensors in the two outer-curve twins now measure increased contact area lengths overall, and two sensors in inner-curve twins measure decreased contact area values, claim 26, tire in the multiple tire has contact area length decreasing when changing from straight-ahead driving to cornering).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of activating TPMS in a real-time mode, collect a current measurement from the TPMS sensor upon activation, and present the current measurement disclosed by Van Wiemeersch to use reception unit configured for receiving the first and second sensor signals and a contact area characteristic ascertainment unit ascertaining the contact area lengths characteristic of the first and second tires based on the first and second sensor signals as taught by KUCHLER to include position finding unit to ascertain the position by evaluating an--during cornering--at least essentially trapezoidal distortion in the contact area of the first tire together with an--during cornering--at least essentially trapezoidal distortion in the contact area of the second tire on the basis of the forces which act during cornering, particularly centrifugal or centripetal forces, cornering results in distortion of an otherwise rectangular geometry of a tire contact area. [KUCHLER, para 025].
Regarding claim 16, Van Wiemeersch fails to discloses the method of claim 14, further comprising: determining that the cornering event is a left turn of the vehicle; and determining that the tire is associated with the right side of the vehicle in response to an increase in the dimension of the contact patch during the cornering event; or determining that the tire is associated with the left side of the vehicle in response to a decrease in the dimension of the contact patch during the cornering event.
In analogous art, KUCHLER discloses the method of claim 14, further comprising: determining that the cornering event is a left turn of the vehicle; and determining that the tire is associated with the right side of the vehicle in response to an increase in the dimension of the contact patch during the cornering event; or determining that the tire is associated with the left side of the vehicle in re (para 30, position finding unit may also advantageously be set up such that it identifies the respective inner-curve tire as that tire in the multiple tire and in the other multiple tire whose contact area length is decreasing by evaluating the contact area length characteristic of the first and second tires together with the contact area length characteristic of the third and fourth tires when changing from straight-ahead driving to cornering, para 47, During cornering, the sensors in the two outer-curve twins now measure increased contact area lengths overall, and two sensors in inner-curve twins measure decreased contact area values, claim 26, tire in the multiple tire has contact area length decreasing when changing from straight-ahead driving to cornering).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of activating TPMS in a real-time mode, collect a current measurement from the TPMS sensor upon activation, and present the current measurement disclosed by Van Wiemeersch to use reception unit configured for receiving the first and second sensor signals and a contact area characteristic ascertainment unit ascertaining the contact area lengths characteristic of the first and second tires based on the first and second sensor signals as taught by KUCHLER to include apparatus for position finding unit set up to ascertain the relative position of the individual tires in the multiple tire by evaluating an alteration in the contact area length of tire together with an alteration in the contact area length of tire when changing between straight-ahead driving and cornering. [KUCHLER, para 027].
Regarding claim 17, Van Wiemeersch discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising: determining, based at least in part on the acceleration data, an orientation of the tire monitor relative to the vehicle, the orientation comprising one of a first orientation or a second orientation rotated 180-degrees relative to the first orientation (para27, TPMS sensors 112 includes other sensors (e.g., accelerometers) to monitor rotation of the tires 110, para 32, TPMS controller 124 is configured to collect measurements from gyroscopes 114 or other sensors (e.g., accelerometers) coupled to tires 110 to determine whether tires 110 rotating, para 51, sensors 204 include accelerometers, tachometers, pitch and yaw sensors (i.e., to detect orientation)).
KUCHLER discloses "front"/"rear" distinction. For the purpose of "left"/"right" distinction, it is possible for acceleration sensors which are offset from one another by an angle (for example 90. degrees.) to be fitted to the tires and for the timing response of said acceleration sensors to be ascertained, for example. One of the two sensors lags the other in terms of timing response
Regarding claim 18, Van Wiemeersch discloses a system (Fig. 1-2, para 26, TPMS sensors 112 enable communication of the vehicle 100 via Ultra-Wide Band (UWB) signals, Bluetooth® communication protocol, Bluetooth® Low Energy (BLE) protocol) comprising:
a vehicle; tires associated with the vehicle (Fig. 1, para 27, TPMS sensors 112 includes other sensors (e.g., accelerometers) that are configured to monitor rotation of the tires 110);
a tire monitor associated with one of the tires (para 32, TPMS controller 124 collect measurements from gyroscopes 114 and/or other sensors (e.g., accelerometers) coupled to the tires 110 to determine whether tires 110 are rotating),
the tire monitor comprising an accelerometer and a sensor (para 27, TPMS sensors 112 includes ensors (e.g., accelerometers) that are configured to monitor rotation of the tires 110); and
a computing system configured to perform operations (para 52, ECUs 206 monitor and control subsystems of vehicle 100, ECUs 206 communicate properties (e.g., status of ECUs 206, sensor readings, control state, error and diagnostic codes, etc.) to and/or receive requests from each other, para 51, sensors 204 include accelerometers, tachometers, pitch and yaw sensors (i.e., to detect orientation), wheel speed sensors, tire pressure sensors, or sensors of any other type sensors 204 include TPMS sensors 112 that collect tire pressure measurements of the tires 110) comprising:
receiving, from the accelerometer, acceleration data (para 08, TPMS sensor via the Bluetooth® low-energy communication to collect the current measurement, and receive the current measurement from the TPMS sensor, para 26, TPMS sensors 112 include antenna(s) that are configured to (i) receive and transmit data collected from a pressure sensor and/or other sensor(s) of the TPMS sensors 112 and (ii) send and receive signals, para 27, TPMS sensors 112 includes other sensors (e.g., accelerometer) that are configured to monitor rotation of the tires 110);
determining, based at least in part on the acceleration data and the sensor data, a location of the tire on the vehicle (para27, TPMS sensors 112 includes other sensors (e.g., accelerometers) to monitor rotation of the tires 110, para 32, TPMS controller 124 is configured to collect measurements from the gyroscopes 114 and/or other sensors (e.g., accelerometers) coupled to the tires 110 to determine whether the tires 110 are rotating).
Van Wiemeersch specifically fails to disclose receiving, from the sensor, sensor data associated with an area of contact of the tire with a road surface.
In analogous art, KUCHLER discloses receiving, from the sensor, sensor data associated with an area of contact of the tire with a road surface (Abstract, first sensor signal indicating a contact area length of the first tire in the multiple tire, and second sensor signal indicating a contact area length of second tire in the multiple tire, para 21, A "contact area length" can be understood to mean the length of a surface section of a tire which is in contact with road, para 22, electromechanical transducer in the form of a piezo element mounted on a tire that experiences a characteristic upon each contact area pass when tire is rotating, para 54, FIG. 1C, when tire is rotating and hence a portion of the tire 102 is respectively in contact with road, para 59, FIG. 2, on rear axle 222, twin tire 110, which is adjacent individual tires 102, 104, is positioned on the right in FIG. 2. another twin tire 206, formed from directly adjacent tires 202, 204, is positioned on rear axle 222. The individual tires 102, 104 in twin tire 110 are mounted together and rigidly on one another, as are the individual tires 202, 204 in the other twin tire 206. tires, which may be positioned along front axle 224).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of activating TPMS in a real-time mode, collect a current measurement from the TPMS sensor upon activation, and present the current measurement disclosed by Van Wiemeersch to use reception unit configured for receiving the first and second sensor signals and a contact area characteristic ascertainment unit ascertaining the contact area lengths characteristic of the first and second tires based on the first and second sensor signals as taught by KUCHLER to include apparatus for ascertaining a relative position for individual tires in a multiple tire, wherein the apparatus has a reception unit which is set up to receive a sensor signal from a electromechanical transducer (for example a piezo element) associated with a tire in the multiple tire, wherein the sensor signal is indicative of a contact area length for the tire [KUCHLER, para 011].
Regarding claim 19, Van Wiemeersch discloses the system of claim 18, wherein the determining the location of the tire on vehicle comprises: determining that the tire is associated with a front axle or a rear axle; and determining that the tire is associated with a right side of the vehicle or a left side of the vehicle (para 51, The sensors 204 are arranged in and around the vehicle 100 to monitor properties of the vehicle 100, sensors 204 include accelerometers, pitch and yaw sensors (i.e., to detect orientation), wheel speed sensors, tire pressure sensors, para 32, TPMS controller 124 collect measurements from gyroscopes 114 and/or other sensors (e.g., accelerometers) coupled to tires 110 to determine whether tires 110 are rotating, gyroscopes 114 and/or other sensors detect rotation of the tires 110 to enable TPMS controller 124 to identify whether tires 110 are rotating).
Regarding claim 20, Van Wiemeersch discloses the system of claim 18, wherein the computing system is located on the tire monitor (para 52, ECUs 206 monitor and control subsystems of vehicle 100, ECUs 206 communicate properties (e.g., status of ECUs 206, sensor readings, control state, error and diagnostic codes, etc.) to and/or receive requests from each other, para 51, sensors 204 include accelerometers, tachometers, pitch and yaw sensors (i.e., to detect orientation), wheel speed sensors, tire pressure sensors, or sensors of any other type sensors 204 include TPMS sensors 112 that collect tire pressure measurements of the tires 110).
Conclusion
/MIRZA F ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688