DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on July 8, 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 9 and 14 are independent.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 8, 2026 has been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. The Forms PTO-1449 are signed and attached hereto.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ Terminal Disclaimer has been entered and approved. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made. Accordingly, the Terminal Disclaimer will be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No.20200207474 to Foggia et al. (hereinafter “Foggia”).
Claims 1-4, 7-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Foggia.
With respect to independent claims 1, 9 and 14, Foggia discloses the drone-load system, wherein the drone-load system comprises a drone and a load, wherein the drone comprises a drone thruster and wherein the load is secured to the drone (see paragraphs [0059] and [0060]: one or more propulsion and control actuators 110 (e.g., powered rotors and/or aerodynamic control surfaces). The delivery system may also include a securing mechanism 160 for securing the payload 150 in place while the UAV 100 is in flight.);
a sensor suite (see paragraph [0059]: one or more propulsion and control actuators 110 (e.g., powered rotors and/or aerodynamic control surfaces) for maintaining controlled flight, optical sensors in the form of an image capture device for automated navigation and flight control 112, other sensors (not shown)), and a computer processor and memory (see paragraph [0183]: a processor(s) 1312, a memory controller 1314, a memory 1316),
wherein the memory comprises a control module which, when executed by the computer processor, is to determine at least one of a position, orientation, or motion of the drone-load system based on a sensor data from the sensor suite (see paragraph [0065]: observed positioning based on signals received at a global position system (GPS) receiver onboard the UAV 100 can be combined with data received from motion sensors (e.g., accelerometers, gyroscopes, inertial measurement units (IMUs)) onboard the UAV 100 to resolve an accurate position and/or orientation of the UAV 100 at any given time, relative to any given point of reference.) and
is to control the drone thruster to influence at least one of the position, orientation, or motion of the drone-load system (see paragraph [0017]: monitoring a current position of the payload holder with respect to the three-dimensional positionings defining the descent cone; and operating a propulsion system of the UAV to control a position of the payload holder.).
With respect to dependent claims 2, 10 and 15, Foggia discloses wherein to influence at least one of the position, orientation, or motion of the load container comprises to direct the load container toward a desired location (see paragraphs [0017] and [0018]: operating a propulsion system of the UAV to control a position of the payload holder. A thrust force to the payload holder to adjust the position of the payload holder.).
With respect to dependent claims 3, 11 and 16, Foggia discloses wherein the desired location comprises at least one of a location indicated by a target node, a location indicated by a human, or a location indicated by a computer module (see paragraphs [0075] and [0076]: a location that is identifiable via a discoverable object or beacon; a smartphone location. Receives destination information via a set of instructions received e.g. from a central controller to determine the delivery location 220.).
With respect to dependent claims 4, 12, 13 and 17, Foggia discloses wherein the control module comprises a first control module and a second control module; the sensor suite comprises a first sensor suite and a second sensor suite; the sensor data comprises first sensor data and second sensor data; the first sensor suite is to obtain the first sensor data relative to the load container; the second sensor suite is to obtain the second sensor data relative to the drone (see paragraph [0015]: The first and second sensor data may identify different respective first and second delivery surfaces. For example, use of the first sensor data may identify a first delivery surface, while use of the second sensor data may identify a second, different, delivery surface.); and
the first control module is to determine at least one of the position, orientation, or motion of the load container based on the first sensor data and is to control the load thruster to influence at least one of the position, orientation, or motion of the load container (see paragraph [0020]: A first propulsion system for altering a position of the main body, at least vertically, during flight, a first propulsion controller for controlling the position of the main body during flight using the first propulsion system. A second propulsion system for altering the position of the payload holder, at least horizontally, during payload delivery, and a second propulsion controller for controlling the position of the payload holder during payload delivery using the second propulsion system.); and
wherein the second control module is to determine at least one of a position, orientation, or motion of the drone based on the second sensor data from the second sensor suite and is to control the drone thruster to influence at least one of the position, orientation, or motion of the drone (see paragraph [0020]: process the current payload holder status data in association with the delivery control data to generate payload holder propulsion control data; and operate the second propulsion controller in accordance with the payload holder propulsion data.).
With respect to dependent claims 7 and 20, Foggia discloses wherein to at least one of i) to determine at least one of the position, orientation, or motion of the load container based on the sensor data from the sensor suite and ii) to control the load thruster to influence at least one of the position, orientation, or motion of the load container, comprises to combine the sensor data from the sensor suite in a filter (see paragraph [0179]: an “extended Kalman filter”) may be applied to a series of measured positions and/or orientations to produce a real-time optimized prediction of the current position and/or orientation based on assumed uncertainties in the observed data.).
With respect to dependent claims 8, Foggia discloses wherein the load thruster is integrated into the load container (see paragraph [0020]: a second propulsion system for altering the position of the payload holder).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foggia in view of U.S. Patent No. 9,688,404 to Buchmueller et al. (hereinafter “Buchmueller”).
With respect to dependent claims 5 and 18, Foggia discloses a second computer processor and second memory; wherein the second memory comprises the second control module; and wherein the second processor is to execute the second control module (See paragraph [0181]: UAVs may be controlled autonomously by onboard computer processors or via remote control by a remotely located human or computer pilot. Similar to an airplane, UAVs may utilize fixed aerodynamic surfaces along with a propulsion system (e.g., propeller, jet, etc.) to achieve lift.).
Foggia does not explicitly teach a first computer processor and first memory; wherein the first memory comprises the first control module; wherein the first processor is to execute the first control module.
Buchmueller teaches the flight controller 230 includes a flight control processor 232, a winch controller 234, and an attachment controller 236. Generally, the flight control processor 232 is configured to control the flight and flight path of the UAV 200, control the winch mechanism 260, and control the attachment mechanism 282 of the platform 280. (See col. 3, line 63 – col. 4, line 1). The payload controller 274 may be embodied as one or more embedded or general-purpose processors, computers, processing devices, or computing devices having memory. The payload controller 274 may also be embodied, in part, as various functional and/or logic (e.g., computer-readable instruction, code, device, circuit, processing circuit, etc.) elements executed or operated to perform aspects of the embodiments described herein. (See col. 5, lines 29-36).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the dedicated processor and memory mounted to the payload holder of Buchmueller with the second propulsion system for controlling the payload holder of Foggia to keep flight-critical control separate from load stabilization and to place the stabilization loop at the thrusters and sensors that it serves.
With respect to dependent claims 6 and 19, Foggia discloses wherein second computer processor and second memory are in the drone. (See paragraph [0181]: UAVs may be controlled autonomously by onboard computer processors or via remote control by a remotely located human or computer pilot. Similar to an airplane, UAVs may utilize fixed aerodynamic surfaces along with a propulsion system (e.g., propeller, jet, etc.) to achieve lift.).
Foggia does not explicitly teach the first computer process and first memory are in the load container.
Buchmueller teaches the payload controller 274 may be mounted and secured to the platform 280 and configured to stabilize the platform 280. (See col. 4, lines 36-38). The computing device 210 may be mounted and secured within the frame body housing 202 of the UAV 200. (See col. 3, lines 39-41). The payload controller 274 may be mounted and secured to the platform 280 and configured to stabilize the platform 280. More particularly, based on feedback from the orientation sensors 276, the payload controller 274 may be configured to control the thrust generators 272 in an effort to maintain an orientation of the platform 280 and/or the item 290, especially when the tethers 262 and 264 are extended by the winch mechanism 260 to lower the platform 280. (See col. 5, lines 36-44).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the dedicated processor and memory mounted to the payload holder of Buchmueller with the second propulsion system for controlling the payload holder of Foggia to keep flight-critical control separate from load stabilization and to place the stabilization loop at the thrusters and sensors that it serves.
Conclusion
/DEMETRA R SMITH-STEWART/Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/PETER D NOLAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661