DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to the following communication: Preliminary Amendment filed on 24 April 2025.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending and present for examination. Claim(s) 1, 10, and 15 is/are in independent form.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 26 February 2025 and 30 September 2025 is/are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 20 December 2024. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 8-10, 12, 14, 15, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu et al, USPGPUB No. 2013/0318070, filed on 22 May 2012, and published on 28 November 2013.
As per independent claims 1 and 10, Wu teaches:
A data sharing method, comprising:
receiving, by a first data management system, a first query statement, wherein the first query statement is a query statement that is based on a first query language {See Wu, [0039], wherein this reads over “As shown, protocol 1B00 commences when an instance of an enterprise application 1A10 (e.g., enterprise application 1A10.sub.1) forms a native query such as a non-SPARQL query (see message 1B02), and passes the native query to the SPARQL gateway (see message 1B04)”};
obtaining, by the first data management system based on the first query statement, a second query statement by using a software development kit of a second data management system, wherein the second query statement is a query statement that is based on a second query language {See Wu, [0039], wherein this reads over “The SPARQL gateway 1A70 receives the non-SPARQL query (see operation 1B06) and proceeds to perform a conversion on the received query (see operation 1B08). Having completing converting the non-SPARQL query into a SPARQL query, the SPARQL gateway submits the SPARQ query to a SPARQL endpoint 1A30 (see message 1B10), and the SPARQL endpoint 1A30 proceeds to process the submitted SPARQL query (see operation 1B12)”}; and
accessing, by the first data management system, a unified open access service of the second data management system based on the second query statement, to obtain proprietary-format data in the second data management system {See Wu, [0039], wherein this reads over “Having processed the SPARQL query, the SPARQL endpoint 1A30 sends the results as a SPARQL response (see message 1B16). The SPARQL response is received by the SPARQL gateway (see operation 1B18) and commences to apply a transform to the SPARQL response (see operation 1B20). The protocol as shown concludes upon sending the transformed SPARQL query results to the application, thus ending the shown protocol phase when the transformed results are passed to the enterprise application (see message 1B22)”}.
As per dependent claim 2, Wu teaches:
The method according to claim 1, further comprising:
reading, by the second data management system based on the second query statement, logical metadata by using a metadata interface in the unified open access service {See Wu, [0032], wherein this reads over “Processing within the SPARQL gateway (including processing within the web service engine 1A62) allows applications to consume semantic data in formats other than the specific XML defined for any particular SPARQL response.”}; and
reading, by the second data management system, the proprietary-format data in the second data management system based on the logical metadata {See Wu, [0035], wherein this reads over “As can be understood, the SPARQL gateway receives a SPARQL response from a SPARQL endpoint, and proceeds to process the SPARQL response into a format native to the database engine, or at least in such a format that the database engine can use the semantic data retrieved from the SPARQL endpoint”}.
As per dependent claims 6 and 12, Wu teaches:
The method according to claim 1, further comprising:
presenting, by the first data management system, a sharing operation interface to a user {See Wu, Figure 4}, wherein the sharing operation interface supports an operation of sharing data within a system, an operation of sharing open-format data with an external system, and an operation of accessing proprietary-format data by an external system {See Wu, [0070], wherein this reads over “As shown, a SPARQL query extractor engine can extract information from an RDF dataset. In the specific example shown, the RDF dataset describes a set of mutual funds. The extracted information includes series name, mutual fund ticker, state, address, etc. The extracted information from the SPARQL query response is presented in a tabular form 410, presented below the query.”}; and
when based on the operation of accessing the proprietary-format data by the external system being triggered, returning, by the first data management system, proprietary-format data in the first data management system {See Wu, [0039], wherein this reads over “Having processed the SPARQL query, the SPARQL endpoint 1A30 sends the results as a SPARQL response (see message 1B16). The SPARQL response is received by the SPARQL gateway (see operation 1B18) and commences to apply a transform to the SPARQL response (see operation 1B20). The protocol as shown concludes upon sending the transformed SPARQL query results to the application, thus ending the shown protocol phase when the transformed results are passed to the enterprise application (see message 1B22)”}.
As per dependent claims 8, 14, and 20, Wu teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the first data management system and the second data management system are different data management systems among a database, a data warehouse, a lakehouse or a big data engine, and an artificial intelligence development platform {See Wu, Figure 1A}.
As per dependent claims 9 and 18,
The method according to claim 2, wherein the reading, by the second data management system, the proprietary-format data in the second data management system based on the logical metadata comprises:
accessing, by the second data management system in an abstract table format, the proprietary-format data in the second data management system based on the logical metadata {See Wu, [0035], wherein this reads over “As can be understood, the SPARQL gateway receives a SPARQL response from a SPARQL endpoint, and proceeds to process the SPARQL response into a format native to the database engine, or at least in such a format that the database engine can use the semantic data retrieved from the SPARQL endpoint”}.
As per independent claims 15, Wu teaches:
A second data management system, comprising at least one processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store instructions, and the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions in the memory to cause the second data management system to:
receive a second query statement {See Wu, [0039], wherein this reads over “The SPARQL gateway 1A70 receives the non-SPARQL query (see operation 1B06) and proceeds to perform a conversion on the received query (see operation 1B08). Having completing converting the non-SPARQL query into a SPARQL query, the SPARQL gateway submits the SPARQ query to a SPARQL endpoint 1A30 (see message 1B10), and the SPARQL endpoint 1A30 proceeds to process the submitted SPARQL query (see operation 1B12)”};
read, based on the second query statement, logical metadata by using a metadata interface in a unified open access service {See Wu, [0032], wherein this reads over “Processing within the SPARQL gateway (including processing within the web service engine 1A62) allows applications to consume semantic data in formats other than the specific XML defined for any particular SPARQL response.”}; and
read proprietary-format data in the second data management system based on the logical metadata {See Wu, [0035], wherein this reads over “As can be understood, the SPARQL gateway receives a SPARQL response from a SPARQL endpoint, and proceeds to process the SPARQL response into a format native to the database engine, or at least in such a format that the database engine can use the semantic data retrieved from the SPARQL endpoint”}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 7, 11, 13, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, in view of Official Notice.
As per dependent claims 5 and 11, it is noted that Wu discloses that a query may be a SQL query, which would read upon the claimed feature of “wherein the first query language is a structured query language.” See Wu, [0026]. As per the claimed feature of “the second query language is a lightweight markup language,” the Examiner takes Official Notice that the feature of a lightweight markup language is widely-known in the art, as it is merely any markup system with simple, unobtrusive syntax. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant application to improve the prior art of Wu with the aforementioned lightweight markup language such that the SQL query may be converted to another markup language. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the aforementioned combination such that the SQL may be more readable in its raw format as well as the rendered output.
As per dependent claims 7, 13, and 19, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the feature of columnstore unit data is widely-known within the art, as it is merely a database storage format that organizes data by column instead of by row. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant application to improve the prior art of Wu with the aforementioned columnstore feature such that the stored data of Wu may be further formatted into columnstore unit data. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the aforementioned combination such that data compression and faster query performance may be provided.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 16, and 17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Paul Kim/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2152
/PK/