DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because the following informalities:
DRAWINGS
The drawings filed DECEMBER 20, 2024 (i.e., Fig. 1 - Fig. 7) [see Fig. 4 below], are objected because of the following reasons:
Identifying text for features of the invention appears to be unclearly written.
Geometrical features of the invention appears to be unclearly pictured.
Examiner suggests applicant to resubmit the drawing sheets with the required “Replacement Sheet” label to overcome the objection.
Black and white drawings are normally required. India ink, or its equivalent that secures solid black lines, must be used for drawing. Drawings submitted to the Office must be made on paper which is flexible, strong, white, smooth, non-shiny, and durable. All sheets must be reasonably free from cracks, creases, and folds. See MPEP 608.02 Drawing.
Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-9, 11, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Altschul et al. (U. S. Patent Application Publication US20180184775A1) hereinafter ALTSCHUL.
Regarding claim 1, ALTSCHUL teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 7, FIG. 10 below) a universal device holder 100 comprising an elongated sleeve 102, 104 having a top open end 112, a bottom closed end 108, a first closed side 110, a second closed side 106 opposite the first closed side 110, and an adhesive backing 116 on a mounting surface (FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 4, ALTSCHUL teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 7, FIG. 10 above) universal device holder 100 further comprising a security member 112 disposed towards the top open end 112 configured to secure a cylindrical device through compression or frictional fit (FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 6, ALTSCHUL teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 7, FIG. 10 above) universal device holder 100 wherein a back portion 118 of the sleeve 102, 104 extends above the top open end 112.
Regarding claim 7, ALTSCHUL teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 7, FIG. 10 above) universal device holder 100 wherein the adhesive backing 116 is configured to adhere to plastic or vinyl.
Regarding claim 8, ALTSCHUL teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 7, FIG. 10 above) universal device holder 100 wherein the adhesive backing 116 is configured to adhere to a flat surface.
Regarding claim 9, ALTSCHUL teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 7, FIG. 10 above) universal device holder 100 wherein the mounting surface (FIG. 4) comprises an extended perimeter A4-01 beyond at least two of the top open end 112, first closed side 110, second closed side 106, and bottom closed end 108, the extended perimeter A4-01 of the mounting surface (FIG. 4) configured to flex to mount to a curved surface.
Regarding claim 11, ALTSCHUL teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 7, FIG. 10 above) universal device holder 100 wherein the sleeve 102, 104 comprises a heat or oil resistant material.
Regarding claim 13, ALTSCHUL teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 7, FIG. 10 above) universal device holder 100 wherein the adhesive backing 116 is adhesive (page 15, claim 8, “... adhesive ...”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 10, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ALTSCHUL.
Regarding claim 2, ALTSCHUL (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. ALTSCHUL further teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 7, FIG. 10 above) universal device holder 100 wherein the sleeve 102, 104 comprises a flexible material (page 15, claim 7, “... elastic sheet ...”) configured to stretch to accommodate a cuboid 700.
ALTSCHUL fails to teach flexible material (page 15, claim 7, “... elastic sheet ...”) configured to stretch to accommodate a cylindrical device.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified form of sleeve 102, 104 [i.e., to being configured to stretch to accommodate a cylindrical device] in the universal device holder 100 of ALTSCHUL to meet design requirements since a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ47.
Regarding claim 3, ALTSCHUL (as applied to claim 2 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. ALTSCHUL fails to teach (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 7, FIG. 10 above) universal device holder 100 wherein the sleeve 102, 104 comprises silicone and is configured to secure the cuboid 700 through a frictional fit (FIG. 6).
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected a material for the sleeve 102, 104 (i. e., to comprise silicone) in the universal device holder 100 of ALTSCHUL to meet design requirements. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 10, ALTSCHUL (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. ALTSCHUL fails to teach (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 7, FIG. 10 above) universal device holder 100 wherein the elongated sleeve 102, 104 has a length A2-02 and width A2-01 configured to accommodate a vapor pen, EPIPEN, lip gloss, lipstick, or an inhaler.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified form of elongated sleeve 102, 104 [i.e., wherein length A2-02 / width A2-01 configured to accommodate a vapor pen, EPIPEN, lip gloss, lipstick, or an inhaler] in the universal device holder 100 of ALTSCHUL to meet design requirements since a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ47.
Regarding claim 14, ALTSCHUL teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 7, FIG. 10 above) a holder 100 for cuboid 700 comprising:
a sleeve 102, 104 having a length A2-02 and a width A2-01, the sleeve 102, 104 having an open top 112, a closed bottom 108, and closed sidewalls 106, 110, the length A2-02 sufficiently long enough to accommodate a major portion of the length A2-02 of the cuboid 700 and the width A2-01 only wide enough to receive the cuboid 700 in secure engagement, and a back A4-02 having an adhesive (page 15, claim 8, “... adhesive ...”) suitable for securely attaching the sleeve 102, 104 to a flat surface (FIG. 6).
ALTSCHUL fails to teach cuboid 700 is a cylindrical cosmetic container.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified form of length A2-02 / width A2-01 [i.e., to accommodate a cylindrical cosmetic container] in the sleeve 102, 104 of ALTSCHUL to meet design requirements since a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ47.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ALTSCHUL, in view of DeChant (U. S. Patent Application Publication US20140262853A1) hereinafter DECHANT.
Regarding claim 5, ALTSCHUL (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. ALTSCHUL fails to teach (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 7, FIG. 10 above) universal device holder 100 wherein the top open end 112 is secured by an additional flap extending from the top open end 112 configured to fold over the top open end 112 or tuck into the top open end 112.
However, DECHANT teaches (see FIG. 7 - FIG. 8 below) a wallet 200 wherein the top open end 260 is secured by an additional flap 220 extending from the top open end 260 configured to fold over the top open end 260 for securement purposes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified top open end 112 in the universal device holder 100 of ALTSCHUL with top open end 260 as taught in the wallet 200 of DECHANT for securement purposes.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ALTSCHUL, in view of Britton et al. (U. S. Patent Application Publication US20100122439A1) hereinafter BRITTON.
Regarding claim 12, ALTSCHUL (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. ALTSCHUL fails to teach (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 7, FIG. 10 above) universal device holder 100 comprising an extended front surface A2-03 wherein having at least one additional pocket or elongated sleeve 102, 104.
However, BRITTON teaches (see Figure 1 - Figure 3 below) a mobile device attachment apparatus B1-01 comprising an extended front surface B3-01 wherein having at least one additional elongated sleeve B3-02 for flexibility of use.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified front surface A2-03 in the universal device holder 100 of ALTSCHUL with front surface B3-01 as taught in the mobile device attachment apparatus B1-01 of BRITTON for flexibility of use.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
James (U. S. Patent US11412079B1): Teaches a “pouch” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Burke et al. (U. S. Patent Application Publication US20220079315A1): Teaches a “case” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Sandu (U. S. Patent Application Publication US20150334212A1): Teaches an “storage” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Contact
/M.J.R.M./
/Anthony D Stashick/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735