DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are present in this application. Claims 1-20 are pending in this office
action.
This office action is NON-FINAL.
Drawings
The Drawings filed on 12/20/24 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Specification
The Specification filed on 12/20/24 is acceptable for examination purposes.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 02/21/25 and 09/23/25 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent
therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is
directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites, “obtaining first description information, wherein the first description information describes a first row group, the first row group is a row group stored by a first storage system within a specified time period, and the first row group comprises at least one row of data; and storing the first row group in a second storage system based on the first description information”.
The limitation of “obtaining first description information, wherein the first description information describes a first row group, the first row group is a row group stored by a first storage system within a specified time period, and the first row group comprises at least one row of data; and storing the first row group in a second storage system based on the first description information”. That is, other than reciting, “computing device”, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites one additional element – using a computing device to perform, obtaining and storing steps. The computing device in each steps is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computing device to perform, obtaining and storing steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 2 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Claim
2 recites wherein the first description information comprises transaction information of a first transaction, and the first transaction is a transaction whose execution has been completed by the first storage system within the specified time period in claim
2. But the first transaction is a transaction whose execution has been completed by the first storage system within the specified time period does not go beyond the abstract idea itself. There are no additional components in the claim that would make it significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 3 is dependent on claim 2 and includes all the limitations of claim 2. Claim
3 recites the first transaction set is used to reflect indicates a transaction whose execution has been completed by the first storage system before the end moment; and determining the first transaction based on the first transaction set in claim 3. But determining the first transaction based on the first transaction does not go beyond the abstract idea itself. There are no additional components in the claim that would make it significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 4 is dependent on claim 3 and includes all the limitations of claim 3. Claim
4 recites a transaction that is executed by the first storage system at a start moment of the specified time period, and the second transaction set indicates is used to reflect a transaction whose execution has been completed by the first storage system before the start moment; and determining the first transaction based on the first transaction set and the second transaction set in claim 4. But reflect a transaction whose execution has been completed by the first storage system before the start moment does not go beyond the abstract idea itself. There are no additional components in the claim that would make it significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 5 is dependent on claim 2 and includes all the limitations of claim 2. Claim
5 recites selecting, based on a row group range, at least one piece of description information from the description information that has been generated by the first storage system, wherein the row group range comprises a row group operated by the first storage system within the specified time period in claim 5. But selecting, based on a row group range does not go beyond the abstract idea itself. There are no additional components in the claim that would make it significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 6 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Claim
6 recites obtaining the data segment based on the storage location; and sending a file to the second storage system, wherein the file comprises the data segment, and the file is used to trigger the second storage system to store the data segment in claim 6. But obtaining the data segment based on the storage location; and sending a file to the second storage system does not go beyond the abstract idea itself. There are no additional components in the claim that would make it significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 7 is dependent on claim 6 and includes all the limitations of claim 6. Claim
7 recites indicates undeleted data in the first row group, and the file is further used to trigger the second storage system to store the first row status information or delete deleted data in the first row group from the data segment based on the first row status information in claim 7. But distance trigger the second storage system to store the first row status information or delete deleted data in the first row group from the data segment based on the first row status information does not go beyond the abstract idea itself. There are no additional components in the claim that would make it significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 8 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Claim
8 recites trigger the second storage system to obtain second description information based on the group identifier of the first row group and the column identifier corresponding to each column of data, and the second description information is used to describes the first row group in claim 8. But trigger the second storage system to obtain second description information based on the group identifier of the first row group and the column identifier corresponding to each column of data does not go beyond
the abstract idea itself. There are no additional components in the claim that would
make it significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 9 is dependent on claim 8 and includes all the limitations of claim 8. Claim
9 recites wherein the file further comprises statistics information corresponding to each column of data, and the second description information further comprises the statistics information corresponding to each column of data in claim 9. But statistics information corresponding to each column of data, and the second description information further comprises the statistics information corresponding to each column of data does not go beyond the abstract idea itself. There are no additional components in the claim that would make it significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 10 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1.
Claim 10 recites obtaining the first row group based on the group identifier and the storage location; and sending an insert statement to the second storage system, wherein the insert statement comprises each row of data in the first row group, and the insert statement is used to trigger the second storage system to store each row of data in the first row group.in claim 10. But obtaining the first row group based on the group identifier and the storage location; and sending an insert statement to the second storage system does not go beyond the abstract idea itself. There are no additional components in the claim that would make it significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 11 recites the same limitations as claim 1 above. Therefore, claim
11 is rejected based on the same reasoning.
Claim 12 is dependent on claim 11 and includes all the limitations of claim 11.
Claim 12 recites determine the first transaction; and select, from description information that has been generated by the first storage system, the first description information comprising the transaction information of the first transaction in claim 12. But determine the first transaction; and select, from description information that has been generated by the first storage system does not go beyond the abstract idea itself. There are no additional components in the claim that would make it significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 13 recites the same limitations as claim 3 above. Therefore, claim
13 is rejected based on the same reasoning.
Claim 14 recites the same limitations as claim 4 above. Therefore, claim
14 is rejected based on the same reasoning.
Claim 15 recites the same limitations as claim 5 above. Therefore, claim
15 is rejected based on the same reasoning.
Claim 16 is dependent on claim 11 and includes all the limitations of claim 11.
Claim 16 recites obtain the data segment based on the storage location; and send a file to the second storage system, wherein the file comprises the data segment, and the file is used to trigger the second storage system to store the data segment in claim
16. But obtain the data segment based on the storage location; and send a file to the second storage system does not go beyond the abstract idea itself. There are no additional components in the claim that would make it significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 17 recites the same limitations as claim 7 above. Therefore, claim
17 is rejected based on the same reasoning.
Claim 18 recites the same limitations as claim 8 above. Therefore, claim
18 is rejected based on the same reasoning.
Claim 19 recites the same limitations as claim 9 above. Therefore, claim
19 is rejected based on the same reasoning.
Claim 20 is dependent on claim 10 and includes all the limitations of claim 10.
Claim 20 recites obtain the first row group based on the group identifier and the storage location; and send an insert statement to the second storage system, wherein the insert statement comprises each row of data in the first row group, and the insert statement is used to trigger the second storage system to store each row of data in the first row group in claim 20. But obtain the first row group based on the group identifier and the storage location; and send an insert statement to the second storage system does not go beyond the abstract idea itself. There are no additional components in the claim that would make it significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections 35 U.S.C. §103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of
rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be
the same under either status.
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the
claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which
the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in
which the invention was made.
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
8. Claims 1-5 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over ZHENG et al. (US 2021/0209088 A1) in view of Hanckel et al. (US 2007/0130171 A1).
Regarding claim 1, ZHENG teaches a data management method, wherein the method is applied to a computer device and comprises:
obtaining first description information, wherein the first description information describes a first row group, (See ZHENG paragraph [0004], to receive a query to locate a target row in the row-group columnar storage database; and locate the target row using the column information from the one or more block information tables), and the first row group comprises at least one row of data, (See ZHENG paragraph [0024], Row group 1 comprises the first three rows of data, and row group 2 comprises the next three rows of data. Data in each row group); and
storing the first row group in a second storage system based on the first description information, (See ZHENG paragraph [0048], Each entry in the BLKDESC table contains information that describes one block file (e.g., varblock 1 of FIG. 5). Each entry can contain one or more attributes…in a row-group columnar storage database).
ZHENG does not explicitly disclose the first row group is a row group stored by a first storage system within a specified time period.
However, Hanckel teaches the first row group is a row group stored by a first storage system within a specified time period, (See Hanckel paragraph [0048], For each row 132 in table A, the time stamp value in start_time column 133 indicates when the row last changed. Thus, when the row is first inserted into the table, the row's start_time field is set to the time at which the row was inserted; each time the row is updated, the row's start_time field is set to the time at which the row was updated).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the first row group is a row group stored by a first storage system within a specified time period of Hanckel to provide efficient techniques for performing temporal queries on tables which contain columns whose values specify periods of time.
Claim 11 recites the same limitations as claim 1 above. Therefore, claim
11 is rejected based on the same reasoning.
Regarding claim 2, ZHENG taught the method according to claim
1 as described above. ZHENG further teaches wherein the first description information, (See ZHENG paragraph [0043], the SEGFILEINFO table comprises information that describes the segment files in the database table. Each entry in the SEGFILEINFO table contains information that describes one segment file), and wherein the obtaining the first description information comprises, (See ZHENG paragraph [0004], to receive a query to locate a target row in the row-group columnar storage database; and locate the target row using the column information from the one or more block information tables) and selecting, from description information that has been generated by the first storage system, (See ZHENG paragraph [0222], the selected set of columns in the row-group columnar storage database according to the location information of the selected set of columns), the first description information comprising the transaction information of the first transaction, (See ZHENG paragraph [0022], The row-oriented storage is used for efficient access of data located in the same row. For example, if a user of a database system wishes to retrieve all column information associated with an entry “100” in the “EmployeeID” column, the user can easily retrieve entries “Smith,” “Joe,” and “20000” from the storage since these entries are physically stored together. Row-oriented storage is commonly used for transactional queries, such as online transactional processing (“OLTP”)).
ZHENG does not explicitly disclose comprises transaction information of a first transaction, and the first transaction is a transaction whose execution has been completed by the first storage system within the specified time period, determining the first transaction.
However, Hanckel teaches comprises transaction information of a first transaction, (See Hanckel paragraph [0105], a record of the commit timestamps of all transactions. This information is traditionally maintained in a system table in most database systems), and the first transaction is a transaction whose execution has been completed by the first storage system within the specified time period, (See Hanckel paragraph [0050], this complete transaction-time state table for table A 131 by means of system-defined A_HISTORY_VIEW$ 141, which is a union of all of the rows 132 from table A 131 with all of the rows 136 from A_HISTORY$ table 135. View A_HISTORY_VIEW$ 141 has all of the columns of A_HISTORY$ table 135, including start time column 143 and end_time column 145;); determining the first transaction, (See Hanckel paragraph [0007], determining the past state of records and transactions in the database system).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify comprises transaction information of a first transaction, and the first transaction is a transaction whose execution has been completed by the first storage system within the specified time period, determining the first transaction of Hanckel to provide efficient techniques for performing temporal queries on tables which contain columns whose values specify periods of time.
Regarding claim 3, ZHENG taught the method according to claim 1 as described above.
ZHENG does not explicitly disclose wherein the determining the first transaction comprises, obtaining a first transaction set, wherein the first transaction set comprises, a transaction that is executed by the first storage system at an end moment of the specified time period, and the first transaction set indicates a transaction whose execution has been completed by the first storage system before the end moment However, Hanckel teaches wherein the determining the first transaction. comprises, (See Hanckel paragraph [0105], a record of the commit timestamps of all transactions. This information is traditionally maintained in a system table in most database systems): obtaining a first transaction set, wherein the first transaction set comprises, (See Hanckel paragraph [0105], a record of the commit timestamps of all transactions. This information is traditionally maintained in a system table in most database systems): a transaction that is executed by the first storage system at an end moment of the specified time period, (See Hanckel paragraph [0050], this complete transaction-time state table for table A 131 by means of system-defined A_HISTORY_VIEW$ 141, which is a union of all of the rows 132 from table A 131 with all of the rows 136 from A_HISTORY$ table 135. View A_HISTORY_VIEW$ 141 has all of the columns of A_HISTORY$ table 135, including start time column 143 and end_time column 145); and the first transaction set indicates a transaction whose execution has been completed by the first storage system before the end moment, ((See Hanckel paragraph [0050], this complete transaction-time state table for table A 131 by means of system-defined A_HISTORY_VIEW$ 141, which is a union of all of the rows 132 from table A 131 with all of the rows 136 from A_HISTORY$ table 135. View A_HISTORY_VIEW$ 141 has all of the columns of A_HISTORY$ table 135, including start time column 143 and end_time column 145); and determining the first transaction based on the first transaction set, (See Hanckel paragraph [0007], determining the past state of records and transactions in the database system).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify wherein the determining the first transaction comprises, obtaining a first transaction set, wherein the first transaction set comprises, a transaction that is executed by the first storage system at an end moment of the specified time period, and the first transaction set indicates a transaction whose execution has been completed by the first storage system before the end moment of Hanckel to provide efficient techniques for performing temporal queries on tables which contain columns whose values specify periods of time.
Claim 13 recites the same limitations as claim 3 above. Therefore, claim
13 is rejected based on the same reasoning.
Regarding claim 4, ZHENG taught the method according to claim
3 as described above.
ZHENG does not explicitly disclose wherein the determining the first transaction based on the first transaction set, comprises: obtaining a second transaction set, wherein the second transaction set comprises, a transaction that is executed by the first storage system at a start moment of the specified time period, and the second transaction set indicates is used to reflect a transaction whose execution has been completed by the first storage system before the start moment; and determining the first transaction based on the first transaction set and the second transaction set. However, Hanckel teaches wherein the determining the first transaction based on the first transaction set, (See Hanckel paragraph [0105], a record of the commit timestamps of all transactions. This information is traditionally maintained in a system table in most database systems): comprises: obtaining a second transaction set, wherein the second transaction set comprises, (See Hanckel paragraph [0105], a record of the commit timestamps of all transactions. This information is traditionally maintained in a system table in most database systems): a transaction that is executed by the first storage system at a start moment of the specified time period, (See Hanckel paragraph [0050], this complete transaction-time state table for table A 131 by means of system-defined A_HISTORY_VIEW$ 141, which is a union of all of the rows 132 from table A 131 with all of the rows 136 from A_HISTORY$ table 135. View A_HISTORY_VIEW$ 141 has all of the columns of A_HISTORY$ table 135, including start time column 143 and end_time column 145); and the second transaction set indicates is used to reflect a transaction whose execution has been completed by the first storage system before the start moment; (See Hanckel paragraph [0050], this complete transaction-time state table for table A 131 by means of system-defined A_HISTORY_VIEW$ 141, which is a union of all of the rows 132 from table A 131 with all of the rows 136 from A_HISTORY$ table 135. View A_HISTORY_VIEW$ 141 has all of the columns of A_HISTORY$ table 135, including start time column 143 and end_time column 145) and determining the first transaction based on the first transaction set and the second transaction set, (See Hanckel paragraph [0007], determining the past state of records and transactions in the database system).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify wherein the determining the first transaction based on the first transaction set, comprises: obtaining a second transaction set, wherein the second transaction set comprises, a transaction that is executed by the first storage system at a start moment of the specified time period, and the second transaction set indicates is used to reflect a transaction whose execution has been completed by the first storage system before the start moment; and determining the first transaction based on the first transaction set and the second transaction set of Hanckel to provide efficient techniques for performing temporal queries on tables which contain columns whose values specify periods of time.
Claim 14 recites the same limitations as claim 4 above. Therefore, claim
14 is rejected based on the same reasoning.
Regarding claim 5, ZHENG taught the method according to claim
2 as described above. ZHENG further teaches wherein the selecting, from the description information that has been generated by the first storage system, (See ZHENG paragraph [0222], the selected set of columns in the row-group columnar storage database according to the location information of the selected set of columns), the first description information comprising the transaction information of the first transaction comprises, (See ZHENG paragraph [0022], The row-oriented storage is used for efficient access of data located in the same row. For example, if a user of a database system wishes to retrieve all column information associated with an entry “100” in the “EmployeeID” column, the user can easily retrieve entries “Smith,” “Joe,” and “20000” from the storage since these entries are physically stored together. Row-oriented storage is commonly used for transactional queries, such as online transactional processing (“OLTP”)).
selecting, based on a row group range, at least one piece of description information from the description information that has been generated by the first storage system, (See ZHENG paragraph [0022], a selected set of columns of a row-group columnar storage table is received. In some embodiments, the selected set of columns is received from a user. For example, the user may request the database to create an index on the “EmployeeID” and “Name” columns of the table), and
selecting, from the at least one piece of description information, the first description information comprising the transaction information of the first transaction, (See ZHENG paragraph [0243], the selected set of columns in the row-group columnar storage database according to the location information of the selected set of columns; and [0244] extract values of the selected set of columns from the row-group columnar storage database).
ZHENG does not explicitly disclose wherein the row group range comprises a row group operated by the first storage system within the specified time period, and a row group corresponding to a group identifier, comprised in each piece of description information in the at least one piece of description information belongs to the row group range.
However, Hanckel teaches wherein the row group range comprises a row group operated by the first storage system within the specified time period, (See Hanckel paragraph [0048], For each row 132 in table A, the time stamp value in start_time column 133 indicates when the row last changed. Thus, when the row is first inserted into the table, the row's start_time field is set to the time at which the row was inserted; each time the row is updated, the row's start_time field is set to the time at which the row was updated), and a row group corresponding to a group identifier, (See Hanckel paragraph [0130], Each group is identified by a subrange specifier 803 that specifies the subrange to which the sizes of the group's periods of time belong. The index organized table indexes the rows in the period data table), comprised in each piece of description information in the at least one piece of description information belongs to the row group range, (See Hanckel paragraph [0027], The index indexes the rows of the table object by the periods of time. The periods of time further have a range of sizes. In the index, the leaves of the index are grouped by disjunct subranges of the range of sizes, with leaves that belong to a group indexing periods of time whose sizes belong to the subrange to which the group corresponds);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify wherein the row group range comprises a row group operated by the first storage system within the specified time period, and a row group corresponding to a group identifier, comprised in each piece of description information in the at least one piece of description information belongs to the row group range of Hanckel to provide efficient techniques for performing temporal queries on tables which contain columns whose values specify periods of time.
Claim 15 recites the same limitations as claim 5 above. Therefore, claim
15 is rejected based on the same reasoning.
Regarding claim 12, ZHENG taught the computing device according to claim
11 as described above. ZHENG further teaches wherein the first description information, (See ZHENG paragraph [0043], the SEGFILEINFO table comprises information that describes the segment files in the database table. Each entry in the SEGFILEINFO table contains information that describes one segment file), wherein the processor is configured to invoke execute the instruction in the memory to, (See ZHENG paragraph [0003], a memory storing a set of instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the set of instructions to cause the database system):
determine the first transaction, (See Hanckel paragraph [0105], a record of the commit timestamps of all transactions. This information is traditionally maintained in a system table in most database systems); and
select, from description information that has been generated by the first storage system, (See ZHENG paragraph [0222], the selected set of columns in the row-group columnar storage database according to the location information of the selected set of columns), the first description information comprising the transaction information of the first transaction, (See ZHENG paragraph [0022], The row-oriented storage is used for efficient access of data located in the same row. For example, if a user of a database system wishes to retrieve all column information associated with an entry “100” in the “EmployeeID” column, the user can easily retrieve entries “Smith,” “Joe,” and “20000” from the storage since these entries are physically stored together. Row-oriented storage is commonly used for transactional queries, such as online transactional processing (“OLTP”)).
ZHENG does not explicitly disclose comprises transaction information of a first transaction, and the first transaction is a transaction whose execution has been completed by the first storage system within the specified time period, determining the first transaction.
However, Hanckel teaches comprises transaction information of a first transaction, (See Hanckel paragraph [0105], a record of the commit timestamps of all transactions. This information is traditionally maintained in a system table in most database systems), and the first transaction is a transaction whose execution has been completed by the first storage system within the specified time period, (See Hanckel paragraph [0050], this complete transaction-time state table for table A 131 by means of system-defined A_HISTORY_VIEW$ 141, which is a union of all of the rows 132 from table A 131 with all of the rows 136 from A_HISTORY$ table 135. View A_HISTORY_VIEW$ 141 has all of the columns of A_HISTORY$ table 135, including start time column 143 and end_time column 145;); determining the first transaction, (See Hanckel paragraph [0007], determining the past state of records and transactions in the database system).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify comprises transaction information of a first transaction, and the first transaction is a transaction whose execution has been completed by the first storage system within the specified time period, determining the first transaction of Hanckel to provide efficient techniques for performing temporal queries on tables which contain columns whose values specify periods of time.
9. Claims 6-10 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over ZHENG et al. (US 2021/0209088 A1) in view of Hanckel et al. (US 2007/0130171 A1) and further in view of Kaufmann et al. (US Patent No. 7, 640, 229 B1).
Regarding claim 6, ZHENG taught the method according to claim 1 as described above. ZHENG further teaches wherein the first description information comprises a storage location of a data segment corresponding to the first row group, (See ZHENG paragraph [0069], the value is located at a location of segment file row number minus the start_row_no in the decompressed column-values array), the data segment comprises data in the first row group, (See ZHENG paragraph [0058], the row number within the segment file, or segment file row number), and the first storage system and the second storage system are storage systems of a same type, (See ZHENG paragraph [0022], column-oriented storage can allow for more efficient data compression because data in a column is typically of a same type); and
wherein the storing the first row group in the second storage system based on the first description information comprises, (See ZHENG paragraph [0048], Each entry in the BLKDESC table contains information that describes one block file (e.g., varblock 1 of FIG. 5). Each entry can contain one or more attributes…in a row-group columnar storage database),
obtaining the data segment based on the storage location, (See ZHENG paragraph [0060], a query is received to locate a target row. In some embodiments, the query comprises a row number for the target row, the row number being a concatenation of segment file number S and segment file row number R); and
ZHENG together with Hanckel does not explicitly disclose sending a file to the second storage system, wherein the file comprises the data segment, and the file is used to trigger the second storage system to store the data segment.
However, Kaufmann teaches sending a file to the second storage system, wherein the file comprises the data segment, and the file is used to trigger the second storage system to store the data segment, (See Kaufmann Col. 2 lines 21-26, The triggered action may include a first triggered action of the trigger and a second triggered action of the trigger, and the process may include transmitting the transition table row by transmitting the transition table row, the first triggered action, and the second triggered action to the processing unit to be processed).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify sending a file to the second storage system, wherein the file comprises the data segment, and the file is used to trigger the second storage system to store the data segment of Kaufmann to identifying a processing unit to receive the transition table row and a triggered action of the trigger.
Regarding claim 7, ZHENG taught the method according to claim
6 as described above. ZHENG further teaches wherein the file further comprises first row status information, which indicates undeleted data in the first row group, (See ZHENG paragraph [0065], If it is determined that the target row has not been deleted), ,and the file is further used to trigger the second storage system to store the first row status information or delete deleted data in the first row group from the data segment based on the first row status information, (See ZHENG paragraph [0065], a segment file number (seg_no), column number (column_no), starting row number of the block (start_row_no), starting file offset of the block (file_offset), number of rows in the block (row_count), delete bitmap for rows in the block (delete_bitmap)).
Claim 17 recites the same limitations as claim 7 above. Therefore, claim
17 is rejected based on the same reasoning.
Regarding claim 8, ZHENG taught the method according to claim
6 as described above. ZHENG further teaches wherein the file further comprises a group identifier of the first row group and/or a column identifier corresponding to each column of data in the first row group, (See Hanckel paragraph [0130], Each group is identified by a subrange specifier 803 that specifies the subrange to which the sizes of the group's periods of time belong. The index organized table indexes the rows in the period data table),
ZHENG together with Hanckel does not explicitly disclose the file is further used to trigger the second storage system to obtain second description information based on the group identifier of the first row group and the column identifier corresponding to each column of data, and the second description information describes the first row group.
However, Kaufmann teaches the file is further used to trigger the second storage system to obtain second description information based on the group identifier of the first row group, (See Kaufmann Col. 2 lines 21-26, The triggered action may include a first triggered action of the trigger and a second triggered action of the trigger, and the process may include transmitting the transition table row by transmitting the transition table row, the first triggered action, and the second triggered action to the processing unit to be processed), and the column identifier corresponding to each column of data, and the second description information describes the first row group, (See Kaufmann Col. 2 lines 19-26, The triggering statement may include one of an UPDATE, INSERT, INSERT/SELECT, and DELETE statement to be executed on the subject table. The triggered action may include a first triggered action of the trigger and a second triggered action of the trigger, and the process may include transmitting the transition table row by transmitting the transition table row).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the file is further used to trigger the second storage system to obtain second description information based on the group identifier of the first row group and the column identifier corresponding to each column of data, and the second description information describes the first row group of Kaufmann to identifying a processing unit to receive the transition table row and a triggered action of the trigger.
Claim 18 recites the same limitations as claim 8 above. Therefore, claim
18 is rejected based on the same reasoning.
Regarding claim 9, ZHENG taught the method according to claim
8 as described above. ZHENG further teaches wherein the file further comprises statistics information corresponding to each column of data, (See ZHENG paragraph [0052], The statistics column comprises statistical information of the column identified by the column_id in the block that is identified by block_id), and the second description information further comprises the statistics information corresponding to each column of data, (See ZHENG paragraph [0052], The statistics column comprises statistical information of the column identified by the column_id in the block that is identified by block_id).
Claim 19 recites the same limitations as claim 9 above. Therefore, claim
19 is rejected based on the same reasoning.
Regarding claim 10, ZHENG taught the method according to claim
1 as described above. ZHENG further teaches wherein the first description information comprises a group identifier of the first row group, (See ZHENG paragraph [0048], Each entry in the BLKDESC table contains information that describes one block file (e.g., varblock 1 of FIG. 5). Each entry can contain one or more attributes…in a row-group columnar storage database), and a storage location of a data segment corresponding to the first row group and the data segment comprises data in the first row group, (the target row is identified by a row number, wherein the row number comprises location information of the segment file that comprises the target row); and wherein the storing the first row group in the second storage system based on the first description information comprises, (See ZHENG paragraph [0048], Each entry in the BLKDESC table contains information that describes one block file (e.g., varblock 1 of FIG. 5). Each entry can contain one or more attributes…in a row-group columnar storage database),
obtaining the first row group based on the group identifier and the storage location; (See ZHENG paragraph [0060], a query is received to locate a target row. In some embodiments, the query comprises a row number for the target row, the row number being a concatenation of segment file number S and segment file row number R); and
ZHENG together with Hanckel does not explicitly disclose sending an insert statement to the second storage system, wherein the insert statement comprises each row of data in the first row group, and the insert statement is used to trigger the second storage system to store each row of data in the first row group.
However, Kaufmann; teaches sending an insert statement to the second storage system, wherein the insert statement comprises each row of data in the first row group, (See Kaufmann;Col. 2 lines 19-21, The triggering statement may include one of an UPDATE, INSERT, INSERT/SELECT, and DELETE statement to be executed on the subject table), and the insert statement is used to trigger the second storage system to store each row of data in the first row group, (See Kaufmann Col. 2 lines 21-26, The triggered action may include a first triggered action of the trigger and a second triggered action of the trigger, and the process may include transmitting the transition table row by transmitting the transition table row, the first triggered action, and the second triggered action to the processing unit to be processed).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify sending an insert statement to the second storage system, wherein the insert statement comprises each row of data in the first row group, and the insert statement is used to trigger the second storage system to store each row of data in the first row group. of Kaufmann to identifying a processing unit to receive the transition table row and a triggered action of the trigger.
Regarding claim 16, ZHENG taught the method according to claim 11 as described above. ZHENG further teaches wherein the first description information comprises a storage location of a data segment corresponding to the first row group, (See ZHENG paragraph [0069], the value is located at a location of segment file row number minus the start_row_no in the decompressed column-values array), the data segment comprises data in the first row group, (See ZHENG paragraph [0058], the row number within the segment file, or segment file row number), and the first storage system and the second storage system are storage systems of a same type, (See ZHENG paragraph [0022], column-oriented storage can allow for more efficient data compression because data in a column is typically of a same type); wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions in the memory to, (See ZHENG paragraph [0003], a memory storing a set of instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the set of instructions to cause the database system):
obtain the data segment based on the storage location, (See ZHENG paragraph [0060], a query is received to locate a target row. In some embodiments, the query comprises a row number for the target row, the row number being a concatenation of segment file number S and segment file row number R); and
ZHENG together with Hanckel does not explicitly disclose comprises transaction information of a first transaction, and the first transaction is a transaction whose execution has been completed by the first storage system within the specified time period, determining the first transaction.
However, Kaufmann teaches send a file to the second storage system, wherein the file comprises the data segment, (See Kaufmann Col. 2 lines 19-21, The triggering statement may include one of an UPDATE, INSERT, INSERT/SELECT, and DELETE statement to be executed on the subject table), and the file is used to trigger the second storage system to store the data segment, (See Kaufmann Col. 2 lines 21-26, The triggered action may include a first triggered action of the trigger and a second triggered action of the trigger, and the process may include transmitting the transition table row by transmitting the transition table row, the first triggered action, and the second triggered action to the processing unit to be processed).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify comprises transaction information of a first transaction, and the first transaction is a transaction whose execution has been completed by the first storage system within the specified time period, determining the first transaction of Brodt to identifying a processing unit to receive the transition table row and a triggered action of the trigger.
Regarding claim 20, ZHENG taught the method according to claim 10 as described above. ZHENG further teaches wherein the first description information comprises a group identifier of the first row group, (See ZHENG paragraph [0069], the value is located at a location of segment file row number minus the start_row_no in the decompressed column-values array), and a storage location of a data segment corresponding to the first row group, (See ZHENG paragraph [0058], the row number within the segment file, or segment file row number), and the data segment comprises data in the first row group; (See ZHENG paragraph [0058], the row number within the segment file, or segment file row number), wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions in the memory to, (See ZHENG paragraph [0003], a memory storing a set of instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the set of instructions to cause the database system):
ZHENG together with Hanckel does not explicitly disclose obtain the first row group based on the group identifier and the storage location; and send an insert statement to the second storage system, wherein the insert statement comprises each row of data in the first row group, and the insert statement is used to trigger the second storage system to store each row of data in the first row group.
However, Kaufmann teaches obtain the first row group based on the group identifier and the storage location; and send an insert statement to the second storage system., (See Kaufmann Col. 2 lines 21-26, The triggered action may include a first triggered action of the trigger and a second triggered action of the trigger, and the process may include transmitting the transition table row by transmitting the transition table row, the first triggered action, and the second triggered action to the processing unit to be processed), wherein the insert statement comprises each row of data in the first row group, and the insert statement is used to trigger the second storage system to store each row of data in the first row group, (See Kaufmann Col. 2 lines 19-26, The triggering statement may include one of an UPDATE, INSERT, INSERT/SELECT, and DELETE statement to be executed on the subject table. The triggered action may include a first triggered action of the trigger and a second triggered action of the trigger, and the process may include transmitting the transition table row by transmitting the transition table row).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify comprises transaction information of a first transaction, and the first transaction is a transaction whose execution has been completed by the first storage system within the specified time period, determining the first transaction of Brodt to identifying a processing unit to receive the transition table row and a triggered action of the trigger.
Conclusions/Points of Contacts
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant’s disclosure. See form PTO-892.
Bansal et al. (US 2010/0185705 A1), The method may further comprise updating the header area based on the corresponding data area being modified. The method may further comprise determining a number of stored files and available space in the corresponding data area based on updated status and access information available in the header area without accessing the data area.
Silvola et all. (US 2012/0303628 A1) organizing data in databases is to use data tables to hold the data contained within the database. Certain example embodiments described herein may implement functionality that is traditionally associated with a data table of a database. This may include the following features and operations.
/MULUEMEBET GURMU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2163