DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Rudewicz (US 5,799,822).
Referring to claim 1. Rudewicz discloses a vending machine adapted for dispensing an associated pre-packaged food products provided in a refrigerated enclosure housed in the vending machine (a refrigeration compartment, an oven, structure for transferring a food product from the refrigeration compartment to the oven, and structure for transferring the food product from the oven to a user of the vending machine; Col. 1, line 66-Col. 3, line 3), the vending machine comprising:
an oven (oven 210; Figures 2,3) including:
a housing defining a cavity for receiving the associated pre-packaged food products, the housing having a sidewall with a sidewall opening providing access to the cavity (housing cavity defined in side of oven 210 which has a sidewall and which is accessed through sidewall opening 301A, Fig.3; “Oven door 301 is raised to an open position, as shown in Fig.3, to allow a packaged food product to be inserted into and removed from oven 210 through oven aperture 301a”, Col.8, lines 52-53);
a side door mounted to the sidewall for closing and opening the sidewall opening (side door 301, Figure 3);
a drive mechanism operably connected to the side door and adapted to mechanically move the side door of the oven between a closed position and an opened position (drive mechanism, door motor 312, not shown in the Figs., “Gear 1306 is driven by oven door motor 312 (not visible in Fig, 13A) which is mounted within a housing 1307”, Col. 23, lines 67-Col. 24, line 2), the drive mechanism including at least one sensing device adapted to determine whether the side door is in one of the closed position and the opened position (sensing device for sensing when the door 301 is open, “An oven door monitor switch, the operation of which is described in more detail below, indicates whether oven door 301 is fully open,”, Col. 23, lines 3-5); and
a door frame mounted to the sidewall and having a guide track, the side door movably received in the guide track (door frame, either opposing “guide rails” 302 with a guide track being slots therein, Fig. 3, or alternatively, the frame being the side of the oven that contains the oven opening 301A, Fig. 3 with guide rails 302 being in guide tracks).
Referring to claim 2. Rudewicz discloses a vending machine adapted for dispensing an associated pre-packaged food products,
wherein the drive mechanism includes an actuator coupled to a carriage having a first side (side of rack plate 1304 attached to the top of door 301; Fig. 13A) mounted
to an outer surface of (surface of the door opposite the front) the side door, the actuator operable to move the carriage (carriage, rack plate 1304, coupled to an actuator, gear 1306, and mounted to door 204, Figs. 3, 13A, 13B; “When oven 301 is to be opened, gear 1306 rotates clockwise, thereby lifting rack plate 1310”, Col. 24, Lines 33-34).
Referring to claim 10. Rudewicz discloses a vending machine adapted for dispensing an associated pre-packaged food products,
further including a conveying system operable to remove the associated pre-packaged food product from the refrigerated enclosure and position the associated pre-packaged food product through the sidewall opening and within the cavity ("A vending machine according to the invention includes a refrigeration compartment, an oven, structure for transferring a food product from the refrigeration compartment to the oven, and structure for transferring the food product from the oven to a user of the vending machine.", Col. 1, Ln. 66-Col. 2, Ln. 3, such indicating "a conveying system", such conveying being through the opening 301A; "Oven door 301 is raised to an open position, as shown in FIG. 3, to allow a packaged food product to be inserted into and removed from oven 210 through oven aperture 301A", Col. 8, Lines. 56-59).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudewicz (US 5,799,822) in view of Hall (US 4,229,907).
Referring to claim 3. Rudewicz does not disclose wherein the actuator includes a motor and a threaded rod having a first end portion coupled to the motor and a second end portion, the threaded rod is threadingly coupled to the carriage.
Hall discloses a sliding door actuator including a motor and a threaded rod having a first end portion coupled to the motor and a second end portion, the threaded rod is threadingly coupled to a second side of a carriage (motor 42 having a first end of threaded rod, screw 38, coupled thereto, screw 38 having a second end portion and is threadingly coupled to a carriage, coupling 46, Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Rudewicz to replace the rack and pinion drive with a threaded rod drive as taught by Hall for the purpose of establishing a more secure drive arrangement in that a screw drive is less susceptible to disengagement since the threaded sleeve surrounds the threaded rod, thereby balancing out forces therebetween, as opposed to rack and pinion drives that have a pinion on only one side of a rack.
Referring to claim 4. Rudewicz does not disclose wherein the actuator is secured to a mounting rail mounted to the door frame and extended parallel to the guide track.
Hall discloses an actuator (actuator, motor 40, screw 38, Fig. 4) is secured to a mounting rail (rail, 14, 16,20,22, Fig. 3) mounted to a door frame (frame of bin 10, such broadly considered a "door" frame) and extended parallel to the guide track (rail being parallel to guide track 68,70, Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Rudewicz
to include the rack and pinion drive with a threaded rod drive on the mounting rail (mounting rail, plate 1304, Fig. 13B) which is parallel to the guide tracks as taught by Hall for the purpose of establishing a more secure drive arrangement in that a screw drive is less susceptible to disengagement since the threaded sleeve surrounds the threaded rod, thereby balancing out forces therebetween, as opposed to rack and pinion drives that have a pinion on only one side of a rack.
Referring to claim 5. Rudewicz does not disclose wherein an actuator mount is secured to a first end portion of the mounting rail and a threaded rod mount is secured to a second end portion of the mounting rail, the second end portion of the threaded rod secured to the threaded rod mount.
Hall discloses an actuator mount is secured to a first end portion of a mounting rail (actuator mount 44, Fig. 3) and a threaded rod mount is secured to a second end portion of the mounting rail, a second end portion of a threaded rod secured to the threaded rod mount (screw 38 is secured to threaded rod mount 36, Fig. 4; "A screw 38 extends from the bearing block 36, where the screw rides in a ball bearing assembly (not shown), to the end plate 20 where the screw passes through an appropriate hole and is coupled to the output shaft of a right angle gear box 40 mounted on the end plate.", Col. 4, Lines 13-19).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Rudewicz to replace the rack and pinion drive with a threaded rod drive, including the motor, threaded rod and mounts therefore, on the mounting rail (mounting rail, plate 1304, Fig. 13B) which is parallel to the guide tracks as taught by Hall for the purpose of establishing a more secure drive arrangement in that a screw drive is less susceptible to disengagement since the threaded sleeve surrounds the threaded rod, thereby balancing out forces therebetween, as opposed to rack and pinion drives that have a pinion on only one side of a rack.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudewicz (US 5,799,822)(alone).
Referring to claim 6. Rudewicz discloses the vending machine wherein the at least one sensing device is a first sensing device operably connected to the actuator and adapted to detect the side door in the opened position (first sensing device for sensing when the door 301 is open, monitor switch M, Fig. 13C; "An oven door monitor switch, the operation of which is described in more detail below, indicates whether oven door 301 is fully open.", Col. 23, Lines. 3-5), and further including a second sensing device operably connected to the actuator and adapted to detect the side door in the closed position (second sensing device, primary or secondary switches P,S, respecitively, Fig. 13C; "Importantly, oven door 301 is fully closed before either the primary or secondary interlock switches are closed", Col. 24, Lines. 64-66, clearly indicating and thereby detecting door 301 is closed when either of the primary and secondary switches are closed.)
Rudewicz discloses an interlock switch (1308; Figure 13a and 13c) comprising a
first (monitor switch M, Fig. 13C) and second sensing devices (primary or secondary switches P,S, respecitively, Fig. 13C) are positioned in the interlock switch (1308).
Rudewicz does not disclose wherein the first and second sensing devices are mounted to respective upper and lower switch mounts.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Rudewicz to include the first and second sensing devices are mounted to respective upper and lower switch mounts, the carriage actuates the first sensing device in the opened position of the side door, and the carriage actuates the second sensing device in the closed position of the side door because physically positioning the first and second sensing devices at respective upper and lower switch mounts would provide a physical contact position of the door and switches to actuate the sensors.
Referring to claim 7. Rudewicz discloses a vending machine adapted for dispensing an associated pre-packaged food products,
including a third sensing device operably connected to a power component of the oven, wherein in the closed position of the side door the third sensing device is actuated allowing for operation of the power component, and in the opened position of the side door the third sensing device is deactivated preventing operation of the power component (third sensing device, the other of the primary or secondary switches P ,S. Fig. 13C; "The primary and secondary switching mechanisms are connected serially in the power supply circuit for magnitrons 303 and 1303 (FIG. 13A) so that the magnitrons cannot be powered unless the oven door is in a closed position.", Col. 24, lines. 24-31).
Referring to claim 8. Rudewicz discloses a vending machine adapted for dispensing an associated pre-packaged food products,
including a plunger mounted to the carriage, the plunger adapted to actuate the third sensing device (plunger, link 1313 that reciprocally goes up and down and which is mounted on rack plate 1304 and actuates interlock switch 1308, Figs. 13A,13B; "Since hook 1318 is formed integrally with link 1315, hook 1318 likewise rotates
counter-clockwise, and the primary and secondary switching mechanisms within interlock switch 1308 are opened.", Col. 24, lines. 38-42).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudewicz (US 5,799,822) in view of Noren (US 3,246,938).
Referring to claim 9. Rudewicz discloses the vending machine. Rudewicz fails to explicitly disclose further including an anti-friction material interposed between the side door and the door frame.
Noren is in the same field of endeavor of sliding appliance doors and teaches an anti-friction material interposed between a side door and the door frame ("Teflon inserts, not shown, mounted in the door guide grooves 3 for making the movement of the door D more easy to perform.", Col. 3, lines. 38-41).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Rudewicz to include Teflon™ on the points of contact between the door and the frame (e.g. door elements 313 and frame elements 302, Fig. 3) as taught by Noren for the purpose of making movement of the door more easy to perform.
Claims 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudewicz (US 5,799,822) in view of Hall (US 4,229,907) and further in view of Wada (US4,783,582).
Referring to claim 11. Rudewicz discloses a drive mechanism for automatically moving a side door provided on a sidewall of an oven between a closed position and an opened position (drive mechanism, door motor 312, gear 306, plate 1304, rack plate 1310; Figs. 13A,13B), the drive mechanism comprising:
a carriage including a first side (side of rack plate 1304 attached to the top of door 301; Fig. 13A) and a second side (opposite the side of rack plate 1304 attached to the top of door 301; Fig. 13A), the first side of the carriage
adapted to be mounted to an outer surface (surface of the door opposite the front) of the side door (carriage, plate 1304, rack plate 1310, Fig. 13B); and
an actuator coupled to the carriage and operable to move the carriage (actuator, gear 1306, and mounted to door 204, Figs. 3, 13A, 13B; "When oven 301 is to be opened, gear 1306 rotates clockwise, thereby lifting rack plate 1310", Col. 24, Lns. 33-34).
Rudewicz fails to explicitly disclose an actuator coupled to the carriage and operable to move the carriage, the actuator including a threaded rod threadingly coupled to the carriage.
Hall is in the same field of endeavor of sliding door actuators and teaches an actuator coupled to a carriage and operable to move the carriage, the actuator including a threaded rod threadingly coupled to the carriage (actuator, motor 42 having a first end of threaded rod, screw 38, coupled thereto, screw 38 having a second end portion and is threadingly coupled to a carriage, coupling 46, Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Rudewicz to replace the rack and pinion drive with a threaded rod drive as taught by Hall for the purpose of establishing a more secure drive arrangement in that a screw drive is less susceptible to disengagement since the threaded sleeve surrounds the threaded rod, thereby balancing out forces therebetween, as opposed to rack and pinion drives that have a pinion on only one side of a rack.
Rudewicz also fails to explicitly disclose a first sensing device operably connected to the actuator and adapted to detect the side door in the opened position and deactivate the actuator in the opened position of the side door; and a second sensing device operably connected to the actuator and adapted to detect the side door in the closed position and deactivate the actuator in the closed position of the side door.
Wada is in the same field of endeavor of vending machine oven door actuators and teaches a first sensing device operably connected to the actuator and adapted to detect the side door in the opened position and deactivate the actuator in the opened position of the side door; and a second sensing device operably connected to the actuator and adapted to detect the side door in the closed position and deactivate the actuator in the closed position of the side door (first sensing device 71, second sensing device 70: "The top of one side of the heating room 57 is provided with a closure confirmation sensor 70 and an opening confirmation sensor 71. The position of the cover 56 is detected with the sensors 70 and 71. When the cover 56 is advanced or retreated to a predetermined position, the operation of the opening/closing drive motor 67 is stopped.", Col. 6, Lns. 2-9).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Rudewicz in view of Hall to provide distinct, separate sensors/switches to cut off power to the door motor when the door reaches it's open and closed positions as taught by Wada, such separate switches enabling replacement individually while providing a means for automatically stopping the drive motor to prevent motor bum out.
Referring to claim 12. Rudewicz in view of Hall disclose the drive mechanism of claim 11. Rudewicz in view of Hall fail to explicitly disclose the carriage actuates the first sensing device in the opened position of the side door, and the carriage actuates the second sensing device in the closed position of the side door.
Wada is in the same field of endeavor of vending machine oven door actuators and teaches a carriage actuates a first sensing device in a opened position of a side door, and the carriage actuates a second sensing device in a closed position of the side door (first sensing device 71, second sensing device 70: "The top of one side of the heating room 57 is provided with a closure confirmation sensor 70 and an opening confirmation sensor 71. The position of the cover 56 is detected with the sensors 70 and 71. When the cover 56 is advanced or retreated to a predetermined position, the operation of the opening/closing drive motor 67 is stopped.", Col. 6, Lns. 2-9).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Rudewicz in view of Hall to provide a way to signal and cut off the motor when the door reaches open and closed positions as taught by Wada, thereby preventing motor burn out.
Rudewicz further discloses an interlock switch (1308; Figure 13a and 13c) comprising a first (monitor switch M, Fig. 13C) and second sensing devices (primary or secondary switches P,S, respecitively, Fig. 13C) are positioned in the interlock switch (1308).
Rudewicz in view of Hall and Wada do not disclose wherein the first and second sensing devices are mounted to respective upper and lower switch mounts.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Rudewicz in view of Hall and Wada to include the first and second sensing devices are mounted to respective upper and lower switch mounts, the carriage actuates the first sensing device in the opened position of the side door, and the carriage actuates the second sensing device in the closed position of the side door because physically positioning the first and second sensing devices at respective upper and lower switch mounts would provide a physical contact position of the door and switches to actuate the sensors.
Referring to claim 13. Rudewicz discloses the drive mechanism of claim 12 in combination with an oven, the oven including:
a housing defining a cavity, the housing having a sidewall with a sidewall opening providing access to the cavity (housing cavity defined inside of oven 21 O which has a side wall and which is accessed through sidewall opening 301A, Fig. 3; "Oven door 301 is raised to an open position, as shown in FIG. 3, to allow a packaged food product to be inserted into and removed from oven 210 through oven aperture 301a", Col. 8, Lns. 52-53);
the side door mounted to the sidewall for selectively closing and opening the sidewall opening (side door 301, Fig. 3); and
a door frame mounted to the sidewall and having a guide track, the side door slidingly received in the guide track (door frame, either opposing "guide rails" 302 with a guide track being slots therein, Fig. 3, or alternatively, the frame being the side of the oven that contains the oven opening 301A, Fig. 3, with guide rails 302 being the guide tracks).
Referring to claim 14. Rudewicz fails to disclose wherein the actuator is secured to a mounting rail secured to the door frame and extended parallel to the guide track.
Rudewicz fails to explicitly disclose the actuator is secured to a mounting rail secured to the door frame and extended parallel to the guide track.
Hall is in the same field of endeavor of sliding door actuators and teaches an actuator is secured to a mounting rail secured to the door frame and extended parallel to the guide track (actuator, motor 40, screw 38, Fig. 4, is secured to a mounting rail 14, 16,20,22, Fig. 3, and extended parallel to the guide track 68,70, Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Rudewicz to include the rack and pinion drive with a threaded rod drive and to place it on the front panel of the housing (Fig. 13A, panel 1307 of the housing being considered a rail and is part of, i.e. secured to, the door frame, i.e. surrounding part of opening 301A) as taught by Hall for establishing a more secure drive arrangement in that a screw drive is less susceptible to disengagement since the threaded sleeve surrounds the threaded rod, thereby balancing out forces therebetween, as opposed to rack and pinion drives that have a pinion on only one side of a rack and to locate the threaded rod on the front of the housing to render easier access thereto.
Referring to claim 15. Rudewicz discloses the combination of claim 13, including a third sensing device operably connected to a power component of the oven, wherein in the closed position of the sidedoor the third sensing device is actuated allowing for operation of the power component, and in the opened position of the side door the third sensing device is deactivated preventing operation of the power component (third sensing device, either of primary or secondary switches P ,S. Fig. 13C; "The primary and secondary switching mechanisms are connected serially in the power supply circuit for magnitrons 303 and 1303 (FIG. 13A) so that the magnitrons cannot be powered unless the oven door is in a closed position.", Col. 24, Lns. 24-31).
Referring to claim 16. Rudewicz discloses the combination of claim 15, including a plunger mounted to the carriage, the plunger actuating the third sensing device (plunger, link 1313 that reciprocally goes up and down and which is mounted on rack plate 1304 and actuates interlock switch 1308, Figs. 13A, 13B; "Since hook 1318 is formed integrally with link 1315, hook 1318 likewise rotates counter-clockwise, and the primary and secondary switching mechanisms within interlock switch 1308 are opened.", Col. 24, Lns. 38-42).
Referring to claim 17. Rudewicz discloses the drive mechanism of claim 11 in combination with a vending machine, the vending machine housing a refrigerated enclosure for storing an associated prepackaged food product and an oven for cooking the associated pre-packaged food product (vending machine 100, refrigerated enclosure 213, prepackaged food product 803,803A,803B, Fig. SA, oven 210, Fig. 2; "A vending machine according to the invention includes a refrigeration compartment, an oven, structure for transferring a food product from the refrigeration compartment to the oven, and structure for transferring the food product from the oven to a user of the vending machine.", Col. 1, Ln. 66-Col. 3, Ln. 3), the oven including a housing defining a cavity for receiving the associated prepackaged food product from the refrigerated enclosure, the housing having a sidewall with a sidewall opening providing access to the cavity, the side door mounted to the sidewall for selectively closing and opening the sidewall opening (housing cavity defined inside of oven 210 which has a side wall and which is accessed through sidewall opening 301A, Fig. 3; "Oven door 301 is raised to an open position, as shown in FIG. 3, to allow a packaged food product to be inserted into and removed from oven 210 through oven aperture 301a", Col. 8, Lns. 52-53);
the side door mounted to the sidewall for selectively closing and opening the sidewall opening (side door 301, Fig. 3; "An oven door 301 is raised or lowered to expose or cover an oven aperture 301a.", Col. 8, Lines. 52-53).
Referring to claim 18. Rudewicz discloses the combination of claim 17, wherein the vending machine further includes a conveying system operable to remove the associated pre-packaged food product from the refrigerated enclosure and position the associated pre-packaged food product through the sidewall opening and within the cavity ("A vending machine according to the invention includes a refrigeration compartment, an oven, structure for transferring a food product from the refrigeration compartment to the oven, and structure for transferring the food product from the oven to a user of the vending machine.", Col. 1, Ln. 66-Col. 2, Ln. 3, such indicating "a conveying system", such conveying being through the opening 301A; "Oven door 301 is raised to an open position, as shown in FIG. 3, to allow a packaged food product to be inserted into and removed from oven 210 through oven aperture 301A", Col. 8, Lns. 56-59).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/RAKESH KUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651