Claim Interpretation
Claim 1: “an ignition means” is being defined as a spark plug.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the annular ring" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears that claim 6 should be dependent from claim 5 rather than 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lockwood (3462955).
Regarding claim 1, Lockwood discloses a pulse combustor for increasing operational performance, comprising: A. an inlet pipe (13) having a first length (NL) and first central axis (along NL), and an open first end (15) with a first diameter (Ni) and an open second end (at 14) with a second diameter (No), and the second diameter is greater than the first diameter; B. a combustion chamber (12) in fluid communication with the inlet pipe having a second length (Cl) and a second central axis (along the same line as NL extended upward) that is aligned with the first central axis of the inlet pipe, and a third diameter (Ci), the combustion chamber having a first end (at 14) and a second end (at 16), with the first end of the combustion chamber sealably connecting to the second end of the inlet pipe (the pipe is a solid pipe, meaning that it would be sealably connected); C. a fuel supply system (21) connected to the combustion chamber for injecting fuel into the combustion chamber for mixing with air from the inlet pipe to form a combustible mixture for ignition within the combustion chamber; D. an ignition means (20) for igniting fuel air mixtures in the combustion chamber on a predetermined basis; E. an exhaust pipe (Ti to 19) in fluid communication with the combustion chamber having a third length (T4) greater than a combined length of the inlet pipe and combustion chamber (T4 extends far past the length of Nl and Cl), with the exhaust pipe having a first end (Ti) and a second end (19), and the first end of the exhaust pipe has a fourth diameter (Ti) that is less than the third diameter of the combustion chamber and the second end of the exhaust pipe having a fifth diameter (To) that is greater than the fourth diameter, with a third central axis (Along T4 at Ti) of the exhaust pipe at the first end being aligned with the first and second central axes of the inlet pipe and combustion chamber (the entire first half of the pipe till the bend 17 is aligned, therefore, the central axis’ will all be centrally aligned as well), respectively, and with the first end of the exhaust pipe sealably connecting to the second end of the combustion chamber (it is a continuous pipe thus they would be sealably connected); and F. a turbulator (14) disposed within the inlet pipe substantially near the second end of the inlet pipe (col 4, lines 54-65, the transitions of 14 are described as intentionally sharp to produce increased turbulence, and since a turbulator is something in a flow which increases turbulence those edges would meet the definition), with the turbulator disrupting the laminar air flow within the inlet pipe to cause increased levels of turbulence in air in the combustion chamber, fuel/air mixing, and recirculating flames (these are all outcomes produced by the increase in turbulence thus the turbulators would meet these limitations).
Regarding claim 2, Lockwood discloses wherein the pulse combustor includes a U-shape (17).
Regarding claim 3, Lockwood discloses wherein the turbulator causes air turbulence in a recirculating zone (a combustion chamber will naturally have recirculation zones due to the flow therein) of the combustion chamber (col 4, lines 55-67, the front part of the combustion chamber receives turbulent air particularly on the edges as that’s where the turbulence is generated, as per the claim below that is where the recirculating zones are formed).
Regarding claim 4, Lockwood discloses wherein the recirculating zone of the combustion chamber includes an area within the combustion chamber adjacent to a wall formed where the second end of the inlet pipe connects to the first end of the combustion chamber (the recirculating zones are formed based on the shape of the combustion chamber, since the prior art has the same shape as applicants invention it would have similarly shaped recirculating zones in the same locations).
Regarding claim 10, Lockwood discloses wherein use of the turbulator during pulse combustor operation increases pressure within the combustor chamber (this is caused by the turbulence created by the turbulator, thus Lockwood would increase operational pressure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lockwood in view of Ito (5575153).
Regarding claim 5, Lockwood does not disclose wherein the turbulator includes being in a form of an annular ring with a predetermined thickness and width to control a level of turbulence in the recirculating zone.
Ito teaches a combustor which uses a turbulator (12, fig 7) in a form of an annular ring (see ring 12, fig 7) with a predetermined thickness and width to control a level of turbulence in the recirculating zone (this happens during the design and manufacturing process, as the rings cannot change size during manufacture its dimensions would be predetermined).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combustion inlet section disclosed by Lockwood by Having a ring shaped turbulence promotor located on it based on the teachings of Ito. Doing so would allow for greater control over the mixing process (col 3, lines 18-20) and stabilize combustion (col 3, lines 48-55), as suggested by Ito.
Regarding claim 6, Lockwood as modified by Ito discloses wherein the annular ring includes a central axis aligned with the central axis of the inlet pipe (in the combination the turbulator would be added in a ring to the wall of Lockwood, and thus the ring would have the same central axis as the pipe).
Regarding claim 7, Lockwood as modified by Ito discloses wherein the annular ring includes having sharp edges presented to the laminar air flow in the inlet pipe (fig 6, Ito, the rings are rectangular shape and the corners are sharp).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lockwood in view of Althaus (5593302).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Lockwood does not disclose wherein the turbulator includes a plurality of triangular shaped projections within the inlet pipe substantially near the second end of the inlet pipe extending toward the first central axis of the inlet pipe.
Althaus teaches adding a plurality of triangular shaped projections (100, fig 1) within the inlet pipe as turbulators (col 2, lines 3-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inlet pipe disclosed by Lockwood by using triangular turbulators projecting into the inlet pipe based on the teachings of Althaus. Doing so would swirl would reach towards the interior of the chamber towards where the fuel lance actually is (col 2, lines 3-10), as suggested by Althaus.
Conclusion
/SEAN V MEILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3741 /DEVON C KRAMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741