DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 12/04/2025. Claims 2 and 12 are canceled. Claims 21-22 are new. Claims 1, 3-7, 11, 13-17, and 21-22 are examined.
Specification
Amendments to the specification were received. The amended specification has been entered.
Drawings
The drawings filed 12/04/2025 have been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 11, 13-16, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Drake 2016/0169521.
Regarding Claim 1, Drake teaches combustor assembly 80 of a combustor 56 in a combustion section 26 of a turbine engine, the combustor assembly 80 ([0046]; Figs. 1, 5 & 8) comprising:
a dome assembly 80 ([0042]; Fig. 3);
a first separable portion 108 defining at least a portion of a mixer assembly 90, the mixer assembly 90 placed within the dome assembly 80 ([0045-47]; Fig. 5); and
a second separable portion 118 defining at least a portion of a deflector assembly 96 ([0049]; Figs. 5& 8),
the first separable portion 108 and the second separable portion 118 are coupled together at a fitted interface 112 to fasten the mixer assembly 90 and the deflector assembly together 96, such that the first separable portion 108 and the second separable portion 118 are (a) removably (removable) coupled at the fitted interface 112 by a plurality of threads 110, 120 or one or more of a press fit, a tight fit, or an interface fit and (b), free from welds and brazes (the fitted interface 112 facilitates facilitate removal, repair, or replacement of the swirler, therefore the interface is inherently free from welds or brazes which hamper removal, repair, or replacement, see [0046]) so that the mixer assembly 90 or the deflector assembly 96 can be replaced (to facilitate removal, repair, or replacement) without significantly damaging or destroying the mixer assembly 90 or the deflector assembly 90 ([0046-0049; 0054]; Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 11, Drake teaches a gas turbine engine 20 (Fig. 1) comprising: a core engine 24, 26, 28 including a compressor section 24, a combustion section 26, and a turbine section 28 in serial flow relationship, the combustion section 26 comprising a combustor assembly 80 ([0034, 0046]; Fig. 1),
the combustor assembly 80 (seen in Figs. 1, 5 & 8) including:
a dome assembly 80 ([0042]; Fig. 3);
a first separable portion 108 defining at least a portion of a mixer assembly 90, the mixer assembly 90 placed within the dome assembly 80 ([0045-47]; Fig. 5); and
a second separable portion 118 defining at least a portion of a deflector assembly 96 ([0049]; Figs. 5& 8),
the first separable portion 108 and the second separable portion 118 are coupled together at a fitted interface 112 to fasten the mixer assembly 90 and the deflector assembly together 96, such that the first separable portion 108 and the second separable portion 118 are (a) removably (removable) coupled at the fitted interface 112 by a plurality of threads 110, 120 or one or more of a press fit, a tight fit, or an interface fit and (b), free from welds and brazes (the fitted interface 112 facilitates facilitate removal, repair, or replacement of the swirler, therefore the interface is inherently free from welds or brazes which hamper removal, repair, or replacement, see [0046]) so that the mixer assembly 90 or the deflector assembly 96 can be replaced (to facilitate removal, repair, or replacement) without significantly damaging or destroying the mixer assembly 90 or the deflector assembly 90 ([0046-0049; 0054]; Fig. 5).
Regarding Claims 3 and 13, Drake teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claims 1 and 11, respectively, and Drake further teaches
the plurality of threads 110, 120 includes a male threaded interface (threads 110, 120 both have male threaded interfaces, seen as peaks extending outward of the body in Figs. 5 & 8) and a female threaded interface 120 (threads 110, 120 both have female threaded interfaces, seen as valleys of the threads in Figs. 5 & 8) ([0047, 0049, 0051]; Figs. 5 & 8).
Regarding Claims 4 and 14, Drake teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claims 3 and 13, respectively, and Drake further teaches
the first separable portion 108 defines the male threaded interface (peaks of 110 extending outward of body 108), and the second separable portion 118 defines the female threaded interface (valleys of 120, seen in Figs. 5 & 8) ([0047, 0049, 0051]; Figs. 5 & 8).
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, Drake teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claims 3 and 13, respectively, and Drake further teaches
the first separable portion 108 defines an outer diameter or a surrounding surface (seen in Figs. 5 & 8) relative to the second separable portion 118, the first separable portion 108 defining the female threaded interface (valleys of 110, seen in Figs. 5 & 8) and the second separable portion 118 defining the male threaded interface (peaks of 120 extending outward of body 118) ([0047, 0049, 0051]; Figs. 5 & 8).
Regarding Claims 6 and 16, Drake teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claims 3 and 13, respectively, and Drake further teaches
the plurality of threads 110, 120 includes a ballnose feature [a] (seen in annotated Fig. 8, below) between the male threaded interface (peaks of element 110) and the female threaded interface (valleys of element 120) (Annotated Fig. 8, below).
Figure A: Annotated Fig. 8 of Drake (US.2016/0169521)
Regarding Claims 21, Drake teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, and Drake further teaches
a cup 98 (element 98 reads on a cup – not mentioned in specification, seen in Fig. 3) formed in the dome assembly 80 (Fig. 3), the cup 98 defining an opening 92 in the dome assembly 80, the mixer assembly 90 being mounted to the cup 98 ([0042]; Fig. 2)
Regarding Claims 22, Drake teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, and Drake further teaches
comprising a plurality (multiple of swirlers 90) of the mixer assemblies 90 placed circumferentially within the dome assembly 80 ([0042]; Figs. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drake.
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, Drake teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claims 6 and 16, respectively, and Drake further teaches
the ballnose feature [a] defines a straight end or radius (seen in figure below) (annotated Fig. 8, below).
Figure A: Annotated Fig. 8 of Drake (US.2016/0169521)
Drake does not expressly state that teach the ballnose feature [a] (seen in annotated Fig. 8 above) has an end or radius configured to provide an air seal between the plurality of threads 110, 120;
however, an ordinary skilled worker, upon the preponderance of evidence, would conclude that the ballnose feature [a] ([a] is the gap between threads) arranged between the plurality of threads 110, 120, has a straight end (seen on the right side at the opening to the combustion chamber) and on the left hand side, has an opening to space 122 (in annotated Fig. 8, above) is configured to provide an air seal between the plurality of threads, as claimed. The description of the article pictured (in annotated Fig. 8, above) can be relied on, in combination with the drawings, for what they would reasonably teach one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Wright, 569 F.2d 1124, 193 USPQ 332 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2125 II. Therefore, the ballnose feature [a] having a straight end, seen in the annotated Fig. 8 above, is configured to provide an air seal between the plurality of threads. An ordinary skilled worker would understand that the ballnose feature provides an air seal between the plurality of threads, in order to prevent hot combustion gases from flowing back toward the swirler.
Drake, as discussed so far, does not teach the ballnose feature defines a rounded end or radius configured to provide an air seal between the plurality of threads.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected the ballnose feature [a] having a straight edge or radius, and applicant's invention, to perform equally well with either the ballnose feature having a straight end or radius, as taught by Drake, or the ballnose feature having a rounded end or radius, because both ballnose features would perform the same function of providing an air seal between the plurality of threats.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Drake to obtain the invention as specified in claims 7 and 17, respectively, because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Drake. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47. MPEP 2144.04 IV (B).
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments, filed on 12/04/2025, with respect to 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 103 rejections of claims , 3-7, 11, 13-17, and 21-22 have been considered, but are moot because the arguments do not apply to new combination of references used in the current rejection, necessitated by Applicant’s amendment. However, to the extent possible, Applicant’s arguments have been addressed in the body of the rejections at the appropriate locations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JACEK LISOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/PHUTTHIWAT WONGWIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741