DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s Preliminary Amendment received on 12/20/2024 has been considered. It is noted that claims 18-20 have been added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, and 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baron et al (US 2016/0260287).
Regarding claims 1, 6, and 18: Baron et al discloses an apparatus for a baccarat option game, comprising: a game table including a player card area, a banker card area, and an option betting area (see figures 4, 6; paragraph [0079], showing a suitable table 400 configured for implementing wagering games according to this disclosure. The table 400 may include a playing surface 404. The table 400 may include player stations 412. Each player station 412 may include a player interface 416, which may be used for displaying game information (e.g., game instructions, input options, wager information, game outcomes, etc.) and accepting player elections); a card reading device configured to recognize, in order of use, card information including suits and numbers of cards used on the game table (see paragraph [0112], showing card-handling system 684 to identify cards dealt by the card-handling system 684. For example, the card-handling system 684 may include a card reader to determine card information from the cards. The card information may include the rank and suit of each dealt card and hand information); a game calculation device configured to receive the card information from the card reading device and judge and determine game results (see paragraph [0006], showing utilizing the processor, suit and rank information correlating to two cards from a database of suit and rank information correlating to a set of cards comprising at least one 52-card deck of standard playing cards are randomly assigned to a banker hand and baccarat wager is resolved by comparing, at the processor, a score of the player hand to a score of the banker hand); and a game display device configured to receive the game results from the game calculation device and display the received game results, wherein at least one of the card reading device or the game calculation device stores at least one of baccarat game rules or predetermined option rules (see paragraphs [0060], [0074], showing individual electronic gaming device 300 may include a gaming screen 374 configured to display indicia for interacting with the individual electronic gaming device 300, such as through processing one or more programs stored in memory 340 to implement the rules of game play at the individual electronic gaming device 300), wherein the option rules include one or more options and payout rates determined based on the suits and numbers of the cards used in the baccarat game, the option rules being applied independently of the baccarat game rules in each and every round of the baccarat game, and wherein at least one of the card reading device or the game calculation device is configured to judge and determine a winning of an option when the suits and numbers of the cards used in the baccarat game correspond to the predetermined option (see figure 1; paragraphs [0006], [0060], showing a set of rules for completing the banker hand and wherein the baccarat wager is resolved by comparing, at the processor, a score of the player hand to a score of the banker hand according to modulo-ten scoring. The side wager is resolved by sending an electronic signal from the processor indicating that a payout on the side wager to the player is authorized when the score of the player hand is one greater than the score of the banker hand).
Regarding claim 2: Baron et al discloses wherein the option betting area further includes a betting detection sensor configured to detect a betting amount of chips positioned in the option betting area, and wherein the betting amount detected by the betting detection sensor is transmitted to the game calculation device (see paragraph [0024], showing the baccarat wager may be accepted, for example, by physically receiving chips within one of three designated baccarat wager areas 122, 124, or 126 (FIGS. 2 and 3) on a playing surface 118 (FIG. 2) of a gaming table 200, 400, or 500 (FIGS. 4, 6, and 7); by automatically detecting (e.g., using sensors, such as, for example, optical or RFID sensors) the presence of chips within the designated baccarat wager areas 122, 124, or 126 (FIGS. 2 and 3) on the playing surface 118 of the playing table 200, 400, or 500 (FIGS. 4, 6, and 7)).
Regarding claim 4: Baron et al discloses wherein the game results include winning results of the option, and upon winning of the option, the winning results are displayed as an image on the game display device (see paragraphs [0060], [0074], showing individual electronic gaming device 300 may include a gaming screen 374 configured to display indicia for interacting with the individual electronic gaming device 300, such as through processing one or more programs stored in memory 340 to implement the rules of game play at the individual electronic gaming device 300, and wherein the baccarat wager is resolved by comparing, at the processor, a score of the player hand to a score of the banker hand according to modulo-ten scoring. The side wager is resolved by sending an electronic signal from the processor indicating that a payout on the side wager to the player is authorized when the score of the player hand is one greater than the score of the banker hand).
Regarding claim 5: Baron et al discloses wherein the card reading device and the game calculation device are configured as a single device (see paragraph [0112], showing card-handling system 684 to identify cards dealt by the card-handling system 684. For example, the card-handling system 684 may include a card reader to determine card information from the cards. The card information may include the rank and suit of each dealt card and hand information).
Regarding claim 9: Baron et al discloses wherein the option rules include a twin pair option, which has a payout rate larger than the payout rate of the double pair option when first two cards disposed in the player card area and first two cards disposed in the banker card area all have the same number (see paragraphs [0035]-[0038], showing a non-limiting example, under the rules of conventional baccarat, if the two-card initially dealt player hand has a score of between zero (0) and five (5), one additional card is drawn and added to the two-card initially dealt player hand to form a three-card player hand. If the two-card initially dealt player hand has a score of six (6) or greater, the player hand will not be dealt an additional card (i.e., the player “stands”), and the two-card initially dealt hand is the player hand).
Regarding claim 10: Baron et al discloses wherein the option rules include a single 3-card option, which has a payout rate larger than the payout rate of the single pair option when three cards disposed in the player card area have the same number or when three cards disposed in the banker card area have the same number (see paragraphs [0035]-[0038], showing rules for the banker may require that if the score of the two-card initially dealt banker hand is between zero (0) and five (5), one additional card is drawn and added to the banker hand to form a three-card banker hand).
Regarding claim 11: Baron et al discloses wherein the option rules include a 3-card & pair option, which has a payout rate larger than the payout rate of the single 3-card option when first two cards disposed in one area of the player card area or the banker card area have the same number, and three cards disposed in the other area have the same number (see paragraphs [0035]-[0038], showing rules for the banker may require that if the score of the two-card initially dealt banker hand is between zero (0) and five (5), one additional card is drawn and added to the banker hand to form a three-card banker hand).
Regarding claim 12: Baron et al discloses wherein the option rules include a 3-card & pair option, which has a payout rate larger than the payout rate of the single 3-card option when first two cards disposed in one area of the player card area or the banker card area have the same number, and three cards disposed in the other area have the same number (see paragraphs [0035]-[0038], showing rules for the banker may require that if the score of the two-card initially dealt banker hand is between zero (0) and five (5), one additional card is drawn and added to the banker hand to form a three-card banker hand).
Regarding claim 13: Baron et al discloses wherein the option rules include a 3-card & pair option, which has a payout rate larger than the payout rate of the single 3-card option when first two cards disposed in one area of the player card area or the banker card area have the same number, and three cards disposed in the other area have the same number (see paragraphs [0035]-[0038], showing rules for the banker may require that if the score of the two-card initially dealt banker hand is between zero (0) and five (5), one additional card is drawn and added to the banker hand to form a three-card banker hand).
Regarding claim 14: Baron et al discloses wherein the option rules include a 3-card & pair option, which has a payout rate larger than the payout rate of the single 3-card option when first two cards disposed in one area of the player card area or the banker card area have the same number, and three cards disposed in the other area have the same number (see paragraphs [0035]-[0038], showing rules for the banker may require that if the score of the two-card initially dealt banker hand is between zero (0) and five (5), one additional card is drawn and added to the banker hand to form a three-card banker hand).
Regarding claim 15: Baron et al discloses wherein the option rules include a straight flush option, which has a predetermined payout rate when five cards of cards disposed in the player card area and the banker card area are of the same suit and correspond to consecutive numbers (see paragraphs [0036], [0068], showing type of card-handling device 204 employed to administer embodiments of the disclosed wagering game, as well as the type of card deck employed and the number of decks, may be specific the game to be implemented. Cards used in games of this disclosure may be, for example, standard playing cards from one or more decks, each deck having cards of four suits (clubs, hearts, diamonds, and spades) and of rankings ace, king, queen, jack, and ten through two in descending order. As a more specific example, one, two, six, seven, or eight standard decks of such cards may be intermixed).
Regarding claim 16: Baron et al discloses wherein the option rules include a royal straight flush option, which has a payout rate larger than the payout rate of the straight flush option when the consecutive numbers in the straight flush option correspond to Ace (A), King (K), Queen (Q), Jack (J), and 10 (see paragraphs [0036], [0068], showing type of card-handling device 204 employed to administer embodiments of the disclosed wagering game, as well as the type of card deck employed and the number of decks, may be specific the game to be implemented. Cards used in games of this disclosure may be, for example, standard playing cards from one or more decks, each deck having cards of four suits (clubs, hearts, diamonds, and spades) and of rankings ace, king, queen, jack, and ten through two in descending order. As a more specific example, one, two, six, seven, or eight standard decks of such cards may be intermixed).
Regarding claim 17: Baron et al discloses wherein, when cards disposed in the player card area and the banker card area correspond to multiple option rules, it is judged and determined as a winning for an option with a largest payout amount (see paragraphs [0060], [0074], showing individual electronic gaming device 300 may include a gaming screen 374 configured to display indicia for interacting with the individual electronic gaming device 300, such as through processing one or more programs stored in memory 340 to implement the rules of game play at the individual electronic gaming device 300, and wherein the baccarat wager is resolved by comparing, at the processor, a score of the player hand to a score of the banker hand according to modulo-ten scoring. The side wager is resolved by sending an electronic signal from the processor indicating that a payout on the side wager to the player is authorized when the score of the player hand is one greater than the score of the banker hand).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baron et al (US 2016/0260287) in view of Au-Yeung (US 2015/0206396).
Regarding claim 3: Baron et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed and discloses a lottery type game.
However, Baron et al did not explicitly disclose further comprising: a jackpot calculation device configured to receive the betting amount detected by the betting detection sensor and save a portion of the betting amount as a jackpot according to a predetermined jackpot calculation method.
In an analogous invention, Au-Yeung teaches further comprising: a jackpot calculation device configured to receive the betting amount detected by the betting detection sensor and save a portion of the betting amount as a jackpot according to a predetermined jackpot calculation method (see paragraph [0045], showing progressive wager sensors are sensors nearby (or under) each progressive wager betting circle which detect whether or not a progressive wager has been placed, and wherein proper contribution to the progressive jackpot is computed and added to the progressive jackpot).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify Baron’s baccarat wager as taught by Au-Yeung’s betting detection and jackpot calculation for the purpose of providing the users with a baccarat and lottery type game with a jackpot option. This yields the expected result of increasing the user’s satisfaction and enjoyment in the game.
Claims 7, 8, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baron et al (US 2016/0260287) in view of Yang et al (US 2020/0058195).
Regarding claims 7 and 19: Baron et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed.
In an analogous invention, Yang et al teaches wherein the option rules include a single pair option, which has a predetermined payout rate when first two cards disposed in the player card area have the same number or when first two cards disposed in the banker card area have the same number (see paragraph [0093], showing payouts are calculated based on Player Pair, Banker Pair and Tie bet payouts of 11 to 1, 11 to 1 and 8 to 1, respectively. Further, these are weighted at 25%, 25% and 50% of the bet respectively. Further showing single pair and double pair and payout).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify Baron‘s baccarat wager as taught by Yang’s baccarat pair for the purpose of providing the users with various bet and payout options. This yields the expected result of increasing the user’s satisfaction and enjoyment in the game.
Regarding claims 8 and 20: Baron et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed.
In an analogous invention, Yang et al teaches wherein the option rules include a double pair option, which has a payout rate larger than the payout rate of the single pair option when first two cards disposed in the player card area have the same number and when first two cards disposed in the banker card area have the same number (see paragraph [0093], showing payouts are calculated based on Player Pair, Banker Pair and Tie bet payouts of 11 to 1, 11 to 1 and 8 to 1, respectively. Further, these are weighted at 25%, 25% and 50% of the bet respectively. Further showing single pair and double pair and payout).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify Baron‘s baccarat wager as taught by Yang’s baccarat pair for the purpose of providing the users with various bet and payout options. This yields the expected result of increasing the user’s satisfaction and enjoyment in the game.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. LaDuca et al discloses method of administering casino baccarat with individual player bonus card combination; Schubert et al discloses intelligent baccarat shoe.
/ADETOKUNBO O TORIMIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715