Detail Action
Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11 recites the hydraulic hoses on page 2 line 26. It should read as the one or more hoses as it recited in claim 10 in line 24 and 9 in line 17.
Claim 20 recites the second components on page 4 line 16. It should read as one or more second components as it recited in claim 19 on page 4 line 11-12.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4, recites the phrase "the back" on page 1 in line 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the phrase “the back” in the claim.
Claim 5, recites the phrase "the outside" on page 1 in line 21. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the phrase “the outside” in the claim.
Claim 19, recites the phrase "the internal space" on page 4 in line 11-12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the phrase “the internal space” in the claim.
Claim 20, recites the phrase "the system" on page 4 in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the phrase “the system” in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3174634 A (Peck, From IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Peck teaches a system (Fig. 1 to 11) comprising: at least one column (see attached annotated fig.), each including: an assembled parallel pair of a first extrusion and a second extrusion (see attached annotated fig.), at least one bracket (see attached annotated fig.), and at least one runner (see attached annotated fig.) configured to slide along an internal space defined by the first extrusion and the second extrusion (see attached annotated fig.); and a lift platform (24 in fig. 9) connected to the at least one runner (see attached annotated fig. column 4 lines 35-39).
Peck discloses the claimed invention except for connecting the first extrusion and the second extrusion as one piece (It is silent about it). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to have modified Peck to include connecting the first extrusion and the second extrusion as one piece in order to increase stability of structure of column (See MPEP: 2144. V section C).
Regarding first and second extrusion, Peck does not expressly state that the first and
second column members (extrusions) are manufactured by extrusion process; such manufacturing technique does not distinguish the claimed structure because patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production (See MPEP: 2113. I).
Regarding claim 2, Peck teaches all the limitations of claim 1. It also teaches each of the first extrusion and the second extrusion includes an L-shape (see attached annotated fig.), and wherein the assembled parallel pair of the first extrusion and the second extrusion includes a C-shape defining the internal space (see attached annotated fig.).
Regarding claim 7, Peck teaches all the limitations of claim 1. It also teaches the internal space defined by the first extrusion and the second extrusion (see above attached annotated fig.) is configured to contain one or more liftgate movement components (it can be seen in Fig. 1-2, 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 8, Peck teaches all the limitations of claim 1. It also teaches wherein the one or more liftgate movement components contained in the internal space (see above attached annotated fig.) includes one or more hydraulic actuators (20 in fig. 8), and
wherein the hydraulic actuators (20) is configured to operate the at least one runner to lower and/or raise the lift platform connected to the at least one runner (column 3 lines 66 through column 4 lines 20).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3174634 A (Peck, From IDS) in view of US 5641262 A (Dunlop et al. hereinafter: Dunlop).
Regarding claim 3, Peck teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Peack does not explicitly teach the at least one bracket includes a top assembly bracket, and wherein the top assembly bracket includes a four-sided polygon shape that fits the internal space and is configured to hold and connect the assembled parallel pair.
Dunlop teaches the at least one bracket includes a top assembly bracket (17A-B, in fig. 1), and wherein the top assembly bracket includes a four-sided polygon shape (it can be seen in fig. 1) that fits the internal space and is configured to hold and connect the assembled parallel pair (17A-B is holding rails 2a-b it can be seen in fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified Peck by incorporating the at least one bracket includes a top assembly bracket, and wherein the top assembly bracket includes a four-sided polygon shape that fits the internal space and is configured to hold and connect the assembled parallel pair in view of Dunlop in order to maintain the vertical orientation of parallel pairs (column 2, lines 40-42).
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3174634 A (Peck, From IDS) in view of US 20170297470 A1 (Hambardzumyan et al. Hereinafter: Maxon, From IDS).
Regarding claim 4, Peck teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Peck does not explicitly teach a mounting bracket connected to the back of the assembled parallel pair, and wherein the mounting bracket is configured to mount the system to a vehicle.
Maxon teaches further comprising a mounting bracket (elements 14L and 14R in Fig. 5) connected to the back of the assembled parallel pair (it can be seen in fig.7), and wherein the mounting bracket (elements 14L and 14R in Fig. 5) is configured to mount the system to a vehicle (It can be seen in fig. 4 and 5, see ¶0055).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified Peck by incorporating a mounting bracket connected to the back of the assembled parallel pair, and wherein the mounting bracket is configured to mount the system to a vehicle in view of Maxon in order to securely mounting the liftgate on the back of vehicle (¶0055-¶0056).
Regarding claim 5, Peck teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Peck does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one bracket includes a bottom assembly bracket that is configured to wrap around the outside of the assembled parallel pair and the mounting bracket and hold and connect the assembled parallel pair.
Maxon teaches wherein the at least one bracket includes a bottom assembly bracket (see attached annotated fig.) that is configured to wrap around the outside of the assembled parallel pair and the mounting bracket and hold and connect the assembled parallel pair (it can be seen in fig.4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified Peck by incorporating the at least one bracket includes a bottom assembly bracket that is configured to wrap around the outside of the assembled parallel pair and the mounting bracket and hold and connect the assembled parallel pair in view of Maxon in order to securely hold the vertical column of lift gate.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3174634 A (Peck, From IDS) in view of CN 108442518 A (Mou et al. Hereinafter: Mou).
Regarding claim 6, Peck teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Peck does not explicitly teach wherein the first extrusion includes a first extending portion and a second extending portion perpendicular to the first extending portion, wherein the second extrusion includes a first extending portion and a second extending portion perpendicular to the first extending portion, wherein the first extending portion of the first extrusion and the first extending portion of the second extrusion are arranged to extend in the same plane, and ends of the first extending portion of the first extrusion and the first extending portion of the second extrusion are engaged with each other via a pair of a groove and a tongue, and wherein surfaces of the second extending portion of the first extrusion and the second extending portion of the second extrusion are arranged to face each other and extended in a parallel direction.
Mou teaches wherein the first extrusion includes a first extending portion and a second extending portion perpendicular to the first extending portion (see attached annotated fig.),
wherein the second extrusion includes a first extending portion and a second extending portion perpendicular to the first extending portion (see attached annotated fig.),
wherein the first extending portion of the first extrusion and the first extending portion of the second extrusion are arranged to extend in the same plane (see attached annotated fig.), and ends of the first extending portion of the first extrusion and the first extending portion of the second extrusion are engaged with each other via a pair of a groove and a tongue (see attached annotated fig., page 3, lines 77-83), and
wherein surfaces of the second extending portion of the first extrusion and the second extending portion of the second extrusion are arranged to face each other and extended in a parallel direction (see attached annotated fig.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified Peck by incorporating the first extrusion includes a first extending portion and a second extending portion perpendicular to the first extending portion, wherein the second extrusion includes a first extending portion and a second extending portion perpendicular to the first extending portion, wherein the first extending portion of the first extrusion and the first extending portion of the second extrusion are arranged to extend in the same plane, and ends of the first extending portion of the first extrusion and the first extending portion of the second extrusion are engaged with each other via a pair of a groove and a tongue, and wherein surfaces of the second extending portion of the first extrusion and the second extending portion of the second extrusion are arranged to face each other and extended in a parallel direction in view of Mou in order to achieve lighter weight and faster construction of vertical column of lift gate (see page 2 line 29).
Claim(s) 9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3174634 A (Peck, From IDS) in view of US 20120121369 A1 (Ablabutyan et al. hereinafter: Ablabutyan).
Regarding claim 9, Peck teaches all the limitations of claim 8. It also teaches wherein the one or more liftgate movement components (Runner or Hydraulic actuator 20 of fig, 8) contained in the internal space. Peck does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more liftgate movement components contained in the internal space includes one or more hydraulic hoses that is configured to provide hydraulic fluid to the one or more hydraulic actuators.
Ablabutyan teaches the one or more liftgate movement components contained in the internal space includes one or more hydraulic hoses that is configured to provide hydraulic fluid to the one or more hydraulic actuators (see ¶0105, the curb side runner assembly C has a length of hydraulic tubing 164 extending vertically through the clearance passage 56 within the rear guide track 53 alongside an electrical harness 165, ¶0109, the corresponding conduits and harnesses are trained vertically through the clearance passage 54. In the case of both column assemblies the fluid power circuit includes a length of tubing 182 (FIG. 15) extending the length of the corresponding cylinder 49 having valve controlled fluid communication with the lower end of the corresponding cylinder 49 and fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified Peck by incorporating the one or more liftgate movement components contained in the internal space includes one or more hydraulic hoses that is configured to provide hydraulic fluid to the one or more hydraulic actuators in view of Ablabutyan in order to provide fluid communication to the hydraulic actuators (¶0105, providing fluid communication to the interior of the cylinder to deliver fluid under pressure to the underside of the piston therein ).
Regarding claim 12, Peck teaches all the limitations of claim 1. It does not explicitly teach the at least one of the first extrusion and the second extrusion further includes at least one cavity formed on the outer surfaces to receive one or more electrical lines and hydraulic lines.
Ablabutyan teaches the at least one of the first extrusion and the second extrusion further includes at least one cavity formed on the outer surfaces to receive one or more electrical lines and hydraulic lines (¶0105, The curb side runner assembly C has a length of hydraulic tubing 164 extending vertically through the clearance passage 56 within the rear guide track 53 alongside an electrical harness 165. ¶0106 and ¶0108, Referring to FIGS. 24 and 25, the forward wall 45-2 of each of the columns 45 is formed at its lower end with a window or aperture 180. Access is thus provided to the interior of the clearance passage 54 under the corresponding front guide track 52 for the electrical harnesses and fluid conduits appropriate for the corresponding column assembly C or S).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified the combination of Peck, by incorporating the at least one of the first extrusion and the second extrusion further includes at least one cavity formed on the outer surfaces to receive one or more electrical lines and hydraulic lines in view of Ablabutyan in order to securely route the hydraulic hoses.
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3174634 A (Peck, From IDS) in view of US 20120121369 A1 (Ablabutyan et al. hereinafter: Ablabutyan) as applied to claim 9 above and further in view of US 20210170959 A1 (Carmenaty).
Regarding claim 10, a combination of Peck and Ablabutyan teaches all the limitations of claim 9. The combination of Peck and Ablabutyan also teaches the at least one column includes a left column and a right column (it can be seen in fig. 9 of peck and Fig. 1 of Ablabutyan) wherein the one or more hydraulic hoses are configured to connect between the one or more actuation units and the one or more hydraulic actuators (for citation and motivation purpose see rejection of claim 9).
The combination of Peack and Ablabutyan does not explicitly teach wherein the system further comprises a housing disposed between the left column and the right column; wherein the housing contains one or more actuation units.
Carmenaty teaches housing (300) disposed between the left column (106) and the right column (108); wherein the housing contains one or more actuation units (combination of 301 and 302).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified the combination of Peck and Ablabutyan by incorporating wherein the system further comprises a housing disposed between the left column and the right column; wherein the housing contains one or more actuation units in view of Carmenaty in order to securely hold all the required components to operate the lift gate.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Peck, Ablabutyan and Carmenaty teaches all the limitations of claim 10. Peck does not explicitly teach the hydraulic hoses includes an L-shape proximate the housing and a J-shape proximate a top portion of at least one of the left and right support columns that the one or more hydraulic hoses are disposed.
Ablabutyan teaches the hydraulic hoses include an L-shape proximate the housing (see attached annotated fig.) and a J-shape proximate a top portion of at least one of the left and right support columns that the one or more hydraulic hoses are disposed (see attached annotated fig.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified the combination of Peck, Ablabutyan and Carmenaty by incorporating the hydraulic hoses includes an L-shape proximate the housing and a J-shape proximate a top portion of at least one of the left and right support columns that the one or more hydraulic hoses are disposed in view of Ablabutyan in order to securely route the hydraulic hoses.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3174634 A (Peck, From IDS) in view of US 20220048744 A1 (Zaharie et al., hereinafter: Zaharie, from IDS).
Regarding claim 13, Peck teaches all the limitations of claim 1. It does not explicitly teach wherein the lift platform comprises: a platform assembly including an opening; one or more interchangeable inserts configured to be received in the opening of the platform assembly; and one or more engagement mechanisms configured to secure the one or more interchangeable inserts in the opening of the platform assembly.
Zaharie teaches wherein the lift platform (102 in Fig.1) comprises: a platform assembly including an opening (It can be seen in Fig.1, Where 104-n are inserted); one or more interchangeable inserts (104-n in Fig.1) configured to be received in the opening of the platform assembly (¶0030: Although four panels 104 are depicted in FIG. 1, any number of panels may be added to or removed from the platform 102 as needed to accommodate the width of the platform 102); and one or more engagement mechanisms (1261 to 126-4 in fig.1) configured to secure the one or more interchangeable inserts in the opening of the platform assembly (¶0036: The supports 126 support and hold the panels 104 in place as well as provide support for the objects placed on the platform 102.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified the combination of Peck by incorporating the lift platform comprises: a platform assembly including an opening; one or more interchangeable inserts configured to be received in the opening of the platform assembly; and one or more engagement mechanisms configured to secure the one or more interchangeable inserts in the opening of the platform assembly in view of Zaharie in order to accommodate the width of the platform (¶0027 and ¶0030).
Claim(s) 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 20210170959 A1 (Carmenaty) in view of US 20120121369 A1 (Ablabutyan et al. hereinafter: Ablabutyan).
Regarding claim 14, Carmenaty teaches a system (100 in fig. 1) comprising: a left support column (106 in fig. 1); a right support column (108 in fig. 1); a lift platform (110 in fig. 1) connected between the left support column and the right support column (it can be seen in fig.1); a housing (300 in fig. 3) disposed between the left support column and the right support column (it can be seen in fig.3). It also teaches one or more actuation units disposed within the housing (301 and 302 in fig. 3). Carmenaty does not explicitly teach one or more hydraulic hoses disposed at least partially within one of the left and right support columns, wherein the one or more hydraulic hoses are configured to connect to one or more actuation units disposed within the housing to provide hydraulic fluid to one or more hydraulic actuators disposed within the one of the support columns.
Ablabutyan teaches one or more hydraulic hoses (182, in fig. 15, ¶0109 and 164 in fig. 20, ¶0105) disposed at least partially within one of the left and right support columns (it can be seen in fig. 15 and 20), wherein the one or more hydraulic hoses (182 in fig. 15) are configured to connect to one or more actuation units disposed within the housing to provide hydraulic fluid to one or more hydraulic actuators (49 in fig, 15) disposed within the one of the support columns (it can be seen in fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified Carmenaty by incorporating one or more hydraulic hoses disposed at least partially within one of the left and right support columns, wherein the one or more hydraulic hoses are configured to connect to one or more actuation units disposed within the housing to provide hydraulic fluid to one or more hydraulic actuators disposed within the one of the support columns in view of Ablabutyan in order to provide fluid communication to the hydraulic actuators (¶0105, providing fluid communication to the interior of the cylinder to deliver fluid under pressure to the underside of the piston therein ).
Regarding claim 15, a combination of Carmenaty and Ablabutyan teaches all the limitations of claim 14. Carmenaty also teaches one or more batteries (301 in fig. 3, ¶0045) disposed within the housing (it can be seen in fig. 3): and an oil reservoir (302 in fig. 3, ¶0045) disposed within the housing (it can be seen in fig. 3), wherein the oil reservoir (302) is configured to provide hydraulic fluid to the one or more actuation units (combination of 301 and 302).
Regarding claim 16, a combination of Carmenaty and Ablabutyan teaches all the limitations of claim 14. Carmenaty also teaches the one or more actuation units (combination of 301 and 302 in fig. 3) is configured to provide hydraulic fluid to the one or more hydraulic actuators to raise or lower the lift platform (¶0041: A cover 120 protects a power unit, tank, power cable, and hydraulic tubing used to raise or lower the platform 110).
Regarding claim 17, a combination of Carmenaty and Ablabutyan teaches all the limitations of claim 14. Carmenaty does not explicitly teach the hydraulic hoses includes an L-shape proximate the housing and a J-shape proximate a top portion of at least one of the left support column and right support columns that the one or more hydraulic hoses are disposed.
Ablabutyan teaches the hydraulic hoses includes an L-shape proximate the housing and a J-shape proximate a top portion of at least one of the left support column and right support columns that the one or more hydraulic hoses are disposed.
For citation and motivation see above rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claim 18, a combination of Carmenaty and Ablabutyan teaches all the limitations of claim 14. Carmenaty also teaches at least one of the left support column (106) and the right support column (108) includes an assembled parallel pair of a first extrusion and a second extrusion (see attached annotated fig.).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3174634 A (Peck, From IDS) in view of US 20210170959 A1 (Carmenaty).
Regarding claim 19, Peck teaches assembling a plurality of parallel extrusions to form one piece of column (see above attached annotated fig.); connecting at least one bracket to the assembled parallel extrusions (see above attached annotated fig.); disposing one or more first components (20 in fig. 8) for operating a liftgate system inside the internal space defined by the assembled parallel extrusions (it can be seen in fig. 8, column 3 lines 69-73) and connecting lift platform to the column (24 in fig. 9).
Peck does not explicitly teach disposing one or more second components for operating the liftgate system inside a housing; and connecting the housing to the column.
Carmenaty teaches disposing one or more second components (301 and 302 in fig. 3) for operating the liftgate system (100 in fig. 1) inside a housing (300 in fig. 1); and connecting the housing to the column (column 106 and 108 in fig. 1, and it can be seen in fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified Peck by incorporating disposing one or more second components for operating the liftgate system inside a housing; and connecting the housing to the column in view of Carmenaty in order to securely installed required power unit within the housing to operate the lift gate (¶0045).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3174634 A (Peck, From IDS) in view of US 20210170959 A1 (Carmenaty) as applied to claim 19 above and further in view of US 20120121369 A1 (Ablabutyan et al. hereinafter: Ablabutyan).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Peck and Carmenaty teaches all the limitations of claim 19. Peck teaches the one or more first components include one or more actuation units (20 in fig. 8).
Peck does not explicitly teach wherein the second components include one or more hydraulic actuators; wherein the method further comprises: connecting the one or more actuation units disposed inside the housing to the one or more hydraulic actuators disposed in the internal space of the assembled parallel extrusions via one or more hydraulic hoses.
Carmenaty teaches wherein the method further comprises: connecting the one or more actuation units (301 and 302) disposed inside the housing (300). However, the combination of Peck and Carmenaty is silent about to the one or more hydraulic actuators disposed in the internal space of the assembled parallel extrusions via one or more hydraulic hoses.
For combination and motivation purpose see rejection of claim 19.
Ablabutyan teaches the one or more hydraulic actuators (49 in fig. 15) disposed in the internal space of the assembled parallel extrusions (it can be seen in fig. 15) via one or more hydraulic hoses (182 in fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified the combination of Peck and Carmenaty by incorporating the one or more hydraulic actuators disposed in the internal space of the assembled parallel extrusions via one or more hydraulic hoses in view of Ablabutyan in order to provide fluid communication to the hydraulic actuators (¶0105, providing fluid communication to the interior of the cylinder to deliver fluid under pressure to the underside of the piston therein).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Other cited references on PTO-892 show lift gate system and hydraulic actuator and hoses. Especially, Dunlop et al. teaches hydraulic pump (43), actuator (31) and an oil reservoir (45 in fig. 1) disposed within the housing (it can be seen in fig. 1), wherein the oil reservoir is configured to provide hydraulic fluid to the one or more actuation units (column 3 lines 16-20), It also teaches hoes 47 is connected to actuator which provides power to control the movement of lift gate. US 20060210383 A1 (Hooker) teaches top four side polygon bracket which is attached to the outside of column in fig.1. Moving it inside is not an inventive step. US 20090072570 A1 (Savoy) teaches hydraulic hoses and cavities from where it is routed see fig. 4. WO2020077124 (Bark et al. from IDS) teaches subject matter of claim 13. US 5673632 A (Sykes) teaches L-shape column made by extrusion (See Fig. 9 column 111, column 5 lines 47-52).
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/JAIMIN G PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3652