Detailed Action
Claims 1-6, 10-11, 20, 23 ,27, 89, 104, 146, 159-160, 165 and 168-169 are pending and now evaluated on its merit.
Priority
This application is a continuation of application 17/974,000, filed 10/26/2022, which claims domestic benefit to U.S. provisional application 63/272,437, dated 10/27/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) dated 08/07/2025 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, it has been placed in the application file and the information therein has been considered as to the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 104 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 104 recites the limitation "wherein the cytokine release syndrome is induced by or associated with the viral infection" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 104 is dependent on claim 84 which fails to recite “viral infection” as a limitation, thus claim 104 is lacking antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 10-11, 20, 23, 27, 156, 159-160, 165 and 168 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu et al. (WO 2022179967 A1), which claims U.S. benefit dated 02/23/2021.
Regarding claims 1-6, 10-11, 20, 23, 27, 156, 159-160, 165 and 168, Hu teaches a method for treating and or preventing a subject as risk for COVID-19 (SARS-CoV-2), wherein COVID-19 is associated with pneumonia or Acute Respiratory Disorder Syndrome (ARDS) (relevant to claims 2-6, 10-11, 20, 23, 27 and 156) (Pg. 3, lines 34-36; Pg. 7, lines 23-25) comprising an oral administration of 2-{[5-(3- chlorophenyl)-3-hydroxypyridin-2-yl]formamido}acetic acid (vadadustat) at a dose of from 150 mg to 1800 mg daily. In some embodiments the vadadustat is administered at a dose of 900 mg or from 900 mg to 1800 mg daily for a 7-day, 14-day, 21-day or 28-day treatment (relevant to claims 1 and 159-160) (Pg. 7, lines 30-32; Pg. 15, lines 24-35).
Hu additionally teaches the vadadustat administered as a combination pharmaceutical composition, in which the composition contains one or more antiviral agents selected from olsetemivir, remdesivir, ganciclovir, lopinavir, ritonavir and zanamivir (relevant to claim 165) (Pg. 43, lines 1-5) and the severity of the disease is reduced as represented from the results of Table 1 (relevant to claim 168).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 169 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (WO 2022179967 A1).
The teachings of Hu for the above 102 rejections of claims 1-6, 10-11, 20, 23, 27, 156, 159-160, 165 and 168 are incorporated herein by reference.
Hu fails to teach the severity of the COVID-19 disease in a scale form. However, it would have been obvious for someone or ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have developed a scale of severity for testing and then treating a patient with COVID-19. One would have been motivated to do so as developing a scale to test a subject in which how severe a disease is will determine the process and dosage amount of treatment would have been routine experimentation and thus not a patentable limitation as per MPEP 2144.05 (II): "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 89 and 104 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (WO 2022179967 A1) in view of Yifan et al. Cytokine release syndrome in COVID-19: a major mechanism of morbidity and mortality, Int Rev Immunol, February 2021, Pages 1-14.
The teachings of Hu for the above 102 rejections of claims 1-6, 10-11, 20, 23, 27, 156, 159-160, 165 and 168 are incorporated herein by reference.
Hu fails to teach the treatment, prevention or risk of developing cytokine release syndrome in a patient infected with coronavirus.
Yifan teaches COVID-19 patients who suffer from acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS) and multi-organ dysfunction have high mortality and is closely related to the cytokine release syndrome (CRS). The molecular mechanisms for CRS in COVID-19 are related to the effects of the S-protein and N-protein of the virus and its ability to trigger NF-κB activation by disabling the inhibitory component IκB. This leads to activation of immune cells and the secretion of proinflammatory cytokines such as IL-6 and TNF-α. In COVID-19, it has been observed that there are high levels of proinflammatory cytokines, particularly IL-6, in the blood of patients, especially patients with severe disease (abstract, Page 10, 2nd column, 3rd para.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have prevented the risk of developing cytokine release syndrome by administering vadadustat to treat COVID-19 from the teachings of Hu. One would have been motivated to do so because Yifan teaches patients suffering from COVID-19 and ARDS can develop cytokine release syndrome and Hu teaches the treatment of patients with COVID-19 and ARDS. There is a reasonable expectation of preventing the risk of developing cytokine release syndrome from the teachings of Hu and Yifan.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 10-11, 20, 23, 27, 89, 104, 156, 159-160, 165 and 168-169 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21, 26, 32, 34, 36, 39, 157-158, 160, 198-200, 202-208 of U.S. Patent No. 12629357. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 21, 26, 32, 34, 36, 39, 157-158, 160, 198-200, 202-208 of U.S. ‘357 teaches a once a day 900-1800 mg dosage of vadadustat to treat a respiratory viral infection of acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS), wherein the ARDS is associated and/or induced by coronavirus and prevents the risk of developing cytokine release syndrome.
Conclusion
MIKHAIL O'DONNEL. ROBINSON
Examiner
Art Unit 1627
/MIKHAIL O'DONNEL ROBINSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/SARAH PIHONAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627