DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 18/991,049 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the instant application are covered by the scope of the limitations recited in the co-pending application, see below:
Instant Application No. 18/991,049
Co-pending Application No. 18/991,069
1. An image decoding method performed by a decoding apparatus, the method comprising: obtaining image information comprising information related to motion compensation from a bitstream; deriving merge candidates of a current block; generating a merge candidate list of the current block based on the derived merge candidates; determining motion information of the current block based on the merge candidate list; and generating a predicted block of the current block based on the motion information of the current block, wherein the information related to the motion compensation includes motion vector resolution information, wherein the motion vector resolution information indicates a specific motion vector resolution among motion vector resolution candidates including an integer pel resolution, a 1/4 pel resolution and a 1/16 pel resolution, and wherein the motion vector resolution information is based on a truncated unary binarization.
1. An image decoding method performed by a decoding apparatus, the method comprising: obtaining image information comprising information related to motion compensation from a bitstream; deriving merge candidates of a current block; generating a merge candidate list of the current block based on the derived merge candidates; determining motion information of the current block based on the merge candidate list; and generating a predicted block of the current block based on the motion information of the current block, wherein the information related to the motion compensation includes motion vector resolution information, wherein the motion vector resolution information indicates a specific motion vector resolution among motion vector resolution candidates including an integer pel resolution, a 1/4 pel resolution and a 1/16 pel resolution, wherein the motion vector resolution information is signaled at a coding unit level, and wherein the motion vector resolution information is based on a truncated unary binarization.
Claim 2 of the instant application corresponds to claim 2 of Co-pending Application No. 18/991,069.
Claim 3 of the instant application corresponds to claim 3 of Co-pending Application No. 18/991,069.
Claim 4 of the instant application corresponds to claim 4 of Co-pending Application No. 18/991,069.
Claim 5 of the instant application corresponds to claim 5 of Co-pending Application No. 18/991,069.
Claim 6 of the instant application corresponds to claim 6 of Co-pending Application No. 18/991,069.
Claim 7 of the instant application corresponds to claim 7 of Co-pending Application No. 18/991,069.
Claim 8 of the instant application corresponds to claim 8 of Co-pending Application No. 18/991,069.
Claim 9 of the instant application corresponds to claim 9 of Co-pending Application No. 18/991,069.
Claim 10 of the instant application corresponds to claim 10 of Co-pending Application No. 18/991,069.
Claim 11 of the instant application corresponds to claim 11 of Co-pending Application No. 18/991,069.
Claim 12 of the instant application corresponds to claim 12 of Co-pending Application No. 18/991,069.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,309,390 B2 (herein referenced as “Jun”) in view of Lim et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0297325 A1).
As per claim 1, Jun teaches an image decoding method performed by a decoding apparatus (claim 1), the method comprising: obtaining image information comprising information related to motion compensation from a bitstream (claim 1, col. 55 lines 59-60); deriving merge candidates of a current block (claim 1, col. 55 lines 61); generating a merge candidate list of the current block based on the derived merge candidates (claim 1, col. 55 lines 62-63); determining motion information of the current block based on the merge candidate list (claim 1, col. 55 lines 64-65); and generating a predicted block of the current block based on the motion information of the current block (claim 1, col. 55 lines 65-67), wherein the information related to the motion compensation includes motion vector resolution information (claim 1, col. 56 lines 1-2), wherein the motion vector resolution information indicates a specific motion vector resolution among motion vector resolution candidates including an integer pel resolution, a 1/4 pel resolution and a 1/16 pel resolution (claim 1, col. 56 lines 3-7), and wherein the motion vector resolution information is based on a truncated binarization (claim 1, col. 56 lines 10-11).
Jun does not explicitly disclose wherein the motion vector resolution information is based on a truncated unary binarization.
However, Lim teaches wherein the motion vector resolution information is based on a truncated unary binarization ([0439], [0469] and [0495]; “… herein the information about motion compensation may include at least one of … information about a motion vector resolution..” and further in para [0495], “… When entropy encoding/decoding information about motion compensation or granularity information, a truncated Rice binarization method, a K-th order Exp_Golomb binarization method, a constrained K-th order Exp_Golomb binarization method, a fixed-length binarization method, a unary binarization method, or a truncated unary binarization method may be used”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lim with Jun in order to provide a method and apparatus for encoding/decoding information about motion compensation that is commonly applied to a specific region to improve encoding/decoding efficiency of a picture.
Claim 2 of the instant application corresponds to claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,309,390 B2.
Claim 3 of the instant application corresponds to claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,309,390 B2.
Claim 4 of the instant application corresponds to claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,309,390 B2.
Claim 5 of the instant application is the corresponding image encoding method performed by an encoding apparatus with the limitations of the image decoding method performed by a decoding apparatus, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 1 also applies here.
Claim 6 of the instant application corresponds to claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,309,390 B2.
Claim 7 of the instant application corresponds to claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,309,390 B2.
Claim 8 of the instant application corresponds to claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,309,390 B2.
Claim 9 of the instant application is the corresponding transmission method for image data with the limitations of the image decoding method performed by a decoding apparatus, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 1 also applies here.
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 18/991,072 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the instant application are covered by the scope of the limitations recited in the co-pending application, see below:
Instant Application No. 18/991,049
Co-pending Application No. 18/991,072
1. An image decoding method performed by a decoding apparatus, the method comprising: obtaining image information comprising information related to motion compensation from a bitstream; deriving merge candidates of a current block; generating a merge candidate list of the current block based on the derived merge candidates; determining motion information of the current block based on the merge candidate list; and generating a predicted block of the current block based on the motion information of the current block, wherein the information related to the motion compensation includes motion vector resolution information, wherein the motion vector resolution information indicates a specific motion vector resolution among motion vector resolution candidates including an integer pel resolution, a 1/4 pel resolution and a 1/16 pel resolution, and wherein the motion vector resolution information is based on a truncated unary binarization.
1. An image decoding method performed by a decoding apparatus, the method comprising: obtaining image information comprising information related to motion compensation from a bitstream; deriving merge candidates of a current block; generating a merge candidate list of the current block based on the derived merge candidates; determining motion information of the current block based on the merge candidate list; and generating a predicted block of the current block based on the motion information of the current block, wherein the information related to the motion compensation includes motion vector resolution information, wherein the motion vector resolution information indicates a specific motion vector resolution among motion vector resolution candidates including an integer pel resolution, a 1/4 pel resolution and a 1/16 pel resolution, wherein the merge candidates include motion vectors of neighboring blocks of the current block, wherein the motion vector resolution information is signaled at a coding unit level, and wherein the motion vector resolution information is entropy decoded based on a context model, wherein the motion vector resolution information is based on a truncated unary binarization.
Claim 2 of the instant application corresponds to claim 2 of Co-pending Application No. 18/991,072.
Claim 3 of the instant application corresponds to claim 3 of Co-pending Application No. 18/991,072.
Claim 4 of the instant application corresponds to claim 4 of Co-pending Application No. 18/991,072.
Claim 5 of the instant application corresponds to claim 5 of Co-pending Application No. 18/991,072.
Claim 6 of the instant application corresponds to claim 6 of Co-pending Application No. 18/991,072.
Claim 7 of the instant application corresponds to claim 7 of Co-pending Application No. 18/991,072.
Claim 8 of the instant application corresponds to claim 8 of Co-pending Application No. 18/991,072.
Claim 9 of the instant application corresponds to claim 9 of Co-pending Application No. 18/991,072.
Claim 10 of the instant application corresponds to claim 10 of Co-pending Application No. 18/991,072.
Claim 11 of the instant application corresponds to claim 11 of Co-pending Application No. 18/991,072.
Claim 12 of the instant application corresponds to claim 12 of Co-pending Application No. 18/991,072.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Lim et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0297325 A1).
As per claim 1, Lim teaches an image decoding method performed by a decoding apparatus, the method comprising: obtaining image information comprising information related to motion compensation from a bitstream ([0438-0439],[0469], “the information about motion compensation may include at least one of a motion vector candidate, a motion vector candidate list, a merge candidate, merge candidate list,…”) deriving merge candidates of a current block ([0087-0088]), generating a merge candidate list of the current block based on the derived merge candidates ([0087], [0194], [0196]); determining motion information of the current block based on the merge candidate list ([0194-0196]); and generating a predicted block of the current block based on the motion information of the current block (fig. 2, [0348]), wherein the information related to the motion compensation includes motion vector resolution ([0438-0439], [0469]), wherein the motion vector resolution information indicates a specific motion vector resolution among motion vector resolution candidates including an integer pel resolution, ¼ pel resolution and 1/16 pel resolution ([0439], [0507], “Information about a motion vector resolution may be information representing whether or not a specific resolution is used for at least one of a motion vector and a motion vector difference value. Herein, the resolution may refer to a precision. In addition, the specific resolution may be set to at least one of an integer-pixel (integer-pel) unit, a ½-pixel(½-pel) unit, a ¼-pixel (¼-pel) unit, a ⅛-pixel (⅛-pel) unit, a 1/16-pixel ( 1/16-pel) unit, a 1/32-pixel ( 1/32-pel) unit, and a 1/64-pixel ( 1/64-pel) unit”), wherein the motion vector resolution is based on a truncated unary binarization ([0439], [0469] and [0495]; “… herein the information about motion compensation may include at least one of … information about a motion vector resolution..” and further in para [0495], “… When entropy encoding/decoding information about motion compensation or granularity information, a truncated Rice binarization method, a K-th order Exp_Golomb binarization method, a constrained K-th order Exp_Golomb binarization method, a fixed-length binarization method, a unary binarization method, or a truncated unary binarization method may be used”).
As per claim 2, Lim teaches wherein the motion vector resolution information is entropy decoded base on a context model ([0495-0496]); and wherein the context model is determined based on information on a size of the current block ([0495-0496]; “a context model may be determined by using at least one of information about motion compensation of a neighboring block adjacent to the current block … and size information of the current block”).
As per claim 3, Lim teaches wherein the motion vector resolution information is entropy decoded based on a context model ([0495-0496]), and wherein the context model is determined based on information related to motion compensation of a neighboring block of the current block ([0496], “entropy encoding/decoding information about motion compensation or granularity information, a context model may be determined by using at least one of information about motion compensation of a neighboring block adjacent to the current block …”).
As per claim 5, which is the corresponding encoding method performed by an encoding apparatus with the limitations of the image decoding method as recited in claim 1. Thus, the rejection and analysis made for claim 1 also applies here.
As per claim 6, which is the corresponding encoding method performed by an encoding apparatus with the limitations of the image decoding method as recited in claim 2. Thus, the rejection and analysis made for claim 1 also applies here.
As per claim 7, which is the corresponding encoding method performed by an encoding apparatus with the limitations of the image decoding method as recited in claim 3. Thus, the rejection and analysis made for claim 1 also applies here.
As per claim 9, which is the corresponding transmission method with the limitations of the image decoding method as recited in claim 1. Thus, the rejection and analysis made for claim 1 also applies here. In addition, Lim teaches transmitting the image data comprising the bitstream (fig.2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 8 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0297325 A1) and further in view of Chuang et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0337649 A1).
As per claim 4, Although Lim teaches wherein the motion vector resolution information is entropy decoded based on a context model ([0495-0496]), Lim does not explicitly disclose wherein the model is determined based on information related to a prediction mode of the current block.
However, Chuang teaches wherein the model is determined based on information related to a prediction mode of the current block ([0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Chuang with Lim for the benefit of improving the coding efficiency of adaptive MV precision.
As per claim 8, which is the corresponding method with the limitations of the method as recited in claim 4, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 4 also applies here.
As per claim 12, which is the corresponding image encoding method with the limitations of the method as recited in the image decoding method as recited in claim 4, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 4 also applies here.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Kondo et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0254687 A1), “Encoding Device and Encoding Method, And Decoding Device And Decoding Method”
Contact
JESSICA PRINCE
Examiner
Art Unit 2486
/JESSICA M PRINCE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486