1074DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 4-12, 15-18, 22-23 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 12-15, 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siagian et al. (US 11871068) in view of Jelonek et al. (US 2008/0002892).
Claim 1, Siagian teaches An audio and video synchronization detection method, comprising:
extracting image data and audio data of a video segment of a target length (i.e. audio/video data of conversation segment) (col. 2, lines 17-55);
obtaining a plurality of face image lists (i.e. neural network of facial images) by performing face detection and tracking based on the extracted image data (i.e. portion of conversation segment) (col. 14, lines 35-58);
extracting mouth features corresponding to each face image list based on a traversal result of the face image list (i.e. open or closed mouths), wherein the mouth features are used to characterize changes of lips (i.e. open or closed mouth) (col. 8, lines 4-42, col. 14, lines 35-58); and
determining a synchronization result of the video segment based on the audio data and the mouth features (i.e. determining a synchronization error) (col. 2, lines 17-55);
wherein extracting the image data and the audio data of the video segment of the target length, comprises:
extracting audio frames in the video segment of the target length (i.e. conversation segments), and generating an audio data list based on the audio frames (i.e. neural network for determining audio transition points) (col. 2, lines 17-55, col. 5-6, lines 52-21);
wherein obtaining the plurality of face image lists by performing face detection and tracking based on the extracted image data, comprises:
obtaining one or more face images each with a face area greater than a preset threshold (i.e. threshold for detecting facial images in frames) in each image frame by detecting the image frame in the image data list (i.e. using neural network which contains training data of images) (col. 14, lines 35-58);
obtaining one or more face identity documents (IDs) (i.e. open or closed mouths) by tracking face images in each image frame based on face features (i.e. open or closed mouths) (col. 8, lines 4-42, col. 14, lines 35-58);
extracting image frames in the video segment of the target length (i.e. conversation segment), and generating an image data list based on the image frames (i.e. neural network of facial images) (col. 2, lines 17-55, col. 14, lines 35-58).
Siagon is not entirely clear in teaching the specific features of:
denoting the one or more face identifiers to corresponding image frames; and
obtaining respective facial lists corresponding to the one or more faces by grouping image frames containing a same facial identifier.
Jelonek teaches the specific features of:
denoting the one or more face identifiers (i.e. facial features) to corresponding image frames (i.e. imaes) (p. 0043-0044); and
obtaining respective facial lists (i.e. appears attributes) corresponding to the one or more faces by grouping image frames containing a same facial identifier (i.e. all the image frames that show a particular attribute and grouped together and assessed using a neural net to determine a metatag description of the face) (fig. 8; p. 0044, 0103-0108).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the present invention to have provided grouping of facial image data as taught by Jelonek to the system of Siagan to provide facial attribute analysis (p. 0044).
Claim 4, Siagian teaches The method of claim 3, wherein extracting the mouth features corresponding to each face image list based on the traversal result of the face image list, comprises:
traversing face images in each face image list (i.e. neural network of facial images) and extracting mouth features of each face image (i.e. open or closed mouths) (col. 8, lines 4-42, col. 14, lines 35-58); and
generating a mouth feature list of each face image based on the mouth features of each face image (i.e. open or closed mouths training data of neural network) (col. 8, lines 4-42, col. 14, lines 35-58).
Claims 12 and 22 is analyzed and interpreted as an apparatus of claim 1.
Claim 15 is analyzed and interpreted as an apparatus of claim 4.
Claim 23 recites “A non-transitory computer program product comprising a computer program, wherein when the computer program is executed by a processor” to perform the steps of claim 1. Siagian teaches “A non-transitory computer program product comprising a computer program, wherein when the computer program is executed by a processor” to perform the steps of claim 1 (col. 18, lines 4-29).
Claim(s) 5-11, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siagian et al. (US 11871068) in view of Jelonek et al. (US 2008/0002892), and further in view of Mathews (US 2022/0269922).
Claim 5, Siagian teaches the method of claim 4, wherein determining the synchronization result of the video segment based on the audio data and the mouth features, comprises:
obtaining a labial-sound similarity corresponding to the face image list based on a mouth feature list containing a mouth feature corresponding to an opening and closing change and an audio feature sequence of the audio data list; and
performing audio and video synchronization detection on the video segment based on the sound similarity corresponding to the image list (i.e. audio speech detection of portions), to determine the synchronization result of the video segment (i.e. errors in synchronization) (col. 2, lines 17-55).
Siagian is not entirely clear in teaching the specific feature of:
obtaining a labial-sound similarity corresponding to the face image list based on a mouth feature list containing a mouth feature corresponding to an opening and closing change and an audio feature sequence of the audio data list.
Mathews teaches the specific feature of:
obtaining a labial-sound similarity (i.e. sounds for audio/speech) corresponding to the face image list based on a mouth feature list containing a mouth feature corresponding to an opening and closing change and an audio feature sequence of the audio data list (i.e. neural network training for speech sounds corresponding to mouth movements) (p. 0044).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the present invention to have provided speech sound detection as taught by Mathews to the system of Siagian to provide video analysis of speech segments (p. 0044).
Claim 6, Siagian teaches The method of claim 5, wherein a process of determining the mouth feature list containing the mouth feature corresponding to the opening and closing change, comprises:
determining the mouth feature list containing the mouth feature corresponding to the opening and closing change by extracting lip movement features from the mouth feature list (i.e. open or closed mouths training data of neural network) (col. 8, lines 4-42, col. 14, lines 35-58).
Claim 7, Siagian is silent regarding the method of claim 5, wherein determining the audio feature sequence, comprises:
obtaining an audio frame sequence by ranking the audio frames based on time stamps of the audio frames in the audio data list; and
obtaining the audio feature sequence by extracting audio features from the audio frame sequence.
Mathews teaches the method of claim 5, wherein determining the audio feature sequence, comprises:
obtaining an audio frame sequence by ranking the audio frames based on time stamps of the audio frames in the audio data list (i.e. classification score and timestamps within metadata of frames (p. 0030); and
obtaining the audio feature sequence by extracting audio features from the audio frame sequence (i.e. obtaining from report) (p. 0030).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the present invention to have provided speech sound detection as taught by Mathews to the system of Siagian to provide video analysis of speech segments (p. 0044).
Claim 8, Siagia, is silent regarding the method of claim 5, wherein obtaining the labial-sound similarity corresponding to the face image list based on the mouth feature list containing the mouth feature corresponding to the opening and closing change and the audio feature sequence of the audio data list, comprises:
inputting the mouth feature list containing the mouth feature corresponding to the opening and closing change and the audio feature sequence into a pre-trained labial-sound synchronization detection model; and
obtaining the labial-sound similarity corresponding to the face image list by performing cross-modal similarity calculation on the mouth feature list containing the mouth feature corresponding to the opening and closing change and the audio feature sequence through the labial-sound synchronization detection model.
Mathews teaches the specific features of:
inputting the mouth feature list containing the mouth feature corresponding to the opening and closing change and the audio feature sequence into a pre-trained labial-sound synchronization detection model (i.e. neural network training for speech sounds corresponding to mouth movements) (p. 0044); and
obtaining the labial-sound similarity corresponding to the face image list by performing cross-modal similarity calculation (i.e. using neural network) on the mouth feature list containing the mouth feature corresponding to the opening and closing change and the audio feature sequence through the labial-sound synchronization detection model (i.e. neural network training for speech sounds corresponding to mouth movements) (p. 0044).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the present invention to have provided speech sound detection as taught by Mathews to the system of Siagian to provide video analysis of speech segments (p. 0044).
Claim 9, Siagian teaches the method of claim 5, wherein performing audio and video synchronization detection on the video segment based on the sound similarity corresponding to the face image list, to determine the synchronization result of the video segment, comprises:
performing audio and video synchronization detection on the video segment based on the statistical count, to determine the synchronization result of the video segment (i.e. errors in synchronization) (col. 2, lines 17-55).
Siagian is silent regarding the specific features of:
determining a preset similarity threshold;
determining whether the labial-sound similarity corresponding to the face image list is greater than the preset similarity threshold;
obtaining a statistical count of face image lists each with the labial-sound similarity greater than or equal to the preset similarity threshold.
Mathews teaches the specific features of:
determining a preset similarity threshold (i.e. threshold similarity values) (p. 0021);
determining whether the labial-sound similarity corresponding to the face image list is greater than the preset similarity threshold (i.e. speech sounds are determined by a trained neural network which inherently have preset thresholds) (p. 0044);
obtaining a statistical count of face image lists each with the labial-sound similarity greater than or equal to the preset similarity threshold (i.e. neural network inherently person a comparison between training data and input data using at least statistical counts) (p. 0021, 0030, 0044).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the present invention to have provided speech sound detection as taught by Mathews to the system of Siagian to provide video analysis of speech segments (p. 0044).
Claim 10, Siagian teaches the method of claim 6, wherein performing audio and video synchronization detection on the video segment based on the statistical count, to determine the synchronization result of the video segment, comprises:
determining a preset quantity threshold (i.e. threshold for detecting synchronization errors);
in response to the statistical count being greater than or equal to the preset quantity threshold, determining that the video segment is audio-video synchronized (i.e. neural networks inherently utilize statistical counts, in this case for determining synchronization errors) (col. 2, lines 17-55, col. 5-6, lines 52-21); and
in response to the statistical count being less than the preset quantity threshold, determining that the video segment is audio-video unsynchronized synchronized (i.e. neural networks inherently utilize statistical counts, in this case for determining synchronization errors) (col. 2, lines 17-55, col. 5-6, lines 52-21).
Claim 11, Siagian teaches The method of claim 6, before determining the audio feature sequence, further comprising:
extracting key points (i.e. facial movements) of a mouth from a mouth feature image in the mouth feature list, and tracking the key points to obtain a motion trajectory of the key points (i.e. open or closed mouths based on facial movements) (col. 2-3, lines 57-14, col. 8, lines 4-42, col. 14, lines 35-58); and
determining whether the mouth exhibits an opening and closing change based on the motion trajectory (i.e. open or closed mouths based on facial movements) (col. 2-3, lines 57-14, col. 8, lines 4-42, col. 14, lines 35-58).
Claim 16 is analyzed and interpreted as an apparatus of claim 5.
Claim 17 is analyzed and interpreted as an apparatus of claim 6.
Claim 18 is analyzed and interpreted as an apparatus of claim 7.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4-12, 15-18, 22-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 4-12, 15-18, 22-23 are rejected.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230410290 A1 Desai; Deshana et al.
US 20190278804 A1 Matsushita; Masahiro et al.
US 20190034706 A1 el Kaliouby; Rana et al.
US 20180018508 A1 TUSCH; Michael
US 20100205541 A1 Rapaport; Jeffrey A. et al.
US 7027621 B1 Prokoski; Francine J.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
MUSHFIKH I. ALAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2426
/MUSHFIKH I ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426 4/2/2026