DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Final action is in response to the applicant’s amendment/response of May 28, 2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to the objection to the claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the objection to the claims as presented in the Office Action of March 24, 2026 has been withdrawn. However, new objection to the claims is presented below based on the amendments to the claims presented in the Amendment of 28 May 2026.
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC §112(b) have been fully considered and are partially persuasive. With respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC §112(b), limitations within the claims have been amended and amendments overcome the rejection under 35 USC §112(b). However, the amendments to claims do not overcome the rejection under 35 USC §112(b) going to the specific limitations of “the processing” in claims 1, 8, and 15. Therefore, the rejection of such claims under 35 USC §112(b) is maintained herein, and new rejection of claims under 35 USC §112(b) is presented below based on the amendments to the claims presented in the Amendment of 28 May 2026.
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 101 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 102 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of POORSARTEP and YOUNG.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7-9, 12, 15, 16, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 21, “wherein filtering …” should read “wherein the filtering …”.
Claim 2, line 1, “wherein filtering …” should read “wherein the filtering …”.
Claim 5, line 7, “the threshold” should read “the baseline threshold amplitude”.
Claim 7, line 2, “the AV” should read “the autonomous vehicle”.
Claim 8, lines 9-10, “audio signals” should read “the one or more audio signals”.
Claim 8, line 20, “the at least one acoustic sensor are …” appears to be a typographical error and should read “the at least one acoustic sensor is …”.
Claim 8, line 23, “wherein filtering …” should read “wherein the filtering …”.
Claim 9, line 1, “wherein filtering …” should read “wherein the filtering …”.
Claim 12, line 7, “the threshold” should read “the baseline threshold amplitude”.
Claim 15, line 17, “wherein filtering …” should read “wherein the filtering …”.
Claim 16, line 1, “wherein filtering …” should read “wherein the filtering …”.
Claim 18, line 6, “the threshold” should read “the baseline threshold amplitude”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, the limitation “the one or more sound patterns” at line 25 is unclear. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the Examiner is interpreting the limitation to be “one or more sound patterns”.
Further, the limitation “the processing” at line 29 is unclear. Specifically, it is unclear what “the processing” is referring to. Is it referring to “the processing the plurality of inputs to establish …”?, “the processing the plurality of inputs to identify …”?, is it referring to “the processing the one or more filtered audio signals to isolate …”?, or is it referring to “the processing the one or more sound patterns to identify …”? It is unclear what is being claimed in light of Applicant’s original disclosure. For purposes of examination, the Examiner is interpreting the limitation to be “the processing the one or more sound patterns to identify …”.
As to claim 8, the limitation “the route” at line 18 is unclear. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the Examiner is interpreting the limitation to be “a route”.
Further, the limitation “the one or more sound patterns” at line 27 is unclear. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the Examiner is interpreting the limitation to be “one or more sound patterns”.
Furthermore, the limitation “the processing” at line 31 is unclear. Specifically, it is unclear what “the processing” is referring to. Is it referring to “the processing the plurality of inputs to establish …”?, “the processing the plurality of inputs to identify …”?, is it referring to “the processing the one or more filtered audio signals to isolate …”?, or is it referring to “the processing the one or more sound patterns to identify …”? It is unclear what is being claimed in light of Applicant’s original disclosure. For purposes of examination, the Examiner is interpreting the limitation to be “the processing the one or more sound patterns to identify …”.
As to claim 15, the limitation “the route” at line 12 is unclear. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the Examiner is interpreting the limitation to be “a route”.
Further, the limitation “the one or more sound patterns” at line 21 is unclear. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the Examiner is interpreting the limitation to be “one or more sound patterns”.
Furthermore, the limitation “the processing” at line 25 is unclear. Specifically, it is unclear what “the processing” is referring to. Is it referring to “the processing the plurality of inputs to establish …”?, “the processing the plurality of inputs to identify …”?, is it referring to “the processing the one or more filtered audio signals to isolate …”?, or is it referring to “the processing the one or more sound patterns to identify …”? It is unclear what is being claimed in light of Applicant’s original disclosure. For purposes of examination, the Examiner is interpreting the limitation to be “the processing the one or more sound patterns to identify …”.
Claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-11, 14-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over POORSARTEP, US 2023/0356551 A1, hereinafter referred to as POORSARTEP, in view of YOUNG et al., US 2021/0166719 A1, hereinafter referred to as YOUNG, respectively.
As to claim 1, POORSARTEP teaches a computing system for detecting anomalies of an autonomous vehicle while navigating a route (see at least Abstract regarding detecting the failure of a tire of an autonomous vehicle (AV), POORSARTEP), the computing system comprising:
at least one memory configured to store machine executable instructions (see at least paragraphs 39-42 regarding the memory 24 may include one or more non-transitory memory devices such as, for example, volatile and/or non-volatile memory that may be either fixed or removable. … The memory may be configured to store information, data, applications, computer program code, instructions and/or the like for enabling the control subsystem to carry out various functions in accordance with one or more example embodiments, POORSARTEP); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and configured to execute the machine executable instructions to (see at least paragraphs 39-42 regarding the processing circuitry 22 may include a processor, and in some embodiments, such as that illustrated in FIG. 2, may further include memory 24, POORSARTEP):
receive a plurality of inputs from one or more acoustic sensors positioned in one or more locations of the autonomous vehicle (see at least FIG. 1 and paragraphs 32-36 regarding the autonomous vehicle 10, such as the tractor-trailer of FIG. 1, also includes a plurality of microphones 18 carried by the autonomous vehicle and configured to capture audio signals including audio signals indicative of a tire failure. See also at least paragraphs 44-53 regarding receiving signals from the one or more microphones 18 carried by the autonomous vehicle 10. The signals received from the one or more microphones are representative of the audio signals captured by the one or more microphones and, as such, represent the frequency and amplitude of the audio signals captured by the one or more microphones, POORSARTEP), wherein the one or more acoustic sensors are configured to capture one or more audio signals associated with operation of the autonomous vehicle from an environment surrounding the autonomous vehicle (see at least FIG. 1 and paragraphs 32-36. See also at least paragraphs 44-53, POORSARTEP);
process the plurality of inputs to identify which of the one or more audio signals from the one or more acoustic sensors are generated by at least one component of the autonomous vehicle (see at least FIG. 1 and paragraphs 32-36. See also at least paragraphs 44-53 regarding evaluating signal characteristics of the signals received from the one or more microphones 18, so as to identify signals having signal characteristics indicative of a tire failure. See also at least paragraph 64 regarding it is beneficial to know which specific tire 16 is affected such that the remedial action can be optimized based on the importance and/or failure type of the specific tire 16. For example, failure of a critical tire 16 may require more urgent or different remedial action than failure of a redundant or less critical tire 16, POORSARTEP);
process the one or more filtered audio signals to isolate the one or more sound patterns to identify whether the one or more sound patterns are associated with an anomaly that represents a failure of the at least one component of the autonomous vehicle (see at least FIG. 1 and paragraphs 32-36. See also at least paragraphs 44-53 regarding evaluating a variety of different signal characteristics in any number of different manners in order to identify signals indicative of a tire failure. In an example embodiment, however, the processing circuitry is configured to filter these signals based upon one or more of the frequency of the signals or the amplitude of the signals in order to discriminate between signals having signal characteristics indicative of tire failure from signals attributable to other sources, such as signals representative of road noise, signals representative of sirens generated by emergency or safety vehicles or the like, POORSARTEP);
process the one or more sound patterns to identify periodic sound patterns associated with tire rotation (see at least FIG. 1 and paragraphs 32-36. See also at least paragraphs 44-53, POORSARTEP), wherein the processing includes a determination of a frequency and an amplitude of the periodic sound patterns to detect a specific tire of the autonomous vehicle exhibiting the anomaly (see at least FIG. 1 and paragraphs 32-36. See also at least paragraphs 44-53 regarding signals having the same frequency as the signals generated in response to a tire failure may also be present in the audio signals generated by other sources, such as road noise or the sirens of emergency vehicles, but the tire failure may generate audio signals having the first or second predefined frequency or the first or second predefined range of frequencies with a much greater amplitude. By comparing the amplitude of the signals having the first or second predefined frequency or signals within the first or second predefined ranges of frequency to the predefined threshold, the processing circuitry is configured to identify a tire failure with enhanced accuracy, POORSARTEP); and
generate one or more control signals to initiate a corrective action by the autonomous vehicle in response to detecting a tire anomaly (see at least paragraphs 44-53 and 58 regarding in response to identifying a tire failure, the control subsystem 20, such as the processing circuitry 22, is also configured to determine the remedial action to be taken based at least in part upon the type of tire failure. See also at least paragraphs 84-87, POORSARTEP).
POORSARTEP does not explicitly teach processing the plurality of inputs to establish a baseline audio signature representative of a normal vehicle operation, wherein the baseline audio signature is based on operation of the autonomous vehicle in environmental conditions including road conditions, weather conditions, wind noise, or combinations thereof, and wherein the baseline audio signature includes a baseline threshold amplitude; dynamically adjusting the baseline threshold amplitude based on changes in the environmental conditions as the autonomous vehicle navigates the route; or filtering the baseline audio signature from the one or more audio signals that are generated by the at least one component of the autonomous vehicle, wherein filtering the baseline audio signature from the one or more audio signals generates one or more filtered audio signals.
However, YOUNG teaches processing the plurality of inputs to establish a baseline audio signature representative of a normal vehicle operation, wherein the baseline audio signature is based on operation of the autonomous vehicle in environmental conditions including road conditions, weather conditions, wind noise, or combinations thereof, and wherein the baseline audio signature includes a baseline threshold amplitude (see at least FIG. 4 and paragraphs 67 and 73-77 regarding as there is a great deal of continuous audio data that can be captured from the audio sensors of example embodiments, isolating and extracting significant audio events is important to ensure the map layer including audio events is meaningful and useful. As noted above, there are two key events sought when extracting audio events from audio data. Changes in amplitude measured in decibels for peak audio events helps to identify percussive sound events in the road such as road seams, cracks, potholes, etc. Changes in frequency measured in Hertz can help detect changes in road surfaces such as moving from concrete to pavement, or pavement to a grated bridge surface, for example. When looking to extract changes in amplitude, a baseline road noise level must first be established against which changes in amplitude may be measured. It is impractical to capture all of these factors as they can change such that a baseline standard may be calculated to establish a reference or baseline sound. … Using frequency analysis, the baseline can be established); dynamically adjusting the baseline threshold amplitude based on changes in the environmental conditions as the autonomous vehicle navigates the route (see at least paragraphs 66-67 regarding outliers may include a variety of sound sources. For example, rain is a dynamic and temporary event, and after rain has begun and wet the surface of the road, the sound change from rain may be primarily with regard to a change in the baseline road noise rather than an audio event. However, in an example in which a sudden downpour were to start or if a vehicle exits a tunnel into a rainstorm, using the above techniques to identify audio events may identify the wet surface as a road surface change in a similar manner as one would experience transitioning from asphalt to concrete); and filtering the baseline audio signature from the one or more audio signals that are generated by the at least one component of the autonomous vehicle, wherein filtering the baseline audio signature from the one or more audio signals generates one or more filtered audio signals (see at least paragraph 5 regarding suppressing at least a portion of the audio data from the sensor in response to the at least a portion of the audio data from the sensor failing to satisfy the predetermined criteria for an audio event. See also at least paragraphs 60-67 and 73-78 regarding various factors contribute to frequencies of sounds exhibited by tires as they travel along a road surface. These include a weight of a vehicle, size of the tires, both in diameter and width), tread depth/wear and pattern on a tire, tire sidewall height, tire pressure (which contributes to tire contact patch size), vehicle speed, and surface type. It is impractical to capture all of these factors as they can change such that a baseline standard may be calculated to establish a reference or baseline sound. Once audio events are filtered to establish the presence of actual audio events that are considered distinct, the audio events may be encoded for mapping purposes. Audio events may include events captured that relate to significant amplitude changes, or significant frequency changes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of YOUNG which teaches processing the plurality of inputs to establish a baseline audio signature representative of a normal vehicle operation, wherein the baseline audio signature is based on operation of the autonomous vehicle in environmental conditions including road conditions, weather conditions, wind noise, or combinations thereof, and wherein the baseline audio signature includes a baseline threshold amplitude; dynamically adjusting the baseline threshold amplitude based on changes in the environmental conditions as the autonomous vehicle navigates the route; and filtering the baseline audio signature from the one or more audio signals that are generated by the at least one component of the autonomous vehicle, wherein filtering the baseline audio signature from the one or more audio signals generates one or more filtered audio signals with the system of POORSARTEP as both systems are directed to a system and method for detecting acoustic events during vehicle operation by analyzing audio signals based on the sensor data, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of processing the plurality of inputs to establish a baseline audio signature representative of a normal vehicle operation, wherein the baseline audio signature is based on operation of the autonomous vehicle in environmental conditions including road conditions, weather conditions, wind noise, or combinations thereof, and wherein the baseline audio signature includes a baseline threshold amplitude; dynamically adjusting the baseline threshold amplitude based on changes in the environmental conditions as the autonomous vehicle navigates the route; and filtering the baseline audio signature from the one or more audio signals that are generated by the at least one component of the autonomous vehicle, wherein filtering the baseline audio signature from the one or more audio signals generates one or more filtered audio signals and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of POORSARTEP.
As to claim 2, POORSARTEP does not explicitly teach wherein filtering the baseline audio signature from the one or more audio signals removes a set of inputs identified as normal road sounds not indicating the failure of the at least one component of the autonomous vehicle.
However, such matter is taught by YOUNG (see at least paragraph 5 regarding suppressing at least a portion of the audio data from the sensor in response to the at least a portion of the audio data from the sensor failing to satisfy the predetermined criteria for an audio event. See also at least paragraphs 60-67 and 73-78 regarding changes in amplitude measured in decibels for peak audio events helps to identify percussive sound events in the road such as road seams, cracks, potholes, etc. Changes in frequency measured in Hertz can help detect changes in road surfaces such as moving from concrete to pavement, or pavement to a grated bridge surface, for example. When looking to extract changes in amplitude, a baseline road noise level must first be established against which changes in amplitude may be measured. Most percussive sound events are demonstrated by a high spike in amplitude that is relatively short in timing. A graphical representation of changes in amplitude is depicted in FIG. 4 where a single threshold line represents a noise floor below which audio events are ignored).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of YOUNG which teaches wherein filtering the baseline audio signature from the one or more audio signals removes a set of inputs identified as normal road sounds not indicating the failure of the at least one component of the autonomous vehicle with the system of POORSARTEP as both systems are directed to a system and method for detecting acoustic events during vehicle operation by analyzing audio signals based on the sensor data, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of removing a set of inputs identified as normal road sounds not indicating the failure of the at least one component of the autonomous vehicle and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of POORSARTEP.
As to claim 3, POORSARTEP teaches wherein the corrective action comprises one or more of reducing vehicle speed, or directing the autonomous vehicle to a shoulder of a road along the route (see at least FIGS. 4-5 and paragraphs 53-59 regarding causing the remedial action to be taken. In considering the candidate locations, the control subsystem, such as the processing circuitry, may be configured to evaluate the width and surface characteristics (e.g., pavement, gravel, dirt or grass, etc.) of the shoulder or other surface onto which the autonomous vehicle could pull over as well as the surroundings proximate the various candidate locations such that the autonomous vehicle is only directed to pull over to the side of the road at a location at which there is little, if any, risk that the fire that is burning the tire spreads beyond the tire to the surroundings proximate the location, such as to dry grass along the roadside that may be subject to catching fire in an instance in which the shoulder of the roadway is narrow, POORSARTEP).
As to claim 4, POORSARTEP teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to convert the one or more audio signals from a time domain to a frequency domain (see at least paragraph 45 regarding receiving signals from the one or more microphones 18 carried by the autonomous vehicle 10. The signals received from the one or more microphones are representative of the audio signals captured by the one or more microphones and, as such, represent the frequency and amplitude of the audio signals captured by the one or more microphones. The signals are generally provided by the one or more microphones to the control subsystem in real time or near real time. As described below, the signals provided by the one or more microphones to the control subsystem may also include or be associated with information identifying the respective microphone that captured the audio signals and the time at which the audio signals were captured, POORSARTEP).
As to claim 7, POORSARTEP teaches wherein the one or more acoustic sensors are positioned asymmetrically on an external of the AV (see at least FIG. 1 and paragraph 34 regarding one or more microphones 18 may be mounted to the tractor 12 and to the trailer 14 proximate each tire or each combination of tires 16. In this regard, some trailers or tractors include two or more tires, generally referred to as dual tires or double tires, mounted on the same axle and on the same side of the tractor-trailer. For example, a single axle may support four tires, two on each opposed side of the trailer. In this example embodiment, one or more microphones may be mounted to the trailer proximate each of the dual tires with the one or more microphones mounted on the trailer proximate a respective one of the dual tires serving to capture audio signals generated by the failure of either tire of the dual tires, POORSARTEP), and the at least one processor is configured to triangulate a location of the anomaly by differentiating the one or more sound patterns across the one or more acoustic sensors positioned near the at least one component of the autonomous vehicle, wherein the location of the anomaly is associated with a failed component of the autonomous vehicle (see at least paragraphs 33 and 48-49 regarding as an alternative to comparing the amplitude of the signals having the first or second predefined frequency or signals within the first or second predefined ranges of frequencies to a predefined threshold, the control subsystem 20, such as the processing circuitry 22, of another example embodiment may be configured to determine whether the amplitude of the signals having the first or second predefined frequency or the signals within the first or second predefined ranges of frequencies is the largest of all of the signals of various frequencies that were captured by the one or more microphones 18. In this example embodiment, the control subsystem, such as the processing circuitry, is configured to only identify a tire failure in an instance in which the amplitude of the signals having the first or second predefined frequency or the signals within the first or second predefined ranges of frequencies is the largest from among the signals captured by the one or more microphones, thereby increasing the accuracy with which a tire failure is identified. See also at least paragraph 65 regarding determining that a tire of the trailer has experienced tire failure. In an instance in which a plurality of microphones are mounted on the tractor at different distances from the various tires of the trailer, the control subsystem, such as the processing circuitry, is configured to determine the tire of the trailer that has experienced tire failure or at least is most likely to have experienced tire failure, such as by triangulation based upon the predetermined locations of the microphones and the plurality of tires and the differences in time at which the different microphones captured the audio signals having the signal characteristics indicative of the tire failure, POORSARTEP).
As to claim 8, Examiner notes claim 8 recites similar limitations to claim 1 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 9, Examiner notes claim 9 recites similar limitations to claim 2 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 10, Examiner notes claim 10 recites similar limitations to claim 3 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 11, Examiner notes claim 11 recites similar limitations to claim 4 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 14, Examiner notes claim 14 recites similar limitations to claim 7 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 15, Examiner notes claim 15 recites similar limitations to claim 1 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 16, Examiner notes claim 16 recites similar limitations to claim 2 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 17, Examiner notes claim 17 recites similar limitations to claim 3 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 20, Examiner notes claim 20 recites similar limitations to claim 7 and is rejected under the same rational.
Claim(s) 5, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over POORSARTEP, US 2023/0356551 A1, hereinafter referred to as POORSARTEP, in view of YOUNG et al., US 2021/0166719 A1, hereinafter referred to as YOUNG, and further in view of Kim et al., US 2012/0143431 A1, hereinafter referred to as Kim, respectively.
As to claim 5, POORSARTEP does not explicitly teach determining whether the amplitude of the periodic sound patterns exceeds the baseline threshold amplitude, wherein the baseline threshold amplitude is based on a comparison of initial audio signals captured during normal operation; or in response to determining the amplitude exceeds the baseline threshold amplitude, dynamically adjusting the threshold to account for environmental noise levels caused by a speed of the autonomous vehicle that are unrelated to the anomaly that represents the failure of the at least one component of the autonomous vehicle.
However, YOUNG teaches determining whether the amplitude of the periodic sound patterns exceeds the baseline threshold amplitude, wherein the baseline threshold amplitude is based on a comparison of initial audio signals captured during normal operation (see at least FIG. 4 and paragraphs 67-69 and 73-77 regarding brake squeal may also be detected by audio sensors which may be caused by noise devices build into brake pads to alert a driver to worn brakes, or by excessive brake dust among other situations where brake noise is prominent. These events related to changes in audio due to braking can be validated through monitoring of brake control and possibly establishing a pattern within the vehicle of noises made during braking routines. When the profile of the analysis goes through a significant enough change to the established constant, a major change in the road surface may be identified. For example, if 550 megahertz is the prominent frequency in the frequency analysis profile and that prominent frequency changes to 725 megahertz, such a change would represent a change event); and in response to determining the amplitude exceeds the baseline threshold amplitude, dynamically adjusting the threshold (see at least FIG. 4 and paragraphs 67-69 and 73-77 regarding various factors contribute to frequencies of sounds exhibited by tires as they travel along a road surface. These include a weight of a vehicle, size of the tires, both in diameter and width), tread depth/wear and pattern on a tire, tire sidewall height, tire pressure (which contributes to tire contact patch size), vehicle speed, and surface type. It is impractical to capture all of these factors as they can change such that a baseline standard may be calculated to establish a reference or baseline sound. The most prominent frequency in the sound wave may be identified that is consistent in amplitude while at a certain speed. For greater granularity, the top several key frequencies may be captured to establish a more in-depth picture).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of YOUNG which teaches determining whether the amplitude of the periodic sound patterns exceeds the baseline threshold amplitude, wherein the baseline threshold amplitude is based on a comparison of initial audio signals captured during normal operation; and in response to determining the amplitude exceeds the baseline threshold amplitude, dynamically adjusting the threshold with the system of POORSARTEP as both systems are directed to a system and method for detecting acoustic events during vehicle operation by analyzing audio signals based on the sensor data, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of determining whether the amplitude of the periodic sound patterns exceeds the baseline threshold amplitude, wherein the baseline threshold amplitude is based on a comparison of initial audio signals captured during normal operation; and in response to determining the amplitude exceeds the baseline threshold amplitude, dynamically adjusting the threshold and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of POORSARTEP.
POORSARTEP, as modified by YOUNG, does not explicitly teach dynamically adjusting the threshold to account for environmental noise levels caused by a speed of the autonomous vehicle that are unrelated to the anomaly that represents the failure of the at least one component of the autonomous vehicle.
However, such matter is taught by Kim (see at least paragraphs 18-24 regarding the recordation unit 105 can automatically record the noise if the noise inputted through the first microphone 101 or the second microphone 103 has a volume equal to or higher than a predetermined level. The predetermined level can be set as, for example, as 60, 65 or 70 decibels, and can vary depending on a driving speed of the vehicle. Also, the predetermined level can be set by the user. The recordation unit 303 records and stores the noise inputted to the first microphone 301 and the second microphone 302. The recordation unit 303 also records and stores the noise inputted to the microphones according to a user's selection or when the noise has a predetermined level or higher).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of Kim which teaches dynamically adjusting the threshold to account for environmental noise levels caused by a speed of the autonomous vehicle that are unrelated to the anomaly that represents the failure of the at least one component of the autonomous vehicle with the system of POORSARTEP, as modified by YOUNG, as both systems are directed to a system and method for monitoring the component of the vehicle and detecting the anomalies based on the acoustic sensor data, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of dynamically adjusting the threshold to account for environmental noise levels caused by a speed of the autonomous vehicle that are unrelated to the anomaly that represents the failure of the at least one component of the autonomous vehicle and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of POORSARTEP as modified by YOUNG.
As to claim 12, Examiner notes claim 12 recites similar limitations to claim 5 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 18, Examiner notes claim 18 recites similar limitations to claim 5 and is rejected under the same rational.
Claim(s) 6, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over POORSARTEP, US 2023/0356551 A1, hereinafter referred to as POORSARTEP, in view of YOUNG et al., US 2021/0166719 A1, hereinafter referred to as YOUNG, and further in view of Cordell et al., US 2020/0226395 A1, hereinafter referred to as Cordell, respectively.
As to claim 6, POORSARTEP, as modified by YOUNG, does not explicitly teach wherein the anomaly is determined based on a calculation of an expected period of tire rotation including a circumference of the specific tire and a speed of the autonomous vehicle, wherein the expected period of tire rotation is defined as a range including a nominal period of rotation and an error tolerance of the nominal period of rotation.
However, such matter is taught by Cordell (see at least paragraphs 74-76 regarding to detect anomalies, an audio metadata extracting software element takes digital sound samples and converts them via a FFT (fast Fourier Transform) into a series of coefficients representing the frequency components of the incoming audio signal. High frequency components that are modulated at the expected rate that would be found based on the circumference of the tire can be identified via either machine learning models or traditional pattern recognition software techniques. For example, if a tire has a circumference of C inches and the car is travelling at speed V (in miles per hour), the tire will rotate N times per second, where N=(V*5280/3600)/(C/12). Thus, a high frequency audio anomaly would be expected to appear N times per second, and importantly, as the car changes velocity, the audio anomaly would shift its frequency of occurrence (N) to match. In order to identify a speed correlated audio anomaly, the audio data stream can be divided up into blocks of data whose size is calculated based on the expected length of time a single rotation of the tire will take. By calculating the degree of correlation between these data blocks using techniques such as the Pearson product-moment coefficient, the presence of a time correlated audio anomaly can be detected without concern over identifying the exact location within the sample that audio anomaly appears. Note that in addition to this technique, a machine learning model that has been trained to take audio and current velocity input and classify the audio as containing frequency dependent anomalies is also possible).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of Cordell which teaches wherein the anomaly is determined based on a calculation of an expected period of tire rotation including a circumference of the specific tire and a speed of the autonomous vehicle, wherein the expected period of tire rotation is defined as a range including a nominal period of rotation and an error tolerance of the nominal period of rotation with the system of POORSARTEP, as modified by YOUNG, as both systems are directed to a system and method for monitoring the component of the vehicle and detecting the anomalies based on the acoustic sensor data, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of having wherein the anomaly is determined based on a calculation of an expected period of tire rotation including a circumference of the specific tire and a speed of the autonomous vehicle, wherein the expected period of tire rotation is defined as a range including a nominal period of rotation and an error tolerance of the nominal period of rotation and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of POORSARTEP as modified by YOUNG.
As to claim 13, Examiner notes claim 13 recites similar limitations to claim 6 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 19, Examiner notes claim 19 recites similar limitations to claim 6 and is rejected under the same rational.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Remboski et al. (US 20030196492 A1) regarding a system for determining whether a fault exists with a rotating element of a vehicle.
Mian (US 20220260458 A1) regarding a system for inspecting one or more components of a vehicle moving on a path.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.S.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666