DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 12/20/2024. Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant's claim for foreign application number WO PCT/CN2022/100577 filed on 06/22/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/20/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
In determining patentability of an invention over the prior art, all claim limitations have been considered and interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow. See MPEP § 2111.
Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant always has the opportunity to amend the claims during prosecution, and broad interpretation by the examiner reduces the possibility that the claim, once issued, will be interpreted more broadly than is justified. In re Pruter, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-51 (CCPA 1969). See MPEP § 2111.
(i) All claim limitations have been considered. Additionally, all words in the claims have been considered in judging the patentability of the claims against the prior art. The following language is interpreted as not further limiting the scope of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2106 II C.
(ii) Language in a method claim that states only the intended use or intended result, but the expression does not result in a manipulative difference in the steps of the claim. Language in a system claim that states only the intended use or intended result, but does not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. In other words, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
(iii) Claim limitations that contain statement(s) such as “if, may, might, can could”, as optional language. As matter of linguistic precision, optional claim elements do not narrow claim limitations, since they can always be omitted.
Claim limitations that contain statement(s) such as “wherein, whereby”, that fail to further define the steps or acts to be performed in method claims or the discrete physical structure required of system claims.
USPTO personnel should begin claim analysis by identifying and evaluating each claim limitation. For processes, the claim limitations will define steps or acts to be performed. For products, the claim limitations will define discrete physical structures or materials. Product claims are claims that are directed to either machines, manufactures or compositions of matter. See MPEP § 2106 II C.
The subject matter of a properly construed claim is defined by the terms that limit its scope. It is this subject matter that must be examined. As a general matter, the grammar and intended meaning of terms used in a claim will dictate whether the language limits the claim scope. Language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation. The following are examples of language that may raise a question as to the limiting effect of the language in a claim:
(A) statements of intended use or field of use,
(B) “adapted to” or “adapted for” clauses,
(C) “wherein” clauses, or
(D) “whereby” clauses.
See MPEP § 2106 II C.
Exemplary claim 3 recites the term "if" (i.e. " if the target configuration is comprised in the first set of candidate configurations, the target number is equal to a first value, if the target configuration is comprised in the second set of candidate configurations, the target number is equal to a second value”). The term “if” is a conditional statement which does not require the claim functionality to occur, but merely indicates that the function may or may not be performed if something occurs. Examiner advises Applicant to amend the claim to explicitly require the claim to perform the claimed functionality.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lim (US 2025/0254326).
Regarding claim 1, Lim discloses a method for video processing, comprising: obtaining, for a conversion between a current video block of a video and a bitstream of the video (Lim, paragraph 13 discloses a method for decoding video data comprises decoding coding information for a chroma block from a bitstream, determining that the chroma block is decoded using intra-block copy based on the coding information),
a target number for a set of intra block copy merge mode with block vector difference (IBC-MBVD) candidates, the target number being indicated in the bitstream and dependent on a target configuration of a coding process for coding the current video block; selecting, based on the target number, the set of IBC-MBVD candidates from a plurality of IBC-MBVD candidates associated with an intra block copy (IBC) base candidate for the current video block; and performing the conversion based on the set of IBC-MBVD candidates (Examiner’s note: target number can be any numerical value including zero; Lim, paragraphs 792-793 discloses Intra-block copy AMVP mode—In this mode, the encoder and decoder, as in the advanced motion vector prediction (AMVP) mode of the inter-prediction mode, encode/decode a motion vector difference (MVD) of a block vector… Intra-block copy AMVR mode—In this mode, the encoder and decoder, as in the AMVR mode of the inter-prediction mode, encode/decode the MVD of a block vector at one resolution adaptively selected from among a plurality of resolutions. The intra-block copy AMVR mode is a secondary mode and may be used with other modes, such as the intra-block copy AMVP mode. For example, intra-block copy AMVR mode may presuppose using the intra-block copy AMVP mode).
Regarding claim 2, Lim discloses the method of claim 1, wherein all of candidate configurations of the coding process are divided into a plurality of sets of candidate configurations (Lim, paragraph 121 discloses a prediction unit partition may be the shape into which a prediction unit is divided).
Regarding claim 3, Lim discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the plurality of sets of candidate configurations comprise a first set of candidate configurations and a second set of candidate configurations different from the first set of candidate configurations, if the target configuration is comprised in the first set of candidate configurations, the target number is equal to a first value, if the target configuration is comprised in the second set of candidate configurations, the target number is equal to a second value (Exemplary claim 3 recites the term "if" (i.e. " if the target configuration is comprised in the first set of candidate configurations, the target number is equal to a first value, if the target configuration is comprised in the second set of candidate configurations, the target number is equal to a second value”). The term “if” is a conditional statement which does not require the claim functionality to occur, but merely indicates that the function may or may not be performed if something occurs. Examiner advises Applicant to amend the claim to explicitly require the claim to perform the claimed functionality; Lim, paragraphs 792-793 discloses Intra-block copy AMVP mode—In this mode, the encoder and decoder, as in the advanced motion vector prediction (AMVP) mode of the inter-prediction mode, encode/decode a motion vector difference (MVD) of a block vector… Intra-block copy AMVR mode—In this mode, the encoder and decoder, as in the AMVR mode of the inter-prediction mode, encode/decode the MVD of a block vector at one resolution adaptively selected from among a plurality of resolutions. The intra-block copy AMVR mode is a secondary mode and may be used with other modes, such as the intra-block copy AMVP mode. For example, intra-block copy AMVR mode may presuppose using the intra-block copy AMVP mode).
Regarding claim 4, Lim discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the first set of candidate configurations comprises an all intra (AI) configuration, and the second set of candidate configurations comprises a random access (RA) configuration (Exemplary claim 3 recites the term "if" (i.e. " if the target configuration is comprised in the first set of candidate configurations, the target number is equal to a first value, if the target configuration is comprised in the second set of candidate configurations, the target number is equal to a second value”). The term “if” is a conditional statement which does not require the claim functionality to occur, but merely indicates that the function may or may not be performed if something occurs. Examiner advises Applicant to amend the claim to explicitly require the claim to perform the claimed functionality; Lim, paragraphs 792-793 discloses Intra-block copy AMVP mode—In this mode, the encoder and decoder, as in the advanced motion vector prediction (AMVP) mode of the inter-prediction mode, encode/decode a motion vector difference (MVD) of a block vector… Intra-block copy AMVR mode—In this mode, the encoder and decoder, as in the AMVR mode of the inter-prediction mode, encode/decode the MVD of a block vector at one resolution adaptively selected from among a plurality of resolutions. The intra-block copy AMVR mode is a secondary mode and may be used with other modes, such as the intra-block copy AMVP mode. For example, intra-block copy AMVR mode may presuppose using the intra-block copy AMVP mode).
Regarding claim 5, Lim discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the first set of candidate configurations further comprises at least one of a first low-delay configuration or a second low-delay configuration (Exemplary claim 3 recites the term "if" (i.e. " if the target configuration is comprised in the first set of candidate configurations, the target number is equal to a first value, if the target configuration is comprised in the second set of candidate configurations, the target number is equal to a second value”). The term “if” is a conditional statement which does not require the claim functionality to occur, but merely indicates that the function may or may not be performed if something occurs. Examiner advises Applicant to amend the claim to explicitly require the claim to perform the claimed functionality; Lim, paragraphs 792-793 discloses Intra-block copy AMVP mode—In this mode, the encoder and decoder, as in the advanced motion vector prediction (AMVP) mode of the inter-prediction mode, encode/decode a motion vector difference (MVD) of a block vector… Intra-block copy AMVR mode—In this mode, the encoder and decoder, as in the AMVR mode of the inter-prediction mode, encode/decode the MVD of a block vector at one resolution adaptively selected from among a plurality of resolutions. The intra-block copy AMVR mode is a secondary mode and may be used with other modes, such as the intra-block copy AMVP mode. For example, intra-block copy AMVR mode may presuppose using the intra-block copy AMVP mode).
Regarding claim 6, Lim discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the second set of candidate configurations further comprises at least one of a first low-delay configuration or a second low-delay configuration (Exemplary claim 3 recites the term "if" (i.e. " if the target configuration is comprised in the first set of candidate configurations, the target number is equal to a first value, if the target configuration is comprised in the second set of candidate configurations, the target number is equal to a second value”). The term “if” is a conditional statement which does not require the claim functionality to occur, but merely indicates that the function may or may not be performed if something occurs. Examiner advises Applicant to amend the claim to explicitly require the claim to perform the claimed functionality; Lim, paragraphs 792-793 discloses Intra-block copy AMVP mode—In this mode, the encoder and decoder, as in the advanced motion vector prediction (AMVP) mode of the inter-prediction mode, encode/decode a motion vector difference (MVD) of a block vector… Intra-block copy AMVR mode—In this mode, the encoder and decoder, as in the AMVR mode of the inter-prediction mode, encode/decode the MVD of a block vector at one resolution adaptively selected from among a plurality of resolutions. The intra-block copy AMVR mode is a secondary mode and may be used with other modes, such as the intra-block copy AMVP mode. For example, intra-block copy AMVR mode may presuppose using the intra-block copy AMVP mode).
Regarding claim 7, Lim discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the first value is different from the second value (Exemplary claim 3 recites the term "if" (i.e. " if the target configuration is comprised in the first set of candidate configurations, the target number is equal to a first value, if the target configuration is comprised in the second set of candidate configurations, the target number is equal to a second value”). The term “if” is a conditional statement which does not require the claim functionality to occur, but merely indicates that the function may or may not be performed if something occurs. Examiner advises Applicant to amend the claim to explicitly require the claim to perform the claimed functionality; Lim, paragraphs 792-793 discloses Intra-block copy AMVP mode—In this mode, the encoder and decoder, as in the advanced motion vector prediction (AMVP) mode of the inter-prediction mode, encode/decode a motion vector difference (MVD) of a block vector… Intra-block copy AMVR mode—In this mode, the encoder and decoder, as in the AMVR mode of the inter-prediction mode, encode/decode the MVD of a block vector at one resolution adaptively selected from among a plurality of resolutions. The intra-block copy AMVR mode is a secondary mode and may be used with other modes, such as the intra-block copy AMVP mode. For example, intra-block copy AMVR mode may presuppose using the intra-block copy AMVP mode).
Regarding claim 8, Lim discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the first value is the same as the second value (Exemplary claim 3 recites the term "if" (i.e. " if the target configuration is comprised in the first set of candidate configurations, the target number is equal to a first value, if the target configuration is comprised in the second set of candidate configurations, the target number is equal to a second value”). The term “if” is a conditional statement which does not require the claim functionality to occur, but merely indicates that the function may or may not be performed if something occurs. Examiner advises Applicant to amend the claim to explicitly require the claim to perform the claimed functionality; Lim, paragraphs 792-793 discloses Intra-block copy AMVP mode—In this mode, the encoder and decoder, as in the advanced motion vector prediction (AMVP) mode of the inter-prediction mode, encode/decode a motion vector difference (MVD) of a block vector… Intra-block copy AMVR mode—In this mode, the encoder and decoder, as in the AMVR mode of the inter-prediction mode, encode/decode the MVD of a block vector at one resolution adaptively selected from among a plurality of resolutions. The intra-block copy AMVR mode is a secondary mode and may be used with other modes, such as the intra-block copy AMVP mode. For example, intra-block copy AMVR mode may presuppose using the intra-block copy AMVP mode).
Regarding claim 9, Lim discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the target number is the same for each candidate configuration in a set of candidate configurations among the plurality of sets of candidate configurations candidates (Examiner’s note: target number can be any numerical value including zero; Lim, paragraphs 792-793 discloses Intra-block copy AMVP mode—In this mode, the encoder and decoder, as in the advanced motion vector prediction (AMVP) mode of the inter-prediction mode, encode/decode a motion vector difference (MVD) of a block vector… Intra-block copy AMVR mode—In this mode, the encoder and decoder, as in the AMVR mode of the inter-prediction mode, encode/decode the MVD of a block vector at one resolution adaptively selected from among a plurality of resolutions. The intra-block copy AMVR mode is a secondary mode and may be used with other modes, such as the intra-block copy AMVP mode. For example, intra-block copy AMVR mode may presuppose using the intra-block copy AMVP mode).
Regarding claim 10, Lim discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the target number is indicated at one of the following: a sequence level, a group of pictures level, a picture level, a slice level, a tile level, or a tile group level (Lim, paragraph 142 discloses a parameter set may include a tile group, slice header information, and tile header information. The tile group may be a group including multiple tiles. Also, the meaning of “tile group” may be identical to that of “slice”).
Regarding claim 11, Lim discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the target number is indicated in one of the following: a sequence header, a picture header, a sequence parameter set (SPS), a video parameter set (VPS), a dependency parameter set (DPS), a decoding capability information (DCI), a picture parameter set (PPS), an adaptation parameter sets (APS), a slice header, or a tile group header (Lim, paragraph 142 discloses a parameter set may include a tile group, slice header information, and tile header information. The tile group may be a group including multiple tiles. Also, the meaning of “tile group” may be identical to that of “slice”).
Regarding claim 12, Lim discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the target number is indicated at a region containing more than one sample or pixel (Lim, paragraph 142 discloses a parameter set may include a tile group, slice header information, and tile header information. The tile group may be a group including multiple tiles. Also, the meaning of “tile group” may be identical to that of “slice”).
Regarding claim 13, Lim discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the region comprises at least one of the following: a prediction block (PB), a transform block (TB), a coding block (CB), a prediction unit (PU), a transform unit (TU), a coding unit (CU), a virtual pipeline data unit (VPDU), a coding tree unit (CTU), a CTU row, a slice, a tile, or a sub-picture (Lim, paragraph 142 discloses a parameter set may include a tile group, slice header information, and tile header information. The tile group may be a group including multiple tiles. Also, the meaning of “tile group” may be identical to that of “slice”).
Regarding claim 14, Lim discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the target number is conditionally coded, or wherein the target number is coded as one of the following: a universal variable-length code (UVLC), a fixed length code (FLC), an exponential Golomb code, a unary code, or a truncated unary code, or wherein the target number is predictively coded, or wherein a distance and a direction for an IBC-MBVD candidate of the set of IBC-MBVD candidates are indicated with a single index, and the single index is coded with Rice code with a predetermined parameter, or wherein the plurality of IBC-MBVD candidates are ordered according to template sum of absolute difference (SAD) costs of the plurality of IBC-MBVD candidates (Lim, paragraph 234 discloses the entropy encoding unit 150 may use a coding method such as exponential Golomb, Context-Adaptive Variable Length Coding (CAVLC), or Context-Adaptive Binary Arithmetic Coding (CABAC). For example, the entropy encoding unit 150 may perform entropy encoding using a Variable Length Coding/Code (VLC) table).
Regarding claim 15, Lim discloses the method of claim 1, wherein if a first coding tool is applied on the current video block, the target number is coded (The term “if” is a conditional statement which does not require the claim functionality to occur, but merely indicates that the function may or may not be performed if something occurs. Examiner advises Applicant to amend the claim to explicitly require the claim to perform the claimed functionality; Lim, paragraphs 792-793 discloses Intra-block copy AMVP mode—In this mode, the encoder and decoder, as in the advanced motion vector prediction (AMVP) mode of the inter-prediction mode, encode/decode a motion vector difference (MVD) of a block vector… Intra-block copy AMVR mode—In this mode, the encoder and decoder, as in the AMVR mode of the inter-prediction mode, encode/decode the MVD of a block vector at one resolution adaptively selected from among a plurality of resolutions. The intra-block copy AMVR mode is a secondary mode and may be used with other modes, such as the intra-block copy AMVP mode. For example, intra-block copy AMVR mode may presuppose using the intra-block copy AMVP mode).
Regarding claim 16, Lim discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the first coding tool comprises one of the following: an IBC, a merge mode with motion vector difference (MMVD), or an IBC-MBVD (Lim, paragraph 13 discloses a method for decoding video data comprises decoding coding information for a chroma block from a bitstream, determining that the chroma block is decoded using intra-block copy based on the coding information),
Regarding claim 17, Lim discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the conversion includes encoding the current video block into the bitstream, or wherein the conversion includes decoding the current video block from the bitstream (Lim, paragraph 13 discloses a method for decoding video data comprises decoding coding information for a chroma block from a bitstream, determining that the chroma block is decoded using intra-block copy based on the coding information),
Regarding claim 18, Lim discloses an apparatus for video processing comprising a processor and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon, wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to perform acts comprising: (Lim, paragraph 730 discloses processing unit 1610 may be a Central Processing Unit (CPU) or a semiconductor device for executing processing instructions stored in the memory 1630 or the storage 1640. The processing unit 1610 may be at least one hardware processor),
obtaining a target number for a set of intra block copy merge mode with block vector difference (IBC-MBVD) candidates, the target number being indicated in the bitstream and dependent on a target configuration of a coding process for coding a current video block of the video; selecting, based on the target number, the set of IBC-MBVD candidates from a plurality of IBC-MBVD candidates associated with an intra block copy (IBC) base candidate for the current video block; and performing the conversion based on the set of IBC-MBVD candidates (Examiner’s note: target number can be any numerical value including zero; Lim, paragraphs 792-793 discloses Intra-block copy AMVP mode—In this mode, the encoder and decoder, as in the advanced motion vector prediction (AMVP) mode of the inter-prediction mode, encode/decode a motion vector difference (MVD) of a block vector… Intra-block copy AMVR mode—In this mode, the encoder and decoder, as in the AMVR mode of the inter-prediction mode, encode/decode the MVD of a block vector at one resolution adaptively selected from among a plurality of resolutions. The intra-block copy AMVR mode is a secondary mode and may be used with other modes, such as the intra-block copy AMVP mode. For example, intra-block copy AMVR mode may presuppose using the intra-block copy AMVP mode).
Regarding claim 19, Lim discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that cause a processor to perform acts comprising: : (Lim, paragraph 14 discloses non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores instructions).
obtaining a target number for a set of intra block copy merge mode with block vector difference (IBC-MBVD) candidates, the target number being indicated in the bitstream and dependent on a target configuration of a coding process for coding a current video block of the video; selecting, based on the target number, the set of IBC-MBVD candidates from a plurality of IBC-MBVD candidates associated with an intra block copy (IBC) base candidate for the current video block; and performing the conversion based on the set of IBC-MBVD candidates (Examiner’s note: target number can be any numerical value including zero; Lim, paragraphs 792-793 discloses Intra-block copy AMVP mode—In this mode, the encoder and decoder, as in the advanced motion vector prediction (AMVP) mode of the inter-prediction mode, encode/decode a motion vector difference (MVD) of a block vector… Intra-block copy AMVR mode—In this mode, the encoder and decoder, as in the AMVR mode of the inter-prediction mode, encode/decode the MVD of a block vector at one resolution adaptively selected from among a plurality of resolutions. The intra-block copy AMVR mode is a secondary mode and may be used with other modes, such as the intra-block copy AMVP mode. For example, intra-block copy AMVR mode may presuppose using the intra-block copy AMVP mode).
Examiner’s note:
Machine readable media: when determining the scope of a claim directed to a computer-readable medium containing certain programming, the examiner should first look to the relationship between the programming and the intended computer system. Where the programming performs some function with respect to the computer with which it is associated, a functional relationship will be found. For instance, a claim to computer-readable medium programmed with attribute data objects that perform the function of facilitating retrieval, addition, and removal of information in the intended computer system, establishes a functional relationship such that the claimed attribute data objects are given patentable weight. See Lowry, 32 F.3d at 1583-84, 32 USPQ2d at 1035. However, where the claim as a whole is directed to conveying a message or meaning to a human reader independent of the intended computer system, and/or the computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. For example, a claim to a memory stick containing tables of batting averages, or tracks of recorded music, utilizes the intended computer system merely as a support for the information. Such claims are directed toward conveying meaning to the human reader rather than towards establishing a functional relationship between recorded data and the computer. See section 2111.05 of MPEP.
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Comer (US 2005/0185937).
Regarding claim 20, Lim discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream of a video which is generated by a method performed by an apparatus for video processing, wherein the method comprises: obtaining a target number for a set of intra block copy merge mode with block vector difference (IBC-MBVD) candidates, the target number being indicated in the bitstream and dependent on a target configuration of a coding process for coding a current video block of the video; selecting, based on the target number, the set of IBC-MBVD candidates from a plurality of IBC-MBVD candidates associated with an intra block copy (IBC) base candidate for the current video block; and generating the bitstream based on the set of IBC-MBVD candidates (Examiner’s note: the “non-transitory computer readable medium” does not establish a functional relationship between the recorded bitstream data and the computer readable medium, therefore the claim will be interpreted as a tangible device being able to store bitstream data; Comer, paragraph 29 discloses the base data bitstream can be recorded onto the DVD as a base layer and assigned a stream identification of 0xE0… the enhancement data bitstream can be recorded onto the DVD as an enhancement layer and assigned a stream identification of 0xBF, 0xFA, 0xFB, 0xFC, 0xFD or 0xFE).
Conclusion
/JERRY T JEAN BAPTISTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481