DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olgun et al. (US 2019/0033622 A1) in view of Chen et al. (US 2020/0412169 A1).
Re Claims 1, 8 and 15; Olgun discloses eyewear (31), method and a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising (Fig. 1A):
a frame (32) [¶0022], which includes a front piece 33 with lens holders 36, 37 and temple pieces 46, 47;
a battery (62) [¶0025], disposed in the left temple piece and electrically coupled to other electronics via connection 74;
an electronic processor (152) [Fig. 2], part of computing device 150, which manages wireless operations and other functions;
a display supported by the frame, the display configured to be controlled by the electronic processor (156) [Fig. 2], such as a near-eye display mechanism for previewing captured media;
a front end coupled to the electronic processor and having a wireless power receiver and a data transceiver, where the front end includes a single coil shared by the wireless power receiver and the data transceiver (antenna 5 or 6) [¶0032–0034].
Olgun teaches that the eyewear includes a coil disposed around the lens area (antenna 5 in Fig. 1B or antenna 6 in Fig. 1C), which is used for both inductive charging and NFC communication. The coil is coupled to switching circuitry (switch 11) [Fig. 1D, ¶0032], which selectively connects either to wireless charging match/controller circuitry (9) or NFC match/controller circuitry (8), enabling dual use of the coil for power and data transfer. Paragraph [0033] explains that separate matching circuits are used due to the different frequency and power requirements of NFC and wireless charging, and that the antenna may be used for bidirectional communication such as payments via NFC. Paragraph [0034] further describes alternate embodiments where separate antennas may be used, but confirms that a single antenna may serve both functions. It also introduces the possibility of using the same antenna for RF communications (e.g., WiFi or GPS), reinforcing the multifunctional nature of the coil.
However, Olgun does not disclose wherein the single coil has an end tap at each end of the single coil, and a center tap, wherein the wireless power receiver is coupled to the end taps of the single coil, and wherein the data transceiver is coupled to one end tap and the center tap of the single coil.
Chen teaches a wireless power reception apparatus comprising a coil (210) with a first end (A1), a second end (A2), and a tap (A3) [¶0034]. The coil defined by A1 and A2 provides a first voltage for charging a battery, while the coil defined by A1 and A3 provides a second, lower voltage for powering a wireless receiving chip. Paragraph [0035] explains that this configuration allows simultaneous generation of two AC voltages from different coil segments. Paragraph [0036] clarifies that the coil may alternatively be implemented as an antenna, and the tap positions correspond to physical locations on the antenna. Paragraph [0037] describes how the first rectifying unit is connected to the full coil (A1–A2) for charging, and the second rectifying unit is connected to the partial coil (A1–A3) for powering the data transceiver. This structure supports simultaneous power and data transfer using distinct portions of the same coil.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Olgun’s eyewear to include a coil with end taps and a center tap as taught by Chen, in order to enable simultaneous power and data transfer through distinct coil segments, motivated by the desire to reduce heat generation, improve efficiency, and minimize circuit complexity.
Re Claims 2, 9 and 16; Olgun discloses eyewear with a data transceiver (NFC match and controller circuitry 8) and a wireless power receiver (wireless charging match and controller circuitry 9), both coupled to a shared coil (antenna 5 or 6) [Fig. 1D, ¶0032–0034]. The switching circuitry (switch 11) enables selective connection of either the NFC or charging circuitry to the coil, allowing bidirectional communication and power transfer. Paragraph [0033] explains that NFC operations may include secure payment protocols such as Apple Pay™ or Android Pay™, which inherently involve data exchange between the eyewear and external devices.
However, Olgun does not disclose wherein the data transceiver is configured to send a battery charge control signal to a wireless charger to control the charging of the battery by the wireless charger.
Chen teaches that the wireless receiving chip sends a battery status parameter to the wireless charger, which includes a request parameter indicating the amount of transmission power required by the receiver [¶0034]. Paragraph [0041] further explains that the receiving device transmits a battery charge control signal to the wireless charger, allowing the charger to adjust its output power based on the battery’s state of charge. This enables dynamic control of the charging process and improves battery longevity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Olgun’s data transceiver to send a battery charge control signal to the wireless charger as taught by Chen, motivated by the desire to optimize charging efficiency and protect battery health.
Re Claims 3, 10 and 17; Olgun discloses eyewear with a data transceiver (NFC match and controller circuitry 8) and a wireless power receiver (wireless charging match and controller circuitry 9), both coupled to a shared coil (antenna 5 or 6) [Fig. 1D, ¶0032–0034]. The switching circuitry (switch 11) enables selective connection of either the NFC or charging circuitry to the coil, allowing bidirectional communication and power transfer. Paragraph [0033] explains that NFC operations may include secure payment protocols such as Apple Pay™ or Android Pay™, which inherently involve data exchange between the eyewear and external devices.
However, Olgun does not disclose wherein the battery charge control signal is a function of a state of charge (SOC) of the battery.
Chen discloses that the wireless receiving chip sends a battery status parameter to the wireless charger, which includes a request parameter indicating the amount of transmission power required by the receiver [¶0034]. Paragraph [0041, 53] further explains that the receiving device transmits a battery charge control signal to the wireless charger, and that this signal reflects the battery’s state of charge. The charger adjusts its output power accordingly, enabling dynamic control of the charging process based on SOC.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Olgun’s data transceiver to send a battery charge control signal that is a function of the battery’s state of charge, as taught by Chen, motivated by the desire to optimize charging efficiency and protect battery health.
Re Claims 4, 11 and 18; Olgun discloses eyewear with a data transceiver (NFC match and controller circuitry 8) and a wireless power receiver (wireless charging match and controller circuitry 9), both coupled to a shared coil (antenna 5 or 6) [Fig. 1D, ¶0032–0034]. The switching circuitry (switch 11) enables selective connection of either the NFC or charging circuitry to the coil, allowing bidirectional communication and power transfer. Paragraph [0033] explains that separate matching circuits are used due to the different frequency and power requirements of NFC and wireless charging.
However, Olgun does not disclose wherein the battery charge control signal is configured to control power of the wireless power signal generated by the wireless charger.
Chen teaches that the wireless receiving chip sends a battery charge control signal to the wireless charger, which includes a request parameter indicating the amount of transmission power required by the receiver [¶0034]. Paragraph [0041,62] further explains that the receiving device transmits this signal in response to a status check packet, and the wireless charger adjusts its output power accordingly. This enables dynamic control of the wireless power signal based on battery needs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Olgun’s data transceiver to send a battery charge control signal that adjusts the power level of the wireless charger, as taught by Chen, motivated by the desire to optimize charging efficiency and prevent overcharging or overheating.
Re Claims 5, 12 and 19; Olgun discloses eyewear with an electronic processor (152) and a shared coil (antenna 5 or 6) used for both wireless charging and NFC communication [Fig. 1D, ¶0032–0034]. The coil is coupled to switch 11, which selectively connects to wireless charging match/controller circuitry (9) or NFC match/controller circuitry (8). Paragraph [0033] explains that the NFC circuitry may support secure payment protocols such as Apple Pay™ or Android Pay™, which inherently involve bidirectional data exchange between the eyewear and external devices. Paragraph [0034] further confirms that the same antenna may be used for RF communications, including WiFi or GPS, suggesting flexible data exchange capabilities.
However, Olgun wherein the electronic processor and the single coil are configured to exchange authentication information with the wireless charger.
Chen teaches that the wireless receiving chip communicates with the wireless charger using a battery charge control signal, which includes status and request parameters [¶0067]. Paragraph [0054] describes bidirectional communication between the receiver and transmitter, including transmission of control signals that reflect battery status and charging needs. While authentication is not explicitly named, the exchange of control signals and status parameters between the processor and charger implies a verification mechanism to ensure proper power delivery and device compatibility.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Olgun’s electronic processor and coil to exchange authentication information with the wireless charger as taught by Chen, motivated by the need to ensure secure and accurate power delivery and to prevent unauthorized charging interactions.
Re Claims 6, 13 and 20; Olgun discloses eyewear with a data transceiver (NFC match and controller circuitry 8) and a wireless power receiver (wireless charging match and controller circuitry 9), both coupled to a shared coil (antenna 5 or 6) [Fig. 1D, ¶0032–0034]. Paragraph [0033] specifically teaches that the data transceiver includes a first filter that filters out the wireless power signal, enabling separation of data and power paths within the shared coil. This supports the claimed limitation.
However, Olgun does not disclose the specific coil configuration wherein the data transceiver is coupled to one end tap and the center tap of the single coil, nor does it describe the tap-based segmentation of the coil.
Chen teaches a coil with a first end (A1), second end (A2), and a tap (A3) [¶0034], where the segment between A1 and A3 provides a lower voltage suitable for powering a wireless receiving chip. Paragraph [0037] explains that the second rectifying unit is coupled to this segment and delivers power to the data transceiver. This configuration implies that the data transceiver is connected to one end tap and the center tap of the coil, and that signal separation is achieved through voltage segmentation and filtering.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Olgun’s data transceiver to include a first filter that filters out the wireless power signal and to couple it to a segmented coil as taught by Chen, motivated by the desire to reduce interference, improve signal integrity, and enable simultaneous power and data transfer.
Re Claims 7, 14; Olgun discloses eyewear with a wireless power receiver (wireless charging match and controller circuitry 9) and a data transceiver (NFC match and controller circuitry 8), both coupled to a shared coil (antenna 5 or 6) [Fig. 1D, ¶0032–0034]. Paragraph [0033] specifically teaches that the wireless power receiver includes a second filter that filters out the data signal, enabling separation of power and data paths within the shared coil. This supports the claimed limitation.
However, Olgun does not disclose the specific coil configuration wherein the wireless power receiver is coupled to the end taps of the single coil, nor does it describe the tap-based segmentation of the coil.
Chen teaches a coil with a first end (A1), second end (A2), and a tap (A3) [¶0034], where the segment between A1 and A2 provides a higher voltage suitable for charging a battery. Paragraph [0037] explains that the first rectifying unit is coupled to this segment and delivers power to the charging unit. This configuration implies that the wireless power receiver is connected to the end taps of the coil, and that signal separation is achieved through voltage segmentation and filtering.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Olgun’s wireless power receiver to include a second filter that filters out the data signal and to couple it to a segmented coil as taught by Chen, motivated by the desire to reduce interference, improve signal integrity, and enable simultaneous power and data transfer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Ogum teaches only a single coil or antenna that alternates between data communication and power transfer using a switch, and therefore does not disclose simultaneous communication and charging. Applicant further argues that Chen likewise fails to teach simultaneous power and data transfer. According to applicant, even if Chen’s coil structure could support such operation, Chen never teaches actually doing so. Applicant concludes that combining Ogum and Chen would merely produce two voltages, not simultaneous charging and communication.
The examiner respectfully disagrees because the applicant’s reading of Chen is incomplete. Chen does not merely disclose a coil that could support multiple simultaneous functions. Chen explicitly teaches a coil with multiple voltage‑defined segments, each routed through its own rectifying and power‑delivery path, and expressly states that these paths operate concurrently to power different subsystems.
Below are the specific paragraphs relied upon, followed by detailed interpretation.
1. Paragraph [0034]
“The coil includes a first end A1, a second end A2, and a tap A3, where the coil defined by the first end A1 and the second end A2 is configured to provide a first voltage, the coil defined by the first end A1 and the tap A3 is configured to provide a second voltage.”
Examiner’s interpretation
This paragraph establishes that Chen’s coil is intentionally segmented to produce two different voltages at the same time. The coil is not switched between these two states. Instead, both voltage regions exist concurrently along the same physical winding. This is the foundational structure that enables simultaneous multi‑path operation.
Applicant’s argument that Chen merely “could” support simultaneous operation is contradicted by the explicit disclosure that the coil is configured to provide two voltages at once.
2. Paragraph [0037]
“The first rectifying unit 220 is coupled with the first end A1 and the second end A2… The second rectifying unit 230 is coupled with the first end A1 and the tap A3… The charging unit 240 is configured to apply the first voltage to a battery… The power supply unit 250 is configured to apply the second voltage to power the wireless receiving chip.”
Examiner’s interpretation
This paragraph is critical. It shows that Chen does not merely generate two voltages. Chen routes each voltage to a different subsystem simultaneously:
• The first rectifying path feeds the battery charging unit.
• The second rectifying path feeds the wireless receiving chip, which is the component responsible for communication and system control.
This is simultaneous power delivery to two different functional blocks. Applicant’s argument that Chen does not teach simultaneous operation is directly contradicted by this explicit description.
3. Paragraph [0038]
“The position of the tap A3 can be determined according to an operating voltage of the wireless receiving chip… more than one tap A3 is provided, such that different voltages can be applied to different units of the wireless receiving chip.”
Examiner’s interpretation
This paragraph reinforces that Chen’s architecture is designed to simultaneously power multiple chip units, each potentially requiring different voltages. The system is not alternating between these voltages. It is delivering them concurrently.
This is the very essence of simultaneous multi‑path operation.
4. Paragraph [0039]
“The step‑down unit 260 is coupled between the second rectifying unit 230 and the power supply unit 250 and is configured to decrease the second voltage to a third voltage to be applied to the wireless receiving chip.”
Examiner’s interpretation
This paragraph shows that the second voltage path is not optional or hypothetical. It is a fully realized, dedicated power path designed to operate concurrently with the battery‑charging path. The presence of a separate step‑down unit confirms that the second path is intended to be active during charging.
Why this contradicts applicant’s argument
Applicant asserts that Chen does not teach simultaneous charging and communication because Chen does not explicitly state that both functions occur at the same time. However, Chen’s architecture inherently requires simultaneous operation:
• The coil produces two voltages at the same time.
• Each voltage is rectified by its own rectifying unit at the same time.
• One voltage powers the battery‑charging path.
• The other voltage powers the wireless receiving chip, which is responsible for communication and system control.
There is no switching mechanism, no alternation, and no sequencing. The system is structurally designed for concurrent operation.
A person of ordinary skill would immediately understand that a wireless receiving chip must remain powered during charging to maintain communication, control charging states, and manage system functions. Chen’s architecture directly supports this.
Combined with Ogum
Ogum provides the motivation: a system that must communicate with eyewear while charging. Chen provides the circuitry that enables simultaneous multi‑path power and communication without switching.
Thus, the combination reasonably suggests the claimed simultaneous operation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL KESSIE/
03/25/2026
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836