DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim1 and 6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim claims 1, 7 and 8 of copending Application No. 18/991,210. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because They are both directed towards window or door hollow chamber profiles.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Application 18/991,210 discloses a window or door hollow chamber profile, comprising (a) a core profile comprising a plastic matrix formed of a thermoplastic polyamide material and reinforcing fibers contained in the plastic matrix; and (b) a sheath profile at least partially sheathing the core profile and made of a thermoplastic material compatible with the plastic material of the core profile, wherein characterized in that the thermoplastic material of the sheath profile compatible with the plastic material of the core profile is a blend of a polyamide material and an acrylonitrile- styrene-acrylic ester terpolymer (ASA) (Claims 1 and 8) as in claim 1. With respect to claim 6, the polyamide of the core profile is selected from the group comprising polyamide-6 (PA 6), polyamide-6.6 (PA 6.6), polyamide-6.10 (PA 6.10), polyamide-4.6 (PA 4.6), polyamide-12 (PA 12) and blends of the aforementioned polyamides (Claim 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Al-Sheyyab et al. (EP 3311992 A1).
A machine-generated translation of EP 3311992 A1 accompanies this action. In reciting this rejection, the examiner will cite this translation.
Al-Sheyyab et al. discloses a window or door hollow chamber profile (Paragraphs 0001 and 0021; Figure 3) comprising (a) a core profile comprising a plastic matrix formed of a thermoplastic polyamide material and reinforcing fibres contained in the plastic matrix (Abstract; Paragraphs 0004 and 0006); and (b) a sheath profile at least partially sheathing the core profile and made of a thermoplastic material compatible with the plastic material of the core profile (Paragraph 0007), wherein in that the thermoplastic material of the sheath profile compatible with the plastic material of the core profile is a blend of a polyamide material and an acrylonitrile- styrene-acrylic ester terpolymer (ASA) (Paragraphs 0007 and 0008) as in claim 1. With respect to claim 3, the thickness of the sheath profile is within a range from 0.3 mm to 1.5 mm (Paragraph 0004). Regarding claim 4, a weather-side outer wall and/or a room-side outer wall are at least partially formed by the sheath profile (A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Al-Sheyyab et al. discloses hollow rail as part of freezer, which includes a door). For claim 5, the weather-side surface of the weather-side outer wall and/or the room-side surface of the room-side outer wall are formed by a layer of the sheath profile (A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Al-Sheyyab et al. discloses hollow rail as part of freezer, which includes a door). In claim 6, the polyamide of the core profile (30) is selected from the group comprising polyamide-6 (PA 6), polyamide-12 (PA 12) and blends of the aforementioned polyamides (Paragraph 0006). With regard to claim 7, the profile is produced by means of extrusion, coextrusion or pultrusion, in particular by means of reactive pultrusion (Paragraph 0008). As in claim 8, the reinforcing fibres are formed as glass and/or carbon (Paragraph 0004). With respect to claim 9, window or door frame, which is formed from portions of a window or door hollow chamber profile (1) according to claim 1 (Paragraphs 0001 and 0021; Figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Sheyyab et al. (EP 3311992 A1) in view of Conroy et al. (USPN 5,522,196).
Al-Sheyyab et al. discloses a window or door hollow chamber profile (Paragraphs 0001 and 0021; Figure 3) comprising (a) a core profile comprising a plastic matrix formed of a thermoplastic polyamide material and reinforcing fibres contained in the plastic matrix (Abstract; Paragraphs 0004 and 0006); and (b) a sheath profile at least partially sheathing the core profile and made of a thermoplastic material compatible with the plastic material of the core profile (Paragraph 0007), wherein in that the thermoplastic material of the sheath profile compatible with the plastic material of the core profile is a blend of a polyamide material and an acrylonitrile- styrene-acrylic ester terpolymer (ASA) (Paragraphs 0007 and 0008). However, Al-Sheyyab et al. fail to disclose the plastic material of the sheath profile contains the acrylonitrile-styrene-acrylic ester terpolymer (ASA) in a proportion of 10% by weight to 65% by weight, in relation to the weight of the sheath profile as 100% by weight.
Conroy et al. a window or door hollow chamber profile (Abstract; Figures) having a plastic material of the sheath profile contains the acrylonitrile-styrene-acrylic ester terpolymer (ASA) in a proportion of 10% by weight to 65% by weight, in relation to the weight of the sheath profile as 100% by weight (Column 5, lines 13 – 17) for the purpose having a weather and ultra-violet light resistant profile (Column 3, lines 42 – 44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a sheath profile of acrylonitrile-styrene-acrylic ester terpolymer (ASA) in a proportion of 10% by weight to 65% by weight on the profile of Al-Sheyyab et al. in order to have a weather and ultra-violet light resistant profile as taught by Conroy et al.
Conclusion
/Patricia L. Nordmeyer/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788
/pln/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 July 16, 2026