DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koh et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20200218204).
In regards to claim 11, Koh teaches an image display apparatus [Fig. 1; e.g. electronic device having a display, 0025] comprising:
a display including an organic light emitting diode (OLED) panel [e.g. Display 14 may be an organic light-emitting diode display, 0028]; and
a signal processing device to output an image signal to the display [e.g. Processing circuitry in control circuitry 20 may be used to control output devices. Control circuitry 20 may use a display in providing a user with visual output, 0026],
wherein, upon displaying a plurality of objects apart from each other [Fig. 3; e.g. Watch face image 30 has hands 42 such as minute hand 46, hour hand 44, and, if desired, a second hand. Hands 42 move around central watch face element 40 (e.g., in a clockwise direction) so that the positions of hands 42 can be compared to the positions of indices 34 and thereby used to indicate the current time of day. If desired, watch face image 30 may also contain complications such as complication 48 or other ancillary content. Complication 48 may include weather information, a selectable icon, temperature information, a countdown timer, a selectable button for launching an application, 0040], the signal processing device is configured to:
set, at a first time, an area including a first object and a second object of the plurality of objects to a first size [e.g. The overall watch face artwork that is displayed on display 14 (e.g., hands, indices, and/or other watch face elements) may be scaled in size. The always-on artwork may be adjusted to have 95% of its nominal (100%) size. The nominal size corresponds to the first size, 0041]; and
set, at a second time after the first time, the area including the first object and the second object to a second size different from the first size [e.g. The always-on artwork may be adjusted to have 95% of its nominal (100%) size. The 95% size corresponds to the second size. With this approach, the overall size of non-black portions of the watch face image on display 14 are dynamically scaled in size, 0041].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koh et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20200218204) in view of Cao et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20140292815).
In regards to claim 1, Koh teaches an image display apparatus [Fig. 1; e.g. electronic device having a display, 0025] comprising:
a display including an organic light emitting diode (OLED) panel [e.g. Display 14 may be an organic light-emitting diode display, 0028]; and
a signal processing device to output an image signal to the display [e.g. Processing circuitry in control circuitry 20 may be used to control output devices. Control circuitry 20 may use a display in providing a user with visual output, 0026],
wherein, upon displaying a plurality of objects apart from each other [Fig. 3; e.g. Watch face image 30 has hands 42 such as minute hand 46, hour hand 44, and, if desired, a second hand. Hands 42 move around central watch face element 40 (e.g., in a clockwise direction) so that the positions of hands 42 can be compared to the positions of indices 34 and thereby used to indicate the current time of day. If desired, watch face image 30 may also contain complications such as complication 48 or other ancillary content. Complication 48 may include weather information, a selectable icon, temperature information, a countdown timer, a selectable button for launching an application, 0040], the signal processing device is configured to:
separate, at a first time, a first object and a second object of the plurality of objects by radial distances [Fig. 6; e.g. Curve 56 shows how the position of an element (e.g., the radial distance of each index 34 from the center of watch face image 30) may be varied as a function of time, 0050].
Koh does not explicitly teach
separate, at a first time, a first object and a second object of the plurality of objects by a first distance (emphasis added);
separate, at a second time after the first time, the first object and the second object by a second distance different from the first distance.
However, Cao teaches
separate, at a first time, a first object and a second object of the plurality of objects by a first distance [e.g. a first distance is provided between a first initial display position of the first operation object and a second initial display position of the second operation object, 0007];
separate, at a second time after the first time, the first object and the second object by a second distance different from the first distance [e.g. a second distance is provided between a first object display position of the first operation object and a second object display position of the second operation object, and the second distance is different from the first distance, 0007].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Koh’s image display apparatus with the features of
separate, at a first time, a first object and a second object of the plurality of objects by a first distance;
separate, at a second time after the first time, the first object and the second object by a second distance different from the first distance
in the same conventional manner as taught by Cao because Cao provides a method for users to operate the objects conveniently [0078].
In regards to claim 2, Koh does not explicitly teach the image display apparatus of claim 1, wherein, upon displaying the plurality of objects, the signal processing device is configured to separate, at a second time after the first time, the first object and the second object by a second distance greater than the first distance.
However, Cao teaches the image display apparatus of claim 1, wherein, upon displaying the plurality of objects, the signal processing device is configured to separate, at a second time after the first time, the first object and the second object by a second distance greater than the first distance [e.g. when the distance between operation objects is too small, the operation objects may be displayed in the second image after the distance between the operation objects is enlarged, 0078].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Koh’s image display apparatus with the features of wherein, upon displaying the plurality of objects, the signal processing device is configured to separate, at a second time after the first time, the first object and the second object by a second distance greater than the first distance in the same conventional manner as taught by Cao because Cao provides a method for users to operate the objects conveniently [0078].
In regards to claim 3, Koh does not explicitly teach the image display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the signal processing device is configured to control sizes of the first object and the second object displayed at the second time to be less than sizes of the first object and the second object displayed at the first time.
However, Cao teaches the image display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the signal processing device is configured to control sizes of the first object and the second object displayed at the second time to be less than sizes of the first object and the second object displayed at the first time [e.g. When the first operation object has a first display area in the first image, determining that the first operation object has a third display area in the second image, where the third display area is smaller than the first display area; and when the second operation object has a second display area in the first image, determining that the second operation object has a fourth display area in the second image, where the fourth display area is smaller than the second display area. Thus, the display areas of the first operation object and the second operation object are decreased, 0114-0115].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Koh’s image display apparatus with the features of wherein the signal processing device is configured to control sizes of the first object and the second object displayed at the second time to be less than sizes of the first object and the second object displayed at the first time in the same conventional manner as taught by Cao because Cao provides a method for users to operate the objects conveniently [0078].
In regards to claim 4, Koh does not explicitly teach the image display apparatus of claim 1, wherein, at the second time, the signal processing device is configured to: move the first object in a first direction; and move the second object in a second direction different from the first direction.
However, Cao teaches the image display apparatus of claim 1, wherein, at the second time, the signal processing device is configured to: move the first object in a first direction; and move the second object in a second direction different from the first direction [e.g. That is, related with the first image, both the positions of the first operation object and the second operation object may be changed in the second image; or only the position of one operation object may be changed while the position of the other operation object is unchanged. The distance between the operation objects may be enlarged. In other words, the first operation object moves in a direction away from the second operation object to a new position while the second operation object moves in the opposite direction away from the first operation object to another position, 0107, also see 0099].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Koh’s image display apparatus with the features of wherein, at the second time, the signal processing device is configured to: move the first object in a first direction; and move the second object in a second direction different from the first direction in the same conventional manner as taught by Cao because Cao provides a method for users to operate the objects conveniently [0078].
In regards to claim 5, Koh does not explicitly teach the image display apparatus of claim 1, wherein, upon displaying the plurality of objects, the signal processing device is configured to:
separate, at the first time, a third object and a fourth object of the plurality of objects by a third distance; and
separate, at the second time, the third object and the fourth object by a fourth distance different from the third distance.
However, Cao teaches the image display apparatus of claim 1, wherein, upon displaying the plurality of objects, the signal processing device is configured to:
separate, at the first time, a third object and a fourth object of the plurality of objects by a third distance [e.g. When the projection supporter has a large area and the displayed image includes multiple scattered operation objects (e.g., multiple buttons), users often need to move back and forth to operate different operation objects. That is, related with the first image, both the positions of the first operation object and the second operation object may be changed in the second image; or only the position of one operation object may be changed while the position of the other operation object is unchanged. The distance between the operation objects may be enlarged. In other words, since multiple operation objects are displayed, a third and fourth operation object are displayed. Similar to the first and second operation objects, the distance of the third and fourth operation objects are enlarged or reduced, 0004, 0099, 0107]; and
separate, at the second time, the third object and the fourth object by a fourth distance different from the third distance [e.g. Similar to the first and second operation objects, the distance of the third and fourth operation objects are enlarged or reduced again, 0004, 0099, 0107].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Koh’s image display apparatus with the features of wherein, upon displaying the plurality of objects, the signal processing device is configured to:
separate, at the first time, a third object and a fourth object of the plurality of objects by a third distance; and
separate, at the second time, the third object and the fourth object by a fourth distance different from the third distance
in the same conventional manner as taught by Cao because Cao provides a method for users to operate the objects conveniently [0078].
In regards to claim 6, Koh does not explicitly teach the image display apparatus of claim 5, wherein, upon displaying the plurality of objects, the signal processing device is configured to separate, at a second time after the first time, the third object and the fourth object by a fourth distance greater than the third distance.
However, Cao teaches the image display apparatus of claim 5, wherein, upon displaying the plurality of objects, the signal processing device is configured to separate, at a second time after the first time, the third object and the fourth object by a fourth distance greater than the third distance [e.g. When the distance between operation objects is too small, the operation objects may be displayed in the second image after the distance between the operation objects is enlarged. Similar to the first and second operation objects, the distance between the third and fourth operation objects are enlarged when the distance between the operation objects are too small, 0078, also see 0004].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Koh’s image display apparatus with the features of wherein, upon displaying the plurality of objects, the signal processing device is configured to separate, at a second time after the first time, the third object and the fourth object by a fourth distance greater than the third distance in the same conventional manner as taught by Cao because Cao provides a method for users to operate the objects conveniently [0078].
In regards to claim 7, Koh does not explicitly teach the image display apparatus of claim 5, wherein the signal processing device is configured to control sizes of the third object and the fourth object displayed at the second time to be less than sizes of the third object and the fourth object displayed at the first time.
However, Cao teaches the image display apparatus of claim 5, wherein the signal processing device is configured to control sizes of the third object and the fourth object displayed at the second time to be less than sizes of the third object and the fourth object displayed at the first time [e.g. When the first operation object has a first display area in the first image, determining that the first operation object has a third display area in the second image, where the third display area is smaller than the first display area; and when the second operation object has a second display area in the first image, determining that the second operation object has a fourth display area in the second image, where the fourth display area is smaller than the second display area. Thus, the display areas of the first operation object and the second operation object are decreased. Similar to the first and second operation objects, the display areas of the third operation object and the fourth operation object are decreased in a similar manner, 0114-0115, also see 0004].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Koh’s image display apparatus with the features of wherein the signal processing device is configured to control sizes of the third object and the fourth object displayed at the second time to be less than sizes of the third object and the fourth object displayed at the first time in the same conventional manner as taught by Cao because Cao provides a method for users to operate the objects conveniently [0078].
In regards to claim 8, Koh does not explicitly teach the image display apparatus of claim 5, wherein, at the second time, the signal processing device is configured to: move the third object in a third direction; and move the fourth object in a fourth direction different from the third direction.
However, Cao teaches the image display apparatus of claim 5, wherein, at the second time, the signal processing device is configured to: move the third object in a third direction; and move the fourth object in a fourth direction different from the third direction [e.g. That is, related with the first image, both the positions of the first operation object and the second operation object may be changed in the second image; or only the position of one operation object may be changed while the position of the other operation object is unchanged. The distance between the operation objects may be enlarged. In other words, similar to the first and second operation objects, the third operation object moves in a direction away from the fourth operation object to a new position while the fourth operation object moves in the opposite direction away from the third operation object to another position, 0107, also see 0004, 0099].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Koh’s image display apparatus with the features of wherein, at the second time, the signal processing device is configured to: move the third object in a third direction; and move the fourth object in a fourth direction different from the third direction in the same conventional manner as taught by Cao because Cao provides a method for users to operate the objects conveniently [0078].
Claim(s) 12, 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koh et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20200218204) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20170249070).
In regards to claim 12, Koh does not explicitly teach the image display apparatus of claim 11, wherein, upon displaying the plurality of objects, the signal processing device is configured to set, at a second time after the first time, the area including the first object and the second object to a second size greater than the first size.
However, Chen teaches the image display apparatus [Fig. 1; e.g. electronic device, 0070] of claim 11, wherein, upon displaying the plurality of objects [e.g. displaying a folder icon on the touchscreen display, where the folder icon comprises icons of at least two applications, 0007], the signal processing device [e.g. processor, 0070] is configured to set, at a second time after the first time [Fig. 5, 6; e.g. after the drag continues after the first enlargement, 0148], the area including the first object and the second object to a second size greater than the first size [Fig. 5, 6; e.g. The folder icon is enlarged by one system desktop grid. After the drag mark continues to be dragged, the folder icon is enlarged and occupies three system desktop grids. In other words, three system desktop grids are greater than one system desktop grid, 0148].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Koh’s image display apparatus with the features of wherein, upon displaying the plurality of objects, the signal processing device is configured to set, at a second time after the first time, the area including the first object and the second object to a second size greater than the first size in the same conventional manner as taught by Chen because setting the area to a second size greater than the first size is merely increasing an image area’s size which is well known and commonly used in the art of image processing system.
In regards to claim 14, Koh does not explicitly teach the image display apparatus of claim 11, wherein, upon displaying the plurality of objects, the signal processing device is configured to:
set, at the first time, an area including the first object, the second object, a third object, and a fourth object of the plurality of objects to a third size; and
set, at the second time, the area including the first to fourth objects to a fourth size different from the third size.
However, Chen teaches the image display apparatus of claim 11, wherein, upon displaying the plurality of objects, the signal processing device is configured to:
set, at the first time, an area including the first object, the second object, a third object, and a fourth object of the plurality of objects to a third size [Fig. 5, 6; e.g. The folder icon comprises icons of at least two applications. For example, Figures 5, 6 illustrate a folder icon comprising icons of at least four applications. The folder icon is enlarged by one system desktop grid, 0007, 0148]; and
set, at the second time, the area including the first to fourth objects to a fourth size different from the third size [Fig. 5, 6; e.g. After the drag mark continues to be dragged, the folder icon is enlarged and occupies three system desktop grids. A subsequent enlargement may be performed by analogy, until icons of all applications in the folder are expanded, 0007, 0148].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Koh’s image display apparatus with the features of wherein, upon displaying the plurality of objects, the signal processing device is configured to:
set, at the first time, an area including the first object, the second object, a third object, and a fourth object of the plurality of objects to a third size; and
set, at the second time, the area including the first to fourth objects to a fourth size different from the third size
in the same conventional manner as taught by Chen because setting the area to a fourth size different from the third size is merely increasing an image area’s size which is well known and commonly used in the art of image processing system.
In regards to claim 15, Koh does not explicitly teach the image display apparatus of claim 14, wherein the signal processing device is configured to control sizes of the first to fourth objects displayed at the second time to be greater than sizes of the first to fourth objects displayed at the first time.
However, Chen teaches the image display apparatus of claim 14, wherein the signal processing device is configured to control sizes of the first to fourth objects displayed at the second time to be greater than sizes of the first to fourth objects displayed at the first time [Fig. 5, 6; e.g. A subsequent enlargement may be performed by analogy, until icons of all applications in the folder are expanded. In other words, the icons of four applications in the folder are expanded. The expanded four icons are bigger in size than the three smaller icons before the enlargement, 0148, also see 0007].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Koh’s image display apparatus with the features of wherein the signal processing device is configured to control sizes of the first to fourth objects displayed at the second time to be greater than sizes of the first to fourth objects displayed at the first time in the same conventional manner as taught by Chen because controlling sizes of objects to a greater size is merely increasing the sizes of the objects within the image which is well known and commonly used in the art of image processing system.
Claim(s) 13, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koh et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20200218204) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Cao et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20140292815).
In regards to claim 13, the claim recites similar limitations as claim 4. Therefore, the same rationale as claim 4 is applied.
In regards to claim 16, the claim recites similar limitations as claim 8. Therefore, the same rationale as claim 8 is applied.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 10, 17 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claim 9, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest the image display apparatus of claim 4, wherein, at the second time, the signal processing device is configured to:
move a first icon adjacent to the first object in the first direction; and
move a second icon adjacent to the second object in the second direction different from the first direction.
In regards to claim 10, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest the image display apparatus of claim 8, wherein the signal processing device is configured to move, at the second time, a third icon adjacent to the third object in a third direction.
In regards to claim 17, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest the image display apparatus of claim 13, wherein, at the second time, the signal processing device is configured to: move a first icon adjacent to the first object in the first direction; and move a second icon adjacent to the second object in the second direction different from the first direction.
In regards to claim 18, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest the image display apparatus of claim 16, wherein the signal processing device is configured to move, at the second time, a third icon adjacent to the third object in the third direction.
Conclusion
/ANDREW SHIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2612
/Said Broome/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2612