Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baumeister et al. (De 102022102011 A1) hereinafter, Baumeister.
Regarding claim 1, Baumeister teaches a drive device for an electric bicycle (1), the drive device comprising:
a gearbox having a first drive shaft (30), a second drive shaft (13) and an output element (8), wherein
torque from a first electric motor (6, 7) is couplable into said gearbox via said first drive shaft and torque from a second electric motor (15, 16) is couplable into said gearbox via said second drive shaft (Fig 1);
said output element being configured to dissipate torque from said gearbox (Fig 1);
said first drive shaft and said second drive shafts run parallel to one another (Fig 1); and,
one of said first drive shaft and said second drive shaft being guided through an other one of said first drive shaft and said second drive shaft (30 is guided through 13, Fig 1).
Regarding claim 3, Baumeister teaches that the torques fed in via said first drive shaft and said second drive shaft are transmitted within said gearbox at least in sections on different sides of said first drive shaft and said second drive shaft (above and below the shafts, Fig 1).
Regarding claim 4, Baumeister teaches that said first electric motor coupled to said first drive shaft;
said second electric motor coupled to said second drive shaft;
said first drive shaft and said second drive shaft each defining a longitudinal axis (axis of 2); and,
said first electric motor and said second electric motor being arranged one behind an other in a direction of said longitudinal axes of said first drive shaft and said second drive shaft (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 5, Baumeister teaches that said gearbox is configured for torque transmission from an electric motor (5, 6) coupled to said first drive shaft to said output element in order to drive the electric bicycle with motor assistance (Last four Paragraphs of Page 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumeister et al. (De 102022102011 A1) in view of Smith et al. (US 2026/0042506 A1) hereinafter, Smith.
Regarding claim 2 and 17, Baumeister teaches a drive device for an electric bicycle (1), the drive device comprising:
a gearbox having a first drive shaft (30), a second drive shaft (13) and an output element (8), wherein
torque from a first electric motor (6, 7) is couplable into said gearbox via said first drive shaft and torque from a second electric motor (15, 16) is couplable into said gearbox via said second drive shaft (Fig 1);
said output element being configured to dissipate torque from said gearbox (Fig 1);
said first drive shaft and said second drive shafts run parallel to one another (Fig 1); and,
one of said first drive shaft and said second drive shaft being guided through an other one of said first drive shaft and said second drive shaft (30 is guided through 13, Fig 1).
However, Baumeister does not teach a bevel gear.
Regarding claims 2 and 17, Smith teaches a gearbox having a bevel gear stage (24) coupled to said first drive shaft (34) and to the output element (32); and,
a bevel gear (30) of said bevel gear stage being coupled to said output element for transmitting torque in at least one rotational direction without a change in rotational speed (Fig 3, Para [0004] and [0026]).
Regarding claim 14, Smith teaches that said gearbox has a further bevel gear stage (38) which is coupled to said second drive shaft; and, said bevel gear stage and said further bevel gear stage are arranged on different sides of said first drive shaft and said second drive shaft (Fig 3 and Para [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the invention, to modify Baumeister’s drive device, in view of Smith, with bevel gear. Contrary to flat-planetary arrangements, the bevel planetary gear train provides for more compact placement of the motors. Further, the bevel planetary gear train enables a unity ratio between the bevel sun gear and the bevel ring gear (Para [0004]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-13 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 16 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 6 recites that said gearbox has a pedal shaft that extends transversely or perpendicularly to said first drive shaft and said second drive shaft.
Claim 16 recites that said first drive shaft and said second drive shaft extend parallel to said main direction of extension of the down tube.
Since the prior art (e.g. Baumeister and Smith) teaches drive device that lack said features, the prior art does not anticipate the claimed subject matter.
For illustration purposes, Fig 3 of the examined disclosure shows the shaft arrangements, which is different than the shaft arrangements taught by the prior art of record (Fig. 1 of Baumeister and Fig. 3 of Smith, etc.)
Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to a skilled artisan to have modified the prior art in order to arrive at the claimed invention without resorting to impermissible hindsight.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references noted on the attached PTO0892 form teach drive devices of interest.
/HOSAM SHABARA/Examiner, Art Unit 3618