DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant should note that the extremely large number of references in the attached IDS have been considered by the examiner in the same manner as other documents in Office search files are considered by the examiner while conducting a search of the prior art in a proper field of search. See MPEP 609.05(b). Applicant is requested to point out any particular references in the IDS which they believe may be of particular relevance to the instant claimed invention in response to this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4 to 14 and 17 to 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Murphy; Roger et al. (US 20190087788 A1 filed on 2017-09-15) hereinafter MURPHY.
Regarding claim 1, MURPHY teaches:
A mirror assembly comprising: a front side and a back side;
Wherein the mirror and the display interface of the mirror shown in MURPHY’s FIG. 13 teach the front of the mirror and the mounting system shown in MURPHY’s FIG 14A and 14B teach the back side of the mirror.
MURPHY’s device operating as a mirror and display for the interface (MURPHY [Figure 13])
MURPHY’s mirror mounting for the mirror (MURPHY [Figure 14A and 14B])
a support portion coupled to the housing portion;
“ FIGS. 14A and 14B illustrate an apparatus for a mirror including a support housing 115, a sensor module 121, a control module housing 122, and mirror interface 120, according to an exemplary embodiment. A control module 123 may be shaped to mate and/or fit inside the control module housing 122. The control module 123 may include a control interface 130 on the underside. FIG. 14A illustrates a wider support housing 115 and FIG. 14B illustrates a narrow support housing 115. FIG. 14B also illustrates support feet 124 for holding the control module 123 to the support housing 115. Additional, different, or fewer components may be included.” (MURPHY [0133])
a mirror coupled to the support portion;
“ FIGS. 14A and 14B illustrate an apparatus for a mirror including a support housing 115, a sensor module 121, a control module housing 122, and mirror interface 120, according to an exemplary embodiment. A control module 123 may be shaped to mate and/or fit inside the control module housing 122. The control module 123 may include a control interface 130 on the underside. FIG. 14A illustrates a wider support housing 115 and FIG. 14B illustrates a narrow support housing 115. FIG. 14B also illustrates support feet 124 for holding the control module 123 to the support housing 115. Additional, different, or fewer components may be included.” (MURPHY [0133])
an audio sensor configured to capture an utterance spoken by a user and generate an audio signal using the utterance;
“ FIGS. 14A and 14B illustrate an apparatus for a mirror including a support housing 115, a sensor module 121, a control module housing 122, and mirror interface 120, according to an exemplary embodiment. A control module 123 may be shaped to mate and/or fit inside the control module housing 122. The control module 123 may include a control interface 130 on the underside. FIG. 14A illustrates a wider support housing 115 and FIG. 14B illustrates a narrow support housing 115. FIG. 14B also illustrates support feet 124 for holding the control module 123 to the support housing 115. Additional, different, or fewer components may be included.” (MURPHY [0133])
“ A virtual assistant may record voice commands using a microphone and send the voice commands to a cloud system through a network connection. …” (MURPHY [0042])
“ In addition to being encoded in a particular audio format, the recorded audio may include a predetermined syntax. The voice commands may include any combination of summons commands, request commands, device function commands, a skill command, and other commands. ” (MURPHY [0070])
and a controller configured to determine that the audio signal corresponds with a keyword associated with a state of the mirror assembly and to change the state of the mirror assembly in response to the determination that the audio signal corresponds with the keyword.
“ The summons command may include a trigger word or voxel to address the home hub communication device. The trigger word may include a user specified name for the home hub communication device or a brand name for the home hub communication device or a generic name (e.g., hub or home hub) for the home hub communication device. In another example, the trigger word may include a class of appliance or an associated room for the appliance. …” (MURPHY [0071])
“ ... In one example, when a summons command is received from the user, the current is varied so that a portion of the mirror becomes a user interface. ” (MURPHY [0132])
Wherein the summons command includes a trigger word that corresponds to a keyword.
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, furthermore MURPHY teaches:
The mirror assembly of Claim 1, further comprising a network interface configured to: transmit, over a network, the audio signal from the mirror assembly to a remote system separate from the mirror assembly,
“ Regarding the remote analysis embodiments, the network device 14 may package or pre-process the data in a predetermined format and transmit the data to the server 13. The network device 14 may filter the data according to type. Example types include audio data, image data, position data, biometric data, ambient data, or other types. The network device 14 may select a particular type of data to send to the server 13 based on the types of appliances associated with the network device 14. That is, the network device 14 may sort and select data collected at appliance X, for use with appliance Y, according to the capabilities or configuration of appliance Y, and send the selected data to server 13. In turn, the server 13 sends the selected data to appliance Y in response to the capabilities or configuration of appliance Y. ” (MURPHY [0067])
and in response to the remote system performing speech recognition on the audio signal,
“A virtual assistant may record voice commands using a microphone and send the voice commands to a cloud system through a network connection. The cloud system may collect information in response to the voice commands and reply to the virtual assistant with the information. The following embodiments include household appliances that are integrated with a virtual assistant or otherwise interact with a virtual assistant to share data among the household appliances. ... ” (MURPHY [0042])
receive an indication from the remote system over the network that the audio signal corresponds with a keyword associated with a state of the mirror assembly.
The microphone activated or muted LED 143 is an indicator that indicates when the microphone is in use. The user may activate or deactivate the microphone using a voice command or other user input. The inquiry LED 145 may indicate that voice commands are being received. For example, the inquiry LED 145 may illuminate in response to the summons command. Thus, the inquiry LED 145 indicates that the home hub communication device has correctly identified that voice commands are being received. The proximity sensor 147 may be used in coordination with sensor 102. ” (MURPHY [0148])
“A virtual assistant may record voice commands using a microphone and send the voice commands to a cloud system through a network connection. The cloud system may collect information in response to the voice commands and reply to the virtual assistant with the information. The following embodiments include household appliances that are integrated with a virtual assistant or otherwise interact with a virtual assistant to share data among the household appliances. ... ” (MURPHY [0042])
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated, furthermore MURPHY teaches:
The mirror assembly of Claim 4, wherein the network interface is further configured to receive an instruction from a user device,
“... The dedicated remote 185, or the remote application on phone 181, may receive user input for any of the commands for the control module 183. ” (MURPHY [0156])
“ FIG. 20 illustrates an example control panel 195 for the home hub communication devices. Control panel 195 may include phone 181 and/or dedicated remote 185. In some embodiments, control panel 195 is a mobile device. The control panel 195 displays multiple inputs or icons to the user. A selection made on the control panel 195 is encoded in a command that may be transmitted directly to the control module 183. Each selection on the control panel 195 may correspond to a similar voice command having a device identifier and a device function. The command may be transmitted to the network device 14 and/or server 13, which relays the command to the intelligent toilet. The control panel 195 may additionally or alternatively control other appliances according to any of the examples herein. The control panel 195 may be a phone, tablet, watch, or wearable device. The control panel 195 may physically connect to one or more of the bathroom or kitchen appliances (i.e., the control panel 195 may physically connect (e.g., snap) to one appliance, be removed, and subsequently be physically connected to another appliance). ” (MURPHY [0185])
wherein the user device is configured to generate the instruction in response to a voice command uttered by a user and captured by the user device,
“ FIG. 6 illustrates a flow of data between appliances for controlling a first device based on data collected by a second device, according to an exemplary embodiment. The network device 14 described with respect to FIG. 4 may be included or omitted from the example of FIG. 6. The flow of data between appliances may include multiple types of data including but not limited to an audio recording 43, command data 45, and a setting 47. ” (MURPHY [0107])
wherein the controller is further configured to turn the change of the state of the mirror assembly in response to the instruction.
“ The intelligent mirror 1 may include a screen or other user interface to provide selections to any of the intelligent bathroom devices or other devices. For example, commands received at the intelligent mirror 1 may be transmitted to any of the other devices (e.g., to turn on, turn off, start a function, or make a selection). Further, the status or other settings of the other devices may be displayed by the intelligent mirror 1. ” (MURPHY [0041])
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated, furthermore MURPHY teaches:
The mirror assembly of Claim 4, further comprising a display, wherein the controller is further configured to display first content in the display in response to a voice command.
“ The user interface 105 may include a touchscreen. The user interface 105 may include a temporal component 107, a user input 109, and a weather component 111. FIG. 12 illustrates another example user interface for a mirror and cabinet, including a similar temporal component 107 and weather component 111. FIG. 13 illustrates another embodiment of the user interface and mirror substrate integrated as a transitional user interface and mirror. By varying an electric current through different portions of the mirror substrate, the mirror substrate may change between a mirror and the user interface. A network of traces or wires carry the varying electric current. In one example, when data is received from another device, the current is varied so that a portion of the mirror becomes a user interface. In one example, when a summons command is received from the user, the current is varied so that a portion of the mirror becomes a user interface. ” (MURPHY [0132])
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated, furthermore MURPHY teaches:
The mirror assembly of Claim 6, wherein the network interface is further configured to: transmit a second audio signal corresponding to the voice command to the remote system;
“ The voice commands received at the control module 123 may include device identifiers that describe the auxiliary device and device functions to be performed by the auxiliary device, which are described herein with respect to various appliances. In addition, the voice commands may include a device identifier for the mirror assembly 101, or omitting the device identifier may default to the mirror assembly, and a device function for the mirror assembly 101. Example functions performed at the mirror assembly 101 may include control of the lights, control of the light guide, selection of the collected data and selection of the displayed data. ” (MURPHY [0142])
and receive an indication that the first content is to be displayed based on speech recognition being performed on the second audio signal.
“ ... The selection of the displayed data may enable or disable the display of external data (e.g., weather) or data received from auxiliary devices. ” (MURPHY [0143])
“ The control module 123 may include a speaker configured to provide audio for status data for the auxiliary device, settings data for the auxiliary device, configuration data for the user, or type data for the auxiliary device. … ” (MURPHY [0140])
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated, furthermore MURPHY teaches:
The mirror assembly of Claim 7, wherein the controller is further configured to obtain the first content from a second remote system via a wired or wireless communication.
“ The control module 123 may select, based on the analysis of the sensor data, an auxiliary command for an auxiliary device coordinated with the mirror assembly 101. The auxiliary command may be selected for a particular user. The auxiliary command for the auxiliary device is based on the instruction from the user received at the user interface and the data displayed at the user interface includes status data for the auxiliary device, settings data for the auxiliary device, configuration data for the user, or type data for the auxiliary device. ” (MURPHY [0136])
“ ... The selection of the displayed data may enable or disable the display of external data (e.g., weather) or data received from auxiliary devices. ” (MURPHY [0143])
“ Controller 260 is shown to include a communications interface 264, a processor 299, and memory 298. Communications interface 264 may include wired or wireless interfaces (e.g., jacks, antennas, transmitters, receivers, transceivers, wire terminals, etc.) for conducting data communications with various systems, devices, or networks. ... ” (MURPHY [0217])
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated, furthermore MURPHY teaches:
The mirror assembly of Claim 7, wherein the first content comprises weather data.
“ ... The selection of the displayed data may enable or disable the display of external data (e.g., weather) or data received from auxiliary devices. ” (MURPHY [0143])
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated, furthermore MURPHY teaches:
The mirror assembly of Claim 7, further comprising a speaker, and wherein the controller is further configured to generate a second audio signal that, when output by the speaker, audibly indicates the first content.
“ The control module 123 may include a speaker configured to provide audio for status data for the auxiliary device, settings data for the auxiliary device, configuration data for the user, or type data for the auxiliary device. The speaker may be movable. The control module 123 may engage a positioning mechanism (e.g., stepper motor or solenoid) to move the speaker toward a user. The degree of movement may depend on the task performed by the user, the identity of the user, the height of the user, the preferences of the user. The volume of the speaker may be configurable. The control module 123 may set a volume of the speaker based on the task performed by the user, the identity of the user, the age of the user, the height of the user, the preferences of the user. For example, volume may be set proportional to age. Certain tasks may invoke higher volumes. For example, when the shower is running a higher volume is used. ” (MURPHY [0140])
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated, furthermore MURPHY teaches:
The mirror assembly of Claim 6, wherein the network interface is further configured to: transmit a second audio signal corresponding to the voice command to a user device;
“ The recording 43 may include audio data including a voice command. Example voice commands may include any combination of summons commands, request commands, device function commands, a skill command, and other commands. The voice command may include a predetermined syntax (e.g., [summons], [device function command]). The voice command may include natural language. The recording 43 may be interpreted at the first appliance 31, server 13, or at the network device 14. Alternatively, the voice command may be interpreted at the second appliance 32 and encoded as command data 45. The command data 45 may include a data packet with a device identifier and a function identifier. In addition, the user may directly enter an instruction to the second appliance 32 that is to be applied to the first appliance 31. The direct command may be transferred between appliances as setting 47. ” (MURPHY [0108])
and receive, from the user device, an indication that the first content is to be displayed.
“ The intelligent mirror 1 may include a screen or other user interface to provide selections to any of the intelligent bathroom devices or other devices. For example, commands received at the intelligent mirror 1 may be transmitted to any of the other devices (e.g., to turn on, turn off, start a function, or make a selection). Further, the status or other settings of the other devices may be displayed by the intelligent mirror 1. ” (MURPHY [0044])
Regarding claim 12, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated, furthermore MURPHY teaches:
The mirror assembly of Claim 6, wherein the display is located behind the mirror.
“ The user interface 105 may include a touchscreen. The user interface 105 may include a temporal component 107, a user input 109, and a weather component 111. FIG. 12 illustrates another example user interface for a mirror and cabinet, including a similar temporal component 107 and weather component 111. FIG. 13 illustrates another embodiment of the user interface and mirror substrate integrated as a transitional user interface and mirror. By varying an electric current through different portions of the mirror substrate, the mirror substrate may change between a mirror and the user interface. A network of traces or wires carry the varying electric current. In one example, when data is received from another device, the current is varied so that a portion of the mirror becomes a user interface. In one example, when a summons command is received from the user, the current is varied so that a portion of the mirror becomes a user interface. ” (MURPHY [0132])
Regarding claim 13, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, furthermore MURPHY teaches:
The mirror assembly of Claim 1, wherein the state of the mirror assembly comprises one of a change to a state of a light source of the mirror assembly,
“ FIG. 15 illustrates a control interface 130 for the communication module of FIGS. 14A and 14B, according to an exemplary embodiment. The control interface 130 may include one or more tactile switches such as a volume control 137, a capacitive light control 133, and a wireless network toggle button 135. The capacitive light control 133, or any of the inputs to the control interface 130 may include a capacitive sensor responsive to touch. Adjacent to the control interface 130 may be one or more speakers 132, and an array of light emitting diodes (LEDs) including nightlight LEDs 134 and home hub communication indicators 136. ” (MURPHY [0144])
“ The voice commands received at the control module 183 may include device identifiers that describe the auxiliary device and device functions to be performed by the auxiliary device, which are described herein with respect to various appliances. In addition, the voice commands may include a device identifier for the intelligent toilet, or omitting the device identifier may default to the intelligent toilet, and a device function for the intelligent toilet. Example functions performed at the intelligent toilet may include flushing the toilet, activating or deactivating the seat warmer, activating or deactivating a media player, opening or closing the lid, control of the lights, control of the light guide, selection of the collected data and selection of the displayed data. ” (MURPHY [0182])
a change to an intensity of the light source,
“The control of the lights (e.g., light strip 103) may include the color of the lights, brightness of the lights, intensity of the lights, or schedule for the lights. The control of the light guide may include an angle or position for the light is determined based on the auxiliary command selected for the user. For example, the voice command may instruct the light guide to illuminate handwashing in response to the voice command. The selection of the collected data may enable or disable one or more sensors. The selection of the displayed data may enable or disable the display of external data (e.g., weather) or data received from auxiliary devices. ” (MURPHY [0143])
a change to a brightness of the light source,
“The control of the lights (e.g., light strip 103) may include the color of the lights, brightness of the lights, intensity of the lights, or schedule for the lights. The control of the light guide may include an angle or position for the light is determined based on the auxiliary command selected for the user. For example, the voice command may instruct the light guide to illuminate handwashing in response to the voice command. The selection of the collected data may enable or disable one or more sensors. The selection of the displayed data may enable or disable the display of external data (e.g., weather) or data received from auxiliary devices. ” (MURPHY [0143])
a change to a color of the light source,
“The control of the lights (e.g., light strip 103) may include the color of the lights, brightness of the lights, intensity of the lights, or schedule for the lights. The control of the light guide may include an angle or position for the light is determined based on the auxiliary command selected for the user. For example, the voice command may instruct the light guide to illuminate handwashing in response to the voice command. The selection of the collected data may enable or disable one or more sensors. The selection of the displayed data may enable or disable the display of external data (e.g., weather) or data received from auxiliary devices. ” (MURPHY [0143])
a change to a temperature of the light source,
“The control of the lights may include the color of the lights, brightness of the lights, intensity of the lights, or schedule for the lights, direction for the lights, hue for the lights, size of the light beam or focus for the lights. The control of the light guide may include an angle or position for the light is determined based on the auxiliary command selected for the user. For example, the voice command may instruct the light guide to illuminate handwashing in response to the voice command. The selection of the collected data may enable or disable one or more sensors. The selection of the displayed data may enable or disable the display of external data (e.g., weather) or data received from auxiliary devices. ” (MURPHY [0282])
Wherein the hue is related to the white light color temperature of the light source by changing the hue of white.
or a change to a sensitivity of a proximity sensor of the mirror assembly.
“ The sensor 102 may be a relative distance collection device such as a proximity sensor or a laser scanner. The laser scanner may emit one or more laser pulses that reflect off of objects and are received by the laser scanner. The time of flight for the laser pulses indicates the distance to the objects. The proximity sensor may detect a presence of an object at a predetermined distance or within a predetermined distance range. The proximity sensor may include a microwave or radar sensor. Example predetermined distances may be 28 inches, 1 meter or another distance. The range of the proximity sensor may be cone shaped. ” (MURPHY [0282])
Regarding claim 14, arguments analogous to claim 1 are applicable (see the rejection of claim 1), furthermore MURPHY teaches:
and a controller configured to determine that the audio signal corresponds with an action to perform in association with the mirror assembly and to perform the action in response to the determination that the audio signal corresponds with the action.
“ The intelligent mirror 1 may include a screen or other user interface to provide selections to any of the intelligent bathroom devices or other devices. For example, commands received at the intelligent mirror 1 may be transmitted to any of the other devices (e.g., to turn on, turn off, start a function, or make a selection). Further, the status or other settings of the other devices may be displayed by the intelligent mirror 1. ” (MURPHY [0044])
“ The recording 43 may include audio data including a voice command. Example voice commands may include any combination of summons commands, request commands, device function commands, a skill command, and other commands. The voice command may include a predetermined syntax (e.g., [summons], [device function command]). The voice command may include natural language. The recording 43 may be interpreted at the first appliance 31, server 13, or at the network device 14. Alternatively, the voice command may be interpreted at the second appliance 32 and encoded as command data 45. The command data 45 may include a data packet with a device identifier and a function identifier. In addition, the user may directly enter an instruction to the second appliance 32 that is to be applied to the first appliance 31. The direct command may be transferred between appliances as setting 47. ” (MURPHY [0108])
Wherein the action to perform is mapped to the commands received from voice input, including the summons commands, request commands, device function commands, skill commands and other commands.
Regarding claim 16, the rejection of claim 14 is incorporated, furthermore arguments analogous to claim 4 and 14 are applicable.
Regarding claim 17, the rejection of claim 16 is incorporated, furthermore arguments analogous to claim 5 and 14 are applicable.
Regarding claim 18, the rejection of claim 16 is incorporated, furthermore arguments analogous to claim 6 and 14 are applicable.
Regarding claim 19, the rejection of claim 18 is incorporated, furthermore arguments analogous to claim 7 and 14 are applicable.
Regarding claim 20, the rejection of claim 14 is incorporated, furthermore arguments analogous to claim 13 are applicable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MURPHY in view of Zadro; Zlatko (US 9347660 B1 published 2016-05-24) hereinafter ZADRO.
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, furthermore MURPHY does not teach, but ZADRO teaches:
The mirror assembly of Claim 1, wherein the support portion is positioned around at least a portion of a periphery of the mirror, wherein a swivel joint allows rotation of the mirror about an axis formed by the swivel joint.
“ Another object of the invention is to provide an adjustable color temperature illuminated dual magnification mirror in which has a mirror frame assembly including holding a pair of back-to-back mirror plates and an internal illumination source effective in illuminating object fields in front of both mirrors, the mirror frame assembly being rotatably supported between a laterally opposed pair of upstanding arms of a yoke at the upper end of a stanchion which extends upwardly from a base which includes power supply electrically connected to the illumination source through novel continuously rotatable coaxial connectors within the frame assembly which enable continuous rotation of the mirror frame assembly with respect to the base, thus enabling orientation of the mirror plates at any desired pivot angle relative to the base, the yoke being mounted to the upper end of the stanchion by a rotatable tubular joint which enables the yoke and mirror assembly to be pivoted about the axis of the rotatable joint from vertical orientations to horizontal orientations. ” (ZADRO [Column 3 lines 30 to 47])
Those hinges could be observed on ZADRO’s Fig. 2, elements 62R, 62L and 42.
ZADRO’s mirror illustration (ZADRO [Figure 2])
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include in the teachings of MURPHY the capability to have hinges and swivels in order to move the mirror to different directions. The benefit and motivation of such modification is discussed by ZADRO in the following portion: “This construction enables the yoke and mirror frame assembly to be pivoted downwardly from a vertical or near-vertical orientation to a substantially horizontal orientation which is useful for storing and shipping the mirror.” ” (ZADRO [Column 6 lines 62 to 66])
Claims 3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MURPHY in view of BINDER; Justin et al. (US 20140222436 A1 published 2014-08-07).
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, furthermore MURPHY does not teach, but BINDER teaches:
The mirror assembly of Claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to: prompt the user to utter the keyword in a training mode;
“ As described above, sound detectors (e.g., the sound-type detector 404 and/or the trigger sound detector 406) may be configured to compare a representation of a sound input (e.g., the sound or utterance provided by a user) to one or more reference representations. For example, if an input representation matches the reference representation to a predetermined confidence level, the sound detector will determine that the sound input corresponds to a predetermined type of sound (e.g., the sound-type detector 404), or that the sound input includes predetermined content (e.g., the trigger sound detector 406). In order to tune the voice trigger system 400, in some implementations, the device adjusts the reference representation to which the input representation is compared. In some implementations, the reference representation is adjusted (or created) as part of a voice enrollment or "training" procedure, where a user outputs the trigger sound several times so that the device can adjust (or create) the reference representation. The device can then create a reference representation using that person's actual voice.” (BINDER [0141])
perform speech recognition on an utterance by the user to generate second data representing the keyword;
“ As described above, sound detectors (e.g., the sound-type detector 404 and/or the trigger sound detector 406) may be configured to compare a representation of a sound input (e.g., the sound or utterance provided by a user) to one or more reference representations. For example, if an input representation matches the reference representation to a predetermined confidence level, the sound detector will determine that the sound input corresponds to a predetermined type of sound (e.g., the sound-type detector 404), or that the sound input includes predetermined content (e.g., the trigger sound detector 406). In order to tune the voice trigger system 400, in some implementations, the device adjusts the reference representation to which the input representation is compared. In some implementations, the reference representation is adjusted (or created) as part of a voice enrollment or "training" procedure, where a user outputs the trigger sound several times so that the device can adjust (or create) the reference representation. The device can then create a reference representation using that person's actual voice.” (BINDER [0141])
and store the second data.
“ As described above, sound detectors (e.g., the sound-type detector 404 and/or the trigger sound detector 406) may be configured to compare a representation of a sound input (e.g., the sound or utterance provided by a user) to one or more reference representations. For example, if an input representation matches the reference representation to a predetermined confidence level, the sound detector will determine that the sound input corresponds to a predetermined type of sound (e.g., the sound-type detector 404), or that the sound input includes predetermined content (e.g., the trigger sound detector 406). In order to tune the voice trigger system 400, in some implementations, the device adjusts the reference representation to which the input representation is compared. In some implementations, the reference representation is adjusted (or created) as part of a voice enrollment or "training" procedure, where a user outputs the trigger sound several times so that the device can adjust (or create) the reference representation. The device can then create a reference representation using that person's actual voice.” (BINDER [0141])
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include in the teachings of MURPHY the capability to train the voice model of the device in order to create a voice reference representation. The benefit and motivation of such modification is discussed by BINDER in the following portion: “Because people's voices vary greatly, it may be necessary or beneficial to tune a voice trigger to improve its accuracy in recognizing the voice of a particular user. Also, people's voices may change over time, for example, because of illnesses, natural voice changes relating to aging or hormonal changes, and the like. Thus, in some implementations, the voice trigger system 400 is able to adapt its voice and/or sound recognition profiles for a particular user or group of users. ” (BINDER [0141])
Regarding claim 15, the rejection of claim 14 is incorporated, furthermore arguments analogous to claim 3 are applicable.
Conclusion
/HECTOR J. CRESPO FEBLES/Examiner, Art Unit 2657
/DANIEL C WASHBURN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2657