DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after May 19, 2022, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-10 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mei, Liang (CN106043584 A; hereinafter, “Mei”).
Regarding claim 1, Mei teaches: a drive device (“mid-drive motor”; [0038]) for an electric bicycle (“bicycle”, fig. 1; [0038]), the drive device comprising:
a gearbox (“planetary wheel mechanism 015”; [‘abstract’]) having a first drive shaft (upper 014, fig. 1; [0043]), a second drive shaft (020, fig. 1;[0047]), and an output element (022, fig. 1; [0043]), wherein torque from a first electric motor (upper 012, fig. 1) is couplable into the gearbox (015, [0041]) via the first drive shaft (014, fig. 1) and torque (“large output torque”; [0042]) from a second electric motor (lower 012, fig. 1) is couplable into said gearbox (015) via said second drive shaft (020, fig. 1);
said output element (022, fig. 1) being configured to dissipate torque (large output torque by motor; [0042]) from said gearbox (015); and,
wherein the torques fed in via (via motor 012) said first drive shaft (014) and said second drive shaft (020, fig. 1) are transmitted within said gearbox (015) at least in sections (upper and lower sections as depicted in fig. 1) on different sides (opposite sides of crank shaft 022) of said first drive shaft (014) and said second drive shaft (020).
Regarding claim 3, Mei further teaches that said first drive shaft (014) and said second drive shaft (020, fig. 1) extend in a common plane [para. 0043 teaches that “the coaxial arrangement of the motor body output shaft 014 and the second shaft 020 can effectively save the axial and radial space inside the mid-drive motor; thus, extend in a common plane].
Regarding claim 4, Mei further teaches that said first electric motor (upper 012, fig. 1) coupled to said first drive shaft (014); and, said second electric motor (lower 012) coupled to said second drive shaft (020, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Mei further teaches that said gearbox (015) has a pedal shaft (021, fig. 1) extending transversely or perpendicularly (as depicted in fig. 1, a pedal shaft 021 is positioned perpendicularly with first shaft 014 and second shaft 020) to said first drive shaft (14) and said second drive shaft (020); and, said gearbox (015) is configured to transmit torque from said pedal shaft (021) to said output element (022) to propel the electric bicycle via pedaling [para. 0050 teaches: “in order to accurately detect the pedaling force provided by the rider to the bicycle, that is, to accurately detect the torque information of the bottom bracket 020”; thus, configured to transmit torque from said pedal shaft].
Regarding claim 6, Mei further teaches that said gearbox (015) is configured to transmit torque (“torque”; [0050]) from an electric motor (012) coupled to said first drive shaft (014) to said output element (022) to propel the electric bicycle with motor assistance [para. 0046 teaches that the output shaft 014 of the motor body can be used as the sun gear of the second planetary gear mechanism 016 to realize the power input; thus, gearbox is configured to transmit torque from an electric motor coupled to said first drive shaft to said output element to propel the electric bicycle with motor assistance].
Regarding claim 7, Mei further teaches that said gearbox (015, fig. 1) is configured such that a transmission ratio (via “reduction ratio”; [0006]) of the torque transmission (via 023 shaft connector and o24 torque sensor; [0033]) from said pedal shaft (021) to said output element (022) is adjustable (via way valve 018 to achieve power deceleration output; [0047]) by rotating (fig. 1) said second drive shaft (020).
Regarding claim 8, Mei further teaches that wherein for setting the transmission ratio (via “reduction ratio”; [0006]), said gearbox (015) has a differential in a form of a bevel gear differential gearbox or a planetary gearbox (“use planetary gear reduction mechanisms”; [0006]) or a stepped planetary gearbox or a crown gear differential gearbox.
Regarding claim 9, Mei includes all the limitations of claim 8, and further teaches: wherein:
said differential (fig. 1) is a planetary gearbox (“use planetary gear reduction mechanisms”; [0006]);
said second drive shaft (020, fig. 1) is coupled to a ring gear of said planetary gearbox (“the outer gear ring of the first planetary gear mechanism”; [0013]);
said pedal shaft (021) is connected to a sun gear of said planetary gearbox in a rotationally fixed manner (“sun gear output as a speed-up mechanism”; [0013]); and,
said output element (022) is connected to a planet carrier of said planetary gearbox in a rotationally fixed manner [see fig. 1 where output element 022 is connected to a planet carrier of said planetary gearbox in a rotationally fixed manner].
Regarding claim 10, Mei further teaches that:
said differential is a stepped planetary gearbox [para. 0029 teaches: “015 – First planetary gear mechanism; 016 – Second planetary gear mechanism”; thus, said differential is a stepped planetary gearbox].
said second drive shaft (020) is coupled to a sun gear of said stepped planetary gearbox [0045 teaches: “the sun gear of the first planetary gear mechanism 015 to realize the speed-up output of human power; thus, said second drive shaft (020) is coupled to a sun gear of said stepped planetary gearbox];
said pedal shaft (021) is coupled to a planet carrier of said stepped planetary gearbox (see fig. 1 where 021 is coupled to a planet carrier of said stepped planetary gearbox); and,
said output element (022) is coupled to a further sun gear of said stepped planetary gearbox (via shaft connector 023; [0048]).
Regarding claim 15, Mei includes all the limitations of claim 8, and further teaches that said differential is a crown gear differential gearbox (with ring gear and sun (spur) gear; [0015]); an epicyclic gear carrier of said crown gear differential gearbox (as depicted in fig. 1) is connected to said pedal shaft (021, fig. 1) in a rotationally fixed manner (“maintaining a high rotational speed and maximizing the motor's performance”; [0022]); at least one epicyclic spur gear (sun gear; [0015]) is arranged on said epicyclic gear carrier (fig. 1); said output element (022) is coupled in a rotationally fixed manner to a first main crown gear (ring gear, fig. 1 and it should be understood that the assembly as depicted in fig. 1 is intended to couple the output element 022 in rotational fixed manner) of said crown gear differential gearbox (fig. 1), said first main crown gear (“outer gear ring”; [0015]) being in engagement with said at least one epicyclic spur gear (“sun gear input”); and, said second drive shaft (020;[ 0047]) is coupled to a second main crown gear (“second planetary gear mechanism”; [0015]) of said crown gear differential gearbox (as depicted in fig. 1), said second main crown gear (“first planetary gear mechanism”; [0015]) being in engagement with said at least one epicyclic spur gear (sun gear input of first planetary gear mechanism).
Regarding claim 16, Mei further teaches that said first main crown gear (outer or first ring gear from first planetary gear mechanism) and said second main crown gear (second ring gear from second planetary gear mechanism) are arranged on different sides (see fig. 1 where planetary gear mechanism are on the two opposite sides of the crank shaft ) of said first drive shaft (014) and said second drive shaft (020).
Regarding claim 17, Mei teaches: an electric bicycle (“bicycle”; ‘title’) comprising:
a drive device (“mid-drive motor”, fig. 1; [0038]) having a gearbox (“planetary wheel mechanism 015”; [‘abstract’]);
said gearbox (015) having a first drive shaft (014, fig. 1; [0043]), a second drive shaft (020, fig. 1; [0047]), and an output element (022, fig. 1; [0043]), wherein torque from a first electric motor (upper 012, fig. 1) is couplable into the gearbox (015; [0041]) via the first drive shaft (014, fig. 1) and torque (“large output torque”; [0042]) from a second electric motor (lower 012, fig. 1) is couplable into said gearbox (015; [0041]) via said second drive shaft (020, fig. 1);
said output element (022, fig. 1) being configured to dissipate torque (large output torque by motor; [0042]) from said gearbox (015); and,
wherein the torques fed in via (via motor 012) said first drive shaft (014) and said second drive shaft (020, fig. 1) are transmitted within said gearbox (015) at least in sections (upper and lower sections as depicted in fig. 1) on different sides (opposite sides of crank shaft 022) of said first drive shaft (014) and said second drive shaft (020);
a down tube (019); and,
said first drive shaft (014) and said second drive shaft (020) extending in said down tube (019, fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 11-14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mei in view of Marc Heriard Dubreuil (FR 2606480 A2; hereinafter, “Marc”).
Regarding claim 2, Mei teaches the gearbox, the first drive shaft, the output element, transmitting torque and rotational direction, but fails to explicitly teach the bevel gear in such that said gearbox has a bevel gear stage (32, 30, 29, 27, fig. 6) which is coupled to the first drive shaft (33) and to the output element (28); and, said bevel gear stage includes a bevel gear coupled to said output element for transmitting torque in at least one rotational direction without a change in rotational speed; however,
Marc in another “continuous gear changing device” similar to Mei teaches that said gearbox (gear changing device, figs. 5-8) has a bevel gear stage (32, 30, 29, 27, fig. 6) which is coupled to the first drive shaft (33) and to the output element (28); and, said bevel gear stage includes a bevel gear (29, fig. 6) coupled to said output element (28) for transmitting torque in at least one rotational direction without a change in rotational speed (see fig. 6-8; [also note that said gearbox has a further bevel gear stage (27, 29) which is coupled to said second drive shaft (24)]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have bevel gear which is coupled to the first drive shaft and to the output element for transmitting torque in at least one rotational direction without change in rotational speed as taught by Marc into the invention of Mei in order to advantageously allow freewheel non-return mechanism disposed between the double pinion [para. 007 of Marc] such that the assemblies can be fit into tighter space while still providing non-return directional change and torque transfer.
Regarding claim 11, Mei teaches the gearbox, differential but fails to explicitly teach that said differential is a bevel gear differential gearbox and the remaining limitation as required by the claim; however,
Marc teaches that said differential (fig. 6) is a bevel gear differential gearbox (as depicted in fig. 6); an epicyclic gear carrier of said bevel gear differential gearbox (fig. 3a and fig. 6 shows epicyclic gear carrier) is connected to said pedal shaft (33) in a rotationally fixed manner (fig. 6); at least one epicyclic bevel gear (29) is arranged on said epicyclic gear carrier (fig. 9a); said output element (28) is coupled in a rotationally fixed manner to a first main bevel gear (30) of said bevel gear differential gearbox (as depicted in fig. 6), said first main bevel gear (30) being in engagement with said at least one epicyclic bevel gear [32, as depicted in fig. 6 and 9a; the said first and said second main bevel gears (32 and 36) are arranged on different sides of said first drive shaft (33) and said second drive shaft (24)]; and, said second drive shaft (24) is coupled to a second main bevel gear (36) of said bevel gear differential gearbox (fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have the bevel gear differential gearbox which can be rotationally connected to the pedal shaft in a rotationally fixed manner while maintaining at least epicyclic bevel gear and its carrier of the said bevel gear differential as taught by Marc into the invention of Mei in order to advantageously hold and positions multiple planet gears around a sun gear, ensuring alignment, load distribution, and torque transmission is maintained in a non-return directional change.
Regarding claim 12, Mei as modified above further teaches that the said first and said second main bevel gears (32 and 36) are arranged on different sides of said first drive shaft (33) and said second drive shaft (24). See claim rejection 11 above.
Regarding claim 13, Mei as modified above further teaches that said gearbox has a further bevel gear stage (27, 29) which is coupled to said second drive shaft (24, See claim rejection 2 above ;[also note that said bevel gear stage (32, 30) and said further bevel gear stage (27, 29) are arranged on different sides (33 side and 24 side) of said first drive shaft (33) and said second drive shaft (24). See claim rejection 2 above).
Regarding claim 14, Mei as modified above further teaches that said bevel gear stage (32, 30) and said further bevel gear stage (27, 29) are arranged on different sides (33 side and 24 side) of said first drive shaft (33) and said second drive shaft (24). See claim rejection 13 above, including motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify.
Regarding claim 18, Mei teaches: a drive device (“mid-drive motor”; [0038]) for an electric bicycle (“bicycle” with motor, fig. 1; [0038]), the drive device comprising: a gearbox (“planetary wheel mechanism 015”; [‘abstract’]) having a first drive shaft (014; [0043]), a second drive shaft (020; [0047]) and an output element (022, fig. 1; [0043]), wherein torque from a first electric motor (upper 012, fig. 1) is couplable into said gearbox (015; [0041]) via said first drive shaft (014, fig. 1), torque (“large output torque”; [0042]) from a second electric motor (lower 012, fig. 1) is couplable into said gearbox (15) via said second drive shaft (020); said output element (022) being configured to dissipate torque (large output torque via motors) from said gearbox (015); wherein the torques fed in (via motor 012) via said first drive shaft (014) and said second drive shaft (020) are transmitted within said gearbox (015) at least in sections (upper and lower section as depicted in fig. 1) on different sides (opposite side of crank shaft 022) of said first drive shaft (014) and said second drive shaft (020).
Mei does not appear to explicitly teach that said gearbox having a bevel gear stage (30, 32; fig. 6) which is coupled to said first drive shaft (33) and to said output element (28); and, a bevel gear (30) of said bevel gear stage (30, 32) being coupled to said output element for transmitting torque in at least one rotational direction without a change in rotational speed; however,
Marc teaches that that said gearbox having a bevel gear stage (30, 32; fig. 6) which is coupled to said first drive shaft (33) and to said output element (28); and, a bevel gear (30) of said bevel gear stage (30, 32) being coupled to said output element (28) for transmitting torque in at least one rotational direction without a change in rotational speed (via “freewheel non-return mechanism 40”; [007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have the modified Mei to include the teaching of Marc and provide the gearbox having a bevel gear stage which is coupled to said first drive shaft and to said output element for transmitting torque in at least one rotational direction without a change in rotational speed as specified- a freewheel non-return mechanism in the paragraph 007 of Marc with a reasonable expectation of success in order to advantageously split torque between the first and second shafts and can transmit higher torque with better efficiency in non-return mechanism.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN115991273 A to Niclas discloses: the first connection module (411) comprises an output shaft (4112), wherein the first connection module (411) is adapted to be mounted to a module interface (241) of the propulsion unit (200) such that the one or more input shafts (4111) of the first connection module are drivingly connected to the drive shaft (2152) via the output shaft of the first connection module.
/NABIN KUMAR SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/VIVEK D KOPPIKAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3612
September 17, 2026