Claims 1-21 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “an automation device” on line 2 of the claim, which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the automation device refers to the automation devices on line 1 of the claim or to another. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-9 are rejected for dependency upon rejected base claim 1 above.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the latest version" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-9 are rejected for dependency upon rejected base claim 1 above.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “an automation hub” on line 8 of the claim, which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the automation hub refers to the automation hub on line 2 of the claim or to another. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-9 are rejected for dependency upon rejected base claim 1 above.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “an automation device” on line 2 of the claim, which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the automation device refers to the automation devices on line 1 of the claim or to another. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 11-19 are rejected for dependency upon rejected base claim 10 above.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “an automation device” on line 2 of the claim, which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the automation device refers to the automation devices on line 1 of the claim or to another. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 21 is rejected for dependency upon rejected base claim 20 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fast (US 2025/0224950) in view of Glendinning (US 2023/0125616), and further in view of Rao (US 2022/0206929).
Regarding claim 1, Fast teaches polling an automation device connected to an automation hub to obtain a firmware version for the automation device; ([0052] “By means of an update planning service also provided via the device management and update user unit 110 set up by programming, the update planning service being set up for planning update requests for each automation device of the plurality of automation devices for which read-out device type information is stored, an actualization or update plan can be created by the user/operator, in particular by persons of the device administration, by means of the DaUM system via an operating mask of the device management and update user unit 110 with the data contained in the aforementioned own data storage, in order to supply each automation device to be updated, in particular also in relation to specific assets of a respective automation device, with new versions of firmware or other software.”; and [0061] “a function for planning updates, in particular including checking and allocating files to specific devices with termination conditions and start times;”) comparing a firmware version on the automation device to the latest version of the firmware for the automation device as recorded in a central version data store; determining whether the firmware version has been recorded in the central version data store; ([0045] “As will be explained in more detail below, the device management and update user unit 110 is also set up by programming to provide various services. In FIG. 1, these services of the management and update system are referred to in their entirety as DaUM Service (“Device and Update Management Service”) and ensure in their entirety in the context of management and updating in particular a dynamic monitoring of assets and functions of the automation devices installed to the OT network.”; and [0047] “ In particular, the storage device thus essentially represents a central update repository as a source that is provided in relation to these files and intended for updating, which is also referred to as “Cure” (“Central Update Repository” in FIG. 1 and below.”; and [0053] “In particular since, as already shown above, further processing of update files and thus also for supplying the automation devices with update files should only concern released update files or updates, a check and allocation service is also provided via the device management and update user unit 110 set up by programming, which is set up to check each retrieved update file for its release in relation to the plurality of automation devices in functional dependence on the stored device type information and, if the check of one of the retrieved update files leads to a release for an automation device, to allocate this update file to the device type information saved for this automation device. In addition, the device management and update user unit is appropriately set up by programming to also save allocated update files, in particular in the aforementioned own data storage.”; and [100] “In addition, the superimposed management level makes it possible to keep the device firmware up to date, ensuring that the devices are always provided with the latest security patches and performance improvements. ”). Fast does not explicitly teach testing the firmware version against an automation driver in an automation hub when the firmware version has not been recorded in the central version data store; and updating the automation driver on the automation hub if the test does not pass.
However, Glendinning teaches testing the firmware version against a driver when the firmware version has not been recorded; and updating the driver if the test does not pass ([0018] “The method comprises obtaining 110 the information on the expected system configuration of the computer system 100 from the protected storage 101 of the computer system, The method comprises determining 120 the information on the current system configuration of the computer system. The method comprises comparing 130 the expected system configuration with the current system configuration. The method comprises providing 160 the information on the mismatch via an output device of the computer system if there is a mismatch between the expected system configuration and the current system configuration.”; and [0024] “Thus, an administrator of the computer system may be allowed to modify the information on the expected system configuration in such an event. In another scenario, such a modification may be performed more often. This is the case if the information on the expected system configuration also comprises information on the driver or firmware versions being used to operate the respective hardware components, more frequent updates to the information on the expected system configuration may be applied, e.g., after the new driver or firmware version has proven to be stable.”; and [0068] “two preconditions may be met - the daemon may run on the SUT (System under Test) and the required needed configurations are set, and the latest version of the primary telemetry data may be saved, e.g., in the file system (the daemon may store and keep a reference to this copy). When a trigger is received 410 (trigger events may include one or more of power on SUT shutdown/restart events, power state transition events (sleep-resume), reboots after auto-update, reboots after system crash/hangs/recovery), firmware and kernel verification are performed 420. If there is a power state transition, it is checked whether the secondary telemetry data is already collected - if not, the secondary telemetry data is collected 430 then. Subsequently, it is determined whether the secondary telemetry data is the same as the primary telemetry data. If they are the same, or if there is no power state transition, no action is taken 440. If the primary and secondary copy are not the same, and the daemon has not detected a problem, no action is taken 440. If the daemon has detected a problem, one or more of an impact prediction, problem solution and post problem correction (if successful) are performed. In impact prediction, the impact of the problem may be notified by the daemon to the user via a log entry, a user interface or a notification mechanism. In problem solution, three different courses of action can be taken - the user can ignore the problem, the user manually takes corrective action, or the daemon auto-corrects problems (in a user-configurable manner), e.g., by rolling back to a previous functional driver for the failure component. In post-problem correction, the primary telemetry copy may be updated using the secondary telemetry data copy.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the computer art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Fast to include testing the firmware version against a driver when the firmware version has not been recorded; and updating the driver if the test does not pass using the teaching of Glendinning. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to proactively and consistently manage the state of its modules to meet the end-user expectations of the product (Glendinning, par. 0001).
However, Rao teaches an automation driver (par. 0037).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the computer art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Fast to include an automation driver using the teaching of Rao. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide consistent end-user experiences regardless of geographic locations (Rao, par. 0002).
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Glendinning further teaches updating the firmware version on the automation device when the automation device does not have a latest firmware version ([0018] and [0024]).
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and Fast further teaches polling the automation device to obtain at least one of: a hardware version for the automation devices, a firmware version for the automation devices, or a software version for the automation devices ([0052], [0061], [0067]; and [0109]).
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and Fast further teaches providing updated firmware using firmware delivery services that are accessible to automation hubs or automation devices ([0100]; and [0102]). Fast does not explicitly teach automation drivers using automation driver delivery services.
However, Rao teaches automation drivers using automation driver delivery services (par. 0030 and 0037).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the computer art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Fast to include automation drivers using automation driver delivery services using the teaching of Rao. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide consistent end-user experiences regardless of geographic locations (Rao, par. 0002).
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and Fast further teaches polling the automation devices using a polling agent on the automation hub (par. 0056-0061; DaUM system performs functions and the function is interpreted as a polling agent).
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and Fast further teaches the central version data store is managed by a management service in a cloud computing environment ([0099] and [0103]).
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and Fast further teaches storing a hardware version and firmware version for the automation devices that is accessible to the automation hub ([0066] and [0067]).
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Fast further teaches a portion of a automation software resides on an automation device and is updated ([0079] and [0102]). Fast does not explicitly teach automation drivers.
However, Rao teaches automation drivers (par. 0030 and 0037).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the computer art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Fast to include automation drivers using the teaching of Rao. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide consistent end-user experiences regardless of geographic locations (Rao, par. 0002).
Per Claims 20-21:
These are another versions of the claimed method discussed above (claims 1 and 3, respectively), wherein all claim limitations also have been addressed and/or covered in cited areas as set forth above. Thus, accordingly, these claims are also obvious.
Claim(s) 10-14 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fast (US 2025/0224950) in view of Glendinning (US 2023/0125616), further in view of Rao (US 2022/0206929), and further in view of Jain (US 2018/0349161).
Regarding claim 10, Fast teaches comparing a firmware version on the automation device to the latest version of the firmware for the automation device as recorded in a central version data store; determining whether the firmware version has been recorded in the central version data store ([0045] “As will be explained in more detail below, the device management and update user unit 110 is also set up by programming to provide various services. In FIG. 1, these services of the management and update system are referred to in their entirety as DaUM Service (“Device and Update Management Service”) and ensure in their entirety in the context of management and updating in particular a dynamic monitoring of assets and functions of the automation devices installed to the OT network.”; and [0047] “ In particular, the storage device thus essentially represents a central update repository as a source that is provided in relation to these files and intended for updating, which is also referred to as “Cure” (“Central Update Repository” in FIG. 1 and below.”; and [100] “In addition, the superimposed management level makes it possible to keep the device firmware up to date, ensuring that the devices are always provided with the latest security patches and performance improvements. ”; and [0053] “In particular since, as already shown above, further processing of update files and thus also for supplying the automation devices with update files should only concern released update files or updates, a check and allocation service is also provided via the device management and update user unit 110 set up by programming, which is set up to check each retrieved update file for its release in relation to the plurality of automation devices in functional dependence on the stored device type information and, if the check of one of the retrieved update files leads to a release for an automation device, to allocate this update file to the device type information saved for this automation device. In addition, the device management and update user unit is appropriately set up by programming to also save allocated update files, in particular in the aforementioned own data storage.”). Fast does not explicitly teach regression testing the firmware version against an automation driver in an automation hub when the firmware version has not been recorded in the version data store to determine whether the automation driver provides a desired functionality; and updating the automation driver on the automation hub if a regression test does not pass.
However, Glendinning teaches testing the firmware version against a driver when the firmware version has not been recorded in the version data store to determine whether the automation driver provides a desired functionality; and updating the driver if the test does not pass ([0018] “The method comprises obtaining 110 the information on the expected system configuration of the computer system 100 from the protected storage 101 of the computer system, The method comprises determining 120 the information on the current system configuration of the computer system. The method comprises comparing 130 the expected system configuration with the current system configuration. The method comprises providing 160 the information on the mismatch via an output device of the computer system if there is a mismatch between the expected system configuration and the current system configuration.”; and [0024] “Thus, an administrator of the computer system may be allowed to modify the information on the expected system configuration in such an event. In another scenario, such a modification may be performed more often. This is the case if the information on the expected system configuration also comprises information on the driver or firmware versions being used to operate the respective hardware components, more frequent updates to the information on the expected system configuration may be applied, e.g., after the new driver or firmware version has proven to be stable.”; and [0068] “two preconditions may be met - the daemon may run on the SUT (System under Test) and the required needed configurations are set, and the latest version of the primary telemetry data may be saved, e.g., in the file system (the daemon may store and keep a reference to this copy). When a trigger is received 410 (trigger events may include one or more of power on SUT shutdown/restart events, power state transition events (sleep-resume), reboots after auto-update, reboots after system crash/hangs/recovery), firmware and kernel verification are performed 420. If there is a power state transition, it is checked whether the secondary telemetry data is already collected - if not, the secondary telemetry data is collected 430 then. Subsequently, it is determined whether the secondary telemetry data is the same as the primary telemetry data. If they are the same, or if there is no power state transition, no action is taken 440. If the primary and secondary copy are not the same, and the daemon has not detected a problem, no action is taken 440. If the daemon has detected a problem, one or more of an impact prediction, problem solution and post problem correction (if successful) are performed. In impact prediction, the impact of the problem may be notified by the daemon to the user via a log entry, a user interface or a notification mechanism. In problem solution, three different courses of action can be taken - the user can ignore the problem, the user manually takes corrective action, or the daemon auto-corrects problems (in a user-configurable manner), e.g., by rolling back to a previous functional driver for the failure component. In post-problem correction, the primary telemetry copy may be updated using the secondary telemetry data copy.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the computer art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Fast to include testing the firmware version against a driver when the firmware version has not been recorded in the version data store to determine whether the automation driver provides a desired functionality; and updating the driver if the test does not pass using the teaching of Glendinning. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to proactively and consistently manage the state of its modules to meet the end-user expectations of the product (Glendinning, par. 0001).
However, Rao teaches an automation driver in an automation hub (par. 0030 and 0037).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the computer art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Fast to include an automation driver in an automation hub using the teaching of Rao. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide consistent end-user experiences regardless of geographic locations (Rao, par. 0002).
However, Jain teaches regression testing ([0043] “As more and more features are added to the adaptive VF driver, regression testing may be performed to determine whether the VF can still work with the standard feature set.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the computer art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Fast to include regression testing using the teaching of Jain. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to manage adaptive virtual function drivers in a virtualization computing environment (Jain, par 0002).
Per Claims 11-14 & 16-19:
These are another versions of the claimed method discussed above (claims 1, 6, 3, 2, 5 and 7-9, respectively), wherein all claim limitations also have been addressed and/or covered in cited areas as set forth above. Thus, accordingly, these claims are also obvious.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 USC 112, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and the 35 USC 112 rejection is overcome.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Diamanti (US 2017/0169354) teaches a method for regression testing.
/QAMRUN NAHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2199