DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-11, 13, and 15-18, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Landais et al., USPN 2016/0323774.
With regard to claims 1, 8, 15, and 17, Landais discloses a wireless network (0001) including a memory, and at least one processor, coupled to the memory (0171) and operative to cause the wireless network to receive at least one authentication request from a user equipment (UE) (0009, 0020, 0042), determine whether to accept or reject the at least one authentication request (0009, 0020, 0052-0054), and upon rejecting a specified number of authentication requests (0008, 0020, 0052-0054, 0110), at least one of (i) transmit a timeout message to the UE to instruct the UE to refrain from transmitting subsequent authentication requests for a timeout period corresponding to a specified timeout duration (0019, 0052-0055, 0082-0083) and (ii) establish a local timeout period corresponding to the specified timeout duration during which the local network drops the subsequent authentication requests received from the UE (0022, 0062, 0052-0055, 0110).
With regard to claims 2 and 9, Landais discloses the network for claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses the specified number is one (0009, 0020, 0052-0054, 0110).
With regard to claims 3 and 10, Landais discloses the network for claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses the wireless network is configured to transmit the timeout message to the UE to instruct the UE to refrain from transmitting the subsequent authentication requests for the timeout period corresponding to the specified timeout duration (0019, 0052-0055, 0082-0083).
With regard to claims 4, 11, 16, and 18, Landais discloses the network for claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses the timeout duration is explicitly specified in the timeout message (0019, 0052-0055, 0082-0083).
With regard to claims 6 and 13, Landais discloses the network for claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses the wireless network is configured to establish the local timeout period corresponding to the specified timeout duration during which the wireless network drops the subsequent authentication requests received from the UE (0022, 0062, 0052-0055, 0110).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 7, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landais in view of Milton, USPN 2024/0056806.
With regard to claims 5, 7, 12, and 14, Landais discloses the network for claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses the wireless network includes an entitlement server (TWAN, 0042-0044, 0050, 0011, Fig. 1), an Authentication, Authorization, and Accounting (AAA) server (0042-0044, 0050), and a Home Subscriber Server / Unified Data Management (HSS/UDM) server (0042-0044, 0050), wherein the entitlement server is configured to receive and forward the authentication request from the UE to the AAA server (Fig. 1), the AAA server is configured to receive and forward the authentication request from the entitlement server to the HSS/UDM server (Fig. 1), the AAA server is configured generate and forward the timeout message to the entitlement server (0091), and the entitlement server is configured to transmit the timeout message to the UE (Fig. 1), and further discloses initiating a timeout when credential authentication fails to avoid congestion (0072-0074), but does not disclose the HSS/UDM server is configured to receive and determine whether to accept or reject the authentication request and, upon determining to reject the authentication request, forward an authentication rejection to the AAA server. Milton discloses a system of WLAN authenticating through an AAA (0025-0030), similar to that of Landais, and further discloses the HSS/UDM server is configured to receive and determine whether to accept or reject the authentication request and, upon determining to reject the authentication request, forward an authentication rejection to the AAA server (0059-0062). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date, to implement the HSS authentication of Milton to perform UE authentication in the system of Landais, for the motivation of improved authentication, centralized authentication, and centralized control of the system.
References Cited
Jensen, USPN 2004/0230843, discloses a system of initiating a timeout after a failed authentication (0042).
Bonn et al., USPN 11,576,048, discloses initiating a timeout when credentials fail in order to reduce network congestion (abstract).
Conclusion
/JACOB LIPMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434