DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/21/2025 and 12/20/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 9/9/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4-5 and 10-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected Species B, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-8, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1/2) as being anticipated by Maekawa et al. (JP 2014211839 A).
Please see the provided English translation of Maekawa et al. for citations therefrom.
Regarding claims 1 and 7:
Maekawa et al. disclose a printing device comprising:
a shaft (feed mechanism 38) configured to rotatably support a roll (paper roll Rp) configured to have a medium (paper Pr) would around a cylindrical body (core tube portion Rps) provided with a wireless tag (RFID tag 3r: Figs. 4-5);
an antenna (of reader/writer unit 51) configured to wirelessly communicate with the wireless tag (page 4);
a reader (of reader/writer unit 51) configured to read data recorded in the wireless tag by wireless communication via the antenna (pages 4-5); and
a controller (61) configured to, if the reader cannot read the data recorded in the wireless tag by the wireless communication via the antenna, cause the reader to perform a second read of the data recorded in the wireless tag (tag is read at S25) after the cylindrical body has been rotated around the shaft for a first rotation time (rotation begins at S21) and has been stopped (rotation is stopped at S24: pages 7-8 & Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 2 and 8:
Maekawa et al. disclose all the limitations of claims 1/7, and also that the controller repeatedly causes the reader to perform subsequent reads of the data recorded in the wireless tag after the cylindrical body has been rotated around the shaft for one or more rotation times different from the first rotation time and has been stopped, until the reader successfully reads the data recorded in the wireless tag (via repetition of steps S21-S25: Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 6 and 12:
Maekawa et al. disclose all the limitations of claims 1/7, and also that the controller performs subsequent reads of the wireless tag for a predetermined maximum value (“maximum set value”), the predetermined maximum value comprising at least one rotation time or a processing time (page 8 & S22: Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maekawa et al. (JP 2014211839A) in view of Starkey (US 2017/0282619 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 9:
Maekawa et al. disclose all the limitations of claims 1/7, and also that the controller causes the reader to perform a third read of the data recorded in the wireless tag after the cylindrical body rotating has been stopped (e.g. a third repetition of S25 after stopping in S24: Fig. 1).
Maekawa et al. do not expressly disclose that the printing device comprises a winding shaft and a winding motor.
However, Starkey disclose a printing apparatus that is able to determine identify a wireless tag (RFID tag 32) using maximum signal strength (paragraphs 35, 38), the printing apparatus comprising:
a winding shaft (take-up spool support 16) configured to wind the medium fed from the medium roll supported by a shaft (supply spool support 14); and
a winding motor (“stepper motor”) configured to rotate the winding shaft (paragraph 36),
wherein a controller causes a reader (antenna 30) to perform a third read of the data recorded in the wireless tag (e.g. a third repetition of step 44) after the winding motor has been driven for one or more rotation times different than or same as the first rotation time (repetitions of step d: paragraph 46) and the cylindrical body rotating in response to the winding of the medium by the winding shaft has been stopped (rotation is paused at step e: paragraphs 42-48).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Maekawa et al.’s printing device to perform incremental rotation using a winding shaft and motor, as suggested by Starkey.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Liu et al. (US 2025/0021776 A1) and Lauwers et al. (US 2023/0015023 A1) disclose relative wireless tag reading processes.
Communication with the USPTO
SHELBY L. FIDLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2853
/SHELBY L FIDLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853