DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in People’s Republic of China on 04/24/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN 202410501404.2 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Document retrieval was attempted on 09/24/2025 but was unsuccessful.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wong (US 9581827) herein after referred to as D1.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches an optical structure, in at least (Fig. 6 and tables 4 and 5); comprising: at least one lens (610); a transflective film (617) located on a first surface of the at least one lens (610); a reflective polarizing layer (627) located on a second surface of the at least one lens (610); and a first phase retardation film (625) group (625) located on a side of the first surface away from the transflective film (617), wherein the first phase retardation film (625) group (625) comprises at least a first phase retardation film (625) and a second phase retardation film (615), the second phase retardation film (615) being located between the first phase retardation film (625) and the transflective film (617), the first phase retardation film (625) has a phase retardation R01 of 200 to 280 nm (Col. 2, Ln. 30-36; and Col. 7, Ln. 61-Col. 8, Ln. 26), the second phase retardation film (615) has a phase retardation R02 of 80 to 170 nm (Col. 2, Ln. 30-36; and Col. 7, Ln. 61-Col. 8, Ln. 26), an included angle (Col. 31, Ln. 39-46; and Co. 37, Ln. 16-49) between a slow axis (Col. 29, Ln. 28-Col. 30, Ln. 59) of the first phase retardation film (625) and a reflection axis(Col. 15, Ln. 57-Col. 16, Ln. 16) of the reflective polarizing layer (627) ranges from 90 to 180 degrees (Col. 31, Ln. 39-46; and Co. 37, Ln. 16-49), and an included angle (Col. 31, Ln. 39-46; and Co. 37, Ln. 16-49) between a slow axis (Col. 29, Ln. 28-Col. 30, Ln. 59) of the second phase retardation film (615) and the reflection axis (Col. 15, Ln. 57-Col. 16, Ln. 16) of the reflective polarizing layer (627) ranges from 135 to 315 degrees (Col. 38, Ln. 54-Col. 39, Ln. 35); and the first phase retardation film (625) and the second phase retardation film (615) each comprise in-plane refractive indices (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) in two different directions (Col. 21, Ln. 59- Col. 22, Ln. 18), a difference between the two different refractive indices (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) of the first phase retardation film (625) is Δn1, a difference between the two different refractive indices (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) of the second phase retardation film (615) is Δn2, Δn1, R01 and a thickness (tables 4 and 5) d1 of the first phase retardation film (625) satisfy a relationship: R01 = Δn1 * d1, and Δn2, R02 (tables 4 and 5) and a thickness (tables 4 and 5) d2 of the second phase retardation film (615) satisfy a relationship: R02 = Δn2 * d2 (tables 4 and 5).
With regard to claim 2, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical structure and display (631) device, in at least (Fig. 6 and tables 4 and 5);wherein the first phase retardation film (625) has a phase retardation of 202 to 249 nm (Col. 2, Ln. 30-36; and Col. 7, Ln. 61-Col. 8, Ln. 26), and the second phase retardation film (615) has a phase retardation of 102 to 128 nm (Col. 2, Ln. 30-36; and Col. 7, Ln. 61-Col. 8, Ln. 26).
With regard to claim 3, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical structure and display (631) device, in at least (Fig. 6 and tables 4 and 5);wherein the included angle (Col. 31, Ln. 39-46; and Co. 37, Ln. 16-49) between the slow axis (Col. 29, Ln. 28-Col. 30, Ln. 59) of the first phase retardation film (625) and the reflection axis (Col. 15, Ln. 57-Col. 16, Ln. 16) of the reflective polarizing layer (627) ranges from 97 to 112 degrees (Col. 31, Ln. 39-46; and Co. 37, Ln. 16-49), and the included angle (Col. 31, Ln. 39-46; and Co. 37, Ln. 16-49) between the slow axis (Col. 29, Ln. 28-Col. 30, Ln. 59) of the second phase retardation film (615) and the reflection axis (Col. 15, Ln. 57-Col. 16, Ln. 16) of the reflective polarizing layer (627) ranges from 149 to 179 degrees (Col. 31, Ln. 39-46; and Co. 37, Ln. 16-49).
With regard to claim 4, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical structure and display (631) device, in at least (Fig. 6 and tables 4 and 5);wherein an included angle (Col. 31, Ln. 39-46; and Co. 37, Ln. 16-49) between the slow axis (Col. 29, Ln. 28-Col. 30, Ln. 59) of the first phase retardation film (625) and the slow axis (Col. 29, Ln. 28-Col. 30, Ln. 59) of the second phase retardation film (615) ranges from 45 to 135 degrees (Col. 31, Ln. 39-46; and Co. 37, Ln. 16-49).
With regard to claim 5, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 4, wherein D1 further teaches an optical structure and display (631) device, in at least (Fig. 6 and tables 4 and 5);wherein the included angle (Col. 31, Ln. 39-46; and Co. 37, Ln. 16-49) between the slow axis (Col. 29, Ln. 28-Col. 30, Ln. 59) of the first phase retardation film (625) and the slow axis (Col. 29, Ln. 28-Col. 30, Ln. 59) of the second phase retardation film (615) ranges from 51 to 67 degrees (Col. 31, Ln. 39-46; and Co. 37, Ln. 16-49).
With regard to claim 6, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical structure and display (631) device, in at least (Fig. 6 and tables 4 and 5);wherein the first phase retardation film (625) and the second phase retardation film (615) each comprise three refractive indices (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) in three directions perpendicular to each other, the three refractive indices (Col. 21, Ln. 59-Col 22, Ln. 18) comprising a first refractive index (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56), a second refractive index (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56), and a third refractive index (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56); the first refractive index (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) is the highest in-plane refractive index of the first phase retardation film (625) and the second phase retardation film (615), the second refractive index (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) is the lowest in-plane refractive index of the first phase retardation film (625) and the second phase retardation film (615), and the third refractive index (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) is a refractive index of the first phase retardation film (625) and the second phase retardation film (615) in a thickness (tables 4 and 5) direction; the first refractive index (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) Nx1, the second refractive index (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) Ny1, the third refractive index (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) Nz1 and the thickness (tables 4 and 5) d1 of the first phase retardation film (625) satisfy a relationship: Nx1 > Ny1, and (Ny1 - Nz1) * d1 * 1000 < 20 nm, where Δn1 = Nx1- Ny1; and the first refractive index (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) Nx2, the second refractive index (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) Ny2, the third refractive index (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) Nz2 and the thickness (tables 4 and 5) d2 of the second phase retardation film (615) satisfy a relationship: Nx2 > Ny2, and (Ny2 - Nz2) * d2 * 1000 < 20 nm (tables 4 and 5), where Δn2 = Nx2 - Ny2.
With regard to claim 7, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical structure and display (631) device, in at least (Fig. 6 and tables 4 and 5);wherein the first phase retardation film (625) and the second phase retardation film (615) are each made of a material (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) that has a positive dispersion (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) with respect to wavelength (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56).
With regard to claim 8, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical structure and display (631) device, in at least (Fig. 6 and tables 4 and 5);wherein the first phase retardation film (625) comprises a half-wave plate (Col. 7, :n. 61-Col. 8, Ln. 26), and the second phase retardation film (615) comprises a quarter-wave plate (615).
With regard to claim 9, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical structure and display (631) device, in at least (Fig. 6 and tables 4 and 5);wherein the first phase retardation film group (625) further comprises a third phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20) comprising three refractive indices (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) in three directions perpendicular to each other, the three refractive indices (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) comprising a fourth refractive index (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) Nx3, a fifth refractive index (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) Ny3, and a sixth refractive index (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) Nz3; and the fourth refractive index (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) and the fifth refractive index (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) are in-plane refractive indices (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) of the third phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20), the sixth refractive index (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) is a refractive index of the third phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20) in a thickness (tables 4 and 5) direction, and a thickness (tables 4 and 5) d3 of the third phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20), Nx3, Ny3 and Nz3 satisfy a relationship: Ny3 < Nz3, and (Nx3 - Ny3) * d3 * 1000 < 20 nm tables 4 and 5).
With regard to claim 10, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 9, wherein D1 further teaches an optical structure and display (631) device, in at least (Fig. 6 and tables 4 and 5);wherein the third phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20) has a phase retardation Rth1 of -50 to -150 nm (Col. 2, Ln. 30-36; and Col. 7, Ln. 61-Col. 8, Ln. 26) in the thickness (tables 4 and 5) direction; and Rth, d3, Nx3, Ny3 and Nz3 satisfy a relationship: Rth1 = [(Nx3 + Ny3)/2 - Nz3] * d3 tables 4 and 5).
With regard to claim 11, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 10, wherein D1 further teaches an optical structure and display (631) device, in at least (Fig. 6 and tables 4 and 5);wherein the third phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20) has a phase retardation Rth1 of -70 to -110 nm (Col. 2, Ln. 30-36; and Col. 7, Ln. 61-Col. 8, Ln. 26) in the thickness (tables 4 and 5) direction.
With regard to claim 12, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical structure and display (631) device, in at least (Fig. 6 and tables 4 and 5);further comprising: a first linear polarizing layer (625) located on a side of the reflective polarizing layer (627) away from the transflective film (617), wherein an included angle (Col. 31, Ln. 39-46; and Co. 37, Ln. 16-49) between the slow axis (Col. 29, Ln. 28-Col. 30, Ln. 59) of the first phase retardation film (625) and an absorption axis (Col. 11, Ln. 26-63) of the first linear polarizing layer ranges from 90 to 180 degrees (Col. 31, Ln. 39-46; and Co. 37, Ln. 16-49).
With regard to claim 13, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical structure and display (631) device, in at least (Fig. 6 and tables 4 and 5);wherein the optical structure is located on a light exit side of the display (631), and the transflective film (617) is located between the display (631) and the reflective polarizing layer (627).
With regard to claim 14, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 13, wherein D1 further teaches an optical structure and display (631) device, in at least (Fig. 6 and tables 4 and 5);wherein a second phase retardation film (615) group and a second linear polarizing layer (627) are provided between the display (631) and the optical structure, an absorption axis (Col. 11, Ln. 26-63) of the second linear polarizing layer is orthogonal (Col. 13, Ln. 18-43) to the reflection axis (Col. 15, Ln. 57-Col. 16, Ln. 16) of the reflective polarizing layer (627); and the second phase retardation film (615) group comprises at least a fourth phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20) and a fifth phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20), the fifth phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20) being located between the fourth phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20) and the optical structure, a slow axis (Col. 29, Ln. 28-Col. 30, Ln. 59) of the fourth phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20) being orthogonal (Col. 13, Ln. 18-43) to the slow axis (Col. 29, Ln. 28-Col. 30, Ln. 59) of the first phase retardation film (625), and a slow axis (Col. 29, Ln. 28-Col. 30, Ln. 59) of the fifth phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20) being orthogonal (Col. 13, Ln. 18-43) to the slow axis (Col. 29, Ln. 28-Col. 30, Ln. 59) of the second phase retardation film (615).
With regard to claim 15, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 14, wherein D1 further teaches an optical structure and display (631) device, in at least (Fig. 6 and tables 4 and 5);wherein the fourth phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20) has a phase retardation R04 of 200 to 280 nm (Col. 2, Ln. 30-36; and Col. 7, Ln. 61-Col. 8, Ln. 26), and the fifth phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20) has a phase retardation R05 of 80 to 170 nm (Col. 2, Ln. 30-36; and Col. 7, Ln. 61-Col. 8, Ln. 26); and the fourth phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20) and the fifth phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20) each comprise in-plane refractive indices (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) in two different directions, a difference between the two different refractive indices (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) of the fourth phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20) is Δn4, a difference between the two different refractive indices (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) of the fifth phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20) is Δn5, Δn4, R04 and a thickness (tables 4 and 5) d4 of the fourth phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20) satisfy a relationship: R04 = Δn4 * d4, and Δn5, R05 and a thickness (tables 4 and 5) d5 of the fifth phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20) satisfy a relationship: R05 = Δn5 * d5 (tables 4 and 5).
With regard to claim 16, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 15, wherein D1 further teaches an optical structure and display (631) device, in at least (Fig. 6 and tables 4 and 5);wherein the fourth phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20) has a phase retardation of 202 to 249 nm (Col. 2, Ln. 30-36; and Col. 7, Ln. 61-Col. 8, Ln. 26), and the fifth phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20) has a phase retardation of 102 to 128 nm (Col. 2, Ln. 30-36; and Col. 7, Ln. 61-Col. 8, Ln. 26).
With regard to claim 17, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 14, wherein D1 further teaches an optical structure and display (631) device, in at least (Fig. 6 and tables 4 and 5);wherein an included angle (Col. 31, Ln. 39-46; and Co. 37, Ln. 16-49) between the slow axis (Col. 29, Ln. 28-Col. 30, Ln. 59) of the fourth phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20) and a transmission axis of the second linear polarizing layer ranges from 0 to 90 degrees (Col. 31, Ln. 39-46; and Co. 37, Ln. 16-49), and an included angle (Col. 31, Ln. 39-46; and Co. 37, Ln. 16-49) between the slow axis (Col. 29, Ln. 28-Col. 30, Ln. 59) of the fifth phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20) and the transmission axis of the second linear polarizing layer ranges from 45 to 225 degrees (Col. 31, Ln. 39-46; and Co. 37, Ln. 16-49).
With regard to claim 18, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 14, wherein D1 further teaches an optical structure and display (631) device, in at least (Fig. 6 and tables 4 and 5);wherein the fourth phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20) and the fifth phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20) are each made of a material that has a positive dispersion (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) with respect to wavelength.
With regard to claim 19, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 14, wherein D1 further teaches an optical structure and display (631) device, in at least (Fig. 6 and tables 4 and 5);wherein the fourth phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20) comprises a half-wave plate (Col. 7, :n. 61-Col. 8, Ln. 26), and the fifth phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20) comprises a quarter-wave plate (615).
With regard to claim 20, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 14, wherein D1 further teaches an optical structure and display (631) device, in at least (Fig. 6 and tables 4 and 5);wherein the second phase retardation film (615) group further comprises a sixth phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20), the sixth phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20) having a phase retardation Rth2 of -50 to -150 nm in a thickness (tables 4 and 5) direction thereof; the sixth phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20) comprises three refractive indices (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) in three directions perpendicular to each other, the three refractive indices (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) comprising a fourth refractive index (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) Nx4, a fifth refractive index (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) Ny4, and a sixth refractive index (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) Nz4; the fourth refractive index (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) and the fifth refractive index (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) are in-plane refractive indices (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) of the sixth phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20), the sixth refractive index (Col. 28, Ln. 38-56) is a refractive index of the sixth phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20) in a thickness (tables 4 and 5) direction, and a thickness (tables 4 and 5) d6 of the sixth phase retardation film (Col. 3, Ln. 5-20), Nx4, Ny4 and Nz4 satisfy a relationship: Ny4 < Nz4, and (Nx4 - Ny4) * d6 * 1000 < 20 nm; and Rth2, d6, Nx4, Ny4, and Nz4 satisfy a relationship: Rth2 = [(Nx4 + Ny4)/2 - Nz4] * d6 (tables 4 and 5).
Conclusion
/GRANT A GAGNON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872