DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/25/2026 and 5/18/2026 are moot in view of rejections below. It is noted that examiner did communicate with applicants’ representative via interview to make case in condition for allowance but no agreement was reached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9, 11-14, 15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Manson et al (US.20230204073A1).
Manson discloses a labyrinth seal (e.g. figures), comprising an outer ring (e.g. outer ring 46) having a first hardness value, an inner ring (e.g. inner ring 26) having the first hardness value and disposed substantially coaxial with the outer ring, wherein the outer ring is interlocked to the inner ring in three geometric axes (e.g. see figures 2 and 4), a passage (e.g. passage from end of the inner ring to the outer ring) disposed between an inner surface of the outer ring and an outer surface of the inner ring, wherein the passage extends from a first end of the labyrinth seal to a second end of the labyrinth seal (e.g. see figures 2 and 4), wherein the first end and the second end correspond to opposing ends of the labyrinth seal (e.g. see figures 2 and 4), an exterior portion (e.g. portion 42) having a second hardness value (e.g. see cross-hatching defining materials which are different for 46 relative to 40 and 26 relative to 20), the exterior portion having a connection with an outer surface of the outer ring (e.g. the exterior portion is connected to the outer ring as seen in figures 2 and 4). Wherein the inner ring is contactless with respect to the outer ring (e.g. see figure 2 and 4). Wherein the opposing ends of the labyrinth seal correspond to outermost axial ends of the labyrinth seal (e.g. see ends of the labyrinth seal shown in figures 2 and 4). Regarding claim 9: A machine comprises a spindle (e.g. the labyrinth seal of claim 1 is in a bearing and the bearing is inherently used in a rotary machine, which constitute a machine having spindle). Regarding claim 15: Wherein the machine is selected from the group consisting of a hydraulic pump, a motor and a generator (e.g. The reference Manson of rolling bearing would this encompasses any machine which is turned by a motor or generator or hydraulic pump).
Regarding claims 3, 11 and 17: Wherein an anchor at the connection between the exterior portion and the outer surface of the outer ring and the anchor extending from and being integral with the outer ring and having the first hardness value (e.g. connection between the exterior portion and the outer surface, see anchor defined in figure below). It is noted that no structure is provided for the connection and the word anchor is interpreted as simple positive connection of two members.
Regarding claims 4, 12 and 18: Wherein an interior portion (e.g. 22) on an inner surface of the inner ring and the interior having the second hardness value (e.g. again see different material provided by the cross-hatching).
Regarding claims 5, 13 and 19: Wherein the inner surface of the inner ring is interlocking connected to the interior portion (e.g. again it is noted that no structure is provided for interlocking and the word interlocking is interpreted as simple positive connection of two members).
Regarding claims 6, 14 and 20: Wherein an anchor at the connection between the interior portion and the inner surface of the inner ring and the anchor extending from and being integral with the inner ring and having the first hardness value (e.g. connection between the exterior portion and the outer surface, see anchor defined in figure below). It is noted that no structure is provided for the connection and the word anchor is interpreted as simple positive connection of two members.
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Berhan (US.20230361643).
Berhan discloses a labyrinth seal (e.g. figures, seal between 102 and 110), comprising an outer ring (e.g. outer ring 124 connected to 138) having a first hardness value, an inner ring (e.g. inner ring 124 connected to 136) having the first hardness value and disposed substantially coaxial with the outer ring, wherein the outer ring is interlocked to the inner ring in three geometric axes (e.g. see figures), a passage (e.g. passage from end of the inner ring to the outer ring) disposed between an inner surface of the outer ring and an outer surface of the inner ring (e.g. see tortuous path stated in the reference), wherein the passage extends from a first end of the labyrinth seal to a second end of the labyrinth seal (e.g. see figures), wherein the first end and the second end correspond to opposing ends of the labyrinth seal (e.g. see figures, see ends of the labyrinth seal), an exterior portion (e.g. portion 138) having a second hardness value (e.g. see material stated for 138 and material stated for 124), the exterior portion having a connection with an outer surface of the outer ring (e.g. the exterior portion is connected to the outer ring as seen in figures). Wherein the inner ring is contactless with respect to the outer ring (e.g. see figures). Wherein the opposing ends of the labyrinth seal correspond to outermost axial ends of the labyrinth seal (e.g. see ends of the labyrinth seal). Regarding claim 9: A machine comprises a spindle (e.g. the labyrinth seal of claim 1 is in a bearing and the bearing is inherently used in a rotary machine or electric vehicle, which constitute a machine having spindle). Regarding claim 15: Wherein the machine is selected from the group consisting of a hydraulic pump, a motor (e.g. electric vehicle) and a generator (e.g. electric vehicle).
Regarding claim 3: Wherein an anchor at the connection between the exterior portion and the outer surface of the outer ring, the anchor extending from and being integral with the outer ring and having the first hardness value (e.g. larger portion 140 of the outer ring 124 that is received in the exterior portion 138).
Regarding claim 4: Wherein an interior portion (e.g. 136) on an inner surface of the inner ring and the interior portion having the second hardness value (e.g. see material description for 136 and 138).
Regarding claim 5: Wherein the inner surface of the inner ring is interlocking connected to the interior portion (e.g. larger portion 140 of the inner ring 124 that is received in the interior portion 136).
Regarding claim 6: Wherein an anchor at the connection between the interior portion and the inner surface of the inner ring and the anchor extending from and being integral with the inner ring and having the first hardness value (e.g. larger portion 140 of the inner ring 124 that is received in the interior portion 136).
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sabo.
Sabo discloses a labyrinth seal comprising an outer ring (e.g. 4) having a first hardness value (e.g. hardness of 10 that is formed of metal), an inner ring (e.g. 5) having the first hardness value (e.g. hardness of 14 that is formed of metal) and disposed substantially coaxial with the outer ring, wherein the outer ring is interlocked to the inner ring in three geometric axes (see figures), a passage disposed between an inner surface of the outer ring and an outer surface of the inner ring, wherein the passage extends from a first end of the labyrinth seal to a second end of the labyrinth seal, and wherein the first end (e.g. front end of 13 facing 6) and the second end (e.g. second end is end of 16 facing 23) correspond to opposing ends of the labyrinth seal, an exterior portion (e.g. 11) having a second hardness value, the exterior portion having connection with an outer surface of the outer ring (e.g. outer surface of 10). Regarding claim 3: Wherein an anchor (e.g. vulcanized is considered as an anchor) at the connection between the exterior portion and the outer surface of the outer ring (e.g. surfaces are connected and noted that no specific structure for anchor is provided), the anchor extending from and being integral with the outer ring and having the first hardness value (e.g. the outer surface of 10). Regarding claim 4: Wherein an interior portion (e.g. 17) on an inner surface of the inner ring and the interior portion having a second hardness value (e.g. see figures). Regarding claim 5: Wherein the inner surface of the inner ring is interlocking connected to the interior portion (“elastomeric layer that is vulcanized”, stated in Sabo). Regarding claim 6: Wherein an anchor (e.g. inner surface of 14 and “elastomeric layer that is vulcanized”, stated in Sabo) at the connection between the interior portion and the inner surface of the inner ring, the anchor extending from and being integral with the inner ring and having the first hardness value (e.g. see figures).
Regarding claim 9: Sabo discloses a machine comprising a spindle (e.g. rotary element of machine stated in abstract, e.g. engine powered water pump). Regarding claim 15: The machine is selected from the group consisting of a hydraulic pump, a motor and a generator (see abstract).
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 16: Wherein the second hardness value has a lower durometer value than the first hardness value, the inner ring is contactless with respect to the outer ring (e.g. this is the case as seen in figures and noted that other elements contact the inner ring but not the outer ring) and the opposing ends of the labyrinth seal correspond to outermost axial ends of the labyrinth seal (e.g. again applicant has not defined any narrowing limitation to what is considered to be labyrinth seal and if there are distal ends of the rings that form the ends of the labyrinth seal).
Regarding claims 11-20: see rejection of claims above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berhan in view of Peterson (US. 3095619).
Berhan discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to disclose the anchor comprises substantially a T-shape cross-section, a horizontal member of the substantially T-shaped cross-section separated from the inner ring by a vertical member of the T-shape cross-section. Peterson (the seal assembly having different hardnesses and element that is formed of harder material having T-shape interconnecting element) discloses a seal assembly having an interior seal portion (e.g. 18) connected to an interior portion (e.g. 10c) via a 1st anchor portion (e.g. 24 and 25 received in grooves of 10c) having a T-shape cross-section (e.g. see figures), an outer seal portion (e.g. 9) connected to an exterior portion (e.g. 10b) via a 2nd anchor portion having a T-shape cross-section (e.g. 16 and 15 received in grooves of 10b). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the anchor of Berhan to have T-shape as taught by Peterson with reasonable expectation of success to provide better retention between inner and outer members or portions (e.g. inherent since the horizontal section of the T-shape of the first member is wrapped by the material of the second member).
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabon (US. 5582412) in view of Manson (US.8356941). This applies when and if applicant claims particular passage that extends from a first axial distal end to a second axial distal end of the labyrinth seal.
Sabo discloses a labyrinth seal comprising an outer ring (e.g. 4) having a first hardness value (e.g. hardness of 10 that is formed of metal), an inner ring (e.g. 5) having the first hardness value (e.g. hardness of 14 that is formed of metal) and disposed substantially coaxial with the outer ring, wherein the outer ring is interlocked to the inner ring in three geometric axes (see figures), a passage disposed between an inner surface of the outer ring and an outer surface of the inner ring, wherein the passage extends from a first end of the labyrinth seal to a second end of the labyrinth seal, and wherein the first end (e.g. front end of 13 facing 6) and the second end (e.g. second end is end of 16 facing 23) correspond to opposing ends of the labyrinth seal, an exterior portion (e.g. 11) having a second hardness value, the exterior portion having connection with an outer surface of the outer ring (e.g. outer surface of 10). Regarding claim 3: Wherein an anchor (e.g. vulcanized is considered as an anchor) at the connection between the exterior portion and the outer surface of the outer ring (e.g. surfaces are connected and noted that no specific structure for anchor is provided), the anchor extending from and being integral with the outer ring and having the first hardness value (e.g. the outer surface of 10). Regarding claim 4: Wherein an interior portion (e.g. 17) on an inner surface of the inner ring and the interior portion having a second hardness value (e.g. see figures). Regarding claim 5: Wherein the inner surface of the inner ring is interlocking connected to the interior portion (“elastomeric layer that is vulcanized”, stated in Sabo). Regarding claim 6: Wherein an anchor (e.g. inner surface of 14 and “elastomeric layer that is vulcanized”, stated in Sabo) at the connection between the interior portion and the inner surface of the inner ring, the anchor extending from and being integral with the inner ring and having the first hardness value (e.g. see figures).
Regarding claim 9: Sabo discloses a machine comprising a spindle (e.g. rotary element of machine stated in abstract, e.g. engine powered water pump). Regarding claim 15: The machine is selected from the group consisting of a hydraulic pump, a motor and a generator (see abstract).
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 16: Wherein the second hardness value has a lower durometer value than the first hardness value, the inner ring is contactless with respect to the outer ring (e.g. this is the case as seen in figures and noted that other elements contact the inner ring but not the outer ring) and the opposing ends of the labyrinth seal correspond to outermost axial ends of the labyrinth seal (e.g. again applicant has not defined any narrowing limitation to what is considered to be labyrinth seal and if there are distal ends of the rings that form the ends of the labyrinth seal).
Regarding claims 11-20: see rejection of claims above.
It is noted that when and if applicant limits his claims to just inner ring, outer ring, inner portion, outer portion and no other element contact the inner and outer rings, a further rejection can be made by Manson (e.g. Manson teaches that elastic lip 58 that contacts an inner ring in figure 2 that is eliminated to form a continuous open path from a first distal end to a second distal end of the labyrinth seal in figure 3 which teaching can be applied to Sabo). In concussion lips 8 and 7 would be eliminated in Sabo.
Claim(s) 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabo in view of Peterson (US. 3095619). This also applies if applicant has a particular meaning of anchor in the specification and is presented in the claims.
Sabo discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to disclose the interior portion interlockingly connected to the inner labyrinth seal portion via a first anchor portion having a T-shape cross-section, the exterior portion interlockingly connected to the outer labyrinth seal portion via a second anchor portion having a T-shape cross-section. Peterson (the seal assembly having different hardnesses and element that is formed of harder material having T-shape interconnecting element) discloses a seal assembly having an interior seal portion (e.g. 18) connected to an interior portion (e.g. 10c) via a 1st anchor portion (e.g. 24 and 25 received in grooves of 10c) having a T-shape cross-section (e.g. see figures), an outer seal portion (e.g. 9) connected to an exterior portion (e.g. 10b) via a 2nd anchor portion having a T-shape cross-section (e.g. 16 and 15 received in grooves of 10b). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the anchor of Sabo to have T-shape as taught by Peterson with reasonable expectation of success to provide better retention between inner and outer members or portions (e.g. inherent since the horizontal section of the T-shape of the first member is wrapped by the material of the second member).
Conclusion
/VISHAL A PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675