DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. There are a total of 20 claims and claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 12/20/2024, 12/27/2024 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites “a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a bitstream to be processed by the method according to claim 1”. Claim 20 is directed to a non-transitory storage medium storing a bitstream of a video wherein clauses that appear to describe how the bitstream is generated. These elements or steps are not performed by an intended computer, and the bitstream is not a form of programming that causes functions to be performed by an intended computer. This shows that the computer-readable medium merely serves as support for storing the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the steps/elements that describe the generation of the bitstream and intended computer system. Therefore, those claim elements are not given patentable weight. Patentable weight is given to data stored on a computer-readable medium when there exists a functional relationship between the data and its associated substrate. See MPEP 2111.05 III. For example, if a claim is drawn to a computer-readable medium containing programming, a functional relationship exists if the programming “performs some function with respect to the computer with which it is associated.” However, if the claim recites that the computer-readable medium merely serves as a storage for information or data that is not meant for being executed, no functional relationship exists and the information or data is not given patentable weight. The Examiner suggests that the claim be amended so that it is directed to a functional relationship. For example, in this particular case, the claim should instead be recited as “A method of storing a bitstream of a video block into a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the bitstream is generated by a method of …”, followed by a functional step to store the generated bitstream into a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 13, 19-20 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US PGPub 2021/0160520 A1) (Disclosed in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Chen et al. teach a method for motion field storage (Abstract), comprising:
obtaining at least one motion vector of a first motion vector or a second motion vector ([0247]; it teaches obtaining first motion vector MV1 or second motion vector MV2 ), wherein a coding unit is geometrically partitioned into a first part of a geometric partition and a second part of the geometric partition for prediction in a geometric partitioning mode ([0244]; Figs. 8A, 8B show that the coding unit is divided into a first and a second geometric partitions as part of GPM (Geometric Partition Mode)), and the first motion vector is from the first part and the second motion vector is from the second part ([0247]; it teaches that MV1 is from the first part of the geometric partition and MV2 from the second part of the geometric partition);
determining a value of a stored motion vector type based on a motion index and a part index ([0169]; It teaches that the determination of sType is based on the partIdx and the motionIdx); and
storing a motion vector in a corresponding motion field based on the value of the stored motion vector type ([0015], L18-20; It teaches storing the motion field of the current coding block based on the stored motion vector type determined for the first motion storage unit in the motion field of the current coding block. See also [0247], L1-3), wherein the motion vector comprises the first motion vector, the second motion vector or a combined motion vector obtained based on the first motion vector and the second motion vector ([0247]; It teaches that depending on the stored motion vector type, MV1 from the first part of the geometric partition, MV2 from the second part of the geometric partition, and a combined MV of MV1 and MV2 are stored in the motion filed for the first motion storage unit).
Regarding claim 13, Chen et al. teach an apparatus ([0015], L1-4), comprising:
one or more processors (Fig. 13, reference numeral 1341; [0103]); and
a memory (Fig. 13, reference numeral 1345-1347) coupled to the one or more processors and configured to store instructions executable by the one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors, upon execution of the instructions (Fig. 13; [0263]; [0103]), are configured to perform operations comprising:
obtaining at least one motion vector of a first motion vector or a second motion vector from the bitstream ([0247]; it teaches obtaining first motion vector MV1 or second motion vector MV2), wherein a coding unit is geometrically partitioned into a first part of a geometric partition and a second part of the geometric partition for prediction in a geometric partitioning mode ([0244]; Figs. 8A, 8B show that the coding unit is divided into a first and a second geometric partitions as part of GPM (Geometric Partition Mode)), and the first motion vector is from the first part and the second motion vector is from the second part ([0247]; it teaches that MV1 is from the first part of the geometric partition and MV2 from the second part of the geometric partition);
determining a value of a stored motion vector type based on a motion index and a part index ([0169]; It teaches that the determination of sType is based on the partIdx and the motionIdx); and
storing a motion vector in a corresponding motion field based on the value of the stored motion vector type ([0015], L18-20; It teaches storing the motion field of the current coding block based on the stored motion vector type determined for the first motion storage unit in the motion field of the current coding block. See also [0247], L1-3), wherein the motion vector comprises the first motion vector, the second motion vector or a combined motion vector obtained based on the first motion vector and the second motion vector ([0247]; It teaches that depending on the stored motion vector type, MV1 from the first part of the geometric partition, MV2 from the second part of the geometric partition, and a combined MV of MV1 and MV2 are stored in the motion filed for the first motion storage unit).
Regarding claim 19, Chen et al. teach a method for storing a bitstream ([0047], L4-8), comprising:
generating a bitstream using an encoding method (Fig. 6; [0088]), and
storing the bitstream on a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Fig. 13; [0263]),
wherein the encoding method comprises:
obtaining at least one motion vector of a first motion vector or a second motion vector ([0247]; it teaches obtaining first motion vector MV1 or second motion vector MV2), wherein a coding unit is geometrically partitioned into a first part of a geometric partition and a second part of the geometric partition for prediction in a geometric partitioning mode ([0244]; Figs. 8A, 8B show that the coding unit is divided into a first and a second geometric partitions as part of GPM (Geometric Partition Mode)), and the first motion vector is from the first part and the second motion vector is from the second part ([0247]; it teaches that MV1 is from the first part of the geometric partition and MV2 from the second part of the geometric partition);
determining a value of a stored motion vector type based on a motion index and a part index ([0169]; It teaches that the determination of sType is based on the partIdx and the motionIdx); and
storing a motion vector in a corresponding motion field based on the value of the stored motion vector type ([0015], L18-20; It teaches storing the motion field of the current coding block based on the stored motion vector type determined for the first motion storage unit in the motion field of the current coding block. See also [0247], L1-3), wherein the motion vector comprises the first motion vector, the second motion vector, or a combined motion vector obtained based on the first motion vector and the second motion vector ([0247]; It teaches that depending on the stored motion vector type, MV1 from the first part of the geometric partition, MV2 from the second part of the geometric partition, and a combined MV of MV1 and MV2 are stored in the motion filed for the first motion storage unit).
Regarding claim 20, Chen et al. teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for storing bitstream (Fig. 13; [0263]) to be processed by the method according to claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim 20 is rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US PGPub 2016/0277762 A1).
Claim 20’s recitation of “A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a bitstream to be processed by the method according to claim 1” is a product by process claim limitation where the product is the bit stream and the process is the method steps to generate the bitstream. MPEP §2113 recites “Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps”. Thus, the scope of the claim is the storage medium storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method steps). The structure includes the information and samples manipulated by the steps. “To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated”. MPEP §2111.05(1)(A). When a claimed “computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. MPEP §2111.05(III). The storage medium storing the claimed bitstream in claim 20 merely services as a support for the storage of the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the stored bitstream and storage medium. Therefore, the structure bitstream, whose scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III). Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Zhang et al. which recites a storage medium storing a bitstream ([0151]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-12, 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US PGPub 2021/0160520 A1) (Disclosed in IDS) in view of Chiang et al. (US PGPub 2025/0280107 A1) (Inventive concept disclosed in provisional application 63/334327 dated 04/25/2022).
Regarding claim 2, Chen et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein determining the value of the stored motion vector type based on the motion index and the part index comprises:
determining the value of the stored motion vector type based on a blending width, the motion index and the part index, wherein a value of the blending width depends on a blending width index, and wherein the part index depends on an angle index ([0169]; It teaches that the determination of sType is based on the partIdx and the motionIdx, wherein in [0148], it teaches that partIdx depends on angleIdx).
Although, Chen et al. teach partIdx, motionIdx and angleIdx and it also shows the blending region as in Fig. 11, but it does not explicitly teach that the MV type is based on a blending width and a corresponding index.
However, Chiang et al., in the same field of endeavor (Page 8, Col 1, Section “Motion Field Storage for Geometric Partitioning Mode”), teach a blending region and corresponding index in determining the MV type (Chiang et al.; Figs. 17, 27-28; [0191], L1-3; [0106]-[0110])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Chen et al’s invention of GPM in video coding to include Chiang et al's usage of blending region, because the invention is related to blending predictors using an adaptive blending region in order to improve coding efficiency (Chiang et al.; [0002]).
Regarding claim 3, Chen et al. and Chiang et al. teach the method of claim 2, wherein the first part of the geometric partition and the second part of the geometric partition are both predicted with inter mode (Chiang et al.; [0099], L10-11; it teaches that each part of a geometric partition in the CU is inter-predicted using its own motion).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Chen et al’s invention of GPM in video coding to include Chiang et al's usage of blending region, because the invention is related to blending predictors using an adaptive blending region in order to improve coding efficiency (Chiang et al.; [0002]).
Regarding claim 4, Chen et al. and Chiang et al. teach the method of claim 3, wherein storing the motion vector in a corresponding motion field based on the value of the stored motion vector type comprises:
in response to determining that the value of the stored motion vector type is 0 or 1, storing the first motion vector or the second motion vector in a corresponding motion field (Chiang et al.; [0115], L1-3; it teaches that when sType is equal to 0 or 1, Mv0 or Mv1 are stored in the corresponding motion field); and
in response to determining that the value of the stored motion vector type is 2, obtaining the combined motion vector based on the first motion vector and the second motion vector and storing the combined motion vector in a corresponding motion field (Chiang et al.; [0115], L1-3; It teaches that if sType is equal to 2, a combined MV from Mv0 and Mv1 are stored).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Chen et al’s invention of GPM in video coding to include Chiang et al's usage of blending region, because the invention is related to blending predictors using an adaptive blending region in order to improve coding efficiency (Chiang et al.; [0002]).
Regarding claim 5, Chen et al. and Chiang et al. teach the method of claim 4, further comprising:
in response to determining that the first motion vector and the second motion vector are from different reference pictures in different reference picture lists, determining that the combined motion vector is combination of the first motion vector and the second motion vector, wherein the combined motion vector is a bi-prediction motion vector (Chiang et al.; [0116]; It teaches that if Mv1 and Mv2 are from different reference picture lists (one from L0 and the other from L1), then Mv1 and Mv2 are simply combined to form the bi-prediction motion vectors); and
in response to determining that the first motion vector and the second motion vector are from reference pictures in a same reference picture list, determining that the combined motion vector is the second motion vector, wherein the combined motion vector is a uni-prediction motion vector (Chiang et al.; [0117]; It teaches that if Mv1 and Mv2 are from the same list, only uni-prediction motion Mv2 is stored).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Chen et al’s invention of GPM in video coding to include Chiang et al's usage of blending region, because the invention is related to blending predictors using an adaptive blending region in order to improve coding efficiency (Chiang et al.; [0002]).
Regarding claim 6, Chen et al. and Chiang et al. teach the method of claim 2, wherein the geometric partitioning mode is intra and inter prediction (Chiang et al.; Figs. 24A-C).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Chen et al’s invention of GPM in video coding to include Chiang et al's usage of blending region, because the invention is related to blending predictors using an adaptive blending region in order to improve coding efficiency (Chiang et al.; [0002]).
Regarding claim 7, Chen et al. and Chiang et al. teach the method of claim 6, further comprising:
storing the first motion vector or the second motion vector as a uni-prediction motion vector in a corresponding motion field (Chiang et al.; [0117]; It teaches that if Mv1 and Mv2 are from the same list, only uni-prediction motion Mv2 is stored).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Chen et al’s invention of GPM in video coding to include Chiang et al's usage of blending region, because the invention is related to blending predictors using an adaptive blending region in order to improve coding efficiency (Chiang et al.; [0002]).
Regarding claim 8, Chen et al. and Chiang et al. teach the method of claim 6, further comprising:
in response to determining that the value of the stored motion vector type is 2, storing a motion vector of inter partition in a corresponding motion field (Chiang et al.; [0115]; it teaches that if sType is equal to 2, a combined MV from Mv0 and Mv1 are stored, wherein in [0099], L10-11, it teaches that each part of a geometric partition in the CU is inter-predicted using its own motion, meaning both Mv0 and Mv1 are inter predicted).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Chen et al’s invention of GPM in video coding to include Chiang et al's usage of blending region, because the invention is related to blending predictors using an adaptive blending region in order to improve coding efficiency (Chiang et al.; [0002]).
Regarding claim 9, Chen et al. and Chiang et al. teach the method of claim 6, wherein the first part of the geometric partition is an intra partition and the second part of the geometric partition is an inter partition (Chiang et al.; Figs. 24A-C).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Chen et al’s invention of GPM in video coding to include Chiang et al's usage of blending region, because the invention is related to blending predictors using an adaptive blending region in order to improve coding efficiency (Chiang et al.; [0002]).
Regarding claim 10, Chen et al. and Chiang et al. teach the method of claim 9, further comprising:
in response to determining that the value of the stored motion vector type is 0, storing no motion vector in a corresponding motion field, or
in response to determining that the value of the stored motion vector type is 1, storing a motion vector of the inter partition in a corresponding motion field, wherein the motion vector of the inter partition is the second motion vector (Chiang et al.; [0115]; It teaches that when sType is equal to 0 or 1, Mv0 or Mv1 are stored in the corresponding motion field, which means when sType = 1, Mv1, the second motion vector is stored).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Chen et al’s invention of GPM in video coding to include Chiang et al's usage of blending region, because the invention is related to blending predictors using an adaptive blending region in order to improve coding efficiency (Chiang et al.; [0002]).
Regarding claim 11, Chen et al. and Chiang et al. teach the method of claim 6, wherein the first part of the geometric partition is an inter partition and the second part of the geometric partition is an intra partition (Chiang et al.; Figs. 24A-C).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Chen et al’s invention of GPM in video coding to include Chiang et al's usage of blending region, because the invention is related to blending predictors using an adaptive blending region in order to improve coding efficiency (Chiang et al.; [0002]).
Regarding claim 12, Chen et al. and Chiang et al. teach the method of claim 11, further comprising:
in response to determining that the value of the stored motion vector type is 0, storing a motion vector of the inter partition in a corresponding motion field, wherein the motion vector of the inter partition is the first motion vector (Chiang et al.; [0115]; It teaches that when sType is equal to 0 or 1, Mv0 or Mv1 are stored in the corresponding motion field, which means when sType = 0, Mv0, the first motion vector is stored), or
in response to determining that the value of the stored motion vector type is 1, storing no motion vector in a corresponding motion field.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Chen et al’s invention of GPM in video coding to include Chiang et al's usage of blending region, because the invention is related to blending predictors using an adaptive blending region in order to improve coding efficiency (Chiang et al.; [0002]).
Regarding claim 14, Chen et al. teach the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the operations further comprise:
determining the value of the stored motion vector type based on a blending width, the motion index and the part index, wherein a value of the blending width depends on a blending width index, and wherein the part index depends on an angle index ([0169]; It teaches that the determination of sType is based on the partIdx and the motionIdx, wherein in [0148], it teaches that partIdx depends on angleIdx).
Although, Chen et al. teach partIdx, motionIdx and angleIdx and it also shows the blending region as in Fig. 11, but it does not explicitly teach that the MV type is based on a blending width and a corresponding index.
However, Chiang et al., in the same field of endeavor (Page 8, Col 1, Section “Motion Field Storage for Geometric Partitioning Mode”), teach a blending region and corresponding index in determining the MV type (Chiang et al.; Figs. 17, 27-28; [0191], L1-3; [0106]-[0110])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Chen et al’s invention of GPM in video coding to include Chiang et al's usage of blending region, because the invention is related to blending predictors using an adaptive blending region in order to improve coding efficiency (Chiang et al.; [0002]).
Regarding claim 15, Chen et al. and Chiang et al. teach the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the first part of the geometric partition and the second part of the geometric partition are both predicted with inter mode (Chiang et al.; [0099], L10-11; it teaches that each part of a geometric partition in the CU is inter-predicted using its own motion).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Chen et al’s invention of GPM in video coding to include Chiang et al's usage of blending region, because the invention is related to blending predictors using an adaptive blending region in order to improve coding efficiency (Chiang et al.; [0002]).
Regarding claim 16, Chen et al. and Chiang et al. teach the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise:
in response to determining that the value of the stored motion vector type is 0 or 1, storing the first motion vector or the second motion vector in a corresponding motion field (Chiang et al.; [0115], L1-3; it teaches that when sType is equal to 0 or 1, Mv0 or Mv1 are stored in the corresponding motion field); and
in response to determining that the value of the stored motion vector type is 2, obtaining the combined motion vector based on the first motion vector and the second motion vector and store the combined motion vector in a corresponding motion field (Chiang et al.; [0115], L1-3; It teaches that if sType is equal to 2, a combined MV from Mv0 and Mv1 are stored).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Chen et al’s invention of GPM in video coding to include Chiang et al's usage of blending region, because the invention is related to blending predictors using an adaptive blending region in order to improve coding efficiency (Chiang et al.; [0002]).
Regarding claim 17, Chen et al. and Chiang et al. teach the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the operations further comprise:
in response to determining that the first motion vector and the second motion vector are from different reference pictures in different reference picture lists, determining that the combined motion vector is combination of the first motion vector and the second motion vector, wherein the combined motion vector is a bi-prediction motion vector (Chiang et al.; [0116]; It teaches that if Mv1 and Mv2 are from different reference picture lists (one from L0 and the other from L1), then Mv1 and Mv2 are simply combined to form the bi-prediction motion vectors); and
in response to determining that the first motion vector and the second motion vector are from reference pictures in a same reference picture list, determining that the combined motion vector is the second motion vector, wherein the combined motion vector is a uni-prediction motion vector (Chiang et al.; [0117]; It teaches that if Mv1 and Mv2 are from the same list, only uni-prediction motion Mv2 is stored).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Chen et al’s invention of GPM in video coding to include Chiang et al's usage of blending region, because the invention is related to blending predictors using an adaptive blending region in order to improve coding efficiency (Chiang et al.; [0002]).
Regarding claim 18, Chen et al. and Chiang et al. teach the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the geometric partitioning mode is intra and inter prediction (Chiang et al.; Figs. 24A-C).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Chen et al’s invention of GPM in video coding to include Chiang et al's usage of blending region, because the invention is related to blending predictors using an adaptive blending region in order to improve coding efficiency (Chiang et al.; [0002]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
“Geometric Partitioning Merge Mode With Merge Mode With Motion Vector Difference” – Panusopone et al., US PGPub 2023/0144567 A1.
“METHOD, APPARATUS, AND NON-TRANSITORY COMPUTER-READABLE STORAGE MEDIUM FOR MOTION VECTOR REFINEMENT FOR GEOMETRIC PARTITION MODE” – Liao et al., US PGPub 2022/0329824 A1.
“GEOMETRIC PARTITION MODE WITH HARMONIZED MOTION FIELD STORAGE AND MOTION COMPENSATION” – Reuze et al., US PGPub 2021/0058617 A1.
“WEIGHTED SAMPLE PREDICTION FOR GEOMETRIC PARTITIONING MODE” – Chen et al., US PGPub 2023/0421773 A1.
“IMAGE ENCODING/DECODING METHOD AND DEVICE, AND RECORDING MEDIUM STORING BITSTREAM” – Lee et al., US PGPub 2022/0385888 A1.
“METHOD AND APPARATUS OF SIGNALING THE NUMBER OF CANDIDATES FOR MERGE MODE” – Filippov et al., US PGPub 2022/0368930 A1.
“GEOMETRY PARTITION MODE AND MERGE MODE WITH MOTION VECTOR DIFFERENCE SIGNALING” – Li et al., US PGPub 2022/0353500 A1.
"Geometric Partitioning Mode in Versatile Video Coding: Algorithm Review and Analysis" - Gao et al., IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems for Video Technology; Date of Publication: 24 November 2020.
"EDGE-DIRECTED GEOMETRIC PARTITIONING FOR VERSATILE VIDEO CODING" - Meng et al., 978-1-7281-1331-9/20/$31.00 2020 IEEE.
/Mainul Hasan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485