DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 12/21/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN202311772732.8, application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it refers to the purported merits of the inventon. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4 and 10 are objected to because of the following:
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “motion;” in line 8 should apparently be replaced with “motion; and”.
Regarding claim 2, the phrase “gear;” in line 14 should apparently be replaced with ”gear; and”; the phrase “in inner” in line 10 should apparently be replaced with “in an inner”; and the space immediately before the period in line 17 should be deleted.
Regarding claim 3, the phrase “module;” in line 5 should apparently be replaced with “module; and”.
Regarding claim 4, the phrase “gear;” in line 9 should apparently be replaced with “gear; and”.
Regarding claim 10, the phrase “seat;” in line 27 should apparently be replaced with “seat; and”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “small connecting rod” in claims 2, 8 and 10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “small connecting rod” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 206865592 to Anhui Zhaoyi Anlian Technology Co. Ltd. (“Anhui”, and note the attached translation).
Regarding claim 1, Anhui teaches an automatic cleaning device (Figs. 1-3, para [0005] – [0029], translation, abstract), wherein the automatic cleaning device comprises a cleaning head (ref. 1), a cleaning seat (ref. 3), and a cleaning module (ref. 4), wherein the cleaning head is fixedly mounted in the cleaning seat (translation, page 3, para beginning “As shown in figure 3”, note Fig. 2, ref. 3 mounted to ref. 1); wherein the cleaning seat is rotationally connected with the cleaning module (rear end of ref. 4, turns with respect to ref. 3, as does ref. 5); wherein the cleaning module drives the cleaning seat and the cleaning head to realize up-and-down reciprocating motion (module ref. 4, brings head ref. 1 to reciprocate) (translation, page 4, para beginning “The front end of left support”).
Anhui does not explicitly teach a protective housing, wherein the protective housing passes through the cleaning head and the cleaning seat and is fixedly connected with the cleaning module to prevent harmful substances caused by cleaning from entering an inner cavity of the cleaning module and causing damage to a mechanism. However, the examiner takes Official notice that protective housings were known in the art as effective for enhancing protection of components therein, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Anhui device as was known wherein it includes a protective housing, wherein the protective housing passes through the cleaning head and the cleaning seat and is fixedly connected with the cleaning module, with a reasonable expectation of success, since they were known as enhancing protection.
Regarding claim 2, Anhui discloses a device wherein the cleaning module comprises a driving servo, an active bevel gear, a driven bevel gear, a fixing frame, a pinion gear, a driven bull gear, an oscillating rod, a connecting cross bar, a small connecting rod, a connecting bolt, a slewing connecting shaft, a connecting sleeve, a bull gear shaft, a bull gear bearing, a bull gear shaft sleeve, a pinion bearing and an outer cover (translation, page 4, para beginning “The left part of U-bracket” and “Motor 7 is installed”, note ref. 7, 8 and 9), wherein the driving servo is fixedly mounted on the fixing frame, and the teeth shape on the output end of the driving servo is in interference fit with the matching teeth in inner bore of the active bevel gear to realize the power transmission of the driving servo; wherein one end of the driven bevel gear transmits power through gear meshing with the active bevel gear, and the other end passes through the pinion bearing to fit in interference with the pinion gear; wherein the pinion bearing is nested in the fixing frame and resists against the shoulder of the driven bevel gear to realize the axial limitation of the driven bevel gear (translation, page 3, para beginning “Left support bar” through page 4, para beginning ”In actual use”).
Regarding claim 3, Anhui discloses a device wherein the cleaning head comprises multi-layer brushes; wherein an end of the cleaning seat is provided with a mounting hole for rotationally connecting with the connecting cross bar of the cleaning module; wherein the cleaning module drives the connecting cross bar through the movement of the oscillating rod, which drives the cleaning seat and cleaning head to realize the up-and-down reciprocating motion (translation, page 4, para beginning “The front end of left support”).
Regarding claim 4, Anhui discloses a device wherein the pinion gear is in interference fit with the driven bevel gear and meshes with the driven bull gear to realize power transmission through gear meshing; the bull gear shaft passes through the bull gear bearing, the driven bull gear and the bull gear shaft sleeve in turn and is fixedly connected with the fixing frame through threads; wherein an inner ring of the bull gear bearing resists the shoulder of the bull gear shaft, and an outer ring is rotationally connected with the driven bull gear; wherein the bull gear shaft sleeve is gap-fit with the bull gear shaft and both sides of which are rotationally connected with the driven bull gear and fixing frame respectively to realize axial positioning of the driven bull gear (translation, page 3, para beginning “Motor 7 is installed”).
Regarding claim 5, Anhui discloses a device wherein the cleaning module further comprises a rail and a slider, the rail is fixedly mounted in the guide groove of the fixing frame, and both ends of which are fixed by screws and realizes limit position; the slider is slidingly fitted with the rail and the slider can slide between two limit screws of the rail (translation, page 3, para beginning “Motor 7 is installed”).
Regarding claim 6, Anhui discloses a device wherein one end of the oscillating rod is connected with the slider, and the other end is connected with the cleaning seat through the connecting cross bar; the slewing connecting shaft passes through the oscillating rod and connecting sleeve in turn and is fixedly connected with the driven bull gear through threads (translation, page 3, para beginning “Motor 7 is installed”).
Regarding claim 7, Anhui discloses a device wherein a center hole of the oscillating rod moves in a circular motion with the driven bull gear, one end of which moves linearly along the rail with the slider, and the other end of the oscillating rod drives the cleaning seat and the cleaning head to do up-and-down reciprocating motion through the connecting cross bar translation, page 3, para beginning “Motor 7 is installed”).
Regarding claim 8, Anhui discloses a device wherein one end of the small connecting rod is rotatably connected with the fixing frame by screws, and the other end is connected with the cleaning seat by screws, so as to realize the support of the cleaning seat, and the small connecting rod is mounted symmetrically on both sides of the fixing frame respectively (translation, page 3, para beginning “As shown in figure 3” and “Motor 7 is installed”).
Regarding claim 9, Anhui discloses a device wherein the outer cover is inserted from one end of the fixing frame to cover the whole cleaning module and is fixedly connected with the fixing frame by screws (translation, page 3, para beginning “As shown in figure 3” and “Motor 7 is installed”).
Regarding claim 10, Anhui teaches an automatic cleaning method (translation, abstract) employing the automatic cleaning device described in claim 1, wherein the cleaning method is as follows: the driving servo in the cleaning module provides power to drive the active bevel gear that matched and connected thereto to carry out rotational movement; the active bevel gear transmits power to the driven bevel gear through gear meshing, the driven bevel gear is rotationally connected with the fixing frame, and is connected with the pinion gear through the interference fit, which transmits the torque to the pinion gear; the pinion gear is gear meshed with the driven bull gear, which drives the driven bull gear to rotate around its rotary center; the slewing connecting shaft mounted on the driven bull gear passes through the oscillating rod, driving the oscillating rod to move, and the other end of the oscillating rod is connected with the slider, so that the slider drives one end of the oscillating rod to do linear motion along the rail, driving the other end of the oscillating rod to do arc motion; the cleaning head and the cleaning seat are fixedly connected, and the middle of the cleaning seat is connected with the oscillating rod through the connecting cross bar, driving the cleaning seat and one end of the oscillating rod to move simultaneously; wherein, at the same time, the end of the cleaning seat is connected with one end of the small connecting rod, and the other end of the small connecting rod is rotationally connected with the fixing frame, so as to form a linkage mechanism between the fixing frame, the small connecting rod, and the cleaning seat; wherein, through the power transmission of the gears and deflection movement of the linkage mechanism, the up-and-down reciprocating movement of the cleaning head can be realized (translation, page 4, para beginning “In actual use”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO 2025166814 to Yunjing Intelligence Innovation Shenzhen Co. Ltd. teaches a cleaning device.
/ERIC W GOLIGHTLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714