DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/22/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-8, 10, and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12, 216,731. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,216,731 contain each limitation of the corresponding instant claims and further limitations. Thus, the entire scope of the parent claims falls within the scope of the corresponding instant claims 1-20 of App. 18991607.
US PAT: 12,216,731
App# 18991607
Claim 1
Claims 1-6
Claim 3
Claim 7
Claim 4
Claim 8 and 20
Claim 5
Claim 9
Claim 6
Claim 10
Claim 7
Claim 11
Claim 8
Claim 12
Claim 10
Claims 13-18
Claim 12
Claim 19
Claims 1-6 are unpatentable over patent claim 1. As shown above, patent claim 1 contains all of the limitations of instant claim 1, including downloading the payload of possible variants, selecting downloaded A view or B view data, providing the selected data to the state management library, overwriting and re-rendering the page using the selected data, independently selecting data for respective web browsers, and generating the UI based on the selected data. Patent claim 1 further recites the limitations separately set forth in instant dependent claims 2-6, including configured language based selection, downloading the state management library and variant selector, website DOM control, use of the front-end framework, and manipulation of website views using the front-end framework.
Claim 7 is unpatentable over patent claim 3, which recites manipulation of the data layer of the front-end framework to trigger re-rendering using the selected variant data.
Claims 8 and 20 are unpatentable over patent claim 4, which recites the state management library containing only a single instance of the A view or B view selected by the variant selector.
Claims 9-12 are unpatentable over patent claim 5-8, which recite the corresponding consistent-relationship, durable session, variant selector-function, and device-characteristic limitations.
Claims 13-18 are unpatentable over patent claim 10. Patent claim 10 contains the subject matter recited in instant claim 13 and further contains the limitations separately recited in instant dependent claims 14-18, including configured language based selection, downloading the state management library and variant selector, website DOM control, use of the front-end framework, and manipulation of website views using the front-end framework.
Claim 19 is unpatentable over patent claim 12, which recites manipulation of a data layer of the front-end framework, thereby triggering a re-rendering using the selected variant data.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boyd (US 20190278438 A1) in view of DA SILVA BAPTISTA RUSSO (US 20210232372 A1, hereinafter “Russo”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Boyd teaches: A method of displaying an A view and a B view on a single page application comprising: (Boyd − [0025-0028] [0025] For a given single-page web page, the content provider 107 may have an associated smart page that includes one or more variations of the single-page web page that are used in a variation test for the single-page web page. In one embodiment, a variation test of a single-page web page involves an experiment that tests control “A” and a variation “B” on users requesting the single-page web page from the content provider 107.)
downloading, to each web browser of each of a plurality of computing devices, a payload of all possible variants including data of the A view and data of the B view at times a web page is loaded to each web browser of each of the plurality of computing devices from the server; (Boyd − [0025] For a given single-page web page, the content provider 107 may have an associated smart page that includes one or more variations of the single-page web page that are used in a variation test for the single-page web page. In one embodiment, a variation test of a single-page web page involves an experiment that tests control “A” and a variation “B” on users requesting the single-page web page from the content provider 107. [0026] FIG. 2A is example “A” (e.g., the control) of a single-page web page 200A that represents the current implementation of the single-page web page provided by content provider 107. [0027] FIG. 2B is example “B” (e.g., the variant version) of a single-page web page 200B. The variant of the single-page web page represented by web page 200B includes a change (i.e., a modification) to the control of the single-page web page 200A shown in FIG. 2A. The variant of single-page web page 200B includes the website name, a first advertisement, a second advertisement, textual content, a first picture, and a second picture similar to the control of the single-page web page 200A shown in FIG. 2A. [0057-0058] [0057] As mentioned above, the client device 102 includes a web browser 103. When a viewing user of the client device 102 accesses a single-page web application 119, the client device communicates via the network 109 to retrieve the single-page web application 119 from the content provider 107 so that the client device can display any single-page web pages of the single-page web application 119 to the viewing user. [0052-0053] [0052] Returning to FIG. 1, the experiment setup module 113 additionally communicates the conditions and variations established for a smart page by an affiliate to a content delivery module 118. In one embodiment, this includes sending a set of configurations, code, and data that is loaded into the content delivery module 118 as experiment variation instructions. [0053] In one embodiment, the experiment variation instructions comprise of configurations, code, and data that can be loaded into a client-side snippet 121 and used to apply the variations to a single-page web page.)
selecting, by each variant selector of each of the web browsers, downloaded data of the A view or downloaded data of the B view; (Boyd − [0058] The client-side snippet 121 additionally captures user interactions and information about the state of the single-page web application 119. When a condition of a smart page for the single-page web page is satisfied, the client-side snippet 121 executes the variation test. Based on the logic of the experiment variation instructions, the client-side snippet 121 loads a control or a variant of a single-page web page of the single-page web application 119 for display to the viewing user of the client device 102. In another embodiment, the content provider 107 can customize how users are grouped into a control or variation version of the single-page web application 119. In another example, visitors that interact with specified elements on the page (e.g., adding an item to an online cart; indicating an interest in an item) are selected for a variant of the single-page web application 119.)
providing the selected variant data, by the variant selector of each of the web browsers, including the data of the A view or the data of the B view (Boyd − [0058] The client-side snippet 121 additionally captures user interactions and information about the state of the single-page web application 119. When a condition of a smart page for the single-page web page is satisfied, the client-side snippet 121 executes the variation test. Based on the logic of the experiment variation instructions, the client-side snippet 121 loads a control or a variant of a single-page web page of the single-page web application 119 for display to the viewing user of the client device 102. In another embodiment, the content provider 107 can customize how users are grouped into a control or variation version of the single-page web application 119. In another example, visitors that interact with specified elements on the page (e.g., adding an item to an online cart; indicating an interest in an item) are selected for a variant of the single-page web application 119.)
and selected data of the A view or the downloaded and selected data of the B view, (Boyd − [0058] The client-side snippet 121 additionally captures user interactions and information about the state of the single-page web application 119. When a condition of a smart page for the single-page web page is satisfied, the client-side snippet 121 executes the variation test. Based on the logic of the experiment variation instructions, the client-side snippet 121 loads a control or a variant of a single-page web page of the single-page web application 119 for display to the viewing user of the client device 102. In another embodiment, the content provider 107 can customize how users are grouped into a control or variation version of the single-page web application 119. In another example, visitors that interact with specified elements on the page (e.g., adding an item to an online cart; indicating an interest in an item) are selected for a variant of the single-page web application 119.)
wherein the corresponding downloaded and selected data of the A view or the downloaded and selected data of the B view for each of the web browsers is independent of the corresponding downloaded and selected data of the A view or the downloaded and selected data of the B view for each other of the web browsers (Boyd − [0051] The content provider 107 may also revise the specific distribution of the variations of the web page to the viewing users. For example, when the affiliate of the content provider 107 establishes a control variation and an experimental variation, the traffic allocation may be split between the two variations, such that half of the viewing users receive the control variation and the remaining half of the viewing users receive the experimental variation. [0055] The identification (ID) assignment module 115 generates user identifiers for users of client devices 102. In one embodiment, a user identifier is a string of numbers that is unique to a particular client device 102 to the experiment system 105. [0058] The client-side snippet 121 additionally captures user interactions and information about the state of the single-page web application 119. When a condition of a smart page for the single-page web page is satisfied, the client-side snippet 121 executes the variation test. Based on the logic of the experiment variation instructions, the client-side snippet 121 loads a control or a variant of a single-page web page of the single-page web application 119 for display to the viewing user of the client device 102. In another embodiment, the content provider 107 can customize how users are grouped into a control or variation version of the single-page web application 119. For example, the content provider 107 can select specific groups of visitors for a default web page or a variation based on attributes of those visitors.)
and generating, [by the state management library,] a UI (user interface) of the website based on the downloaded and selected data of the A view or the downloaded and selected data of the B selected by the variant selector (Boyd − [0058] The client-side snippet 121 additionally captures user interactions and information about the state of the single-page web application 119. When a condition of a smart page for the single-page web page is satisfied, the client-side snippet 121 executes the variation test. Based on the logic of the experiment variation instructions, the client-side snippet 121 loads a control or a variant of a single-page web page of the single-page web application 119 for display to the viewing user of the client device 102. In one embodiment, the client-side snippet 121 is assigned to a control or a variant randomly. In another embodiment, the content provider 107 can customize how users are grouped into a control or variation version of the single-page web application 119. For example, the content provider 107 can select specific groups of visitors for a default web page or a variation based on attributes of those visitors. For example, first time visitors to the single-page web application 119 are selected for a variant of the web page. In another example, visitors that interact with specified elements on the page (e.g., adding an item to an online cart; indicating an interest in an item) are selected for a variant of the single-page web application 119.)
Boyd does not explicitly teach: to a state management library of each of the web browsers
However, Russo teaches: to a state management library of each of the web browsers (Russo − [0006-0012] [0006] Another type of architecture which applies a different “state store”, which shall be understood as a single root model object preferably, is a variation of the MVC architecture, too. Sometimes this architecture is called “Uni-flow Architecture” employing a “uni-flow state store”. This uni-flow architecture is implemented by known libraries, such as Redux and Flux. They are designed to work mostly within a unidirectional data flow architecture, for which a typical working example is as follows: [0007] 1. Action messages are dispatched to the state store. [0008] 2. The state store's controller (called a “reducer”) processes the dispatched action messages by determining the new state of the state store. [0009] 3. The state store emits a “changed” event. [0010] 4. The view listens to the state store's “changed” event and re-renders in response. [0011] 5. The view translates user gestures into new action messages, dispatched to the state store. )
and overwrites data for a page in each state management library with the downloaded (Russo − [0071] By listening to a lifecycle state event of the execution of a mutation action (MA), a controller (3) or view (2) can determine what is changing (or has been changed) to the desired level of detail. mutation of a property to its “new given value”; [0072] current internal state to the desired final internal state; [0084] Table 1 set(propName:string) creates a replace mutation; [0094] a single value property “may have been replaced by another.”)
thereby re-rendering by the page with the corresponding downloaded and selected data of the A view or the downloaded and selected data of the B view, (Russo − [0008] 2. The state store's controller (called a “reducer”) processes the dispatched action messages by determining the new state of the state store. [0009] 3. The state store emits a “changed” event. [0010] 4. The view listens to the state store's “changed” event and re-renders in response. [0121] The rendering paradigms can be classified according to the granularity of the rendering operations which are made in response to state changes. The total rendering paradigm is such that a UI is totally reconstructed whenever any part of the state changes. [0122] A total rendering view (2) reads the whole state from its model (1), when reacting to state changes, whatever the scope of the change.)
by the state management library, and provided to the state management library. (Russo − [0006-0012] [0006] Another type of architecture which applies a different “state store”, which shall be understood as a single root model object preferably, is a variation of the MVC architecture, too. Sometimes this architecture is called “Uni-flow Architecture” employing a “uni-flow state store”. This uni-flow architecture is implemented by known libraries, such as Redux and Flux. They are designed to work mostly within a unidirectional data flow architecture, for which a typical working example is as follows: [0007] 1. Action messages are dispatched to the state store. [0008] 2. The state store's controller (called a “reducer”) processes the dispatched action messages by determining the new state of the state store. [0009] 3. The state store emits a “changed” event. [0010] 4. The view listens to the state store's “changed” event and re-renders in response. [0121] The rendering paradigms can be classified according to the granularity of the rendering operations which are made in response to state changes. The total rendering paradigm is such that a UI is totally reconstructed whenever any part of the state changes. [0122] A total rendering view (2) reads the whole state from its model (1), when reacting to state changes, whatever the scope of the change.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date to modify Boyd to use the Redux and Flux libraries taught by Russo for the variant data. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification to facilitate updating the application state and re-rendering the view when the state changes.
Regarding dependent claim 2, depends on claim 1, Boyd teaches: wherein the selection of the downloaded data of the A view or downloaded data of the B view are based on at least on a configured language of a computing device of each web browser. (Boyd − [0051] The content provider 107 may also revise the specific distribution of the variations of the web page to the viewing users. For example, when the affiliate of the content provider 107 establishes a control variation and an experimental variation, the traffic allocation may be split between the two variations, such that half of the viewing users receive the control variation and the remaining half of the viewing users receive the experimental variation. [0055] The identification (ID) assignment module 115 generates user identifiers for users of client devices 102. In one embodiment, a user identifier is a string of numbers that is unique to a particular client device 102 to the experiment system 105. [0058] The client-side snippet 121 additionally captures user interactions and information about the state of the single-page web application 119. When a condition of a smart page for the single-page web page is satisfied, the client-side snippet 121 executes the variation test. Based on the logic of the experiment variation instructions, the client-side snippet 121 loads a control or a variant of a single-page web page of the single-page web application 119 for display to the viewing user of the client device 102. In another embodiment, the content provider 107 can customize how users are grouped into a control or variation version of the single-page web application 119. For example, the content provider 107 can select specific groups of visitors for a default web page or a variation based on attributes of those visitors.)
Regarding dependent claim 3, depends on claim 1, Boyd does not explicitly teach: downloading the state management library
However, Russo teaches: further comprising downloading the state management library and the variant selector to user browsers of each of the plurality of computing devices that access a website, wherein the state management library and the variant selector operate on each user browser of each of the plurality of computing devices after being downloaded. (Russo − [0006-0012] [0006] Another type of architecture which applies a different “state store”, which shall be understood as a single root model object preferably, is a variation of the MVC architecture, too. Sometimes this architecture is called “Uni-flow Architecture” employing a “uni-flow state store”. This uni-flow architecture is implemented by known libraries, such as Redux and Flux. They are designed to work mostly within a unidirectional data flow architecture, for which a typical working example is as follows: [0007] 1. Action messages are dispatched to the state store. [0008] 2. The state store's controller (called a “reducer”) processes the dispatched action messages by determining the new state of the state store. [0009] 3. The state store emits a “changed” event. [0010] 4. The view listens to the state store's “changed” event and re-renders in response. [0121] The rendering paradigms can be classified according to the granularity of the rendering operations which are made in response to state changes. The total rendering paradigm is such that a UI is totally reconstructed whenever any part of the state changes. [0122] A total rendering view (2) reads the whole state from its model (1), when reacting to state changes, whatever the scope of the change.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date to modify Boyd to use the Redux and Flux libraries taught by Russo for the variant data. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification to facilitate updating the application state and re-rendering the view when the state changes.
Regarding dependent claim 4, depends on claim 1, Boyd further comprising controlling displaying, by a website DOM (document object model), (Boyd − [0008] There are multiple types of triggers, and a user selects at least one per view or page, including “upon immediate page load”, “manual”, “when the URL changes”, “when the DOM changes”, “when a condition is true”, and “when a callback fires,” for example. Conditions include URL match, element present, and custom code. [0037] A DOM change trigger may cause the client device 102 to evaluate for conditions of the smart page responsive to a change to a document object model (DOM) associated with the single-page web page.)
Boyd does not explicitly teach: underlying data of a website view on each user browser based on the UI generated by the state management library
However, Russo teaches: further comprising controlling displaying, by a website DOM (document object model), underlying data of a website view on each user browser based on the UI generated by the state management library. (Russo − [0119] Another factor, for both extensibility and composability, is that views ultimately render to a common primitive graphical language (for example, a View of a web application could be required to render to a DOM technology such as HTML, SVG or WebGL). Additionally, it can be possible to mix views (2) which employ different rendering paradigms (see below).)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date to modify Boyd to use the Redux and Flux libraries taught by Russo for the variant data. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification to facilitate updating the application state and re-rendering the view when the state changes.
Regarding dependent claim 9, depends on claim 1, Boyd teaches: wherein the A view and the B view are linked to create a consistent relationship between a data set of the A view and a dataset of the B view. (Boyd − [0042] In one embodiment, a URL match condition is a specified string or substring of a URL of the single-page web page that is monitored by the client device 102. For example, the client device 102 monitors the URL of the single-page web page to determine when the URL string for the single-page web page has updated from “www.testpage.com” to “www.testpage.com/products” or “www.testpage.com/shoppingcart,” which are examples of the URL string specified in the URL match condition. Responsive to the URL of the single-page web page matching the URL specified in the URL match condition, the smart page for the single-page web page is activated and a variation for the single-page web page may be displayed on the client device 102.)
Regarding dependent claim 10, depends on claim 9, Boyd teaches: wherein the consistent relationship comprises durable across user sessions, wherein a user is exposed to either the A view A data or the B view from a same set of data options. (Boyd − [0055] The identification (ID) assignment module 115 generates user identifiers for users of client devices 102. In one embodiment, a user identifier is a string of numbers that is unique to a particular client device 102 to the experiment system 105. Thus, client device 102A may have a different user identifier than the user identifier for client device 102B. In one embodiment, the ID assignment module 115 generates a user identifier by automatically incrementing the value of the last user identifier generated by the ID assignment module 115 using an auto increment function. Alternatively, the ID assignment module 115 generates a unique random number and assigns the unique random number as a user identifier for a client device 102. In another embodiment, the ID assignment module 115 may receive a user identifier generated by the client device 102 (for example, a device ID of the client device 102) or by the client-side snippet 121 loaded on the web page of the client device 102. In yet another embodiment, user identifier may be input by the user into the client device 102 and received by the ID assignment module 115. The ID assignment module 115 stores user identifiers in the ID database 116. The ID database 116 stores and maintains records of all assigned user identifiers from the IDS assignment module 115 and client devices 102.)
Regarding dependent claim 11, depends on claim 1, Boyd teaches: wherein the variant selector comprises a function, or set of functions, which can accept a variant as an argument and updates [the state management library] for a given page with corresponding view data including the A view data or the B view data. (Boyd − [0036] When a trigger event occurs as defined by a smart page of a single-page web page, the client device 102 that is displaying the single-page web page evaluates the specified conditions associated with the trigger event and activates or deactivates the smart page based on instructions specified by the content provider 107. Triggers may be determined based on a function of the single-page web page, such as a timing or callback function, or interactions from a viewing user with the single-page web page.)
Boyd does not explicitly teach: the state management library
However, Russo teaches: the state management library (Russo − [0006-0012] [0006] Another type of architecture which applies a different “state store”, which shall be understood as a single root model object preferably, is a variation of the MVC architecture, too. Sometimes this architecture is called “Uni-flow Architecture” employing a “uni-flow state store”. This uni-flow architecture is implemented by known libraries, such as Redux and Flux. They are designed to work mostly within a unidirectional data flow architecture, for which a typical working example is as follows: [0007] 1. Action messages are dispatched to the state store. [0008] 2. The state store's controller (called a “reducer”) processes the dispatched action messages by determining the new state of the state store. [0009] 3. The state store emits a “changed” event. [0010] 4. The view listens to the state store's “changed” event and re-renders in response. [0011] 5. The view translates user gestures into new action messages, dispatched to the state store. )
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date to modify Boyd to use the Redux and Flux libraries taught by Russo for the variant data. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification to facilitate updating the application state and re-rendering the view when the state changes.
Regarding dependent claim 12, depends on claim 1, Boyd teaches: wherein a one of the variants is selected based on characteristics of a computing device of the user browser. (Boyd − [0055] The identification (ID) assignment module 115 generates user identifiers for users of client devices 102. In one embodiment, a user identifier is a string of numbers that is unique to a particular client device 102 to the experiment system 105. Thus, client device 102A may have a different user identifier than the user identifier for client device 102B. In one embodiment, the ID assignment module 115 generates a user identifier by automatically incrementing the value of the last user identifier generated by the ID assignment module 115 using an auto increment function. Alternatively, the ID assignment module 115 generates a unique random number and assigns the unique random number as a user identifier for a client device 102. In another embodiment, the ID assignment module 115 may receive a user identifier generated by the client device 102 (for example, a device ID of the client device 102) or by the client-side snippet 121 loaded on the web page of the client device 102. In yet another embodiment, user identifier may be input by the user into the client device 102 and received by the ID assignment module 115. The ID assignment module 115 stores user identifiers in the ID database 116. The ID database 116 stores and maintains records of all assigned user identifiers from the IDS assignment module 115 and client devices 102.)
Regarding independent claim 13, is directed to a system. Claim 13 have similar/same technical features/limitations as claim 1. Claim 13 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding dependent claim 14, depends on claim 13, Boyd teaches: wherein the selection of the downloaded data of the A view or downloaded data of the B view is based on at least on a configured language of a computing device of each web browser. (Boyd − [0051] The content provider 107 may also revise the specific distribution of the variations of the web page to the viewing users. For example, when the affiliate of the content provider 107 establishes a control variation and an experimental variation, the traffic allocation may be split between the two variations, such that half of the viewing users receive the control variation and the remaining half of the viewing users receive the experimental variation. [0055] The identification (ID) assignment module 115 generates user identifiers for users of client devices 102. In one embodiment, a user identifier is a string of numbers that is unique to a particular client device 102 to the experiment system 105. [0058] The client-side snippet 121 additionally captures user interactions and information about the state of the single-page web application 119. When a condition of a smart page for the single-page web page is satisfied, the client-side snippet 121 executes the variation test. Based on the logic of the experiment variation instructions, the client-side snippet 121 loads a control or a variant of a single-page web page of the single-page web application 119 for display to the viewing user of the client device 102. In another embodiment, the content provider 107 can customize how users are grouped into a control or variation version of the single-page web application 119. For example, the content provider 107 can select specific groups of visitors for a default web page or a variation based on attributes of those visitors.)
Regarding dependent claim 15, depends on claim 13, Boyd does not explicitly teach: downloading the state management library
However, Russo teaches: wherein the server is further configured to download the state management library and the variant selector to user browsers of each of the plurality of computing devices that access a website, wherein the state management library and the variant selector operate on each user browser of each of the plurality of computing devices after being downloaded. (Russo − [0006-0012] [0006] Another type of architecture which applies a different “state store”, which shall be understood as a single root model object preferably, is a variation of the MVC architecture, too. Sometimes this architecture is called “Uni-flow Architecture” employing a “uni-flow state store”. This uni-flow architecture is implemented by known libraries, such as Redux and Flux. They are designed to work mostly within a unidirectional data flow architecture, for which a typical working example is as follows: [0007] 1. Action messages are dispatched to the state store. [0008] 2. The state store's controller (called a “reducer”) processes the dispatched action messages by determining the new state of the state store. [0009] 3. The state store emits a “changed” event. [0010] 4. The view listens to the state store's “changed” event and re-renders in response. [0121] The rendering paradigms can be classified according to the granularity of the rendering operations which are made in response to state changes. The total rendering paradigm is such that a UI is totally reconstructed whenever any part of the state changes. [0122] A total rendering view (2) reads the whole state from its model (1), when reacting to state changes, whatever the scope of the change.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date to modify Boyd to use the Redux and Flux libraries taught by Russo for the variant data. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification to facilitate updating the application state and re-rendering the view when the state changes.
Regarding dependent claim 16, depends on claim 13, Boyd teaches: a website DOM (document object model) is configured to display (Boyd − [0008] There are multiple types of triggers, and a user selects at least one per view or page, including “upon immediate page load”, “manual”, “when the URL changes”, “when the DOM changes”, “when a condition is true”, and “when a callback fires,” for example. Conditions include URL match, element present, and custom code. [0037] A DOM change trigger may cause the client device 102 to evaluate for conditions of the smart page responsive to a change to a document object model (DOM) associated with the single-page web page.)
Boyd does not explicitly teach: underlying data of a website view on each user browser based on the UI generated by the state management library
However, Russo teaches: a website DOM (document object model) is configured to display underlying data of a website view on each user browser based on the UI generated by the state management library. (Russo − [0119] Another factor, for both extensibility and composability, is that views ultimately render to a common primitive graphical language (for example, a View of a web application could be required to render to a DOM technology such as HTML, SVG or WebGL). Additionally, it can be possible to mix views (2) which employ different rendering paradigms (see below).)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date to modify Boyd to use the Redux and Flux libraries taught by Russo for the variant data. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification to facilitate updating the application state and re-rendering the view when the state changes.
Regarding dependent claim 20, depends on claim 5, Boyd teaches: wherein [the state management library] is configured to hold view data for a given view, wherein [the state management library] only contains a single instance of the A view or the B view for the page as selected by the variant selector. (Boyd − [0058] The client-side snippet 121 additionally captures user interactions and information about the state of the single-page web application 119. When a condition of a smart page for the single-page web page is satisfied, the client-side snippet 121 executes the variation test. Based on the logic of the experiment variation instructions, the client-side snippet 121 loads a control or a variant of a single-page web page of the single-page web application 119 for display to the viewing user of the client device 102. In one embodiment, the client-side snippet 121 is assigned to a control or a variant randomly. In another embodiment, the content provider 107 can customize how users are grouped into a control or variation version of the single-page web application 119. For example, the content provider 107 can select specific groups of visitors for a default web page or a variation based on attributes of those visitors. For example, first time visitors to the single-page web application 119 are selected for a variant of the web page. In another example, visitors that interact with specified elements on the page (e.g., adding an item to an online cart; indicating an interest in an item) are selected for a variant of the single-page web application 119.)
Boyd does not explicitly teach: the state management library
However, Russo teaches: the state management library (Russo − [0006-0012] [0006] Another type of architecture which applies a different “state store”, which shall be understood as a single root model object preferably, is a variation of the MVC architecture, too. Sometimes this architecture is called “Uni-flow Architecture” employing a “uni-flow state store”. This uni-flow architecture is implemented by known libraries, such as Redux and Flux. They are designed to work mostly within a unidirectional data flow architecture, for which a typical working example is as follows: [0007] 1. Action messages are dispatched to the state store. [0008] 2. The state store's controller (called a “reducer”) processes the dispatched action messages by determining the new state of the state store. [0009] 3. The state store emits a “changed” event. [0010] 4. The view listens to the state store's “changed” event and re-renders in response. [0011] 5. The view translates user gestures into new action messages, dispatched to the state store. )
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date to modify Boyd to use the Redux and Flux libraries taught by Russo for the variant data. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification to facilitate updating the application state and re-rendering the view when the state changes.
Claim(s) 5-8 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boyd and Russo as applied to claims 4 and 16 above, and further in view of Issac (US 20070067418 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 5, depends on claim 4, Boyd teaches: the website DOM which controls the website view on the user browser, wherein the state management library provides either the downloaded and selected data of the A view or the downloaded and selected data of the B view to the front-end framework as selected by the variant selector. (Boyd − [0008] There are multiple types of triggers, and a user selects at least one per view or page, including “upon immediate page load”, “manual”, “when the URL changes”, “when the DOM changes”, “when a condition is true”, and “when a callback fires,” for example. Conditions include URL match, element present, and custom code. [0037] A DOM change trigger may cause the client device 102 to evaluate for conditions of the smart page responsive to a change to a document object model (DOM) associated with the single-page web page.) [0058] The client-side snippet 121 additionally captures user interactions and information about the state of the single-page web application 119. When a condition of a smart page for the single-page web page is satisfied, the client-side snippet 121 executes the variation test. Based on the logic of the experiment variation instructions, the client-side snippet 121 loads a control or a variant of a single-page web page of the single-page web application 119 for display to the viewing user of the client device 102. In another embodiment, the content provider 107 can customize how users are grouped into a control or variation version of the single-page web application 119. In another example, visitors that interact with specified elements on the page (e.g., adding an item to an online cart; indicating an interest in an item) are selected for a variant of the single-page web application 119.)
Boyd does not explicitly teach: front-end framework;
However, Isaac teaches: wherein the website view is generated by a front-end framework, wherein the front-end framework provides input to the website DOM which controls the website view on the user browser, (Isaac − [0017] A method and framework for developing web applications is disclosed. The method and framework enables developers to create applications and pages by binding behaviors to page elements, behaviors and unbounded client applications can be more easily designed and result in optimized application performance.) wherein the state management library provides either the downloaded and selected data of the A view or the downloaded and selected data of the B view to the front-end framework as selected by the variant selector. (Isaac − [0039] At step 405, the developer will define the page header and body of the web page. In this definition, the developer will install a call to the framework core file or files. As discussed below, the core library file script, and any broadly applicable library extensions, are the only scripts that need be included on a web page. All other scripts are managed and downloaded via the binding mechanisms discussed below.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date to modify Boyd to incorporate a front-end framework taught by Issac with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification to provide a browser-side framework through which the selected variant state is applied to page elements and rendered, while obtaining the known benefits of reusable client-side framework components and improved application performance.
Regarding dependent claim 6, depends on claim 5, Boyd does not explicitly teach: front-end framework;
However, Isaac teaches: further comprising manipulating views of the website with the front-end framework based on the selected variant data. (Issac − [0017] [0037] The client device 304 includes, for example, a web browsing application 312 which may interpret the scripting language that the framework is implemented in. Upon loading a page implementing the framework, core libraries 352 and script objects 354 used by the browser to render pages under the Framework are downloaded to the client device memory 132.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date to modify Boyd to incorporate a front-end framework taught by Issac with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification to provide a browser-side framework through which the selected variant state is applied to page elements and rendered, while obtaining the known benefits of reusable client-side framework components and improved application performance.
Regarding dependent claim 7, depends on claim 5, Boyd does not explicitly teach: front-end framework;
However, Isaac teaches: wherein the state management library manipulates a data layer of the front-end framework, thereby triggering a re-rendering using the selected variant data. (Issac − [0017] [0037] [0038] FIG. 4 illustrates the general process a developer will implement to create web pages and web applications using the framework of the present invention, and the steps which occur on the browser when a page is loaded. Generally, any interactive web-page consists of three components: structure, presentation, and behavior. The separation between the three components is maintained by the Framework by using the semantic "glue" of the CSS selector. In CSS, the selector specifies an association between certain elements and a specific rendering. The Framework binding mechanism extends the same philosophy to connecting behaviors to specific elements.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date to modify Boyd to incorporate a front-end framework taught by Issac with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification to provide a browser-side framework through which the selected variant state is applied to page elements and rendered, while obtaining the known benefits of reusable client-side framework components and improved application performance.
Regarding dependent claim 8, depends on claim 5, Boyd teaches: wherein [the state management library] is configured to hold view data for a given view, wherein [the state management library] only contains a single instance of the A view or the B view for the page as selected by the variant selector. (Boyd − [0058] The client-side snippet 121 additionally captures user interactions and information about the state of the single-page web application 119. When a condition of a smart page for the single-page web page is satisfied, the client-side snippet 121 executes the variation test. Based on the logic of the experiment variation instructions, the client-side snippet 121 loads a control or a variant of a single-page web page of the single-page web application 119 for display to the viewing user of the client device 102. In one embodiment, the client-side snippet 121 is assigned to a control or a variant randomly. In another embodiment, the content provider 107 can customize how users are grouped into a control or variation version of the single-page web application 119. For example, the content provider 107 can select specific groups of visitors for a default web page or a variation based on attributes of those visitors. For example, first time visitors to the single-page web application 119 are selected for a variant of the web page. In another example, visitors that interact with specified elements on the page (e.g., adding an item to an online cart; indicating an interest in an item) are selected for a variant of the single-page web application 119.)
Boyd does not explicitly teach: the state management library
However, Russo teaches: the state management library (Russo − [0006-0012] [0006] Another type of architecture which applies a different “state store”, which shall be understood as a single root model object preferably, is a variation of the MVC architecture, too. Sometimes this architecture is called “Uni-flow Architecture” employing a “uni-flow state store”. This uni-flow architecture is implemented by known libraries, such as Redux and Flux. They are designed to work mostly within a unidirectional data flow architecture, for which a typical working example is as follows: [0007] 1. Action messages are dispatched to the state store. [0008] 2. The state store's controller (called a “reducer”) processes the dispatched action messages by determining the new state of the state store. [0009] 3. The state store emits a “changed” event. [0010] 4. The view listens to the state store's “changed” event and re-renders in response. [0011] 5. The view translates user gestures into new action messages, dispatched to the state store. )
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date to modify Boyd to incorporate a front-end framework taught by Issac with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification to provide a browser-side framework through which the selected variant state is applied to page elements and rendered, while obtaining the known benefits of reusable client-side framework components and improved application performance.
Regarding dependent claim 17, depends on claim 16, Boyd teaches: wherein [the state management library] provides either the downloaded and selected data of the A view or the downloaded and selected data of the B view to [the front-end framework] as selected by the variant selector. (Boyd − [0008] There are multiple types of triggers, and a user selects at least one per view or page, including “upon immediate page load”, “manual”, “when the URL changes”, “when the DOM changes”, “when a condition is true”, and “when a callback fires,” for example. Conditions include URL match, element present, and custom code. [0037] A DOM change trigger may cause the client device 102 to evaluate for conditions of the smart page responsive to a change to a document object model (DOM) associated with the single-page web page.) [0058] The client-side snippet 121 additionally captures user interactions and information about the state of the single-page web application 119. When a condition of a smart page for the single-page web page is satisfied, the client-side snippet 121 executes the variation test. Based on the logic of the experiment variation instructions, the client-side snippet 121 loads a control or a variant of a single-page web page of the single-page web application 119 for display to the viewing user of the client device 102. In another embodiment, the content provider 107 can customize how users are grouped into a control or variation version of the single-page web application 119. In another example, visitors that interact with specified elements on the page (e.g., adding an item to an online cart; indicating an interest in an item) are selected for a variant of the single-page web application 119.)
Boyd does not explicitly teach: the state management library
However, Russo teaches: the state management library (Russo − [0006-0012] [0006] Another type of architecture which applies a different “state store”, which shall be understood as a single root model object preferably, is a variation of the MVC architecture, too. Sometimes this architecture is called “Uni-flow Architecture” employing a “uni-flow state store”. This uni-flow architecture is implemented by known libraries, such as Redux and Flux. They are designed to work mostly within a unidirectional data flow architecture, for which a typical working example is as follows: [0007] 1. Action messages are dispatched to the state store. [0008] 2. The state store's controller (called a “reducer”) processes the dispatched action messages by determining the new state of the state store. [0009] 3. The state store emits a “changed” event. [0010] 4. The view listens to the state store's “changed” event and re-renders in response. [0121] The rendering paradigms can be classified according to the granularity of the rendering operations which are made in response to state changes. The total rendering paradigm is such that a UI is totally reconstructed whenever any part of the state changes. [0122] A total rendering view (2) reads the whole state from its model (1), when reacting to state changes, whatever the scope of the change.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date to modify Boyd to use the Redux and Flux libraries taught by Russo for the variant data. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification to facilitate updating the application state and re-rendering the view when the state changes.
Boyd does not explicitly teach: front-end framework;
However, Isaac teaches: a website the website view is generated by a front-end framework, wherein the front-end framework provides input to the website DOM which controls the website view on the user browser, (Isaac − [0039] At step 405, the developer will define the page header and body of the web page. In this definition, the developer will install a call to the framework core file or files. As discussed below, the core library file script, and any broadly applicable library extensions, are the only scripts that need be included on a web page. All other scripts are managed and downloaded via the binding mechanisms discussed below.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date to modify Boyd to incorporate a front-end framework taught by Issac with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification to provide a browser-side framework through which the selected variant state is applied to page elements and rendered, while obtaining the known benefits of reusable client-side framework components and improved application performance.
Regarding dependent claim 18, depends on claim 17, Boyd does not explicitly teach: front-end framework;
However, Isaac teaches: the front-end framework is configured to manipulate views of the website based on the selected variant data. (Issac − [0017] [0037] [0038] FIG. 4 illustrates the general process a developer will implement to create web pages and web applications using the framework of the present invention, and the steps which occur on the browser when a page is loaded. Generally, any interactive web-page consists of three components: structure, presentation, and behavior. The separation between the three components is maintained by the Framework by using the semantic "glue" of the CSS selector. In CSS, the selector specifies an association between certain elements and a specific rendering. The Framework binding mechanism extends the same philosophy to connecting behaviors to specific elements.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date to modify Boyd to incorporate a front-end framework taught by Issac with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification to provide a browser-side framework through which the selected variant state is applied to page elements and rendered, while obtaining the known benefits of reusable client-side framework components and improved application performance.
Regarding dependent claim 19, depends on claim 18, Boyd does not explicitly teach: front-end framework;
However, Isaac teaches: wherein the state management library is configured to manipulate a data layer of the front-end framework, thereby triggering a re-rendering using the selected variant data. (Issac − [0017] [0037] [0038] FIG. 4 illustrates the general process a developer will implement to create web pages and web applications using the framework of the present invention, and the steps which occur on the browser when a page is loaded. Generally, any interactive web-page consists of three components: structure, presentation, and behavior. The separation between the three components is maintained by the Framework by using the semantic "glue" of the CSS selector. In CSS, the selector specifies an association between certain elements and a specific rendering. The Framework binding mechanism extends the same philosophy to connecting behaviors to specific elements. [0039] At step 405, the developer will define the page header and body of the web page. In this definition, the developer will install a call to the framework core file or files. As discussed below, the core library file script, and any broadly applicable library extensions, are the only scripts that need be included on a web page. All other scripts are managed and downloaded via the binding mechanisms discussed below.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date to modify Boyd to incorporate a front-end framework taught by Issac with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification to provide a browser-side framework through which the selected variant state is applied to page elements and rendered, while obtaining the known benefits of reusable client-side framework components and improved application performance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Siroker US 8839093 B1, Webpages are optimizing through the use of experiments that compare the responses of viewers that are either presented with the original webpage or a variant.
/CARL E BARNES JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2178
/STEPHEN S HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2178