DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 8-11 of copending Application No. 18991647 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they comprise substantially the same claim limitations, differing essentially only by statutory category.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bollini et al. (US 2022/0241980) in view of Livatino et al. (Intuitive Robot Teleoperation Through Multi-Sensor Informed Mixed Reality Visual Aids).
Regarding claim 1:
Bollini teaches control system for controlling operation of a robot in an environment, comprising:
a plurality of sensors configured to convert information from the environment and the robot into sensor data (see at least sensor system 130, Fig. 1B, ¶0007-0008, abstract)
a plurality of actuators configured to cause movement of the robot (actuators, motors M, see at least ¶0036, ¶0041);
a cognitive architecture control system, communicatively coupled to the robot, configured to control the robot (The Examiner notes that, absent any explicit limitations, Bollini’s teaching of building an environmental model for the robot to understand its surroundings meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of a cognitive architecture control subsystem.), and to:
receive the sensor data from the plurality of sensors (see at least sensor system 130, Fig. 1B, ¶0007-0008, abstract.);
generate a model of the environment from the sensor data (see at least sensor system 130, Fig. 3F, 4, ¶0007, ¶0062); and
output autonomous actuator data to the plurality of actuators of the robot, based on at least one instruction (see at least ¶0041-0043).; and
a graphical user interface configured to display a graphical representation of the robot-egocentric model to enable a human operator to select the at least one instruction from a pre-determined instruction set, based on the robot-egocentric model, to control the robot semi-autonomously (see at least Fig. 3D, E, F, 4, S406, ¶0027-0029, ¶0060, menu of behaviors, ¶0062, receive input selection of behavior, see at least ¶0005-0007, ¶0055-0063).
Bollini does not explicitly teach that the displayed model is an ego-centric model.
However, Bollini does further teach wherein the model may be displayed in an augmented reality representation, which at least suggests an ego-centric representation, and further discloses an ego-centric display in at least Fig. 3C.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing of the invention to modify the robotic control system and method as taught by Bollini by implementing the model in an ego-centric view in order to provide the expected benefit of providing additional modelled data in an intuitive manner for a user to operate the robot.
Alternately, or in addition, Livatino teaches a system and method of robotic teleoperation, including presenting a user interface with an ego-centric model of the robot environment (see at least video-synthetic images, p. 25797-25799, Extended camera view p. 25800).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the robotic control system and method as taught by Bollini with the ego-centric model as taught by Livatino in order to provide sensor-information presentation that appears coherent and intuitive, making it easier for an operator to catch and comprehend information meaning. This increases situational awareness and speeds up decision-making (Livatino, abstract).
Regarding claim 3:
Bollini further teaches wherein the graphical user interface enables the human operator to select, through the graphical user interface, at least one detected object within the robot-egocentric model, wherein the pre-determined instruction set is based on the selected at least one detected object (see at least ¶0059-0060).
Regarding claim 4:
Bollini further teaches wherein the pre-determined instruction set is based on a context of the at least one detected object and the robot-egocentric model (see at least ¶0059-0060).
Regarding claim 5:
Bollini further teaches wherein the pre-determined instruction set is displayed as a menu (see at least ¶0060).
Bollini does not explicitly teach a drop-down menu. However, the Examiner notes that the pop up menu as taught by Bollini is a known, functional equivalent to the well-known drop-down menu, therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to substitute any known menu type as desired.
Regarding claim 6:
Bollini teaches wherein the cognitive architecture control system includes a feature extraction module which is configured to receive at least one sensor data stream from the robot and convert the at least one sensor data stream to features, wherein the features are semantically meaningful information, and wherein the features are used to generate the robot-egocentric model (see at least ¶0045).
Regarding claim 10:
Bollini further teaches wherein the cognitive architecture control system includes a concrete state representation updater which provides a state representation of a current state of the environment as understood by the cognitive architecture control system (see at least ¶0035).
Regarding claims 11, 13-16, and 20, Bollini teaches a computer program product comprising a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium storing processor-executable instructions and/or data that, when executed by at least one processor of a robot control system, cause the robot control system to perform a control as in claims 1, 2-6, and 10 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 10, 12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bollini and Livatino and further in view of Gu et al. (US 2009/0089700).
Regarding claims 2 and 12:
Bollini and Livatino teaches the limitations as in claim 1 above.
The combination does not explicitly teach switching between physical and simulated robots.
Gu teaches a system and method of integrating real and virtual robotic systems including wherein the control system includes a control-determining unit and the method further comprises switching control between a physical robot in a physical environment and a simulated robot in a simulated environment, wherein:
the plurality of sensors of the physical robot comprise a plurality of physical sensors generating physical sensor data from the physical environment (real sensors 118), and the plurality of actuators of the physical robot comprises a plurality of physical actuators receiving physical actuator data (real actuators 116);
the plurality of sensors of the simulated robot comprises a plurality of simulated sensors generating simulated sensor data from the simulated environment (virtual sensors 128), and the plurality of actuators of the simulated robot comprises a plurality of simulated actuators receiving simulated actuator data (virtual actuator, 130, see at least abstract, ¶0011-0012, Fig. 5, ¶0045-0054).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the robotic control system and method as taught by Bollini and Livatino with the simulation technique as taught by Gu in order to provide the expected result of simplifying field testing of a robot system, and validating commands in simulation prior to real-world execution.
Regarding claims 10 and 20:
Gu further teaches testing, by the cognitive architecture control subsystem, actuator data within the robot-egocentric model to determine the effects of an actuator data driven action before sending the actuator data to the robot (see at least Fig. 1, ¶0033-39).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bollini Livatino in view of Sarvadevabhatla (US 2011/0004341)
Regarding claims 7-8 and 17-18:
Bollini in view of Livatino teaches the limitations as in claim 6 above.
The combination is silent as to feature extraction.
Sarvadevabhatla teaches a system and method of robotic control and environmental mapping including a feature extraction module including a plurality of specialized submodules to each extract a feature from the at least one sensor data stream and further comprising an attention module which is configured to turn on and off at least one of the specialized submodules (see at least abstract, ¶0003, ¶0028-0031, ¶0046-0069).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the robot control system and method as taught by Bollini and Livatino with the attention and feature extraction modules as taught by Sarvadevabhatla in order to provide the well-known machine vision technique of utilizing attention modules for directing the image processing resources to the most salient features for a particular task.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Ryan Rink/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619