DETAILED ACTION
Prelim. Amdt./Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the Preliminary Amendment filed on April 07, 2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Please clarify what “it” is referring to in next communication. The examiner will interpret the “it” as --the autonomous wireless tape agents--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “stationary antenna” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Christopher (US 2018/0293535).
Re claim 1: Christopher teaches a system (100, 300) for establishing a wireless communications connection between autonomous wireless tape agents (110) and a remote server (130), comprising autonomous wireless tape agents (110) adhered to stationary infrastructure such as location tags (210, 310A) and mobile assets (200, 305A) within a physical premises environment (fig. 2), a mobile vehicle (230) carrying a wireless gateway such as a reader (220, 315A) comprising a first wireless communications interface (320) to communicate with the remote server (130, 325), and a second wireless communications interface (i.e., emitting RF signal from the RFID reader to the RFID asset tag and a RFID location tag, paragraph 0005) to communicate with the autonomous wireless tape agents in the physical premises environment, wherein the second communications interface is operable to transmit one or more wakeup signals to wake the autonomous wireless tape agents in the physical premises environment (i.e., the RFID tag (110) can be a passive tag in which the RFID tag receives the electromagnetic energy serving as a wake-up signals in order to transmit data stored in the RFID tag, paragraph 0024), and the second communications interface is further operable to scan wireless signals transmitted by the autonomous wireless tape agents in the physical premises environment (see figs. 1-8; paragraph 0005, 0022-0034, 0038-0049).
Re claim 3: Wherein the second communications interface is operable to transmit wakeup signals concurrently (i.e., the reader (605) can multiple RFID tag (615) and asset tags (640, 645) simultaneously (fig. 6B, paragraph 0047)).
Re claim 7: Wherein the wakeup signal concurrently wakes multiple of the autonomous wireless tape agents, and each autonomous wireless tape agent is configured to wait a random amount of time before transmitting data on the second communications interface.
Re claim 12: Christopher teaches a method of establishing a wireless communications connection between autonomous wireless tape agents (110) and a remote server (130), comprising adhering autonomous wireless tape agents (110) to stationary infrastructure such as location tags (210, 310A) and mobile assets (200, 305A) within a physical premises environment (fig. 2), carrying, by a mobile vehicle (230), a wireless gateway such as a reader (220, 315A) comprising a first wireless communications interface (320) to communicate with the remote server (130, 325), by a second wireless communications interface (i.e., emitting RF signal from the RFID reader to the RFID asset tag and a RFID location tag, paragraph 0005), communicating with the autonomous wireless tape agents in the physical premises environment, transmitting, by the second communications interface, one or more wakeup signals to wake the autonomous wireless tape agents in the physical premises environment (i.e., the RFID tag (110) can be a passive tag in which the RFID tag receives the electromagnetic energy serving as a wake-up signals in order to transmit data stored in the RFID tag, paragraph 0024), and scanning, by the second communications interface, wireless signals transmitted by the autonomous wireless tape agents in the physical premises environment (see figs. 1-8; paragraph 0005, 0022-0034, 0038-0049).
Re claim 13: Christopher teaches a system for establishing a wireless communications connection between autonomous wireless tape agents (110) and a remote server (130), comprising autonomous wireless tape agents (110) adhered to stationary infrastructure such as location tags (210, 310A) and mobile assets (200, 305A) within a physical premises environment (fig. 2), a mobile vehicle (230) associated with a wireless gateway such as a reader (220, 315A) comprising by a first wireless communications interface (320), an executable code portion to communicate with the remote server, by a second wireless communications interface (i.e., emitting RF signal from the RFID reader to the RFID asset tag and a RFID location tag, paragraph 0005), an executable code portion to communicate with the autonomous wireless tape agents in the physical premises environment, an executable code portion to transmit, by the second communications interface, one or more wakeup signals to wake the autonomous wireless tape agents in the physical premises environment (i.e., the RFID tag (110) can be a passive tag in which the RFID tag receives the electromagnetic energy serving as a wake-up signals in order to transmit data stored in the RFID tag, paragraph 0024), and an executable code portion to scan, by the second communications interface, wireless signals transmitted by the autonomous wireless tape agents in the physical premises environment , wherein the reader, the RFID tags, and the server comprising memory to store executables codes for scanning and transmitting information therewith (not particularly shown)(see figs. 1-8; paragraph 0005, 0022-0034, 0038-0049).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 5, 8, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christopher in view of Kim (US 2009/0224890).
The teachings of Christopher have been discussed above.
Although, Christopher teaches the RFID system for tracking assets, he fairly suggests to convert the mode of operation.
However, Kim teaches a RFID reader (10) transmit a wake-up signal to an active RFID tag wherein the active RFID tag converted from the sleep mode to the active mode in response to receive the wake-up signal (see fig. 2, paragraph 0009), the RFID reader transmit the wake-up signal prior to transmitting a data signal (paragraph 0009) which serves as transmitting wakeup signals serially using a single channel serial interface, wherein at least one of the autonomous wireless tape agents comprises a idle mode serving as a low-power radio that is awake while a primary radio remains off until the autonomous wireless tape agents is awakened by the receipt of a wakeup packet by the low-power radio (fig. 6, paragraph 0039), the reader (605) comprising a antenna serving as a stationary antenna wherein Identification of the scanner (605) also transmitted to the server (paragraph 0044)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Kim to the teachings of Christopher in order to reduce power consumption.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christopher in view of Najass et al. (WO 2018/223189).
The teachings of Christopher have been discussed above.
Although, Christopher teaches the RFID system for tracking assets, he fairly suggests that the interface is LoRaWan interface.
However, Najass teaches a wireless monitoring system comprising a reader (50) communicating with multiple tags (20) wherein the Long Range Wan (LoRaWAN) protocol can be used to communicate (see figs. 1-2; paragraph 0012).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Najass to the teachings of Christopher in order to provide long range, low power wireless communication protocol.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
None of prior art teaches the autonomous wireless tape agents download respective non-interfering schedules of times to transmit data to the wireless gateway over the second communications interface, and the serial communications interface is operable to transmit the logged serial communications data to the second communications interface of the wireless gateway when the mobile vehicle is within range of the stationary antenna as set forth in the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schleef et al. (US 10089567) teaches a low powered radio tag.
/SEUNG H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876