DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“drive device”.
“switching device” in claims 1-3 and 5.
The aforementioned limitation meets the three-prong test outlined herein since:
the term “device” is a generic placeholder, (B) the generic placeholder is modified by functional language (e.g. “configured to generate a driving force”), and (C) the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structures, material or acts for performing the claimed function.
the term “device” is a generic placeholder, (B) the generic placeholder is modified by functional language (e.g. “switching”), and (C) the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structures, material or acts for performing the claimed function.
A review of the specification shows that the following appear to be the corresponding structures for the aforementioned 112(f) limitation(s):
The specification defines drive device, “Each of PCU 450 and the drive unit 460 is an exemplary "drive device". Therefore, the drive device will be construed as a PCU, motor, and/or equivalents thereof.
The specification defines switching device, “Note that each of the nine-way valve 100 and the five-way valve 200 is an example of a "switching device" of the present disclosure”. Therefore, the drive device will be construed as multi-way valve, and/or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN (US20230358325A1) in view of MIYOSHI (US20200353790A1: cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 1, CHEN teaches a thermal management system (see Figures 13A-14B) in which a heat transfer medium circulates (see ¶ ¶ [0065-0066]), the thermal management system comprising: a radiator (231); a drive device (211) that includes a heat exchanger and that is configured to generate a driving force (see ¶ [0050]: Examiner notes that 211 inherently includes a heat exchanger since the coolant flows through it to absorb heat); a chiller device (261); a switching device (300) that switches a flow path of the heat transfer medium (see ¶ [0065]); and a first heat transfer medium circuit (see Figure 14B) in which the heat exchanger (heat exchanger of 211), the radiator (231), and the chiller device (261) are connected (see Figure 14B where the heat exchanger of 211, 231, and 261 are connected in series), a second heat transfer medium circuit (see Figure 13B) in which the radiator (231) is isolated from the first heat transfer medium circuit (see Figure 13B where 231 is isolated).
CHEN does not teach a control device that controls the switching device, wherein, when heating is requested, the control device controls the switching device to establish the first heat transfer medium circuit when a temperature of the heat transfer medium that is flowing through the radiator is lower than ambient air temperature, and controls the switching device to establish the second heat transfer medium circuit ,when the temperature of the heat transfer medium that is flowing through the radiator is no lower than the ambient air temperature.
However, it’s old and well known in the art for thermal management systems to have a control device that controls the valves based on the ambient air temperature, as evidenced by MIYOSHI, see MIYOSHI’s ¶¶ [0065 and 0126] and Figure 13 where thermal management system (1) comprises a radiator (33); a drive device (motor of 39) that includes a heat exchanger (39); a chiller device (27); a switching device (34-36) and a control device (5) that controls the switching device (see ¶¶ [0094-0096]), wherein the control device (5) controls the valves based on the ambient air temperature ( see at least ¶¶ [0065 and 0126]).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the thermal management system of CHEN with a control device that controls the switching device, wherein, when heating is requested, the control device controls the switching device to establish the first heat transfer medium circuit when a temperature of the heat transfer medium that is flowing through the radiator is lower than ambient air temperature, and controls the switching device to establish the second heat transfer medium circuit ,when the temperature of the heat transfer medium that is flowing through the radiator is no lower than the ambient air temperature, since as evidenced by MIYOSHI, such provision was old and well-known in the art, and would provide the predictable benefit of automatically control CHEN’s switching device thus improving the system efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, CHEN as modified further teaches wherein: the first heat transfer medium circuit includes a first series circuit in which the heat exchanger, the radiator, and the chiller device are connected in series (see Figure 14B where the heat exchanger of 211, 231, and 261 are connected in series); and the second heat transfer medium circuit includes a second series circuit in which the radiator is isolated from the first series circuit and the heat exchanger and the chiller device are connected in series (see Figure 13B where the heat exchanger of 211 and the chiller device 261 are connected in series while the radiator 231 is isolated).
Regarding claim 3, CHEN as modified further teaches further comprising a temperature sensor (53 of MIYOSHI) that detects the temperature of the heat transfer medium that is flowing into the radiator (33 of MIYOSHI), wherein, when heating is requested, the control device (5 of MIYOSHI) controls the switching device (300 of CHEN) to establish the first heat transfer medium circuit (see CHEN’s Figure 14B), when a detected value of the temperature sensor (53 of MIYOSHI) is lower than the ambient air temperature, and controls the switching device to establish the second heat transfer medium circuit (see CHEN’s Figure 13B), when the detected value of the temperature sensor (53 of MIYOSHI) is no lower than the ambient air temperature ( see at least MIYOSHI’s ¶¶ [0065 and 0126]).
Regarding claim 4, CHEN as modified further teaches wherein: the switching device (300 of CHEN) includes a nine-way valve (see CHEN’s Figure 14A); and the control device (5 of MIYOSHI) switches between the first heat transfer medium circuit and the second heat transfer medium circuit by controlling the nine-way valve (See CHEN’s Figures 13A-14B).
CHEN does not teach that the switching device (300 of CHEN) includes a five-way valve.
There is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the configuration of CHEN’s switching device would result in a difference in function of CHEN’s thermal management system. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the configuration of CHEN’s switching device, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended being given the claimed configuration. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed configuration solves any stated problem, indicating that “the switching valve may have other configurations (e.g., a multi-way valve other than a five-way valve and a nine-way valve)” (, specification at para. [0093]) and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the configuration the switching device as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the switching device of CHEN in view of MIYOSHI to have a nine-way valve and a five-way valve and the control device switches between the first heat transfer medium circuit and the second heat transfer medium circuit by controlling each of the nine-way valve and the five-way valve as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Regarding claim 5, CHEN as modified further teaches further comprising a temperature sensor (53 of MIYOSHI) that detects the temperature of the heat transfer medium that is flowing through the heat exchanger (39 of MIYOSHI), wherein the control device controls the switching device (5 of MIYOSHI) to establish the first heat transfer medium circuit (see CHEN’s Figure 14B) when a detected value of the temperature sensor (53 of MIYOSHI) becomes lower than the ambient air temperature in a state in which the second heat transfer medium circuit is established ( see at least MIYOSHI’s ¶¶ [0065 and 0126]).
Conclusion
/KHALED AHMED ALI AL SAMIRI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763