DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant has amended independent claim 1 and dependent claims 5, 7-9, 12; and canceled claims 4, 10, 13. The pending claims are claims 1-3, 5-9, 11, 12, 14.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 11, 12, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., KR 20230106504.
Regarding clam 1, Lee et al., teaches a separator (0001; 0010) comprising: a porous substrate (0010); and an inorganic particle layer (0003; 0010) including a binder (0030) and inorganic particles (0030) disposed on at least one surface of the porous substrate (0010), wherein the inorganic particles (0010) include first inorganic particles having an average particle diameter of 0.001 to 20 um (0017), wherein binder includes an acryl-based binder (0076; 0213) and an acrylamide-based water-soluble binder (0078), wherein the separator has heat shrinkage rates in the machine direction and in the transverse direction of 5% or less as measured after being allowed to stand at 150°C for 60 minutes (0024), and wherein the separator has a ΔGurley permeability of 100 sec/100 cc or less as calculated by the following Equation 1: Equation 1 ΔGurley permeability (40 sec/100 cc or less (0085); ; 40 sec/100 cc or less; 0085) = Pm – Ps, wherein Pm is a gas permeability of the separator (0116), and Ps is a gas permeability of the porous substrate (0026; 0040; 0057); wherein the inorganic particles include first inorganic particles having an average particle diameter (D50) of 0.01 to 10 um (0109), wherein the binder includes acryl-based binder (0076), acrylamide-based polymers (0078).
Lee et al., does not teach wherein the inorganic particle layer has a packing density of 1.2 g/m2·μm or more.
However, Lee teaches similar materials in the separator, such as a porous substrate and inorganic particle layer including a binder, and A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963).
Lee et al., does not teach wherein a ratio of a breakdown voltage (kV) of the separator to an overall average thickness (μm) of the separator is 0.15 kV/μm or more, and wherein the separator has a peak in a range of 1070 cm-1 to 1082 cm-1 in a spectrum by Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy (FT-IR).
However, “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Regarding clam 2, Lee et al., teaches wherein the inorganic particles include any one or two or more selected from the group consisting of metal oxides (0015; 0106; 0137), metal nitrides (0015; 0106), and metal carbides (0015; 0106).
Regarding clam 3, Lee et al., teaches wherein the inorganic particles have an average particle diameter (D50) of 0.001 to 20 um (0017; 0109) or 0.01 to 10 um (0109).
Regarding clam 5, Lee et al., does not teach wherein the inorganic particles further include second inorganic particles having a larger average particle diameter (D50) than the first inorganic particles.
Lee et al., teaches the “size of the inorganic particles is not limited as long as the purpose of the present invention is achieved, and specifically, the size of the inorganic particles, i.e., the average diameter, may be 0.001 to 20 um, specifically, 0.01 to 10 um”. (0109).
Therefore, “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Regarding clam 6, Lee et al., does not teach wherein the second inorganic particles are included at 50 wt% or less based on the total weight of the first inorganic particles and the second inorganic particles.
However, “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Regarding clam 7, Lee et al., teaches wherein the acryl-based binder (0076; 0078) is an acryl-based particulate binder (0078; 0101).
Regarding clam 8, Lee et al., does not teach wherein the acryl-based particulate binder has a glass transition temperature of -60°C to 0°C, however, Lee et al., teaches that the glass transition temperature is not limited to a claimed range (0079).
Regarding clam 9, Lee et al., teaches wherein the acrylamide-based water-soluble binder (0078) has a glass transition temperature of 100°C to 200°C (0079).
Regarding clam 11, Lee et al., teaches wherein the binder is included at 0.1 parts by weight to 20 parts by weight with respect to 100 parts by weight of the inorganic particles (0018); or 0.1 to 10 parts by weight (0132).
Regarding clam 12, Lee et al., does not teach wherein a weight ratio between the acrylamide-based water-soluble binder and the acryl-based particulate binder is 1:1 to 1:10.
However, “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Regarding clam 14, Lee et al., teaches lithium secondary battery comprising the separator of claim 1 (0135; 0137-0138; 0191).
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed 1/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that “there is no rationale to modify Lee to arrive at the present invention…The examples in Lee, in practice, do not use organic binders. As such, Lee teaches away from the present invention.”
However, Lee et al., teaches “In a separation membrane according to one embodiment, the inorganic particle layer may further include an organic binder.” (0030)… “The separator of a conventional secondary battery includes an inorganic particle layer adhered by an organic binder on a porous substrate to ensure the stability of the battery.” (0069).
Applicant argues that “Lee is completely silent regarding the packing density of the inorganic particle layer.”
However, Lee teaches similar materials in the separator, such as a porous substrate and inorganic particle layer including a binder, and A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963).
Conclusion
ANGELA J. MARTIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/ANGELA J MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1727