DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 17, “the first length” in line 11 is indefinite because there is a first length defined for each of the first and second panels. It appears Applicant should recite --the first length of the array of mounting slots of the second panel-- in line 11. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 18-21 are rejected based on their respective dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Horton (US Pat. No. 2,769,553).
Note: Drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). The origin of the drawing is immaterial. For instance, drawings in a design patent can anticipate or make obvious the claimed invention as can drawings in utility patents. When the reference is a utility patent, it does not matter that the feature shown is unintended or unexplained in the specification. The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911, 200 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979).
In regards to claim 17, Horton teaches a panel assembly comprising: a first panel (32, Fig. 1) including a mounting surface and an array of spaced apart mounting slots (38) extending through said mounting surface and each having a first length, wherein said array includes a second column of mounting slots (2; see annotation above) positioned near an edge (E) of said first panel and a first column of mounting slots (1) adjacent to said second column of mounting slots, wherein each mounting slot in the second column of mounting slots has a length equal to the first length (see identical lengths in figure above); a second panel (32) including a mounting surface and an array of mounting slots (38) defined through said mounting surface and each having a first length, wherein said array includes a third column of mounting slots (3) positioned near an edge (E) of said second panel and a fourth column of mounting slots (4) adjacent to said third column of mounting slots, wherein each mounting slot in the third column of mounting slots has a length equal to the first length (see identical lengths in figure above); wherein said first panel is attachable to said second panel (via 41, Fig. 3); and wherein when said first panel is attached to said second panel, a distance (d) between said second column of mounting slots and said third column of mounting slots is equal to a distance (d) between said first column of mounting slots and said second column of mounting slots. The annotated figure above illustrates when two panels (32) are attached side-by-side with cooperating half-slots (39) to make the indicating surface continuous (see description in Col 4, Lines 7-28).
In the alternative, since Horton teaches the panels are attached with cooperating half-slots (39), it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date and with reasonable expectation of success to have a distance between said second column of mounting slots and said third column of mounting slots being equal to a distance between said first column of mounting slots and said second column of mounting slots when said first panel is attached to said second panel. The motivation would be for the purpose of ensuring the indicating surface (and its associated slots) is formed continuous as taught by Horton (Col 4, Lines 7-28).
In regards to claim 18, Horton teaches said arrays of mounting slots (38) includes longitudinal mounting slots and latitudinal mounting slots; and wherein said longitudinal mounting slots are arranged to be substantially perpendicular to said latitudinal mounting slots (Col 8, Lines 15-20).
In regards to claim 19, Horton is silent to the particular dimensions such that the distance between said second column of mounting slots and said third column of mounting slots is approximately 1 inch.
However, Horton teaches example dimensions of the squares defined by the slots 38 may have 1/2 inch sides (Col 4, Lines 7-10), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date and with reasonable expectation of success to dimension Horton’s panel assembly such that the distance between said second column of mounting slots and said third column of mounting slots is approximately 1 inch. Such a modification would involve routine skill of a worker in the art with a motivation for the purpose of sizing the panel assembly as desired, and it would have been recognized that Horton’s example dimensions are not exhaustive.
In regards to claim 20, Horton teaches said first panel includes a support flange (33) extending from the mounting surface of said first panel and wherein said second panel includes a support flange (33) extending from the mounting surface of said second panel; and wherein said support flange of said first panel connects to said support flange of said second panel to attach said first panel to said second panel (Col 4, Lines 22-28).
In regards to claim 21, Horton teaches said arrays of mounting slots (38) do not include any mounting slots which are located on both said first panel and said second panel. Note slots 39 are sperate from the array of slots 38.
Double Patenting
Claims 17-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,576,486 in view of Horton (US Pat. No. 2,769,553). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 17-21 of the instant application are encompassed by claims 15-18 of the patent by broadening the subject matter of the claims. In addition, Horton teaches arrays of mounting slots having equal lengths, and when said first panel is attached to said second panel, a distance (d) between said second column of mounting slots and said third column of mounting slots is equal to a distance (d) between said first column of mounting slots and said second column of mounting slots; and said arrays of mounting slots (38) do not include any mounting slots which are located on both said first panel and said second panel as discussed above. Such modifications would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date with the motivation being for the purpose of ensuring the indicating surface (and its associated slots) is formed continuous as taught by Horton (Col 4, Lines 7-28).
NOTE: The Terminal Disclaimer filed 29 April 2026 was disapproved in the Office correspondence dated 05 Mar 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 29 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments are directed to the newly added limitations in claim 17. Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s arguments based on the interpretation of Horton as discussed in the rejections of claims 17-21 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Stanton L Krycinski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631