DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,576,486 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the instant application are fully encompassed by claim 1-18 of the patent by broadening the subject matter of the claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: it appears “support” in line 12 should read --a support--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In regards to claims 8 and 14, “each square” lacks proper antecedent basis. Appropriate corrections are required.
In regards to claim 11, “said hook or peg” in line 14 lacks proper antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 12, 13, 15 and 16 are rejected based on their respective dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11-14, 17, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Horton (US Pat. No. 2,769,553).
In regards to claim 1, Horton teaches a storage panel for mounting items using a plurality of brackets comprising: a planar mounting surface (32) having a longitudinal axis and a latitudinal axis; a means (35) for securing the panel to a wall or other substantially vertical surface; and an array of spaced apart mounting slots (38) extending through said mounting surface, wherein said array of mounting slots includes longitudinal mounting slots and latitudinal mounting slots; and wherein said longitudinal mounting slots are each arranged to be parallel to said longitudinal axis and said latitudinal mounting slots are each arranged to be parallel to said latitudinal axis (e.g.; see Fig. 1; Col 4, Lines 7-9; Col 8, Lines 15-20).
In regards to claim 2, Horton teaches the spacing between the longitudinal mounting slots is fixed and equal to the spacing between the latitudinal mounting slots (i.e.; as defined by the 1/2 inch sides; Col 4, Lines 7-9).
In regards to claim 3, Horton teaches said longitudinal mounting slots (38) are the same size as said latitudinal mounting slots (38).
In regards to claim 4, Horton teaches said longitudinal mounting slots (38) and said latitudinal mounting slots (38) form a grid pattern spanning the entire mounting surface (see Fig. 14).
In regards to claim 5, Horton teaches said longitudinal mounting slots are perpendicular to said latitudinal mounting slots (Col 8, Lines 15-20).
In regards to claim 6, Horton teaches said longitudinal mounting slots extend across substantially the entire length of the longitudinal axis of said mounting surface, and wherein said latitudinal mounting slots extend across substantially the entire length of the latitudinal axis of said mounting surface (see Fig. 14).
In regards to claim 7, Horton teaches one or more mounting openings (41) extending through said mounting surface.
In regards to claim 8, Horton teaches said longitudinal mounting slots and said latitudinal mounting slots form a grid pattern and the mounting openings are located in the center of each square formed within the grid (Col 4, Lines 29-35).
In regards to claim 9, Horton teaches said means for securing the panel includes one or more support flanges (35) extending from said mounting surface.
In regards to claim 11, Horton teaches a storage panel for mounting items using a plurality of brackets comprising: a planar mounting surface (32) having a longitudinal axis and a latitudinal axis; a means (35) for securing the panel to a wall or other substantially vertical surface; an array of spaced apart mounting slots (38) extending through said mounting surface, wherein said array of mounting slots includes longitudinal mounting slots and latitudinal mounting slots; wherein said longitudinal mounting slots are each arranged to be parallel to said longitudinal axis and said latitudinal mounting slots are each arranged to be parallel to said latitudinal axis (e.g.; see Fig. 1; Col 4, Lines 7-9; Col 8, Lines 15-20); and a plurality of brackets (e.g.; 64) each for insertion into one or more of said mounting slots, each bracket comprising: a bracket body (64) having support extending therefrom (65); and an attachment mechanism including an upper tab (66) and a lower tab (66) extending from said bracket body in a direction opposite of said hook or peg, wherein said upper tab and said lower tab are spaced apart so as to fit within two adjacent mounting slots.
In regards to claim 12, Horton teaches said longitudinal mounting slots are perpendicular to said latitudinal mounting slots (Col 8, Lines 15-20).
In regards to claim 13, Horton teaches one or more mounting openings (41) extending through said mounting surface.
In regards to claim 14, Horton teaches said longitudinal mounting slots and said latitudinal mounting slots form a grid pattern and the mounting openings are located in the center of each square formed within the grid (Col 4, Lines 29-35).
In regards to claim 17, Horton teaches a panel assembly comprising: a first panel including a mounting surface (32) and an array of spaced apart mounting slots (38) extending through said mounting surface, wherein said array includes a second column of mounting slots (39) positioned near an edge of said first panel and a first column of mounting slots (38) adjacent to said second column of mounting slots; a second panel including a mounting surface (32) and an array of mounting slots (38) defined through said mounting surface, wherein said array includes a third column (39) of mounting slots positioned near an edge of said second panel and a fourth column of mounting slots (38) adjacent to said third column of mounting slots; wherein said first panel is attachable to said second panel (Col 4, Lines 22-28); and wherein when said first panel is attached to said second panel, and as best understood with respect to the 112b rejection above, a distance between said second column of mounting slots and said third column of mounting slots is equal to a distance between said first column of mounting slots and said second column of mounting slots.
In regards to claim 18, Horton teaches said arrays of mounting slots (38) includes longitudinal mounting slots and latitudinal mounting slots; and wherein said longitudinal mounting slots are arranged to be substantially perpendicular to said latitudinal mounting slots (Col 8, Lines 15-20).
In regards to claim 20, Horton teaches said first panel includes a support flange (33) extending from the mounting surface of said first panel and wherein said second panel includes a support flange (33) extending from the mounting surface of said second panel; and wherein said support flange of said first panel connects to said support flange of said second panel to attach said first panel to said second panel (Col 4, Lines 22-28).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 15, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horton (US Pat. No. 2,769,553).
In regards to claims 10, 15 and 19, Horton is silent to the particular dimensions such that a distance between adjacent longitudinal mounting slots is 1 inch, and wherein a distance between adjacent latitudinal mounting slots is 1 inch (claim 10); the spacing between said upper tab and said lower tab is approximately 1 inch on center (claim 15); and the distance between said second column of mounting slots and said third column of mounting slots is approximately 1 inch (claim 19).
However, Horton teaches example dimensions of the squares defined by the slots 38 may have 1/2 inch sides (Col 4, Lines 7-10), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date and with reasonable expectation of success to dimension Horton’s panel assembly to have a distance between adjacent longitudinal mounting slots as 1 inch, and wherein a distance between adjacent latitudinal mounting slots is 1 inch (claim 10); the spacing between said upper tab and said lower tab is approximately 1 inch on center (claim 17); and the distance between said second column of mounting slots and said third column of mounting slots is approximately 1 inch (claim 21). Such a modification would involve routine skill of a worker in the art with a motivation for the purpose of sizing the panel assembly as desired, and it would have been recognized that Horton’s example dimensions are not exhaustive.
In regards to claim 16, Horton does not particularly teach an attachment means for attaching one of said plurality of brackets to one of said mounting openings. However, Horton teaches the mounting openings are for the reception of pegs or other suitable indicating devices (Col 4, Lines 29-32), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date and with reasonable expectation of success to include an attachment means for attaching one of said plurality of brackets to one of said mounting openings. The motivation would have been for the purpose of further securing the brackets.
Conclusion
Please see the PTO-892 for additional prior art related to the Applicant’s disclosure.
/Stanton L Krycinski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631