DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zublin 5,405,053.
In Re Claim 1, Zublin teaches an apparatus for introducing an active material for use in a secondary battery, the apparatus comprising: a cutting unit (62) positioned on an upper side of an introducing portion of a main hopper (48) and provided for cutting a bottom portion of a packaging material (22) in which a powder is accommodated; (Column 6, Lines 42-46) and a sealing unit (72) provided around an outside of the cutting unit and configured to block leakage of the powder by bringing the introducing portion (76) of the main hopper and an opening portion of the packaging material formed by cutting to be in communication with each other. (Column 6, Lines 52-59)
In Re Claim 2, Zublin teaches wherein the cutting unit comprises a knife member that protrudes toward the bottom portion of the packaging material. (Column 6, Lines 42-46) (Fig. 1)
In Re Claim 4, Zublin teaches wherein the knife member comprises a peak portion for cutting a bottom portion of an inner layer of the packaging material. (Fig. 1)
In Re Claim 5, Zublin teaches wherein the sealing unit comprises: a lower flange (70) portion provided on the outside of the cutting unit so as to surround the cutting unit, the lower flange portion being provided such that a lower side of a skirt portion of an outer layer of the packaging material is positioned outside the lower flange portion; (Column 6, Lines 52-59) and an upper flange portion (72) positioned above the lower flange portion, the upper flange portion being provided with a penetration portion such that the lower side of the skirt portion of the outer layer of the packaging material is passing through and is positioned inside the penetration portion. (Column 6, Lines 52-59)
In Re Claim 12, Zublin teaches wherein a mesh portion (mesh portion of 70, Column 6, Lines 20-23) for filtering out foreign substances contained in the powder is provided between the cutting unit and the introducing portion of the main hopper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zublin and in view of Haas et al. 4,527,716.
In Re Claim 3, Zublin teaches the apparatus of Claim 1 as discussed above.
Zublin does not teach wherein the knife member is provided such that a height of the knife member is capable of being adjusted.
However, Haas et al. teach wherein the knife member (62a) is provided such that a height of the knife member is capable of being adjusted. (Fig. 1-3)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed to use a knife member capable of height adjustment in the apparatus of Zublin as taught by Haas et al. with a reasonable expectation for success in order to perform maintenance without the blade causing a danger.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-11 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Riemersma et al., Schmidt et al. and Wittes et al. teaches an apparatus for introducing material comprising a bag, a cutting device collection system for unloading material from the bag.
GLENN F. MYERS
Examiner
Art Unit 3652
/GLENN F MYERS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3652