DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 9-10 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Samee et al. (US 10, 415,381, hereafter Samee)
With respect to claim 1, Samee teaches a method, comprising: introducing a selective sorbent material that selectively captures an element of interest into contact with an aqueous formation material at a subterranean location; recovering the selective sorbent material; and determining an amount of the element of interest in the recovered selective sorbent material. (col. 3, lines 20-43, Fig. 1)
With respect to claim 4, Samee teaches determining an amount of the element of interest in the recovered selective sorbent material comprises disposing the selective sorbent material into an extraction fluid, extracting the element of interest from the selective sorbent into the extraction fluid to form an extract, and determining a concentration of the element of interest in the extract. (col. 3, lines 20-43, Fig. 1)
With respect to claim 5, Samee teaches determining a parameter related to a concentration of the element of interest in the aqueous formation material based on the concentration of the element of interest in the extract. (col. 3, lines 20-43, Fig. 1)
With respect to claim 9, Samee teaches the selective sorbent material is a first selective sorbent material, the subterranean location is a first subterranean location, and the amount of the element of interest in the first selective sorbent material is a first amount, and further comprising: introducing a second selective sorbent material into contact with the aqueous formation material at a second subterranean location; recovering the second selective sorbent material; and determining a second amount of the element of interest in the second selective sorbent material. (col. 3, lines 20-43, Fig. 1)
With respect to claim 10, Samee teaches determining the parameter related to the concentration of the element of interest in the aqueous formation material is also based on the second amount. (col. 3, lines 20-43, Fig. 1)
With respect to claim 13, Samee teaches a method comprising: introducing a plurality of selective sorbent materials that selectively capture one or more elements of interest into contact with an aqueous formation material at a plurality of subterranean locations; recovering the plurality of selective sorbent materials; and determining an amount of at least an element of interest of the one or more elements of interest in each of the recovered selective sorbent materials. (col. 3, lines 20-43, Fig. 1)
With respect to claim 14, Samee teaches logging a parameter related to a concentration of a selected element of interest of the one or more elements of interest in the aqueous formation material based on the amount of the selected element of interest in each of the recovered selective sorbent materials. (col. 3, lines 20-43, Fig. 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samee.
With respect to claims 2-3, although Samee does not explicitly teach introducing a selective sorbent material into contact with an aqueous formation material at a subterranean location comprises dispersing a solid particulate selective sorbent material into a carrier fluid to form a treatment mixture and pumping the treatment mixture into a well, circulating the selective sorbent material to a diversion point within the well and recovering the selective sorbent material at the surface, this is a common method of sampling underground wells and therefore it would have been an obvious alternative method to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to supply and retrieve a sampling material without using a dedicated sampling apparatus.
With respect to claims 6-7, Samee teaches measuring the temperature at the sampling location. Although Samee Does not explicitly discuss dispersing one or more temperature sensors into the carrier fluid, wherein recovering the selective sorbent material comprises recovering a sample containing a portion of the selective sorbent material and at least one temperature sensor, this is a known process and therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include temperature sensors in order to have that data point when analyzing the results.
With respect to claim 8, although Samee does not explicitly teach determining the parameter is also based on a flow rate of the treatment material in the well, the flow rate of the treatment material would have an obvious effect on the absorbing abilities of the treatment material and therefore it would have been obvious to include this parameter in order to more accurately retrieve results.
With respect to claim 11, although Samee does not explicitly teach the carrier fluid is a drilling fluid, This would be an obvious choice as treatment material as it is being pumped into the well anyway.
With respect to claim 12, although Samee does not explicitly teach the selective sorbent material is configured to capture a first element of interest and a second element of interest, and wherein determining the amount of the element of interest comprises determining an amount of the first element of interest in the selective sorbent material and determining an amount of the second element of interest in the selective sorbent material, It is known to test for multiple parameters at the same time and therefore it would have been obvious to investigate multiple elements of interest.
With respect to claims 15 and 16, although Samee does not explicitly teach the element of interest is lithium, lithium is an element of significant interest in downhole drilling processes and therefore it would have been obvious to investigate the presence of lithium as an alternative in order to retrieve information regarding the concentration of lithium.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2012/0149604; US 2013/0031972; US 11,255,189; and US 11,391,147 each teach an invention having similarities to the claimed subject matter.
/JILL E CULLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853