DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 10, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daoud (US 6325427; “Daoud”; hereinafter), in view of Rasmussen (US 20250060092; “Rasmussen” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Daoud teaches: an apparatus (1, fig. 2) comprising:
a housing (2, fig. 2) comprising an opening (opening between side walls 7, fig. 3);
a cover (3, fig. 2); and
wherein the apparatus comprises a closed configuration (fig. 2) and an open configuration (fig. 7), wherein in the closed configuration, the cover fills the opening (figs. 1-2), and in the open configuration the cover and the housing are separated (figs. 2 and 7), wherein the cover may be moved from the closed configuration to the open configuration along a first direction (vertically upwards, fig. 7) and from the open configuration to the closed configuration along a second direction (vertically downwards, fig. 2);
wherein the cover comprises a first hook (22, fig. 2);
the apparatus further comprising:
a second hook (18, fig. 7) configured to engage the first hook thereby limiting motion of the cover in the first direction in the closed configuration (figs. 2 and 4); and
a rotating element (15, 25, 26, 50, 60, figs. 4, 7, 12) comprising an axis of rotation (axis of 26) and a cover lift cam (25 and 60, figs. 3-4) configured to apply a force to the cover in the first direction (through element 60, fig. 7), based on the rotating element being rotated, causing the cover to separate from the housing (col. 4, lines 16-35).
Daoud does not explicitly teach:
at least one seal;
wherein:
at least one seal retention structure is provided on the cover and/or the housing, comprising a seal recess, wherein the seal recess is configured to retain the seal;
at least one sealing surface is provided around an edge of the opening of the housing or the cover, wherein the at least one sealing surface is configured to abut at least a portion of the at least one seal.
However, Rasmussen teaches:
at least one seal (3, fig. 7);
wherein:
at least one seal retention structure (6, fig. 6, and channel, ¶[0125]) is provided on a cover (2, fig. 6) and/or a housing (1, fig. 6), comprising a seal recess (as shown in fig. 6), wherein the seal recess is configured to retain the seal (fig. 6, ¶[0125]);
at least one sealing surface (8, fig. 6) is provided around an edge of the opening of the housing or the cover (2, fig. 6), wherein the at least one sealing surface is configured to abut at least a portion of the at least one seal (5, fig. 6, ¶[0111]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the housing and cover of Daoud, with Rasmussen’s arrangement of figure 6, including the seal, in order to effectively prevents the ingress of external elements like water, dust, etc. (¶[0025]).
Regarding claim 2, Daoud in view Rasmussen teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Daoud further discloses:
wherein the housing further comprises cover guides (7, fig. 6), wherein in the closed configuration:
the sealing surface and the cover guides are configured to compress the seal and the seal retention structure to form an ingress protection rated closure (¶[0110]-[0111]), and
the cover guides are configured to constrain a movement of the seal retention structure in a lateral direction (fig. 6 teaches this limitation).
Regarding claim 4, Daoud in view Rasmussen teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Daoud further discloses:
wherein the rotating element comprises a mechanical element (46, fig. 6) and wherein in the closed configuration the mechanical element is configured to separate the first hook from the second hook based on the rotating element being rotated (col. 3, lines 36-53).
Regarding claim 5, Daoud in view Rasmussen teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Daoud further discloses:
wherein the seal recess is configured to apply a first force to the seal substantially opposite the first direction based on a transition from the open configuration to the closed configuration (as disclosed upon examination of figures 4 and 6 and ¶[0108]-[0109]), and wherein the seal recess is configured to apply a second force to the seal in substantially the second direction based on a transition from the closed configuration to the open configuration (as disclosed upon examination of figures 4-6 and ¶[0097]-[0099], [0105]-[0109]).
Regarding claim 6, Daoud in view Rasmussen teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Daoud further discloses:
wherein the rotating element is configured to rotate in an opening orientation to change the apparatus from the closed configuration to the open configuration (figs. 4 and 9, col. 4, lines 16-35), wherein the rotating element comprises a biasing element (50, fig. 4) configured to apply a rotational force to the rotating element, where the rotational force is directed against the opening orientation (col. 4, lines 36-54), wherein the biasing element comprises one or more of a return spring (fig. 4, col. 4, lines 36-54) or a cantilever.
Regarding claim 7, Daoud in view Rasmussen teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Daoud further discloses:
wherein the rotating element comprises a tool recess configured to accept a tool, wherein the tool recess comprises a shape that is configured to apply torque to the rotating element based on the tool being rotated (“The control bolt 26 may be a security type bolt having a hexagonal head 27 that requires a special security tool to engage or disengage the bolt, generally known to one skilled in the art (not shown)”, col. 3, lines 63-67).
Regarding claim 7, Daoud in view Rasmussen teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Daoud further discloses:
wherein the second hook is incorporated into the rotating element (fig. 7 teaches this limitation).
Regarding claim 10, Daoud in view Rasmussen teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Daoud further discloses:
wherein the rotating element is accessible from a hole in the cover (33, 35, fig. 4), and wherein the axis of rotation of the rotating element is substantially parallel to the first direction (fig. 4 teaches this limitation).
Regarding claim 13, Daoud in view Rasmussen teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Daoud further discloses:
wherein the rotating element comprises a first part (62, figs. 20), a second part (63, fig. 9), and a fastener (26, fig. 9), and the first part is connected to the second part using the fastener (col. 4, lines 58-61), wherein the fastener comprises one or more of a spring clip, a screw, a bolt (col. 4, lines 58-61), a nail, or a rivet.
Regarding claim 14, Daoud in view Rasmussen teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Daoud further discloses:
wherein the rotating element further comprises rotation guides (47, fig. 9).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daoud (US 6325427; “Daoud”; hereinafter), in view of Rasmussen (US 20250060092; “Rasmussen” hereinafter), and further in view of Schmidt et al (US 20100140964; “Schmidt” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 12, Daoud in view Rasmussen teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Daoud further discloses:
a hole in the cover (33, 35, fig. 4), where the rotating element is disposed.
Daoud in view Rasmussen does not explicitly teach:
further comprising:
a second seal recess; and
a second seal between the rotating element and a hole in the cover or a hole in the housing which form an ingress protection rated closure.
However, Schmidt teaches:
a second seal recess (space between 10 and 11, fig. 5); and
a second seal (30, fig. 3, 5) between an actuating element (20) and a hole in the cover or a hole (12, 13, fig. 1a) in the housing (1, fig. 1a) which form an ingress protection rated closure (¶[0013]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the cover of Daoud in view of Rasmussen, and include a second seal and a second seal recess as taught by Schmidt such that the second seal is disposed between the rotating element and a hole in the cover, in order to seal the cover against environmental influences (¶[0013]).
Claims 15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coenegracht et al (US 20180270977; “Coenegracht” hereinafter), in view of Li et al (US 20130015305; “Li” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 15, Coenegracht discloses: a method of sealing and opening a housing (14, fig. 4), comprising:
for sealing the housing with a cover (12, fig. 4) to form an enclosure (10):
pressing the cover onto an opening (60, fig. 4) of the housing (¶[0042]);
forcing a seal (62, fig. 4), disposed in a recess (64, fig. 3) of a seal retention structure (66, fig. 3) of the cover, against a sealing surface (70, figs. 6 and 8A) of the housing via cover guides (see annotated fig. 7 below) that press the seal retention structure and the seal towards the sealing surface (¶[0055]); and
engaging a first latch rod (35, fig. 2-3) with a second hook (36, figs. 1 and 6) based on the enclosure going from an open configuration to a closed configuration and the cover being seated in the opening of the housing (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 4-10A, ¶[0046], [0052], [0074]);
and
for opening the housing:
rotating a rotating element (36-37 figs. 4 and 11), in an opening orientation (figs. 8A and 10A), to:
release the first latch rod from the second hook (fig. 10A); and
press a cam (see ‘cover lift cam’ in annotated fig. 5A below) of the rotating element against the cover to apply a force against the cover in a first direction (see normal direction in annotated fig. 5A below), and change the enclosure from the closed configuration to the open configuration (examination of figs. 3-5A, 8A and 10A teaches this limitation, where the cover lift cam abuts the first latch rod to apply a force to the cover).
Coenegracht does not explicitly disclose:
a first hook
However, Li teaches:
a first hook (324, fig. 1) and a second hook (325, fig. 2) engaging with each other (claim 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the first latch rod of Coenegracht to comprise a shape of a first hook, in order to enhance engaging functionality with the first hook. The claim would have been obvious, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP §2144.04)
Regarding claim 17, Coenegracht in view of Li teaches the limitations of claim 15, and the combination further discloses:
wherein the second hook is incorporated in the rotating element (annotated fig. 5a above, and fig. 11 teaches this limitation) and the first hook is incorporated in the cover (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 18, Coenegracht discloses: a system comprising:
a seal (62, fig. 4);
a cover comprising (12, fig. 4):
a surface having a normal direction to the surface (see annotated fig. 5A below),
a seal retention structure (66, fig. 3) comprising a seal recess (64, fig. 3), wherein the seal recess is configured to retain the seal (¶[0054]), and
a first latch rod (35, fig. 2-3);
a housing (14, fig. 4) comprising:
an opening (60, fig. 4); and
a sealing surface (70) around an edge of the opening (fig. 4), wherein the sealing surface is configured to abut at least a portion of the seal (fig. 6, ¶[0055]);
cover guides (see annotated fig. 7 below);
a second hook (36, figs. 1 and 6) configured to engage the first latch rod thereby limiting motion of the cover in the normal direction (fig. 5A, ¶[0046]); and
a rotating element comprising:
an axis of rotation (axis of element 37, fig. 11, ¶[0046]); and
a cover lift cam (see annotated fig. 5A below) configured to apply a force to the cover in the normal direction (examination of figs. 3-5A, 8A and 10A teaches this limitation, where the cover lift cam abuts the first latch rod to apply a force to the cover), based on the rotating element being rotated, causing the cover to separate from the housing (see at least ¶[0047], [0052], [0074]).
Coenegracht does not explicitly disclose:
a first hook
However, Li teaches:
a first hook (324, fig. 1) and a second hook (325, fig. 2) engaging with each other (claim 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the first latch rod of Coenegracht to comprise a shape of a first hook, in order to enhance engaging functionality with the first hook. The claim would have been obvious, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP §2144.04)
Regarding claim 19, Coenegracht in view of Li teaches the limitations of claim 18, and Coenegracht further discloses:
wherein the second hook and the cover lift cam are incorporated in the rotating element (annotated fig. 5a above, and fig. 11 teaches this limitation).
Regarding claim 20, Coenegracht in Li Rasmussen teaches the limitations of claim 18, and Coenegracht further discloses:
wherein an axis of rotation of the rotating element is substantially perpendicular to the normal direction (figs. 8A and 10A teaches this limitation).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 9, 11, 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest,
in combination with other limitations recited in claims 1-2, a combination of limitations that teaches: wherein the cover guides comprise angled surfaces configured to push the seal retention structure toward the sealing surface based on the apparatus changing from the open configuration to the closed configuration. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest,
in combination with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that teaches: wherein the second hook comprises a cantilever and is incorporated into the housing, and wherein the rotating element comprises a release cam configured to: apply a second force to the cantilever, deflect the cantilever, and release the second hook from the first hook. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest,
in combination with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that teaches: wherein the rotating element is accessible from a hole in the housing, and wherein the axis of rotation of the rotating element is substantially perpendicular to the first direction. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest,
in combination with other limitations recited in claim 15, a combination of limitations that teaches:
further comprising:
accessing the rotating element via a hole in the housing, wherein an axis of rotation of the rotating element is substantially perpendicular to the first direction. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is:
US 5361925 A Terminal Box. This invention relates generally to a terminal box including a base and a cover detachably securable to the base. The cover is provided with a stepped bore in each corner area thereof, with a spring-loaded locking bolt being insertable therein and slidable in axial direction in opposition to the spring action for securing the cover to the base.
US 20150048634 A1 Box Security Cover and Box. This invention generally relates to a box security cover that can be positioned on a box, and the locking assembly can move between an unlocked position in which the security cover can be removed and a locked position in which braces of the locking assembly can contact interior surfaces of the box, preventing removal of the security cover from the box.
/ALLEN L PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/P.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2841