DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “at least one stiffening element” in claim 2 and claim 12.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. In the instant case the stiffening element has been interpreted as structure on the base that may have a rib shaped configuration or a wave shaped configuration or may be around the circumference of the base element or may be in the form of the cooling elements as recited on page 3 the second paragraph through page 4 the fifth full paragraph of the originally filed specification
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 1 and 11 recite the broad recitation “the base element has an element height of at most 3 mm” and similar limitations in claim 11, and the claim also recites “in particular between 1 mm and 2.5 mm” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Claims 2-10 and 12-14 are rejected for their dependency from claims 1 and 11 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, and 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakata et al. (US 2001/0008703 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sakata discloses (figure 1-4) a cooling device (heat sink 1) for cooling components, comprising a base element (substrate 3) having a first surface (the surface on which the projections 4 are disposed), and having a cooling structure which has cooling elements (projections 4 enable heat dissipation per paragraph 0058) and is arranged on the base element (3) so as to project beyond the first surface, wherein the cooling elements (4) comprise a sinter material and wherein the cooling elements (4) are produced by forming from the material of the base element (the main body 2 including the substrate 3 and projections 4 is formed of metal sintered compact per paragraph 0047), and wherein the base element (3) has an element height (the height of the substrate 3 as seen in figure 2 and 4).
However Sakata does not explicitly disclose the height of the base/substrate of at most 3 mm, in particular between 1 mm and 2.5 mm as Sakata is silent as to any specific height. Sakata discloses the diameter of the projections 4 is disclosed as 1.25 mm in paragraph 0123 which would appear to put the substrate height in the range claimed but since the drawings are not necessarily to scale Sakata does not explicitly disclose the height.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the device of Sakata to have the height of the base/substrate of at most 3 mm, in particular between 1 mm and 2.5 mm since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). See MPEP 2144.04.IV A. In the instant case, the device of Sakata et al. would not operate differently with the claimed height and since the diameter of the projections 4 is disclosed as 1.25 mm in paragraph 0123 of Sakata the height of the substrate 3 would appear to be in a similar range to the height claimed, and the device would function appropriately having the claimed height. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the height is be within the claimed ranges but the specific range (per the first full paragraph of page 9 of the originally filed specification) but does not appear to have any criticality to the heat sink functioning.
Regarding claim 2, Sakata as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 1 above and Sakata further discloses at least one stiffening element (an individual one of the projections 4 or the frame 5 could form the stiffening element) is on the base element (3) in particular on the first surface.
Regarding claim 3, Sakata as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 2 above and Sakata further discloses the stiffening element (at frame 5) has a rib-shaped configuration (as seen in figure 1 and 2 the frame 5 extend in a rib like manner along the sides).
Regarding claim 4, Sakata as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 2 above and Sakata further discloses the stiffening element (at frame 5) is arranged continuously at the circumference of the base element (as seen in figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Sakata as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 2 above and Sakata further discloses the stiffening element is arranged between the cooling elements (when the stiffening element is one of the projections 4, it would be between other projections).
Regarding claim 8, Sakata as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 2 above and Sakata further discloses the stiffening element (when the stiffening element is one of the projections 4) has a height which corresponds to between 20% and 100% of a maximum height of the cooling elements (when the stiffening element is one of the projections 4 it would have the height of the cooling elements at the other projections 4 ).
Regarding claim 9, Sakata as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 2 above and Sakata further discloses the stiffening element (an individual one of the projections 4 or the frame 5 could form the stiffening element) comprises a sinter material and is produced by forming from the material of the base element (the main body 2, including the substrate 3, the projections 4 and frame 5 is formed of metal sintered compact per paragraph 0047-0048).
Regarding claim 10, Sakata as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 2 above and Sakata further discloses the stiffening element (5) is arranged with a longitudinal extension in the direction of flow for a cooling fluid through the cooling device (as the direction of flow is not further defined it could be along any direction given the dynamic nature of fluid flow, such as in a direction along the walls of frame 5).
Regarding claim 11, Sakata discloses (figure 1-4) a method for producing a cooling device (heat sink 1) comprising the steps of providing a material and forming a cooling structure from the material, wherein a sintering powder is used as the material (the main body 2 is formed of metal sintered compact per paragraph 0047), from which a green compact is produced by pressing, wherein the green compact is sintered to form a preform (per paragraphs 0028 and 0075-0090), and the cooling structure is produced from the preform in the form of cooling elements (projections 4 enable heat dissipation per paragraph 0058) by forming, for which purpose a part of the preform is pressed through a mold, wherein a base element (substrate 3) is formed from the preform, on which base element the cooling elements (4) are configured (per paragraphs 0028 and 0075-0090), and wherein the base element (3) is produced with an element height (the height of the substrate 3 as seen in figure 2 and 4).
However Sakata does not explicitly disclose the height of the base/substrate of at most 3 mm, in particular between 1 mm and 2.5 mm as Sakata is silent as to any specific height. Sakata discloses the diameter of the projections 4 is disclosed as 1.25 mm in paragraph 0123 which would appear to put the substrate height in the range claimed but since the drawings are not necessarily to scale Sakata does not explicitly disclose the height.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the device of Sakata to have the height of the base/substrate of at most 3 mm, in particular between 1 mm and 2.5 mm since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). See MPEP 2144.04.IV A. In the instant case, the device of Sakata et al. would not operate differently with the claimed height and since the diameter of the projections 4 is disclosed as 1.25 mm in paragraph 0123 of Sakata the height of the substrate 3 would appear to be in a similar range to the height claimed, and the device would function appropriately having the claimed height. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the height is be within the claimed ranges but the specific range (per the first full paragraph of page 9 of the originally filed specification) but does not appear to have any criticality to the heat sink functioning.
Regarding claim 12, Sakata as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 12 above and Sakata further discloses at least one stiffening element (an individual one of the projections 4 or the frame 5 could form the stiffening element) is configured on the base element (3) with the forming of the preform.
Regarding claim 13, Sakata as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 12 above and Sakata further discloses the stiffening element (at frame 5) has a rib-shaped configuration (as seen in figure 1 and 2 the frame 5 extend in a rib like manner along the sides ).
Claim(s) 6-7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakata et al. (US 2001/0008703 A1) and Zhou et al (US 2022/0053666 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Sakata as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 2 above however while Sakata further discloses the projections 4 which can form the stiffening element may have any suitable shape/geometry per paragraph 0073, the shape is never explicitly disclosed as a wave-shaped configuration.
Zhou discloses (figure 4) a cooling device (at heat sink base layer 120 and fins 124) with cooling elements in the form of fins (fins 124) where the fins may have a wave shaped configuration (the fins may be wavy fins per paragraph 0029).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the pin fins at projections 4 of Sakata to be the wavy fins disclosed by Zhou. Doing so would provide a known alternative fin structure to pin fins suitable for use in a cooling device/heat sink as recognized by Zhou (per paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 7, Sakata as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 6 above and Zhou further discloses a plurality of wave-shaped stiffening elements forms the cooling elements (fins 124, which are for thermal transfer, may be wave shaped per paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 14, Sakata as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 12 above however while Sakata further discloses the projections 4 which can form the stiffening element may have any suitable shape/geometry per paragraph 0073, the shape is never explicitly disclosed as a wave-shaped configuration.
Zhou discloses (figure 4) a cooling device (at heat sink base layer 120 and fins 124) with cooling elements in the form of fins (fins 124) where the fins may have a wave shaped configuration (the fins may be wavy fins per paragraph 0029).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the pin fins at projections 4 of Sakata to be the wavy fins disclosed by Zhou. Doing so would provide a known alternative fin structure to pin fins suitable for use in a cooling device/heat sink as recognized by Zhou (per paragraph 0029).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Klausner et al. (US 20220373273 A1), Lim et al. (US 20030039571 A1), Ishikawa et al. (US 6933531 B1), Mawatari et al. (US 6139975 A), Polese et al. (US 5972737 A), Polese et al. (US 5878322 A). All disclose sintered heat sink structures which could at least read on independent claim 1.
/HANS R WEILAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763