DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishikawa et al. (JP2015-161833 A).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Ishikawa discloses a projection cabinet (illustrated in fig. 1) comprising:
a housing (projection body 10 of fig. 1) a projector (projection device 1 of fig. 10) that emits a light as a projection image to be projected onto a projection surface (screen 2 of fig. 12) and having a first opening through which the light passes (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 10 below);
an installation portion (handle 30 of fig. 10) disposed in the housing (the handle 30 is attached into the projection body 10), in which the projector (a light source device 60, an optical engine 100 of fig. 2) is installed; and
a protruding portion (handle 30 of fig. 10) disposed in the housing and protruding toward a side of the projection surface (screen 2 of fig. 12), wherein
the protruding portion (30) is brought into contact with the projection surface (2), and thereby, the projector (1) is positioned in a predetermined position where the projection image is displayed on the projection surface (illustrated in fig. 12).
Regarding claim 2, Ishikawa discloses wherein the installation portion includes a base (housing 12 of fig. 1) on which the projector is mounted (the projector is mounted in the housing 12), and the protruding portion is a part of the base (the handle 30 of fig. 1 is part of the housing 12).
Regarding claim 3, Ishikawa discloses wherein the base (12) has a second opening disposed in a position corresponding to an air intake port (air inlet 17 of fig. 1) provided in the projector (10), and the housing (10) has a third opening disposed in a position corresponding to an air exhaust port (exhaust port 18 of fig. 11) provided in a side surface crossing a bottom surface of the projector (illustrated in figs. 1 and 11).
Regarding claim 5, Ishikawa discloses wherein the base includes a fixing portion that fixes the projector (shown below in the examiners illustration of fig. 2).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Ishikawa discloses further comprising an operation panel (operation unit 20 of fig. 1) disposed in the housing (illustrated in fig. 1) and having a plurality of operators (pg. 3 2nd para.; a power button 21, an input button 22 (input switching button), a mute button 23, and an enter button 24 (decision button) are shown in the region on the light projection port 16 -X side as operation units), wherein a number of types of functions operated by the plurality of operators is from one to five (disclosed is 4 buttons).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa et al. (JP2015-161833 A) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Nakanishi et al. (US PG Pub. 20100045947).
Regarding claim 4, Ishikawa discloses a projection cabinet (illustrated in fig. 1) comprising: a housing (projection body 10 of fig. 1) a projector (projection device 1 of fig. 10) that emits a light as a projection image to be projected onto a projection surface (screen 2 of fig. 12) and having a first opening through which the light passes (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 10 below); an installation portion (handle 30 of fig. 10) disposed in the housing (the handle 30 is attached into the projection body 10), in which the projector (a light source device 60, an optical engine 100 of fig. 2) is installed; and a protruding portion (handle 30 of fig. 10) disposed in the housing and protruding toward a side of the projection surface (screen 2 of fig. 12).
Ishikawa fails to teach further comprising a handle including a first hole provided in the housing, and a second hole provided in the base and communicating with the first hole via a space within the housing.
Nakanhishi discloses further comprising a handle (handle 3 of fig. 1) including a first hole (concave portion 211 of fig. 1) provided in the housing (upper surface 21 of fig. 1), and a second hole (211 of side surface of fig. 1) provided in the base and communicating with the first hole via a space within the housing (illustrated in fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the projection device of Ishikawa with the handles of Nakanhishi in order to provide the projector having high portability (Nakanishi; para. 0008).
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa et al. (JP2015-161833 A).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Ishikawa discloses wherein when the projector is positioned in the predetermined position, a size of the projection image on the projection surface (pg. 6 7th para.; A scale 31 is provided on the outer surface of the support arm upper portion 33 b of the extendable handle body 33 of the handle 30. This scale 31 is projected in inches (for example, 50, 60, etc.) so that an appropriate distance between the projector main body 10 and the screen 2 corresponding to the image projected on the screen 2 has a predetermined size. 70 inches)).
Ishikawa fails to teach wherein the particular size of the image is from 80 inches to 126 inches and a throw ratio of the projection system is from 0.16 to 0.29, a height from a floor surface on which the projection cabinet is installed to an installation surface on which the projector is installed is from 340 mm to 640 mm, a height from the floor surface to a lower end of the projection image is from 750 mm to 950 mm, and a length from an end surface of the protruding portion in contact with the projection surface to a surface of the projector at the side of the projection surface is from 20 to 200 mm; however, It would have been obvious matter of design choice to provide an image from 80 inches to 126 inches and a throw ratio of the projection system is from 0.16 to 0.29, a height from a floor surface on which the projection cabinet is installed to an installation surface on which the projector is installed is from 340 mm to 640 mm, a height from the floor surface to a lower end of the projection image is from 750 mm to 950 mm, and a length from an end surface of the protruding portion in contact with the projection surface to a surface of the projector at the side of the projection surface is from 20 to 200 mm based on a target demographic (i.e. medium to large audience vs. a single person, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a handle 30 of Ishikawa. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
/DANELL L OWENS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2882 /TOAN TON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2882