DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 12 is directed towards the method for preparing luminescent antibacterial glass powders of claim 6, wherein in the step (d), each of the luminescent antibacterial glass powders has an average diameter of 5 to 15 μm based on D50.
The closest prior art is Schreder et al. (US20040180773) in view of Anderson et al. (US20040213539). Schreder in view of Anderson fails to disclose or make obvious the method for preparing luminescent antibacterial glass powders of claim 6, wherein in the step (d), each of the luminescent antibacterial glass powders has an average diameter of 5 to 15 μm based on D50.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schreder et al. (US20040180773, hereinafter referred to as Schreder).
Regarding claim 1, Schreder makes obvious a luminescent antibacterial glass composition comprising: 20 to 40 wt% of SiO2 (see Schreder at Table 2, disclosing a glass comprising 15-90 wt.% SiO2, which overlaps with the claimed range.) In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05); 1.5 to 10 wt% of B2O3 (see Schreder at Table 2, disclosing a glass comprising 0-40 wt.% B2O3, which overlaps with the claimed range.); 20 to 40 wt% of ZnO (see Schreder at Table 2, disclosing a glass comprising 0-30 wt.% ZnO, which overlaps with the claimed range.); 5 to 10 wt% of Al2O3 (see Schreder at Table 2, disclosing a glass comprising 1-35 wt.% Al2O3, which overlaps with the claimed range.); 5 to 10 wt% of MgO (see Schreder at Table 2, disclosing a glass comprising 0-20 wt.% MgO, which overlaps with the claimed range.); a total of 5 to 30 wt% of at least one of Na2O, K2O, or CaO (see Schreder at Table 2, disclosing a glass comprising 0-20 wt.% Na2O, which overlaps with the claimed range.); a total of 0.1 to 5 wt% of at least one of CuO or Ag2O (see Schreder at Table 2, disclosing a glass comprising 0-10 wt.% CuO, which overlaps with the claimed range.); and 0.1 to 2 wt% of a luminescent oxide (see Schreder at Table 2, disclosing a glass comprising 0-10 wt.% Eu2O3, which overlaps with the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 2, Schreder makes obvious Na2O is added in a content of 2 to 10 wt% (see Schreder at Table 2, disclosing a glass comprising 0-20 wt.% Na2O, which overlaps with the claimed range.), wherein K2O is added in a content of 2 to 15 wt% (see Schreder at Table 2, disclosing a glass comprising 0-20 wt.% K2O, which overlaps with the claimed range.), wherein CaO is added in a content of 1 to 5 wt% (see Schreder at Table 2, disclosing a glass comprising 0-20 wt.% CaO, which overlaps with the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 3, Schreder makes obvious CuO is added in a content of 0.1 to 5 wt% (see Schreder at Table 2, disclosing a glass comprising 0-10 wt.% CuO, which overlaps with the claimed range.), wherein Ag2O is added in a content of 0.1 to 2 wt% (see Schreder at Table 2, disclosing a glass comprising 0-20 wt.% Ag. Examiner notes Ag will be present in the form of Ag2O as shown in Table 1.).
Regarding claim 4, Schreder makes obvious wherein the luminescent oxide includes at least one of Eu2O3 or Tb4O7 (see Schreder at Table 2, disclosing a glass comprising 0-10 wt.% Eu2O3, which overlaps with the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 5, Schreder makes obvious the luminescent oxide is Eu2O3, wherein Eu2O3 is added in a content of 0.5 to 1.0 wt% (see Schreder at Table 2, disclosing a glass comprising 0-10 wt.% Eu2O3, which overlaps with the claimed range.).
Claim(s) 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schreder in view of Anderson et al. (US20040213539, hereinafter referred to as Anderson).
Regarding claim 6, Schreder makes obvious a method for preparing luminescent antibacterial glass powders, the method comprising: (a) a step of mixing and stirring 20 to 40 wt% of SiO2 (see Schreder at Table 2, disclosing a glass comprising 15-90 wt.% SiO2, which overlaps with the claimed range.), 1.5 to 10 wt% of B2O3 (see Schreder at Table 2, disclosing a glass comprising 0-40 wt.% B2O3, which overlaps with the claimed range.), 20 to 40 wt% of ZnO (see Schreder at Table 2, disclosing a glass comprising 0-30 wt.% ZnO, which overlaps with the claimed range.), 5 to 10 wt% of Al2O3 (see Schreder at Table 2, disclosing a glass comprising 1-35 wt.% Al2O3, which overlaps with the claimed range.), 5 to 10 wt% of MgO (see Schreder at Table 2, disclosing a glass comprising 0-20 wt.% MgO, which overlaps with the claimed range.), a total of 5 to 30 wt% of at least one of Na2O, K2O, or CaO (see Schreder at Table 2, disclosing a glass comprising 0-20 wt.% Na2O, which overlaps with the claimed range.), a total of 0.1 to 5 wt% of at least one of CuO or Ag2O (see Schreder at Table 2, disclosing a glass comprising 0-10 wt.% CuO, which overlaps with the claimed range.), and 0.1 to 2 wt% of a luminescent oxide with each other to prepare a luminescent antibacterial glass composition (see Schreder at Table 2, disclosing a glass comprising 0-10 wt.% Eu2O3, which overlaps with the claimed range.);
While Schreder is directed towards waveguides (see Schreder at [0002]), Schreder does not explicitly disclose a step of melting the luminescent antibacterial glass composition, a step of cooling the molten luminescent antibacterial glass composition, and a step of pulverizing the cooled luminescent antibacterial glass composition to obtain the luminescent antibacterial glass powders, because Schreder does not explicitly disclose the method of forming the waveguide. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the arts would naturally look to the prior art to determine an appropriate method for forming the waveguide glass.
Anderson is directed towards optical waveguide glass (see Anderson at the Abstract). Anderson discloses forming a melt (see Anderston at [0034]), cooling the melt (see Anderson at [0034]), and grinding (see Anderson at [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention when practicing the waveguide glass of Schreder to use the waveguide glass forming method of Anderson with a reasonable expectation of successfully forming a waveguide glass.
Regarding claim 7, Schreder makes obvious Na2O is added in a content of 2 to 10 wt% (see Schreder at Table 2, disclosing a glass comprising 0-20 wt.% Na2O, which overlaps with the claimed range.), K2O is added in a content of 2 to 15 wt% (see Schreder at Table 2, disclosing a glass comprising 0-20 wt.% K2O, which overlaps with the claimed range.), and CaO is added in a content of 1 to 5 wt% (see Schreder at Table 2, disclosing a glass comprising 0-20 wt.% CaO, which overlaps with the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 8, Schreder makes obvious CuO is added in a content of 0.1 to 5 wt% (see Schreder at Table 2, disclosing a glass comprising 0-10 wt.% CuO, which overlaps with the claimed range.), and Ag2O is added in a content of 0.1 to 2 wt% (see Schreder at Table 2, disclosing a glass comprising 0-20 wt.% Ag. Examiner notes Ag will be present in the form of Ag2O as shown in Table 1.).
Regarding claim 9, Schreder makes obvious the luminescent oxide includes at least one of Eu2O3 or Tb4O7 (see Schreder at Table 2, disclosing a glass comprising 0-10 wt.% Eu2O3, which overlaps with the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 10, Schreder makes obvious the luminescent oxide is Eu2O3, wherein Eu2O3 is added in a content of 0.5 to 1.0 wt% (see Schreder at Table 2, disclosing a glass comprising 0-10 wt.% Eu2O3, which overlaps with the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 11, while Schreder does not explicitly disclose the melting is performed at a temperature of 1,000 to 1,300°C and for 30 to 90 minutes because Schreder does not disclose the melting temperature and time, it is obvious to use the glass forming method disclosed by Anderson as detailed in the rejection of claim 6 above.
Anderson discloses calcination at 1300°C for one hour (see Anderson at [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention when practicing the waveguide glass of Schreder to use the waveguide glass forming method of Anderson with a reasonable expectation of successfully forming a waveguide glass.
Conclusion
CAMERON K MILLER
Examiner
Art Unit 1731
/CAMERON K MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1731